yes, therapy helps!
Premature Ejaculation and Psychology

Premature Ejaculation and Psychology

October 1, 2022

The premature ejaculation It is one of the most common male sexual dysfunctions nowadays, however very few men go to a doctor or mental health professional to express their crisis openly and in confidence.

Premature ejaculation

Silence is the biggest enemy in these cases, not knowing how to share the problem in time can cause major conflicts difficult to deal with in the future.

What is the premature ejaculation?

Consists of the expulsion of semen persistently and recurrently in response to a sexual stimulation be it before, during or after penetration without the person so desiring . This disorder, according to the professionals of sexual health, is one of the most experienced by men. Professionals estimate that between 30 and 60% of men have ever suffered. Premature ejaculation can be related to several causes, for that the doctor or psychotherapist must obtain all the possible information for a good treatment.


Causes of premature ejaculation

To discover the main cause of premature ejaculation it is advisable to go to a doctor to rule out any organic anomaly that this disorder is resulting. In some cases, ejaculation is also the result of infections that usually occur in the urogenital areas of the urethra and prostate or also of hormonal imbalances.

If the problem is not organic, it is advisable to go to a mental health professional so that, through an evaluation, you can inquire about what the origin would be.

Within the psychological factors Associated with premature ejaculation are anxiety and depression, which would be the most frequent non-organic causes that affect the disorder, stress related to economic, family, etc. It also plays a very important role.


Some professionals point out that alcoholism, smoking or drug use also affect the occurrence of premature ejaculation.

What kind of problems does premature ejaculation cause?

  • Low self-esteem
  • Anxiety in the couple and in the male
  • Low levels of sexual satisfaction
  • Depression
  • Anguish
  • Nervousness

Many times the sexual relations become tense since the man is more worried in containing the ejaculation and not of enjoying the sexual act. But not only the male is affected, the couple also suffers the consequences both in the psychological field and the organic, the latter which is often manifested in its diminution of the experience of the sexual pleasure during relationships.

Diagnosis of premature ejaculation

For a good diagnosis, the professional must assemble a complete clinical history to understand the problem to the fullest, the professional will inquire about how frequent and what is the duration of premature ejaculation, and the type of relationship the affected has with his partner.


All these points are important for a good diagnosis, many men in the clinic often omit certain details due to the shame they cause to relate them, although in reality these information are often very important when establishing a good diagnosis. The omission of information can hinder the design of the most effective treatment in each case, so it is important to create a good climate of trust to assess the case fully.

Treatment of premature ejaculation

Once the diagnosis is made, we can observe the severity of the case and what kind of treatment we can use, the techniques that can be used range from pharmacological even psychological therapies.

Cognitive behavioral psychotherapies have proved very effective in dealing with these problems. It is important to know that putting yourself in the hands of a competent professional in this area also helps an effective treatment and with positive results.

Within psychotherapies psychological the most important thing is to give the patient and his sexual partner all the correct information about the problem that he suffers, that the patient learn to identify the sensations that precede the orgasm and that he is able to adequately regulate his sexual arousal and therefore to control his ejaculatory reflex.

Sometimes pharmacological treatment is recommended, as long as it is prescribed by the specialist. The cases in which couples self-medicate with products (creams, pills, gel that are sold on the Internet, TV, or means not endorsed by the health authorities, bringing difficulties in the body in the person who uses it and are not well known) are well known. solving the underlying problem.

The most effective techniques, as mentioned above, are those based on cognitive behavioral therapy . There are many articles and manuals that speak and explain the techniques in detail. One of the authorities in this specialty is the doctor Helen Kaplan , that through its manuals has offered a fundamental contribution in the fields of psychiatry, psychology and sexology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Horse, V. (2006) Cognitive Behavioral Manual. Faculty psychological sciences of the University of Guayaquil.
  • Kaplan, H. (2010), Illustrated manual of sex therapy


Premature Ejaculation Medical Course (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Éjaculation précoce et psychologie

Éjaculation précoce et psychologie

Août 4, 2022

Le éjaculation précoce C'est l'un des dysfonctions sexuelles masculines les plus courantes de nos jours. Cependant, très peu d'hommes consultent un médecin ou un professionnel de la santé mentale pour exprimer leur crise ouvertement et en toute confiance.

Éjaculation précoce

Le silence est le principal ennemi dans ces cas, ne pas savoir comment partager le problème à temps peut causer des conflits majeurs difficiles à résoudre à l'avenir.

Qu'est-ce que l'éjaculation prématurée?

Il se compose de expulsion du sperme de manière persistante et récurrente en réponse à une stimulation sexuelle, que ce soit avant, pendant ou après la pénétration, sans que la personne le souhaite . Selon les professionnels de la santé sexuelle, ce trouble est l'un des plus éprouvés par les hommes. Les professionnels estiment qu'entre 30 et 60% des hommes ont déjà souffert. L'éjaculation prématurée peut être liée à plusieurs causes, pour lesquelles le médecin ou le psychothérapeute doit obtenir toutes les informations possibles pour un bon traitement.


Causes de l'éjaculation précoce

Pour découvrir la principale cause de l’éjaculation précoce, il est conseillé de consulter un médecin pour écarter tout risque de anomalie organique que ce trouble en résulte. Dans certains cas, l’éjaculation est également le résultat d’infections qui se produisent généralement dans les zones urogénitales de l’urètre et de la prostate ou encore de déséquilibres hormonaux.

Si le problème n'est pas organique, il est conseillé de consulter un professionnel de la santé mentale afin de pouvoir, par le biais d'une évaluation, en connaître l'origine.

Dans le facteurs psychologiques L'anxiété et la dépression sont associées à l'éjaculation prématurée. Ce sont les causes non organiques les plus fréquentes affectant le désordre, le stress lié à l'économie, à la famille, etc. Il joue également un rôle très important.


Certains professionnels soulignent que l'alcoolisme, le tabagisme ou la toxicomanie affectent également la survenue de l'éjaculation prématurée.

Quels types de problèmes l'éjaculation précoce provoque-t-elle?

  • Faible estime de soi
  • Anxiété chez le couple et chez l'homme
  • Faible niveau de satisfaction sexuelle
  • La dépression
  • L'angoisse
  • Nervosité

Bien souvent, les relations sexuelles deviennent tendues, car l’homme est plus préoccupé de contenir l’éjaculation que de jouir de l’acte sexuel. Mais non seulement le mâle est touché, le couple en subit les conséquences à la fois sur le plan psychologique et organique, ce dernier se manifestant souvent par une diminution de l'expérience du plaisir sexuel pendant les relations.

Diagnostic de l'éjaculation précoce

Pour un bon diagnostic, le professionnel doit rassembler une histoire clinique complète pour comprendre le problème au maximum. Le professionnel s'informera de la fréquence et de la durée de l'éjaculation prématurée, ainsi que du type de relation du patient avec son partenaire.


Tous ces points sont importants pour un bon diagnostic. De nombreux hommes de la clinique omettent souvent certains détails en raison de la honte qu’ils ont à les raconter, bien que ces informations soient en réalité souvent très importantes pour établir un bon diagnostic. L'omission d'informations peut nuire à la conception du traitement le plus efficace dans chaque cas. Il est donc important de créer un bon climat de confiance pour évaluer le cas de manière approfondie.

Traitement de l'éjaculation prématurée

Une fois le diagnostic posé, nous pouvons observer la gravité du cas et le type de traitement que nous pouvons utiliser. Les techniques pouvant être utilisées vont du traitement pharmacologique même des thérapies psychologiques.

Les psychothérapies comportementales cognitives se sont révélées très efficaces pour traiter ces problèmes. Il est important de savoir que le fait de se mettre entre les mains d'un professionnel compétent dans ce domaine contribue également à l'efficacité du traitement et à son efficacité.

Dans les psychothérapies psychologique le plus important est de donner au patient et à son partenaire sexuel toutes les informations correctes sur le problème qu'il subit, afin que le patient sache identifier les sensations qui précèdent l'orgasme et qu'il soit capable de réguler correctement son excitation sexuelle et donc de réflexe éjaculatoire.

Parfois, un traitement pharmacologique est recommandé, dans la mesure où il est prescrit par le spécialiste. Les cas dans lesquels des couples se soignent avec des produits (crèmes, pilules, gels vendus sur Internet, à la télévision ou par des moyens non approuvés par les autorités de santé, entraînant des difficultés corporelles chez celui qui les utilise et qui sont mal connus) sont bien connus. résoudre le problème sous-jacent.

Les techniques les plus efficaces, comme mentionné ci-dessus, sont celles basées sur thérapie cognitivo-comportementale . De nombreux articles et manuels parlent et expliquent les techniques en détail. Une des autorités dans cette spécialité est le docteur Helen Kaplan , que ses manuels ont apporté une contribution fondamentale dans les domaines de la psychiatrie, de la psychologie et de la sexologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cheval, V. (2006) Manuel comportemental cognitif. Faculté des sciences psychologiques de l'Université de Guayaquil.
  • Kaplan, H. (2010), Manuel illustré de sexothérapie


COMPRENDRE L'EJACULATION PRECOCE (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes