yes, therapy helps!
Vaginismus: causes, symptoms and possible solutions

Vaginismus: causes, symptoms and possible solutions

January 22, 2022

Human sexuality throughout history has been a taboo subject for society, its expression being socially censored and repressed.

The repression of the libido and ignorance regarding the process and the different phases of the sexual response has caused the appearance and non-treatment of various problems that have prevented the full enjoyment of desire and libidinous relations. One of these problems is the disorder known as vaginismus .

Vaginismus: a sexual dysfunction

Vaginismus is a female sexual dysfunction , this type of dysfunction being that group of disorders produced by an alteration of the processes of the human sexual response or the presence of sensations of pain during the act.


This type of disorders can be acquired from a specific life moment or be present throughout life, and its causes can be psychological or a combination of organic and psychic variables. In addition, they can occur both at a general level and in the presence of specific circumstances.

Main symptoms

The main symptom of this disorder is the presence of involuntary contractions persistently and recurrently in time in the vaginal musculature , and especially the pubococcygeus muscle, which contracts and closes the entrance to it.

In this way the entrance to the vagina is not accessible, with what can be prevented or simply difficult (since what is prevented is penetration) the performance of sexual practices. In addition to the maintenance of sexual relations, vaginismus can affect even medical level, greatly complicating gynecological exploration.


The severity of the vaginismus can be very variable, since it can be a slight contraction that may not cause great difficulties until it causes generalized spasms and makes the insertion of any element inside the vagina completely impossible. According to the case, even the thought of introducing some object or being penetrated can cause the muscular contraction characteristic of vaginismus. The attempt to penetrate this state causes deep pain.

The fact of suffering from vaginismus does not imply that the woman who suffers from it does not get excited or enjoy the idea of ​​having relationships, not being infrequent in cases in which the woman in question has a sufficient level of excitement and enjoying the interaction sexual. Thus, penetration is prevented, but other activities of a sexual nature are still viable.

Vaginismus tends to be chronic unless it is treated, and may eventually cause true aversion to sex and the patient shies away from intimacy and the possibility of maintaining relationships.


Possible causes of vaginismus

Vaginismus is a sexual dysfunction that can come from different causes. In some cases it can be derived from a medical condition, such as infections, surgery or in some cases even during menopause.

But nevertheless, it is much more frequent that its origin is due to psychological and psychosocial circumstances , being generally linked to experiences of fear and guilt.

1. Repressive education

The fact of having received a rigid and restrictive education in relation to sexuality It influences in that ideas of guilt, doubt and fear can appear before the realization of the sexual act, thing that can cause the contraction of the vaginal muscles.

2. Traumatic experiences

It is not uncommon for women with vaginismus to have suffered severe traumatic experiences linked to sexuality . People who throughout their childhood have suffered sexual abuse or seen how they were committed, people from families with situations of gender violence or intrafamily violence or women who have suffered rape during their lives are more likely to suffer from dysfunctions sexual as vaginismus due to fear, pain and anxiety linked to the traumatic experience and associated with the performance of the sexual act.

3. Anxiety, guilt and doubts

As is the case with erection disorders in men, The fear, guilt and anxiety before the possibility of not being able to undertake the act can cause that at somatic level the symptoms of vaginismus occur.

Treatments and possible solutions

Vaginismus can be treated with a variety of therapies . Some women come to consult with the idea of ​​having surgery, but this method is not very useful unless its causes are organic, since it does not address the problem itself and its underlying causes, and may even make the situation worse in some cases.

Instead, the following treatments are usually employed, usually in combination.

1. Sex education

Bearing in mind that in many of the cases of vaginismus the people who suffer from it have lived through traumatic experiences or have had a very repressive education with female sexuality, the psycho Education and explanation of the processes considered normal within sexual relationships is a useful tool to take into account and apply. Understanding and explaining your situation and the treatments to be applied can also be a great relief for women with this problem.

2. Techniques of exposure to stimuli

One of the problems that causes and maintains the disorder, as in a great majority of the rest of sexual dysfunctions is the anxiety, fear and insecurity that causes the occurrence of a feared phenomenon , as in this case is the penetration or entry of something inside the vagina. The most effective way to overcome this anxiety is the systematic exposure to the dreaded situation. This exposure must be done gradually, using techniques such as systematic desensitization. The objective is to recognize and overcome fear step by step, until the accomplishment of the act is not aversive or anxious.

As we have said, the process has to be gradual, being able to start with the visual self-observation and continuing with the tactile exploration of the genital area, later on we can proceed with the use of dilators, the hands of the spouse and so on until we reach the performance of the sexual act.

3. Muscular training

One of the most common treatments in vaginismus is performing techniques to control the pelvic muscles, learning to contract and relax them , increasing muscle tone and control of the pelvic area. In this way, the patient can also have a greater sense of control and undertake sexual activity with greater security.

Pubococcygeus muscle training in Kegel exercises is usually the most common procedure.

4. Use of vaginal dilators

Another mechanism that allows to face vaginismus is the use of vaginal dilators . The use of these instruments, applied in a graduated way, allows to diminish the fear and the anxiety before the penetration, at the same time as the pelvic musculature is strengthened.

5. Involving the couple

Vaginismus is a disorder that can be a true source of both psychological and physical suffering to those who suffer from it, limiting intimacy with the partner and ultimately the self-esteem and self-concept of the woman. It is because of that It is necessary that the person with whom relations are maintained , if it is an established couple, be aware of the problem and receive some kind of advice on how to face the situation and help your loved one.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Hawton, K. & Catalan, J. (1990). Sex therapy for vaginismus: characteristics of couples and treatment outcome. Sexual and Marital Therapy, 5, 39-48
  • Labrador, F.J. (1994). Sexual dysfunctions. Madrid: Fundación Universidad Empresa
  • Masters, W.H. and Johnson, V.E. (1970). Human sexual inadequacy. Boston: Little Brown (Spanish version: Intermedica, Madrid, 1976).
  • Rosen, R.C. and Leiblum, S.R. (nineteen ninety five). Treatment of Sexual Disorders in the 1990s: An Integrated Approach. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 63, 877-890.

Should I worry if penetrative sex hurts? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Vaginisme: causes, symptômes et solutions possibles

Vaginisme: causes, symptômes et solutions possibles

Janvier 22, 2022

La sexualité humaine à travers l'histoire a été un sujet tabou pour la société, son expression étant socialement censurée et réprimée.

La répression de la libido et l'ignorance concernant le processus et les différentes phases de la réponse sexuelle ont entraîné l'apparition et le non-traitement de divers problèmes qui ont empêché la pleine jouissance du désir et des relations libidineuses. Un de ces problèmes est le trouble connu sous le nom de vaginisme .

Le vaginisme: un dysfonctionnement sexuel

Le vaginisme est un dysfonctionnement sexuel féminin , ce type de dysfonctionnement est ce groupe de troubles produits par une altération des processus de la réponse sexuelle humaine ou la présence de sensations de douleur pendant l'acte.


Ce type de troubles peut être acquis à partir d'un moment de la vie spécifique ou être présent tout au long de la vie, et ses causes peuvent être psychologiques ou une combinaison de variables organiques et psychiques. En outre, ils peuvent se produire à la fois de manière générale et en présence de circonstances spécifiques.

Symptômes principaux

Le symptôme principal de ce trouble est la présence de contractions involontaires persistantes et récurrentes dans le temps dans la musculature vaginale et en particulier le muscle pubococcygeus, qui se contracte et ferme l’entrée.

De cette manière, l'entrée du vagin n'est pas accessible, avec ce qui peut être empêché ou tout simplement difficile (puisque ce qui est empêché, c'est la pénétration) l'exécution de pratiques sexuelles. En plus du maintien des relations sexuelles, le vaginisme peut affecter même le niveau médical, compliquant grandement l’exploration gynécologique.


La gravité du vaginisme peut être très variable, car il peut s'agir d'une légère contraction qui peut ne pas causer de grandes difficultés jusqu'à ce qu'elle provoque des spasmes généralisés et rende totalement impossible l'insertion de tout élément à l'intérieur du vagin. Selon les cas, même la pensée d'introduire un objet ou d'être pénétré peut provoquer la contraction musculaire caractéristique du vaginisme. La tentative de pénétrer dans cet état provoque une douleur profonde.

Le fait de souffrir de vaginisme n'implique pas que la femme qui en souffre ne soit pas excitée ou n'aime pas l'idée d'avoir des relations, ne soit pas rare dans les cas où la femme en question a un niveau d'excitation suffisant et apprécie l'interaction. sexuelle Ainsi, la pénétration est empêchée, mais d’autres activités à caractère sexuel sont toujours viables.

Le vaginisme a tendance à être chronique sauf s’il est traité, et peut éventuellement provoquer une véritable aversion pour le sexe et le patient doit éviter l’intimité et la possibilité de maintenir des relations.


Causes possibles du vaginisme

Le vaginisme est un dysfonctionnement sexuel qui peut avoir différentes causes. Dans certains cas, il peut provenir d'un état pathologique, tel qu'une infection, une intervention chirurgicale ou même, parfois, à la ménopause.

Cependant, il est beaucoup plus fréquent que son origine soit due à des circonstances psychologiques et psychosociales , étant généralement liée à des expériences de peur et de culpabilité.

1. Education répressive

Le fait d'avoir reçu une éducation rigide et restrictive en matière de sexualité Cela influe sur le fait que des idées de culpabilité, de doute et de peur peuvent apparaître avant la réalisation de l'acte sexuel, ce qui peut provoquer la contraction des muscles vaginaux.

2. Expériences traumatiques

Il n'est pas rare que des femmes atteintes de vaginisme aient subi de graves expériences traumatiques liées à la sexualité. . Les personnes qui, tout au long de leur enfance, ont été victimes d'abus sexuel ou ont vu comment elles ont été commises, les personnes issues de familles victimes de violences sexuelles ou de violences intra-familiales ou les femmes victimes de viols au cours de leur vie risquent davantage de souffrir de dysfonctionnements sexuelle comme le vaginisme en raison de la peur, de la douleur et de l’anxiété liées à l’expérience traumatique et associées à la réalisation de l’acte sexuel.

3. Anxiété, culpabilité et doutes

Comme c'est le cas avec les troubles de l'érection chez les hommes, La peur, la culpabilité et l’anxiété devant la possibilité de ne pas être en mesure de poser l'acte peuvent causer cela au niveau somatique les symptômes du vaginisme se produisent.

Traitements et solutions possibles

Le vaginisme peut être traité avec une variété de thérapies . Certaines femmes viennent consulter l'idée de subir une intervention chirurgicale, mais cette méthode n'est utile que si elle a des causes organiques, car elle ne résout pas le problème lui-même et ses causes sous-jacentes et peut même aggraver la situation dans certains cas.

Au lieu de cela, les traitements suivants sont généralement utilisés, généralement en combinaison.

1. éducation sexuelle

Gardant à l'esprit que dans de nombreux cas de vaginisme, les personnes qui en souffrent ont vécu des expériences traumatisantes ou ont bénéficié d'une éducation très répressive liée à la sexualité féminine., le psychopathe L'éducation et l'explication des processus considérés comme normaux dans les relations sexuelles sont un outil utile à prendre en compte et à appliquer. Comprendre et expliquer votre situation et les traitements à appliquer peut également être un grand soulagement pour les femmes atteintes de ce problème.

2. Techniques d'exposition aux stimuli

L’un des problèmes qui cause et entretient le trouble, comme dans la grande majorité des autres dysfonctionnements sexuels, est l'anxiété, la peur et l'insécurité qui provoque l'apparition d'un phénomène redouté , comme dans ce cas, est la pénétration ou l’entrée de quelque chose à l’intérieur du vagin. Le moyen le plus efficace de surmonter cette anxiété est l’exposition systématique à la situation redoutée. Cette exposition doit être réalisée progressivement, à l'aide de techniques telles que la désensibilisation systématique. L'objectif est de reconnaître et de vaincre la peur, étape par étape, jusqu'à ce que l'accomplissement de l'acte ne soit ni aversif ni anxieux.

Comme nous l’avons dit, le processus doit être progressif, pour pouvoir commencer par l’observation visuelle autonome et pour poursuivre l’exploration tactile de la région génitale. Plus tard, nous pouvons utiliser des dilatateurs, les mains du conjoint, etc. exécution de l'acte sexuel.

3. Entraînement musculaire

L’un des traitements les plus courants du vaginisme est la effectuer des techniques pour contrôler les muscles pelviens, apprendre à les contracter et les détendre , augmentant le tonus musculaire et le contrôle de la région pelvienne. De cette manière, le patient peut également avoir un plus grand sens du contrôle et entreprendre une activité sexuelle avec une plus grande sécurité.

L’entraînement des muscles pubococcygeus dans les exercices de Kegel est généralement la procédure la plus courante.

4. Utilisation de dilatateurs vaginaux

Un autre mécanisme qui permet de faire face au vaginisme est l’utilisation de dilatateurs vaginaux. . L'utilisation de ces instruments, appliqués de manière graduelle, permet de diminuer la peur et l'anxiété avant la pénétration, tout en renforçant la musculature pelvienne.

5. Impliquer le couple

Le vaginisme est un trouble qui peut être une véritable source de souffrance physique et psychologique pour ceux qui en souffrent, limitant ainsi l’intimité avec le partenaire et, en fin de compte, l’estime de soi et le concept de soi de la femme. C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire que la personne avec laquelle les relations sont maintenues , s’il s’agit d’un couple établi, soyez conscient du problème et recevez des conseils sur la manière de faire face à la situation et d’aider votre proche.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Hawton, K. & Catalan, J. (1990). Sexothérapie pour le vaginisme: caractéristiques des couples et résultats du traitement. Thérapie sexuelle et conjugale, 5, 39-48
  • Labrador, F.J. (1994). Dysfonctionnements sexuels. Madrid: Fundación Universidad Empresa
  • Maîtres, W.H. et Johnson, V.E. (1970). Insuffisance sexuelle humaine. Boston: Little Brown (version espagnole: Intermedica, Madrid, 1976).
  • Rosen, R.C. et Leiblum, S.R. (1995). Traitement des troubles sexuels dans les années 90: une approche intégrée. Journal de consultation et de psychologie clinique, 63, 877-890.

Vaginisme : Quelles sont les causes ? Quel traitement ? - Gynécologie (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes