yes, therapy helps!
Megalomania and delusions of grandeur: playing at being God

Megalomania and delusions of grandeur: playing at being God

May 6, 2021

The word megalomania it comes from the union of two Greek words: megas, which means "big", and mania whose meaning is "obsession". Thus, megalomania is the obsession with the big, at least if we pay attention to its etymology.

Megalomaniac people: what features characterize them?

Now, who does not know someone who, thinking so much, believes that the world is going to eat? It is quite common to find, from time to time, people especially proud of themselves, with a clearly optimistic vision about their own abilities and who seem to think they are capable of everything.

By way of criticism, it can also happen that someone (or perhaps ourselves) labels these people with the adjective "megalomaniac" or "megalomaniac," especially if the person you are talking about has some power to influence the life of a person. the others, either because he is very popular or because he is assigned a high position.


In these cases are we talking about megalomaniac people?

Clarifying the concept of the megalomaniac

What exactly is megalomania? Is it a word used only to describe cases of mental disorder, or can this word be used to designate the presumptuous or vain people we meet in our day to day?

In a sense, the correct choice is the second, and the fact that we use the word megalomania to describe all kinds of people is proof of that. In general terms, Megalomania is understood as a tendency to overestimate one's abilities and the importance of the role played in the lives of others. Thus, a person who is usually quite proud (perhaps, too proud) about their abilities and their power of decision could be labeled with the megalomaniac or megalomaniac term, yes, using the word something lightly.


However, if we try to understand megalomania from the field of psychology, we will have to use this word in rather better limited cases.

Origins: a megalomania in psychoanalysis

Freud was already in charge of talking about megalomania as a personality trait linked to neuroticism, something that he himself was in charge of dealing with patients of the well-bred class who came to his office.

Beyond the psychoanalysis of Freud, other followers of the psychodynamic current have come to define megalomania as a defense mechanism carried out so that reality does not contradict the unconscious impulses that, theoretically, would lead us to behave trying to satisfy all our needs immediately, as if we had unlimited power. As, obviously, we do not have omnipotence that would like to have that subconscious part of our psyche, said these psychodynamics, distort reality to make it look like we do: and hence the megalomania, which would help us avoid suffering a continuous frustration .


However, the dominant clinical psychology is currently going down a path that has nothing to do with the psychodynamic current founded with Freud, and the notion of megalomania has also changed.

Symptoms and signs of this disorder

The term megalomania appears in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V) and is included in the description of the Narcissistic Personality Disorder, but does not have its own section and therefore can not be considered in itself a mental disorder, but in any case part of the symptomatology.

Thus, megalomania can play a role in a diagnostic picture, although mental health professionals now prefer to use more precise terminology to talk about the Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

Specifically, to know if megalomania is part of a disorder, special attention is paid to whether the person presents delusional ideas or does not present them.

Megalomania and delirious ideas

Delirious ideas are those that are based on a clearly inadequate logic , which only makes sense to the person who holds these beliefs, when one is unable to learn through experience the futility of these ideas, and when acting according to these ideas is problematic or inappropriate.

Therefore, for megalomania to be part of a clinical picture, it must be presented in this type of thoughts that distort reality by passing the bill on to the person in question and / or their environment. Megalomania is equated with delusions of grandeur.

A person who has been diagnosed among other things for his tendencies to megalomania will tend to believe that he has more power than a person would have in his situation , and the fact that the fact of maintaining these beliefs leads him to fail seriously harming him will not change his mind. Delusional ideation will remain there even after having lost fights against several people at once, for example, or after having been rejected by many people having been presented in a very presumptuous way.

Also, since megalomania is related to the narcissistic personality disorder, it will most likely tend to worry about the image it gives.

All this, of course, if we understand by megalomania what is included in the DSM-V.

How are the megalomaniacs?

People who have a pattern of behavior clearly associated with megalomania can be of many types, but evidently have some common characteristics.

  • They behave as if they had practically unlimited power , which can lead them to get into serious problems for obvious reasons.
  • They take advantage of this supposed omnipotence , in the sense that they like to test their abilities.
  • They do not learn from their mistakes and experience does not make them correct the behaviors associated with delusions of grandeur.
  • They seem to be constantly pretending to give an idealized image of themselves.
  • They pay attention to the way in which others react to what they do or say, although if others reject them for their behavior, people with an extreme degree of megalomania will tend to think that the problem belongs to others.

Megalomania is a concept with chiaroscuro

Megalomania is a somewhat ambiguous concept ... like almost all the concepts with which one works in psychology. Megalomania, in itself, can be applied to many cases, more extreme or more frequent, and it is not necessary to have a mental disorder to be worthy of the appellation. However, in DSM-V uses the concept of megalomania to designate extreme cases in which delusions of grandeur occur that isolate the individual and make him hold a very distorted vision of things.

Many times, in the clinical and forensic context, people in charge of diagnosing people have to know how to recognize cases in which the tendency to megalomania is part of the symptoms of a mental disorder ... which is not easy. That is, they have to distinguish between what is popularly known as "boldness" and pathological megalomania.

How do they do that? Well, part of the secret is in the years of experience, of course. If it were possible to diagnose cases of disorders that are expressed through megalomania, there would be no need for professionals to take care of it. On the other hand, the diagnostic manuals include a series of criteria that serve to quantify in a more or less objective way the degree to which megalomania approaches the delusions of grandeur and the narcissistic personality disorder.

A final reflection

From the perspective of psychology, using the popular definition of the concept "megalomania" entails an obvious danger: on the one hand, trivialize with a series of symptoms that occur in clinical pictures and worsen the quality of life of people who experience it, and on the other, build a false social alarm around a nonexistent epidemic. There are people who simply have a higher self-esteem and optimism than the average, and there is nothing wrong with that.


it's the megalomania that really scares me (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mégalomanie et délire de grandeur: jouer à être Dieu

Mégalomanie et délire de grandeur: jouer à être Dieu

Mai 21, 2019

Mot mégalomanie cela vient de l'union de deux mots grecs: megas, ce qui signifie "grand", et passe-temps dont le sens est "obsession". Ainsi, la mégalomanie est l'obsession du grand, du moins si l'on prête attention à son étymologie.

Peuple mégalomane: quelles caractéristiques les caractérisent?

Maintenant, qui ne connaît pas quelqu'un qui, pensant tant, croit que le monde va manger? Il est assez courant de trouver, de temps en temps, des gens particulièrement fiers d'eux-mêmes, avec une vision clairement optimiste de leurs propres capacités et qui semblent penser qu'ils sont capables de tout.

À titre de critique, il peut également arriver que quelqu'un (ou peut-être nous-mêmes) attribue à ces personnes l'adjectif "mégalomane" ou "mégalomane", en particulier si la personne dont vous parlez a le pouvoir d'influencer la vie d'une personne. les autres, soit parce qu'il est très populaire, soit parce qu'il occupe un poste élevé.


Dans ces cas, parlons-nous de gens mégalomanes?

Clarifier le concept du mégalomane

Qu'est-ce que la mégalomanie? S'agit-il d'un mot utilisé uniquement pour décrire des cas de troubles mentaux ou ce mot peut-il être utilisé pour désigner les personnes présomptueuses ou vaines que nous rencontrons au quotidien?

En un sens, le bon choix est le second, et le fait que nous utilisions le mot mégalomanie pour décrire toutes sortes de personnes en est la preuve. En termes générales, La mégalomanie est comprise comme une tendance à surestimer ses capacités et l'importance du rôle joué dans la vie des autres. Ainsi, une personne qui est généralement assez fière (peut-être trop fière) de ses capacités et de son pouvoir de décision pourrait être étiquetée avec le terme mégalomane ou mégalomane, oui, en utilisant le mot quelque chose à la légère.


Cependant, si nous essayons de comprendre la mégalomanie du domaine de la psychologie, nous devrons utiliser ce mot dans des cas plutôt plus limités.

Origines: une mégalomanie en psychanalyse

Freud était déjà chargé de parler de la mégalomanie en tant que trait de personnalité lié au neuroticisme, ce dont il était lui-même responsable pour traiter avec des patients de classe bien élevée qui venaient à son bureau.

Au-delà de la psychanalyse de Freud, d’autres adeptes du courant psychodynamique en sont venus à définir la mégalomanie comme un mécanisme de défense mis en place pour que la réalité ne contredit pas les impulsions inconscientes qui, théoriquement, nous conduiraient à vouloir satisfaire tous nos besoins. immédiatement, comme si nous avions un pouvoir illimité. De toute évidence, nous n'avons pas d'omnipotence qui voudrait que cette partie subconsciente de notre psyché, a déclaré cette psychodynamique, déforme la réalité pour la faire ressembler à la nôtre: d'où la mégalomanie, qui nous aiderait à éviter une frustration continue .


Cependant, la psychologie clinique dominante suit actuellement un chemin qui n’a rien à voir avec le courant psychodynamique fondé avec Freud, et la notion de mégalomanie a également changé.

Symptômes et signes de ce trouble

Le terme mégalomanie apparaît dans l'édition la plus récente du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V) et est inclus dans la description du trouble de la personnalité narcissique, mais ne comporte pas de section et ne peut donc être considéré en soi un trouble mental, mais en tout cas une partie de la symptomatologie.

Ainsi, la mégalomanie peut jouer un rôle dans le diagnostic, bien que les professionnels de la santé mentale préfèrent désormais utiliser une terminologie plus précise pour parler du trouble de la personnalité narcissique.

Plus précisément, pour savoir si la mégalomanie fait partie d'un trouble, une attention particulière est accordée à la question de savoir si la personne présente des idées délirantes ou non.

Mégalomanie et idées délirantes

Les idées délirantes sont celles qui reposent sur une logique clairement inadéquate , ce qui n’a de sens que pour celui qui porte ces croyances, quand on est incapable d’apprendre par expérience la futilité de ces idées, et quand agir selon ces idées est problématique ou inapproprié.

Par conséquent, pour que la mégalomanie fasse partie d’un tableau clinique, elle doit être présentée dans ce type de pensées qui déforment la réalité en transmettant le projet de loi à la personne concernée et / ou à son environnement. La Mégalomanie est assimilée à des illusions de grandeur.

Une personne qui a été diagnostiquée entre autres pour ses tendances à la mégalomanie aura tendance à croire qu'il a plus de pouvoir qu'une personne aurait dans sa situation , et le fait que le maintien de ces croyances l’amène à ne pas le blesser sérieusement ne le fera pas changer d’avis. Les idées délirantes y resteront même après avoir perdu les combats contre plusieurs personnes à la fois, par exemple, ou après avoir été rejetées par de nombreuses personnes ayant été présentées de manière très présomptueuse.

En outre, la mégalomanie étant liée au trouble de la personnalité narcissique, elle aura probablement tendance à s’inquiéter de l’image qu’elle donne.

Tout cela, bien sûr, si nous entendons par mégalomanie ce qui est inclus dans le DSM-V.

Comment sont les mégalomanes?

Les personnes qui ont un comportement clairement associé à la mégalomanie peuvent être de plusieurs types, mais présentent évidemment certaines caractéristiques communes.

  • Ils se comportent comme s'ils avaient un pouvoir pratiquement illimité , ce qui peut les amener à avoir de graves problèmes pour des raisons évidentes.
  • Ils profitent de cette supposée toute-puissance , dans le sens où ils aiment tester leurs capacités.
  • Ils n'apprennent pas de leurs erreurs et l'expérience ne leur permet pas de corriger les comportements associés aux illusions de grandeur.
  • Ils semblent faire semblant constamment donner une image idéalisée d'eux-mêmes.
  • Ils font attention à la façon dont les autres réagissent à ce qu'ils font ou disent, Cependant, si les autres les rejettent pour leur comportement, les personnes extrêmement mégalomanes auront tendance à penser que le problème appartient à d'autres.

La mégalomanie est un concept avec le clair-obscur

La mégalomanie est un concept quelque peu ambigu ... comme presque tous les concepts avec lesquels on travaille en psychologie. La mégalomanie, en soi, peut être appliquée à de nombreux cas, plus extrêmes ou plus fréquents, et il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir un trouble mental pour être digne de l'appellation. Cependant, dans DSM-V utilise le concept de mégalomanie pour désigner les cas extrêmes dans lesquels se produisent des illusions de grandeur qui isolent l'individu et lui donnent une vision très déformée des choses.

Souvent, dans le contexte clinique et médico-légal, les responsables du diagnostic doivent savoir reconnaître les cas dans lesquels la tendance à la mégalomanie fait partie des symptômes d'un trouble mental ... ce qui n'est pas chose facile. C'est-à-dire qu'ils doivent faire la distinction entre ce qu'on appelle couramment "l'audace" et la mégalomanie pathologique.

Comme ils le font? Une partie du secret réside dans les années d'expérience, bien sûr. S'il était possible de diagnostiquer des cas de troubles exprimés par la mégalomanie, les professionnels n'auraient pas besoin de s'en occuper. D'autre part, les manuels de diagnostic incluent une série de critères permettant de quantifier de manière plus ou moins objective la mesure dans laquelle la mégalomanie aborde le délire de grandeur et le trouble narcissique de la personnalité.

Une dernière réflexion

Du point de vue de la psychologie, l’utilisation de la définition populaire du concept de "mégalomanie" présente un danger évident: d’une part, banaliser avec une série de symptômes qui apparaissent dans les tableaux cliniques et aggravent la qualité de vie des gens qui en font l'expérience, et de l'autre, créent une fausse alerte sociale autour d'une épidémie inexistante. Il y a des gens qui ont simplement une estime de soi et un optimisme supérieurs à la moyenne, et il n'y a rien de mal à cela.


La France va-t-elle disparaître ? Emmanuel Todd - Aurélien Enthoven - François Asselineau (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes