yes, therapy helps!
Personality Disorder by Avoidance: extreme shyness?

Personality Disorder by Avoidance: extreme shyness?

May 9, 2021

The known as Personality Disorder by Avoidance it is a type of personality disorder characterized by the avoidance of social relations taken to the extreme. To summarize it in a very superficial way, it is a disorder in which the shyness produced by the fear of giving a bad image to others leads the person to isolate himself and avoid interacting with others.

Then we will see the symptoms, causes and treatments used to improve the well-being of people diagnosed with this disorder.

What is Personality Disorder by Avoidance?

Also known as Anxiety Personality Disorder, or simply as an avoidance disorder, this disorder has as a fundamental characteristic the strong social inhibition. This means that people with this behavior pattern always try to maintain a very discreet profile, not attract attention and as long as they can, they stay out of the others.


In the DSM IV diagnostic manual, belongs to group C of personality disorders , the one of the anxious disorders, together with the Personality Disorder by Dependence and the Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder of the Personality.

symptom

The main symptoms of Personality Disorder by Avoidance They are the following. In any case, it must be clear that the diagnosis of this disorder (and the rest of psychological disorders) can only be made by a mental health professional, examining case by case.

1. Deliberate isolation

People who have this disorder they are secluded in their homes or in their rooms for much longer periods than normal, and as far as possible avoid relating to other people.


2. Anxiety in social contexts

When there are people nearby, especially if they are unknown, it is frequent that signs of anxiety appear , such as increased heart rate, tremors and speech difficulties (which helps to avoid talking). Therefore, their social skills are bad.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

3. Extreme sensitivity to criticism

Negative evaluations of others directed towards oneself have devastating effects on people with Personality Disorder by Avoidance, which makes them feel humiliated and rejected with great ease.

4. Low self-esteem

Another characteristic of these people is that they have very little confidence in their abilities , and a clear sense of inferiority is reflected in their beliefs.


  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

5. Escapist fantasies

These people tend to fantasize frequently about how they would like their lives to be .

6. Distrust

The fear of giving a bad public image makes one tend to distrust others in anticipation of revealing their own inferiority and the others try to take advantage of the situation .

7. Constant state of surveillance

Avoidance disorder is associated with a continuous state of alert , by which the environment is examined to discover potential threats.

8. Avoidance of physical contact

This kind of experiences have been associated with unpleasant experiences , distressing or painful, so try not to repeat them.

Differential diagnosis and similar disorders

Very often, Personality Disorder by Avoidance occurs in people with agoraphobia; about 15% of patients diagnosed with the second also present the first. Regarding people with social phobia , about 30% of them also have avoidance disorder.

These diagnostic categories belong to anxiety disorders, whose basic difference with Personality Disorder by Avoidance is that in this second person focuses much of his fear and concern in the reactions of others instead of basically directing them towards himself .

However, the relationship between avoidance disorder and social phobia is still highly debated, and in many cases it is difficult to distinguish them, although some studies attribute a somewhat lower level of anxiety to social phobia.

  • Related article: "Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?"

Causes

Like any mental disorder with complex characteristics, it is estimated that the root of the Personality Disorder by Avoidance is multicausal, and therefore it is not realistic to attribute a single mechanism of appearance to it. However, in the absence of further research in this regard, it is considered that early experiences of isolation and lack of affective ties during childhood and adolescence it has a very important role.

Having learned the person that the rejection is the normal experience that comes "by default", assimilates the idea that the rejection of others is inevitable and will appear in every social interaction.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Harlow's experiment and maternal deprivation: substituting the mother"

Treatments

The psychological treatments for Personality Disorder by Avoidance are based on cognitive behavioral therapy. This form of intervention allows modify beliefs in which low self-esteem is based, and at the same time offers a context in which to learn new habits to socialize, causing anxiety and fear to subside.

In the same way, a training in social skills It also has beneficial effects and improves the chances that the person will learn the skills necessary to find work and gain autonomy.

Regarding the use of psychopharmaceuticals , these are only used when it is essential and to treat symptoms linked to anxiety and associated symptoms.


Shyness or Narcissism? Avoidant Personality Disorder (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la personnalité par évitement: timidité extrême?

Trouble de la personnalité par évitement: timidité extrême?

Novembre 26, 2022

Le connu comme trouble de la personnalité par l'évitement C'est un type de trouble de la personnalité caractérisé par l'évitement des relations sociales poussées à l'extrême. En résumé, c’est un trouble dans lequel la timidité créée par la peur de donner une mauvaise image aux autres amène la personne à s’isoler et à éviter d’interagir avec les autres.

Ensuite nous verrons les symptômes, les causes et les traitements utilisé pour améliorer le bien-être des personnes diagnostiquées avec ce trouble.

Qu'est-ce que le trouble de la personnalité par évitement?

Également connu sous le nom de trouble de la personnalité anxieux, ou simplement en tant que trouble d'évitement, ce trouble a pour caractéristique fondamentale la forte inhibition sociale. Cela signifie que les personnes ayant ce type de comportement essaient toujours de conserver un profil très discret, de ne pas attirer l'attention et, tant qu'elles le peuvent, elles restent en dehors des autres.


Dans le manuel de diagnostic DSM IV, appartient au groupe C des troubles de la personnalité , celui des troubles anxieux, avec le trouble de la personnalité par la dépendance et le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif de la personnalité.

Les symptômes

Les principaux symptômes du trouble de la personnalité par évitement Ils sont les suivants. Dans tous les cas, il doit être clair que le diagnostic de cette maladie (et le reste des troubles psychologiques) ne peut être posé que par un professionnel de la santé mentale, en examinant au cas par cas.

1. Isolement délibéré

Les gens qui ont ce trouble ils sont isolés dans leur maison ou dans leur chambre pendant des périodes beaucoup plus longues que la normale et, dans la mesure du possible, évitez de parler à d’autres personnes.


2. Anxiété dans les contextes sociaux

Quand il y a des gens à proximité, surtout s'ils sont inconnus, il est fréquent que des signes d'anxiété apparaissent , tels que l'augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque, des tremblements et des difficultés d'élocution (ce qui permet d'éviter de parler). Par conséquent, leurs compétences sociales sont mauvaises.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

3. Extrême sensibilité à la critique

Évaluations négatives des autres dirigé vers soi-même a des effets dévastateurs sur les personnes atteintes de trouble de la personnalité par évitement, ce qui les fait se sentir humiliées et rejetées avec une grande facilité.

4. Faible estime de soi

Une autre caractéristique de ces personnes est qu’elles ont très peu de confiance en leurs capacités et un sentiment d'infériorité évident se reflète dans leurs croyances.


  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

5. fantasmes d'évasion

Ces personnes ont tendance à fantasmer fréquemment à propos de comment ils voudraient que leur vie soit .

6. Méfiance

La crainte de donner une mauvaise image publique fait que l’on a tendance à se méfier des autres dans l’anticipation de révéler leur propre infériorité et les autres. essayer de profiter de la situation .

7. État de surveillance constant

Le trouble d'évitement est associé à un état d'alerte continu , par lequel l’environnement est examiné pour découvrir les menaces potentielles.

8. Éviter le contact physique

Ce genre d'expériences ont été associés à des expériences désagréables , pénible ou douloureux, essayez donc de ne pas les répéter.

Diagnostic différentiel et troubles similaires

Très souvent, le trouble de la personnalité par évitement survient chez les personnes atteintes d'agoraphobie; environ 15% des patients diagnostiqués avec le second présentent également le premier. Concernant les personnes atteintes de phobie sociale , environ 30% d’entre eux ont également un trouble d’évitement.

Ces catégories de diagnostics appartiennent aux troubles anxieux, dont la différence fondamentale avec le trouble de la personnalité par évitement réside dans le fait que, chez cette seconde personne, une grande partie de sa peur et de son inquiétude est centrée sur les réactions des autres au lieu de les diriger essentiellement .

Cependant, la relation entre le trouble d'évitement et la phobie sociale fait encore l'objet de nombreuses discussions et il est souvent difficile de les distinguer, bien que certaines études attribuent un niveau d'anxiété légèrement inférieur à la phobie sociale.

  • Article connexe: "La phobie sociale: de quoi s'agit-il et comment la surmonter?"

Les causes

Comme tout trouble mental ayant des caractéristiques complexes, on estime que la racine du trouble de la personnalité par évitement est multicausale et qu’il n’est donc pas réaliste de lui attribuer un seul mécanisme d’apparence. Cependant, en l’absence de recherche supplémentaire à cet égard, il est considéré que premières expériences d'isolement et d'absence de liens affectifs pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence, il joue un rôle très important.

Ayant appris à la personne que le rejet est l'expérience normale qui vient "par défaut", assimile l'idée selon laquelle le rejet des autres est inévitable et apparaîtra dans toutes les interactions sociales.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'expérience de Harlow et la privation maternelle: remplacer la mère"

Traitements

Les traitements psychologiques du trouble de la personnalité par évitement sont basés sur la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale. Cette forme d'intervention permet modifier les croyances dans laquelle la faible estime de soi est basée et offre en même temps un contexte dans lequel apprendre de nouvelles habitudes de socialisation, ce qui provoque l’anxiété et la peur.

De la même manière, une formation en compétences sociales Il a également des effets bénéfiques et augmente les chances que la personne acquière les compétences nécessaires pour trouver du travail et acquérir son autonomie.

Concernant l'utilisation de psychopharmaceutiques , ceux-ci ne sont utilisés que lorsque cela est essentiel et pour traiter les symptômes liés à l’anxiété et les symptômes associés.


Témoignages de rétablissement - Daphnée et le trouble de l'alimentation (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes