yes, therapy helps!
Via afferent and via efferent: the types of nerve fibers

Via afferent and via efferent: the types of nerve fibers

October 28, 2020

It is natural to associate the concepts "neuron" and "brain". After all, Neurons are the type of cell to which we normally attribute the possibility of thinking, reasoning and, in general, perform tasks related to the intellect.

However, neurons are also an essential part of the nerves that run throughout our body (along with glial cells). It is not strange, if we consider what the function of these nerve fibers is: make certain type of information travel through our organs and cellular tissues . Now, although all these data transmission channels basically do the same, there are certain nuances and differences between them that make it possible to classify them according to their function. That's why we talk about the difference between via afferent and the via efferent.


Aference and eference: a letter changes everything

To understand the concepts of the afferent and the efferent, it is very useful to imagine the functioning of the nervous system as cognitive psychologists do. they use the metaphor of the computer as a descriptive model of neural networks . According to this metaphor, both the brain and the entire nervous system function in a similar way as a computer does; it has a part of its structure dedicated to being in contact with the environment that surrounds it and another that is dedicated to working with data that has been stored and processed to obtain new information. Thus, the neurons of the brain and spinal cord would be this "internal" part of the computer, while the nerves that sprout from the spine and reach the most remote corners of the body are the part in contact with the outside.


This last part of the nervous system, called peripheral nervous system, is where the afferent and efferent pathways are located, are the input and output channels of the central nervous system, respectively .

The pathways through which sensory information travels

Thus, all the information that enters through the sensory neurons travels through the afferent pathways, that is, those that transform the information that gather the senses and transform them into nervous impulses . Instead, the efferent pathways are responsible for propagating electrical impulses that are intended to activate (or deactivate) certain glands and muscle groups. In this way, if we wanted to stick to a simple explanatory scheme about what is an afference and an eference, we would say that the former informs the central nervous system about what happens in the rest of the body and in the data about the environment that this receives, while the efferent neurons deal with "transmit orders" and initiate action.


In the same way, the word aferencia serves to designate the information that travels through these pathways of the peripheral nervous system, while the term eference is used to refer to the output (or output) of data that goes from the central nervous system to muscle fibers and glands responsible for releasing all kinds of substances and hormones.

An aid to remember better

The distinction between the afferent and the efferent is very useful to understand how we perceive and act on the environment, but It can also be quite problematic because it is easy to confuse both terms and use them to designate the opposite of what is meant.

Fortunately, using simple mnemonic tricks it is very easy to remember what each thing is, and the fact that these words are only differentiated by a letter makes remembering one also remembering the other. For example, the "a" of "afferent" can be related to the a arrival ("Arrival" and English), and the "e" of "efferent" with the first letter of "sending".

Neurons pawns?

The afferent and efferent pathways suggest a hierarchical functioning of the nervous system: while some neuronal groups inform about what happens in the rest of the body and transmit orders to implement plans, strategies and protocols of action Others make decisions and give orders that others will fulfill. However, the functioning of our nervous system is not as simple as it can be intuited in this very schematic vision of the trips that nerve information makes across the length and breadth of our body, for two basic reasons.

The first is that afferent and efferent neurons are not limited to passively transmitting information: they also cause it to transform. What reaches the spinal cord and the glands and muscles is a flurry of data whose shape depends in large part on how it has found each and every neuron through which it has traveled.

The second reason is that, although it is true that decision-making depends more on the brain than on the neural networks of the peripheral nervous system, it is not clear who is in charge over who, because they all occupy a place in a data cycle . After all, afferent neurons send information to the brain without which action plans can not be initiated, and the way in which the efferent pathways transmit the information will have an impact on the body and the environment that will then affect the afferent neurons and, therefore, the brain. Consider, for example, the fact of keeping a box of cookies to avoid the temptation to snack between meals: a change in the environment makes us think and feel differently than we would with the cookie box in sight .

In short, afferent and efferent neurons may have a simpler and easier task to study than that of nerve cells in the brain, but they still have a vital role in our day to day life.


Peripheral Nervous System: Crash Course A&P #12 (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Via afférente et via efférente: les types de fibres nerveuses

Via afférente et via efférente: les types de fibres nerveuses

Mai 21, 2019

Il est naturel d'associer les concepts "neurone" et "cerveau". Après tout Les neurones sont le type de cellule auquel on attribue normalement la possibilité de penser, de raisonner et, en général, effectuer des tâches liées à l'intellect.

Cependant, les neurones sont également une partie essentielle des nerfs qui parcourent tout notre corps (avec les cellules gliales). Ce n’est pas étrange, si l’on considère quelle est la fonction de ces fibres nerveuses: faire en sorte que les informations circulent dans nos organes et nos tissus cellulaires . Or, bien que tous ces canaux de transmission de données fassent fondamentalement la même chose, il existe certaines nuances et différences entre eux qui permettent de les classer en fonction de leur fonction. C’est pourquoi nous parlons de la différence entre via afférent et la via efferent.


Aférence et référence: une lettre change tout

Pour comprendre les concepts d'afférent et d'efférent, il est très utile d'imaginer le fonctionnement du système nerveux comme le font les psychologues cognitifs. ils utilisent la métaphore de l'ordinateur comme modèle descriptif des réseaux de neurones . Selon cette métaphore, le cerveau et l'ensemble du système nerveux fonctionnent de la même manière que l'ordinateur. une partie de sa structure est dédiée au contact avec l’environnement qui l’entoure et une autre est dédiée au travail avec des données stockées et traitées pour obtenir de nouvelles informations. Ainsi, les neurones du cerveau et de la moelle épinière constitueraient cette partie "interne" de l'ordinateur, tandis que les nerfs qui jaillissent de la colonne vertébrale et atteignent les coins les plus reculés du corps sont la partie en contact avec l'extérieur.


Cette dernière partie du système nerveux, appelée système nerveux périphérique, est l'endroit où se trouvent les voies afférentes et efférentes, sont les canaux d'entrée et de sortie du système nerveux central, respectivement .

Les voies empruntées par les informations sensorielles

Ainsi, toute l’information qui entre par les neurones sensoriels passe par les voies afférentes, c’est-à-dire ceux qui transforment les informations qui rassemblent les sens et les transforment en impulsions nerveuses . Au lieu de cela, les voies efférentes sont responsables de la propagation des impulsions électriques destinées à activer (ou désactiver) certaines glandes et groupes musculaires. De cette façon, si nous voulions nous en tenir à un schéma explicatif simple de ce qui constitue une afférence et une référence, nous dirions que le premier informe le système nerveux central de ce qui se passe dans le reste du corps et des données relatives à l'environnement. reçoit, tandis que les neurones efférents traitent des "ordres de transmission" et lancent une action.


De la même façon, le mot aferencia sert à désigner les informations qui transitent par ces voies du système nerveux périphérique, tandis que le terme référence désigne le résultat (ou sortie) de données allant du système nerveux central aux fibres musculaires et aux glandes responsables de la libération de toutes sortes de substances et d’hormones.

Une aide pour mieux se souvenir

La distinction entre afférent et efférent est très utile pour comprendre comment nous percevons et agissons sur l'environnement, mais Cela peut aussi être assez problématique car il est facile de confondre les deux termes et utilisez-les pour désigner le contraire de ce que vous voulez dire.

Heureusement, avec de simples astuces mnémoniques, il est très facile de se rappeler ce que chaque chose est, et le fait que ces mots ne soient différenciés que par une lettre fait en sorte que le souvenir d'un autre rappelle celui de l'autre. Par exemple, le "a" de "afférent" peut être lié au a arrivée ("Arrival" et anglais), et le "e" de "efferent" avec la première lettre de "send".

Des pions de neurones?

Les voies afférentes et efférentes suggèrent un fonctionnement hiérarchique du système nerveux: tandis que certains groupes de neurones informent de ce qui se passe dans le reste du corps et transmettent des ordres pour mettre en œuvre des plans, des stratégies et des protocoles d'action D'autres prennent des décisions et donnent des ordres que d'autres accompliront. Cependant, le fonctionnement de notre système nerveux n’est pas aussi simple que l’on pourrait l’imaginer dans cette vision très schématique des voyages que l’information nerveuse effectue sur toute la longueur et la largeur de notre corps, pour deux raisons fondamentales.

La première est que les neurones afférents et efférents ne se limitent pas à transmettre passivement des informations: ils les transforment également. Ce qui parvient à la moelle épinière, aux glandes et aux muscles est un foisonnement de données dont la forme dépend en grande partie de la façon dont il a trouvé chaque neurone dans lequel il a voyagé.

La deuxième raison est que, même s’il est vrai que la prise de décision dépend plus du cerveau que des réseaux de neurones du système nerveux périphérique, on ne sait pas qui est responsable de qui, parce qu'ils occupent tous une place dans un cycle de données . Après tout, les neurones afférents envoient au cerveau des informations sans lesquelles aucun plan d’action ne peut être initié, et la manière dont les voies efférentes de transmission de l’information aura un impact sur le corps et sur l’environnement qui affectera ensuite la neurones afférents et, par conséquent, le cerveau. Considérez, par exemple, le fait de conserver une boîte de biscuits pour éviter la tentation de grignoter entre les repas: un changement dans l'environnement nous fait penser et nous sentir différemment par rapport à la boîte à biscuits en vue. .

En bref, les neurones afférents et efférents peuvent avoir une tâche plus simple et plus facile à étudier que celle des cellules nerveuses dans le cerveau, mais ils ont toujours un rôle vital dans notre vie quotidienne.


Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes