yes, therapy helps!
Astrophobia (fear of the stars): symptoms, causes and treatment

Astrophobia (fear of the stars): symptoms, causes and treatment

August 11, 2022

The immensity of the universe, space or cosmos, as well as the large number of stars and celestial bodies that inhabit it, can be as fascinating as it is intimidating for the people who observe it. However, if this feeling becomes an exacerbated fear towards them, it is very possible that we are facing a case of astrophobia .

Throughout this article we will discuss this type of specific phobia. We will analyze the characteristics that distinguish it from a normal fear and we will describe its main symptoms, causes and treatments.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is astrophobia?

Astrophobia is a psychological alteration that is part of anxiety disorders . Based on its own name, it is easy to deduce that it is an excessive, irrational and uncontrollable fear of the stars or celestial bodies found in the cosmos or the universe.


If we take into account the etymological roots of the word, "astro" is a term that comes from Latin and that refers to all types of celestial bodies located in outer space and that, moreover, are visible from the earth; while the concept "phobia" finds its origin in the Greek word "phobos" which means flight or fear.

As mentioned at the beginning of the article, astrophobia is considered an anxiety disorder in which the person experience an excessive and irrational fear of the stars , and in which he experiences a very high anxiety each time the affected person observes the stars

Although astrophobia is a type of phobia with very little incidence among the population, this can become a highly disabling disorder , in which the patient is likely to go to the extreme of being kept at home so as not to run the risk of sighting the sky.


Therefore, this mental illness can modify and limit the behavior of the person, reducing their quality of life. Luckily, there are very effective treatments for this type of specific phobias thanks to which the person is able to overcome this and lead a normal life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

Clinical characteristics of the disorder

Like the rest of phobias or anxiety disorders, astrophobia has a series of clinical features that distinguish it from the usual or non-pathological sensations of fear or fear .

Therefore, in order to differentiate astrophobia from a non-pathological fear, it must fulfill the following characteristics:

  • Excessive and disproportionate fear taking into account the real danger of the situation or phobic stimulus.
  • Irrational fear , given that the person is unable to offer a logical explanation to this.
  • Inability to control the emotions of fear and anguish.
  • Generation of avoidant behaviors of the situation.
  • Fear appears constantly and permanently through the different feared situations.

What are the symptoms?

The main symptoms of astrophobia are those related to the experimentation of great anxiety. This clinical picture does not manifest itself continuously over time, but only in those cases in which the person faces or anticipates what he will face with the phobic stimulus; in this case, the stars and celestial bodies .


These symptoms can be classified into three groups, according to physical, cognitive or behavioral symptoms.

1. Physical symptoms

Before the appearance of the situation object of the phobia, the central nervous system experiences an excessive increase in its activity , generating a large number of changes and alterations at a physiological and organic level.

This physical symptomatology includes:

  • Increase in the cardiac rate .
  • Increase of breathing
  • Palpitations .
  • Feeling of suffocation.
  • Muscle tension.
  • Increased levels of sweating.
  • Headache .
  • Gastric alterations.
  • Dizziness .
  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Fainting and loss of consciousness.

2. Cognitive symptoms

The appearance of the physical symptomatology is subject to a series of incoherent or extravagant beliefs and ideas about the situation or phobic stimulus and its presumed dangerousness. These ideas make up the cognitive symptoms and usually appear in advance generating anxiety symptoms.

Among the cognitive symptoms of astrophobia are:

  • Distorted thoughts about stars and celestial bodies.
  • Ideas of intrusive and uncontrollable nature that flood the patient's mind.
  • Obsessive speculations about the possible dangers of the stars.
  • Catastrophic imagination in relation to the feared object.
  • Fear of losing control and not being able to manage the situation favorably.

3. Physical symptoms

The main consequence to the symptoms of anxiety, previously mentioned, is the realization of a series of behaviors or behavior patterns that arise in response to the feared stimulus.

These physical symptoms appear with the purpose of avoiding the feared circumstances or of fleeing them in case it could not be avoided. In this way, the person with astrophobia Try to avoid experiencing unpleasant emotions like anxiety and anguish.

These patterns of behavior are known as avoidance behaviors and escape behaviors. In the avoidance behaviors, the person carries out a series of acts with the intention of eliminating the possibility of having to face them.

On the other hand, escape behaviors appear when the person suffering from astrophobia is inevitably faced with the dreaded situation or stimulus. Throughout the situation, the person will perform all kinds of acts or behaviors that allow him to escape It is in the fastest way possible.

What causes does it have?

Although, for the moment, completely reliable causes have not been established to explain phobias. The researchers point to the possibility that experimentation with highly traumatic events or experiences or with a great emotional burden, together with a genetic predisposition to the harmful effects of stress, establish a basis for the appearance of a specific anxiety disorder such as astrophobia.

In addition, there are other factors such as personality, cognitive styles or vicarious learning, which may favor the emergence and development of an irrational and uncontrollable fear such as that of phobias.

Treatment of this phobia

Despite the low incidence of astrophobia, there are very effective treatments and interventions common to the rest of specific phobias thanks to which the person can overcome their fear and continue with their life in a normal way .

In the case of specific anxiety disorders such as phobias, The type of intervention that is most effective is cognitive-behavioral therapy , where through systematic desensitization (DS) the person can get used to face the object of their fear.

In this systematic desensitization the patient is exposed in an imaginary way to a series of situations related to the phobia, which are arranged gradually, from less to greater degree of fear. Also, relaxation techniques are applied to reduce the level of anxiety.

Another technique widely used is that of the live exhibition , through which the person is exposed directly and gradually to the feared situation. However, these techniques should always be carried out under the supervision and guidance of a mental health professional.


Looks Like Holes in the Stars Again...August 3rd 2018 9:36 pm (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Astrophobie (peur des étoiles): symptômes, causes et traitement

Astrophobie (peur des étoiles): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 21, 2022

L'immensité de l'univers, de l'espace ou du cosmos, ainsi que le grand nombre d'étoiles et de corps célestes qui l'habitent, peuvent être aussi fascinants que intimidants pour les personnes qui l'observent. Cependant, si ce sentiment devient une peur exacerbée envers eux, il est très possible que nous soyons confrontés à un cas d'astrophobie .

Tout au long de cet article, nous discuterons de ce type de phobie spécifique. Nous analyserons les caractéristiques qui la distinguent d'une peur normale et nous en décrirons les principaux symptômes, causes et traitements.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que l'astrophobie?

L'astrophobie est une altération psychologique faisant partie des troubles anxieux . Sur la base de son propre nom, il est facile de déduire qu’il s’agit d’une peur excessive, irrationnelle et incontrôlable des étoiles ou des corps célestes trouvés dans le cosmos ou l’univers.


Si nous prenons en compte les racines étymologiques du mot, "astro" est un terme qui vient du latin et qui désigne tous les types de corps célestes situés dans l’espace extra-atmosphérique et qui, de plus, sont visibles de la Terre; tandis que le concept de "phobie" trouve son origine dans le mot grec "phobos" qui signifie fuite ou peur.

Comme mentionné au début de l’article, l’astrophobie est considérée comme un trouble anxieux dans lequel la personne éprouver une peur excessive et irrationnelle des étoiles et dans laquelle il éprouve une très grande anxiété chaque fois que la personne touchée observe les étoiles

Bien que l’astrophobie soit un type de phobie dont l’incidence est très faible dans la population, cela peut devenir un trouble très invalidant , dans lequel le patient est susceptible d'aller jusqu'à l'extrême de rester à la maison pour ne pas courir le risque de voir le ciel.


Par conséquent, cette maladie mentale peut modifier et limiter le comportement de la personne, réduisant ainsi sa qualité de vie. Heureusement, il existe des traitements très efficaces pour ce type de phobies spécifiques, grâce auxquels la personne est capable de le surmonter et de mener une vie normale.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Caractéristiques cliniques du trouble

Comme le reste des phobies ou des troubles anxieux, l’astrophobie présente une série de caractéristiques cliniques le distinguer des sensations habituelles ou non pathologiques de peur ou de peur .

Par conséquent, pour différencier l'astrophobie d'une peur non pathologique, elle doit remplir les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • Peur excessive et disproportionnée tenant compte du danger réel de la situation ou du stimulus phobique.
  • Peur irrationnelle , étant donné que la personne est incapable d’offrir une explication logique à cela.
  • Incapacité à contrôler les émotions de la peur et de l'angoisse.
  • Génération de comportements évitants de la situation.
  • La peur apparaît constamment et de façon permanente à travers les différentes situations redoutées.

Quels sont les symptômes?

Les principaux symptômes de l'astrophobie sont ceux liés à l'expérimentation d'une grande anxiété. Ce tableau clinique ne se manifeste pas de manière continue dans le temps, mais uniquement dans les cas où la personne est confrontée ou anticipe ce à quoi elle sera confrontée avec le stimulus phobique; dans ce cas, les étoiles et les corps célestes .


Ces symptômes peuvent être classés en trois groupes, en fonction des symptômes physiques, cognitifs ou comportementaux.

1. symptômes physiques

Avant l'apparition de la situation objet de la phobie, le système nerveux central connaît une augmentation excessive de son activité , générant un grand nombre de changements et d'altérations au niveau physiologique et organique.

Cette symptomatologie physique comprend:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque .
  • Augmentation de la respiration
  • Palpitations .
  • Sensation d'étouffement.
  • Tension musculaire
  • Augmentation des niveaux de transpiration.
  • Mal de tête .
  • Altérations gastriques.
  • Vertige .
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Évanouissement et perte de conscience.

2. symptômes cognitifs

L'apparition de la symptomatologie physique est sujette à une série de croyances incohérentes ou extravagantes sur la situation ou le stimulus phobique et sa dangerosité présumée. Ces idées constituent les symptômes cognitifs et apparaissent généralement à l’avance, générant des symptômes d’anxiété.

Parmi les symptômes cognitifs de l'astrophobie sont les suivants:

  • Pensées déformées sur les étoiles et les corps célestes.
  • Des idées de nature intrusive et incontrôlable qui inondent l'esprit du patient.
  • Spéculations obsessionnelles sur les dangers possibles des étoiles.
  • Imagination catastrophique par rapport à l’objet redouté.
  • Peur de perdre le contrôle et ne pas être capable de gérer la situation favorablement.

3. symptômes physiques

La conséquence principale des symptômes d'anxiété, mentionnée précédemment, est la réalisation d'une série de comportements ou de schémas comportementaux qui résultent de la réponse au stimulus redouté.

Ces symptômes physiques apparaissent dans le but d'éviter les circonstances redoutées ou de les fuir au cas où cela ne serait pas possible. De cette façon, la personne souffrant d’astrophobie Essayez d'éviter de ressentir des émotions désagréables comme l'anxiété et l'angoisse.

Ces modèles de comportement sont connus sous le nom de comportements d'évitement et de comportement d'évasion. Dans les comportements d'évitement, la personne accomplit une série d'actes dans le but d'éliminer la possibilité de devoir les affronter.

D'autre part, des comportements d'évasion apparaissent lorsque la personne souffrant d'astrophobie est inévitablement confrontée à la situation ou au stimulus redouté. Tout au long de la situation, la personne accomplira toutes sortes d’actes ou comportements qui lui permettent de s'échapper C'est le plus rapide possible.

Quelles sont les causes?

Bien que, pour le moment, des causes totalement fiables n’ont pas été établies pour expliquer les phobies. Les chercheurs soulignent la possibilité que l’expérimentation de événements ou expériences très traumatisants ou avec un lourd fardeau émotionnel, associé à une prédisposition génétique aux effets néfastes du stress, établissent une base pour l’apparition d’un trouble anxieux spécifique tel que l’astrophobie.

En outre, d'autres facteurs, tels que la personnalité, les styles cognitifs ou l'apprentissage par procuration, peuvent favoriser l'émergence et le développement d'une peur irrationnelle et incontrôlable telle que celle des phobies.

Traitement de cette phobie

Malgré la faible incidence de l'astrophobie, il existe des traitements et des interventions très efficaces communs au reste de phobies spécifiques grâce auxquels la personne peut vaincre sa peur et poursuivre sa vie normalement .

Dans le cas de troubles anxieux spécifiques tels que les phobies, Le type d'intervention le plus efficace est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale , où la désensibilisation systématique (DS) permet à la personne de s'habituer à faire face à l'objet de sa peur.

Dans cette désensibilisation systématique, le patient est exposé de manière imaginaire à une série de situations liées à la phobie, qui s’organisent progressivement, de moins en moins à craindre. En outre, des techniques de relaxation sont appliquées pour réduire le niveau d'anxiété.

Une autre technique largement utilisée est celle de l'exposition en direct , à travers lequel la personne est exposée directement et progressivement à la situation redoutée. Cependant, ces techniques doivent toujours être effectuées sous la supervision et la supervision d'un professionnel de la santé mentale.


Photos That Will Reveal Your Phobias (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes