yes, therapy helps!
Why are there people who are always late for appointments?

Why are there people who are always late for appointments?

April 25, 2024

It seems incredible, but there are people who seem to be unable to reach the sites on time despite planning the schedules and having their eyes fixed constantly on the clock . It is problematic, especially when this delay, which is related to the time at which the trip to the meeting place has started, is joined by unexpected incidents, or when there is not much trust with the people waiting.

Arriving late tends to be a nuisance for both the person waiting and the person who is delayed, and yet it is very common to leave with just the right time (or even at the time it has been left). How can it be explained that it costs us so much to learn from mistakes and leave in advance? There are different reasons that can explain the existence of these "chronic tardones".


Possible reasons why you are late (always, everywhere)

There must be some explanation why certain people are very likely to be late everywhere , while others show an English punctuality. Can this difference have something to do with some psychological aspect?

1. Being too narcissistic

People with narcissistic personality are prone to have problems when it comes to putting themselves in the place of others. This implies, among other things, that they will not assume the fact that each time they arrive late will cause discomfort to third parties and, in fact, they may find the sensation of waiting for them pleasurable.


In the end, forcing oneself to be late to the sites is a way of creating the illusion that one is important enough so that everyone has to wait to enjoy their company. However, these cases are not too frequent.

2. Addiction to last-minute races

It may be difficult to understand, but the need to find shortcuts or methods to move forward quickly and the release of adrenaline that is associated with being late can be considered something of a sport: you arrive late for a kind of strange pleasure.

And as such, it is possible that it generates addiction. So, it is understandable that some people take it as such, although in an unconscious way, and take advantage of the slightest appointment or meeting as an excuse to live a little adventure against the clock.


3. You do not want to arrive before your time

This motive is the most sensible from a cost-benefit logic. There are many reasons why someone may not want to arrive a minute before the agreed time, and none of these must be the intention to cause problems to others.

  1. Wait is unproductive . Arriving early can be perceived as a waste of time. It does not give the feeling of serving a clear utility. Faced with the prospect of arriving too early and not doing anything for a while, it is possible that many people delay their departure precisely by doing things that are apparently productive, such as cleaning the house, reading a book or even taking time to rest, something that I could do it while waiting. Ironically, this drive towards productivity that leads to chronic retardation would probably not be present if you did not have the perception of having to choose between that or spend an unproductive time in the place agreed for the meeting.
  2. It's boring . Arriving ahead of time means spending a moment of monotony and discomfort. Waiting for someone supposes being motionless for a few minutes, with nothing to do and without being able to go anywhere else. Just as it is known that the other person may be upset if he or she has to wait a long time, the person who tends to be late knows that she can also be harmed if she has to wait.
  3. It affects the self-image . For some people, waiting is a small challenge in which we should look interesting and offer a positive image of oneself while remaining quiet because others have decided so. You can smoke, look at the smartphone, put calculated poses ... A situation similar to that which occurs when we go in an elevator with unknown people.

Some psychological conclusions

Definitely, for these people to arrive in advance is not something positive , but a possibility that must be avoided. Therefore, they discard the possibility of leaving a few minutes before (either due to a conscious or unconscious decision), they only have the option of arriving just at the agreed time or later. And, as the alternative "later" is composed of more moments than the first option, it is the most likely of the two possibilities. Result: Arrivals late , forever.

So you know: if you think that one of these three reasons explains most of the cases in which you are late, the main thing is to recognize and fight for this to stop being so. Just do not leave for tomorrow.


A friend who is always late for appointments (textstories) (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui sont toujours en retard aux rendez-vous?

Pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui sont toujours en retard aux rendez-vous?

Juin 5, 2020

Cela semble incroyable, mais il y a des gens qui semblent être incapables d'atteindre les sites à l'heure malgré la planification des horaires et en gardant les yeux rivés sur l'horloge . C'est problématique, en particulier lorsque ce retard, lié au moment où le voyage vers le lieu de réunion a commencé, est accompagné d'incidents inattendus ou lorsqu'il n'y a pas beaucoup de confiance en ceux qui attendent.

Arriver en retard a tendance à être une nuisance à la fois pour la personne qui attend et pour la personne qui est en retard, et pourtant, il est très courant de partir avec le bon moment (ou même au moment où il a été laissé). Comment expliquer qu’il nous coûte tellement d’apprendre des erreurs et de partir à l’avance? Différentes raisons peuvent expliquer l’existence de ces "tardones chroniques".


Raisons possibles pour votre retard (toujours, partout)

Il doit y avoir une explication pourquoi certaines personnes sont très susceptibles d’être en retard partout , tandis que d’autres affichent une ponctualité anglaise. Cette différence peut-elle avoir quelque chose à voir avec un aspect psychologique?

1. Être trop narcissique

Les personnes narcissiques ont tendance à avoir des problèmes pour se mettre à la place des autres. Cela implique, entre autres choses, qu'ils ne supposeront pas le fait que chaque fois qu'ils arrivent en retard causera un malaise à des tiers et, en fait, ils trouveront peut-être agréable de les attendre.


En fin de compte, s’obliger à être en retard sur les sites est un moyen de créer l’illusion qu’on est suffisamment important pour que tout le monde soit obligé d’attendre pour pouvoir profiter de la compagnie. Cependant, ces cas ne sont pas trop fréquents.

2. Addiction aux courses de dernière minute

C'est peut-être difficile à comprendre, mais la nécessité de trouver des raccourcis ou des méthodes pour avancer rapidement et la libération d'adrénaline associée au retard peuvent être considérées comme un sport: vous arrivez en retard pour un plaisir étrange.

Et en tant que tel, il est possible que cela génère une dépendance. Il est donc compréhensible que certaines personnes le prennent comme tel, bien que de manière inconsciente, et profitent du moindre rendez-vous ou réunion pour prétendre vivre une petite aventure contre la montre.


3. Vous ne voulez pas arriver avant votre heure

Ce motif est le plus raisonnable d'une logique coûts-avantages. Il y a de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles une personne peut ne pas vouloir arriver une minute avant l'heure convenue, et aucune de celles-ci ne doit avoir pour but de causer des problèmes à d'autres.

  1. Attendre est improductif . Arriver tôt peut être perçu comme une perte de temps. Cela ne donne pas le sentiment de servir un utilitaire clair. Face à la perspective d’arriver trop tôt et de ne rien faire pendant un moment, il est possible que beaucoup de personnes retardent leur départ précisément en faisant des choses apparemment productives, telles que nettoyer la maison, lire un livre ou même prendre le temps de se reposer. Je pourrais le faire en attendant. Ironiquement, cet effort de productivité conduisant à un retard chronique ne serait probablement pas présent si vous n'aviez pas l'impression de devoir choisir entre cela ou de passer un temps improductif à l'endroit convenu pour la réunion.
  2. C'est ennuyeux . Arriver en avance signifie passer un moment de monotonie et de malaise. Attendre quelqu'un suppose de rester immobile pendant quelques minutes, sans rien à faire et sans pouvoir aller nulle part ailleurs. Tout comme on sait que l’autre personne peut être fâchée si elle doit attendre longtemps, la personne qui a tendance à être en retard sait qu’elle peut également être blessée si elle doit attendre.
  3. Cela affecte l'image de soi . Pour certaines personnes, attendre est un petit défi dans lequel nous devrions avoir l’air intéressant et offrir une image positive de nous-mêmes tout en restant silencieux car d’autres l’ont décidé. Vous pouvez fumer, regarder le smartphone, mettre des poses calculées ... Une situation similaire à celle qui se produit lorsque nous allons dans un ascenseur avec des inconnus.

Quelques conclusions psychologiques

Finalement, que ces personnes n'arrivent pas à l'avance n'est pas positif , mais une possibilité qui doit être évitée. Par conséquent, ils abandonnent la possibilité de partir quelques minutes avant (en raison d’une décision consciente ou inconsciente), ils n’ont la possibilité d’arriver qu’à l’heure convenue ou plus tard. Et, comme l’alternative «plus tard» est composée de plus de moments que la première option, c’est la plus probable des deux possibilités. Résultat: Arrivées tardives toujours

Alors vous savez: si vous pensez que l’une de ces trois raisons explique la plupart des cas de retard, l’essentiel est de reconnaître et de vous battre pour que cela cesse d’être ainsi. Ne partez pas pour demain.


MDR Voilà pourquoi jarrive toujours en retard ???? (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes