yes, therapy helps!
Obsession for beauty: thus parasitizes our minds

Obsession for beauty: thus parasitizes our minds

October 23, 2020

We live in a time in which the external image is so important that it has come to condition our lives. The obsession with beauty is nothing new ; However, in a hyperconnected world, social networks and television have enhanced this concern to maintain a physical perfectionism that is worrisome both for its social and psychological impact.

And it is that in a world in which we are subjected daily to an incredible amount of stimuli (advertising, series, publications in social networks, etc.), the lack of time must be compensated by ways of filtering what interests us. And what is the fastest way to do it? Judging aesthetics, appearances. Hence, the obsession with beauty has become a kind of parasite that direct our goals and motivations both individually and collectively; we feed each other.


  • Related article: "Aspectism: discrimination by physical appearance"

What is meant by obsession with beauty?

At Northwestern University they have determined that the obsession with beauty it has become a kind of social disease , something similar to a psychological disorder. Specifically, they have noticed that women suffer such pressure because of their external image, which statistically they are more prone to think obsessively about their image, comparing it with that of others.

In the words of Renee Engeln, professor of psychology and director of the Body and Media Lab department, this obsession with beauty makes women invest all their energies in pretend what they are not and please the public , instead of looking at other goals such as professional or intellectual development, to name a few examples.


The industry of the image and aesthetic products are, to a great extent, the great ones in charge of the obsession by the beauty. Feminist groups and organizations, as well as researchers, assure that this type of companies distort women's perception of their physical beauty .

Some alarming data

According to some sociological studies in which Renee Engeln herself has participated, 82% of women of adolescent age spend a lot of time comparing their bodies with those of models and celebrities . On the other hand, 70% of women in adulthood ensures that they feel better valued and considered when they have tried to resemble those media models.

Within this same group of women, different conclusions have been drawn. Women obsessed with beauty are much more likely to have symptoms of depression, eating disorder and great wishes to undergo surgical operations to change your image.


Another fact that reinforces the concerns for beauty and perfection is that on average, women have up to a total of 35 different beauty products at home, and they invest no less than 50 minutes a day to prepare before leaving to the Street.

The obsession with beauty: barrier for equality

Renee Engeln goes further and sharpens the problem to the social sphere. When we analyze carefully what any woman devotes part of her time and economic resources in "being beautiful" versus what the male sex invests in the same, we locate a gender problem and equality between both .

When the woman of the time consumes an hour of her work to get her hair done and a make-up session and the male partner spends only ten minutes, we have to stop and ask ourselves: what's going on here?

  • Maybe you're interested: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

Does this problem affect men?

It would be very simplistic and hypocritical to say that beauty problems only affect women. Men are also concerned about their appearance, they are pressured to be handsome and are conditioned by some stereotypes.

Now, if someone happens to compare the level of obsession with beauty, you will realize that there is a great gap between both sexes . And this is very easy to measure; it is only necessary to compare the number of plastic surgeries to which women are subjected by that of men.

When we find 80-90 percent of women who undergo a high-risk operation for life and health, compared to the remaining 20-10 percent of men, there is no doubt that this problem affects women unequally.

Is there a solution to the problem?

It is a difficult question to answer. The real problem is that the obsession with beauty it's a cultural problem . It is not a physical pathology, nor a simple wrong choice taken individually.To solve this problem would not be so much to change the routines of the person who suffers this obsession; we must transform culture and reject that absurd idea of ​​feminine perfection, of the ideology of the angelic princess. One can "kill" the messenger, but can not kill the message.

Clearly there is a solution, but the problem we must fight it in the bud, with education and raising awareness in society as a whole. As with other problems of a psychosocial nature, the change can be made by making some small gestures, small actions. If many people join these small changes, it will be possible to take a cultural turn, a turn of values ​​and ideas.

How do you start with these changes? Both individually (stop fighting to be less than others, less attractive than the leading actress in the film) and collective (publicly reject the use of the role of "woman vase", for example). You have to change, first of all, the way you talk, the type of conversation.

As it has been commented from the beginning, the obsession by the beauty is exaggerated in the social technological means (the social networks) like Instagram, Facebook or Tweeter. Before posting a photo and seeking public acceptance, we must ask ourselves why we do it .

  • Related article: "Facebook, Instagram ... and the summer you're missing"

The Vine That 'Loves' Parasitic Wasps to Death (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Obsession pour la beauté: parasite donc nos esprits

Obsession pour la beauté: parasite donc nos esprits

Juin 25, 2019

Nous vivons à une époque où l'image externe est si importante qu'elle en vient à conditionner nos vies. L'obsession de la beauté n'est pas nouvelle ; Cependant, dans un monde hyperconnecté, les réseaux sociaux et la télévision ont renforcé ce souci de maintenir un perfectionnisme physique inquiétant à la fois pour son impact social et psychologique.

Et c’est que dans un monde où nous sommes soumis quotidiennement à une quantité incroyable de stimuli (publicité, séries, publications sur les réseaux sociaux, etc.), le manque de temps doit être compensé par des moyens de filtrer ce qui nous intéresse. Et quel est le moyen le plus rapide de le faire? Juger esthétique, apparences. Par conséquent, l'obsession de la beauté est devenue une sorte de parasite diriger nos objectifs et motivations à la fois individuellement et collectivement; nous nous nourrissons les uns les autres.


  • Article connexe: "Aspectisme: discrimination par apparence physique"

Qu'entend-on par obsession de la beauté?

À l'Université Northwestern, ils ont déterminé que l'obsession de la beauté c'est devenu une sorte de maladie sociale , quelque chose de semblable à un désordre psychologique. En particulier, ils ont remarqué que les femmes subissaient de telles pressions en raison de leur image externe, qui les rend statistiquement plus enclines à penser de manière obsessionnelle à leur image, en la comparant à celle des autres.

Pour Renee Engeln, professeure de psychologie et directrice du département Body and Media Lab, cette obsession de la beauté oblige les femmes à investir toute leur énergie dans prétendre qu'ils ne sont pas et plaire au public , au lieu de regarder d’autres objectifs tels que le développement professionnel ou intellectuel, pour ne citer que quelques exemples.


L'industrie de l'image et les produits esthétiques sont, en grande partie, les grands responsables de l'obsession de la beauté. Les groupes et organisations féministes, ainsi que les chercheurs, assurent que ce type d’entreprise déformer la perception des femmes de leur beauté physique .

Quelques données alarmantes

Selon certaines études sociologiques auxquelles Renee Engeln elle-même a participé, 82% des femmes adolescentes passent beaucoup de temps comparer leurs corps avec ceux des modèles et des célébrités . D'autre part, 70% des femmes à l'âge adulte s'assurent de se sentir mieux valorisées et prises en compte lorsqu'elles ont essayé de ressembler à ces modèles médiatiques.

Au sein de ce même groupe de femmes, différentes conclusions ont été tirées. Les femmes obsédées par la beauté sont beaucoup plus susceptibles d’avoir des symptômes de dépression, de trouble de l’alimentation et de grands voeux pour subir des opérations chirurgicales pour changer votre image.


Un autre fait qui renforce les préoccupations en matière de beauté et de perfection est que, en moyenne, les femmes ont jusqu'à 35 produits de beauté différents à la maison et investissent pas moins de 50 minutes par jour à se préparer avant de partir pour la journée. rue.

L'obsession de la beauté: barrière pour l'égalité

Renee Engeln va plus loin et aiguise le problème vers la sphère sociale. Lorsque nous analysons avec soin ce qu'une femme consacre à une partie de son temps et de ses ressources économiques à "être belle" par rapport à ce que le sexe masculin investit dans le même problème de genre et l'égalité entre les deux .

Lorsque la femme de l'époque consomme une heure de son travail pour se coiffer et se maquiller et que le partenaire ne consacre que dix minutes, nous devons nous arrêter et nous demander: que se passe-t-il ici?

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme de tous les jours"

Ce problème affecte-t-il les hommes?

Il serait très simpliste et hypocrite de dire que les problèmes de beauté ne concernent que les femmes. Les hommes sont également préoccupés par leur apparence physique, subissent des pressions pour être beaux et sont conditionnés par certains stéréotypes.

Maintenant, si quelqu'un compare le niveau d'obsession de la beauté, vous vous rendrez compte qu'il y a un grand fossé entre les deux sexes . Et c'est très facile à mesurer. il suffit de comparer le nombre de chirurgies plastiques auxquelles les femmes sont soumises par celui des hommes.

Lorsque nous trouvons 80 à 90% des femmes qui subissent une opération à haut risque pour leur vie et leur santé, par rapport aux 20 à 10% des hommes restants, il ne fait aucun doute que ce problème affecte les femmes de manière inégale.

Y a-t-il une solution au problème?

C'est une question difficile à répondre. Le vrai problème est que l'obsession de la beauté c'est un problème culturel . Ce n'est pas une pathologie physique, ni un simple mauvais choix pris individuellement.Résoudre ce problème ne serait pas tant changer les routines de la personne qui souffre de cette obsession; nous devons transformer la culture et rejeter cette idée absurde de perfection féminine, d’idéologie de la princesse angélique. On peut "tuer" le messager, mais ne peut pas tuer le message.

Clairement, il y a une solution, mais le problème nous devons le combattre dans l'œuf, avec l'éducation et la sensibilisation de la société ensemble. Comme pour d'autres problèmes de nature psychosociale, le changement peut être effectué en effectuant quelques petits gestes, de petites actions. Si beaucoup de gens rejoignent ces petits changements, il sera possible de prendre une tournure culturelle, une tournure de valeurs et d’idées.

Comment commencez-vous avec ces changements? Individuellement (arrêtez de vous battre pour être moins que d'autres, moins attrayant que l'actrice principale du film) et collectif (rejetez publiquement l'utilisation du rôle de "femme vase", par exemple) Tout d'abord, vous devez changer votre façon de parler, le type de conversation.

Comme il a été commenté depuis le début, l'obsession de la beauté est exagérée dans les moyens technologiques sociaux (les réseaux sociaux) comme Instagram, Facebook ou Tweeter. Avant de poster une photo et de chercher l'acceptation du public, nous devons nous demander pourquoi nous le faisons .

  • Article connexe: "Facebook, Instagram ... et l'été qui vous manque"

Les très jeunes YouTubeurs (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes