yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of Music, the pending subject

Psychology of Music, the pending subject

May 6, 2024

Art, entertainment, profession, business ... Music is a very significant part of our society and, being a subject traditionally undervalued in our schools, we have not hesitated to build a very powerful formal education environment around this discipline.

Schools, academies, conservatories and others are destined to fill the gap that music leaves in the education system and, depending on the aspirations of the student, you can choose from a more casual or recreational training to a more regulated one oriented towards the professional field.

However, when we reached a certain level of specialization, we found an increasing demand for execution, which entailed an increasing number of hours of classes and rehearsals, and what started as a hobby or the pending subject of the school, became in a high performance sport. As such, it can involve all those risks associated at the psychological level that we find in all sports.


  • Maybe you're interested: "[What happens in your brain when you listen to your favorite music?] (/ Neurosciences / what-happens-brain-when-we listen-music-favorite"

The demands of music training

On the one hand, a music student usually has to, by necessity, combine their musical training with their academic training and make no mistake: musical training is not a complement, but rather involves as much demand or more than a university degree (or much more, in the case of some races), and you still have to listen to that of "you study music ... and what else?".

And it is that, dedicate so much effort and time to music in a world that urges us to "not confuse" our "true" formation, together with the tremendous demand and competitiveness of some centers , implies a very high risk for intrinsic motivation, that is, to be able to guide our behavior towards music simply because we like it, which has as a consequence that many students leave early, staying on the road a lot of talent, and many others continue being able to develop another type of discomforts.


Manage stress and anxiety

In the first place, the demand for superior performance and dedication to what each one considers as "normal", can lead to the mental state that we know as stress . Stress is an adaptive response of the organism to a situation of change in the environment or of maximum demand, but without adequate management, it can extend for longer than evolution had calculated, and bring with it certain psychological consequences (anxiety disorders). , depression) and physiological (indigestion, muscle tension, headaches, back pain, etc.).


One of the psychological consequences of stress is anxiety, characterized by involuntary thoughts such as regrets ("I should have studied more", "I made a mistake too serious") or pessimistic expectations ("I'm going to make a mistake in this part", "I'm going to suspend "," I want it to end sooner ") that tend to be inter related to physical reactions (tremors, sweating, tachycardia ...).


The most ironic thing is that this state, in high doses, is very harmful when it comes to achieving high performance when performing any task, especially if it's playing a piece in public when we're playing a title , but what is most disheartening is that what we were passionate about earlier has given way to those negative feelings.


  • Maybe you're interested: "10 essential tips to reduce stress"

Progress in music psychology

It is this situation that has caught the attention of psychologists on this medium, and although most of the work has consisted, at least in Spain, in investigating those optimal methods for teaching and learning music (constructive learning vs directive) ), more and more centers are interested in the mental training of their young musicians , a variable that had traditionally been left to chance and had served as a sort of tautological natural selection in the conservatories ("if you can not stand this, it's not worth the music").


Today more and more voices are raised to say no, that these variables are capable of being trained. A) Yes, there are certain techniques aimed at maintaining intrinsic motivation , based on the work with objectives and the perception of self-efficacy, techniques to combat anxiety, such as breathing and relaxation in the search for that optimal level of activation or techniques to handle that pressure that will always exist, but is in our hand regulate it, and we can do it through techniques such as exposure or cognitive restructuring, all with the ultimate goal of optimizing the experience and performance of not only our musicians, but also our dancers, actors and all those members of the arts Scenic

Finally, emphasize that every day the importance of the work of the psychologist in the mental training of the musician becomes more evident . In a world as competitive as music, the mental factor can make a difference in a professional's musical career.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 13 types of learning: what are they?"

The most important lesson from 83,000 brain scans | Daniel Amen | TEDxOrangeCoast (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie de la musique, sujet en suspens

Psychologie de la musique, sujet en suspens

Avril 15, 2021

Art, divertissement, profession, affaires ... La musique est une partie très importante de notre société et, sujet traditionnellement sous-estimé dans nos écoles, nous n’avons pas hésité à mettre en place un environnement d’éducation formelle très puissant autour de cette discipline.

Les écoles, académies, conservatoires et autres sont destinés à combler le vide laissé par la musique dans le système éducatif et, en fonction des aspirations de l'étudiant, vous pouvez choisir entre une formation plus occasionnelle ou récréative et une formation plus réglementée, orientée vers le domaine professionnel.

Cependant, lorsque nous avons atteint un certain niveau de spécialisation, nous avons constaté une demande croissante d’exécution, qui impliquait un nombre croissant d’heures de cours et de répétitions, dans un sport de haut niveau. En tant que tel, il peut impliquer tous les risques associés au niveau psychologique que l'on retrouve dans tous les sports.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "[Que se passe-t-il dans votre cerveau lorsque vous écoutez votre musique préférée?]

Les exigences de la formation musicale

D'une part, un étudiant en musique doit généralement combiner nécessairement sa formation musicale avec sa formation académique et ne s'y trompe pas: la formation musicale n'est pas un complément, mais plutôt implique autant de demande ou plus qu'un diplôme universitaire (ou beaucoup plus, dans le cas de certaines courses), et vous devez toujours écouter celui de "vous étudiez la musique ... et quoi d'autre?".

Et c’est que consacrer tant d’efforts et de temps à la musique dans un monde qui nous pousse à "ne pas confondre" notre "vraie" formation, ainsi que la demande et la compétitivité de certains centres , implique un risque très élevé de motivation intrinsèque, c’est-à-dire de pouvoir orienter notre comportement vis-à-vis de la musique simplement parce que nous l’aimons bien, ce qui a pour conséquence que de nombreux étudiants partent tôt, restent sur la route avec beaucoup de talent et continuent être capable de développer un autre type d'inconfort.


Gérer le stress et l'anxiété

En premier lieu, l'exigence d'une performance supérieure et le dévouement à ce que chacun considère comme "normal", peut conduire à l'état mental que nous connaissons comme stress . Le stress est une réponse adaptative de l'organisme à une situation de changement de l'environnement ou de demande maximale, mais sans gestion adéquate, il peut durer plus longtemps que l'évolution avait été calculé et entraîner certaines conséquences psychologiques (troubles anxieux). , dépression) et physiologique (indigestion, tensions musculaires, maux de tête, maux de dos, etc.).


L’une des conséquences psychologiques du stress est l’anxiété, caractérisée par des pensées involontaires telles que des regrets («j’aurais dû étudier plus», «j'ai fait une erreur trop grave») ou des attentes pessimistes («je vais faire une erreur dans cette partie», «je vais suspendre "," je veux que ça finisse plus tôt ") qui ont tendance à être inter-reliées à des réactions physiques (tremblements, transpiration, tachycardie ...).


La chose la plus ironique est que cet état, à fortes doses, est très préjudiciable lorsqu'il s'agit d'atteindre de hautes performances lors de l'exécution de toute tâche. surtout s'il joue un morceau en public quand on joue un titre , mais ce qui est le plus décourageant, c’est que ce qui nous passionnait plus tôt a cédé le pas à ces sentiments négatifs.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress"

Progrès en psychologie musicale

C’est cette situation qui a attiré l’attention des psychologues sur ce média et, bien que la majeure partie du travail ait consisté, au moins en Espagne, à rechercher les méthodes optimales pour enseigner et apprendre la musique (apprentissage constructif vs directive) ), de plus en plus de centres s'intéressent à la formation mentale de leurs jeunes musiciens , une variable qui était traditionnellement laissée au hasard et qui servait de sorte de sélection naturelle tautologique dans les conservatoires ("si vous ne pouvez pas supporter cela, sa musique ne vaut pas la peine").


Aujourd'hui, de plus en plus de voix s'élèvent pour dire non, que ces variables peuvent être formées. Ainsi, il existe certaines techniques visant à maintenir la motivation intrinsèque , basés sur le travail avec des objectifs et la perception de l'efficacité personnelle, des techniques de lutte contre l'anxiété, telles que la respiration et la relaxation, dans la recherche du niveau optimal d'activation ou des techniques pour gérer cette pression, qui existeront toujours, mais réglez-le manuellement et nous pouvons le faire par le biais de techniques telles que l'exposition ou la restructuration cognitive, le tout dans le but d'optimiser l'expérience et les performances de nos musiciens, mais également de nos danseurs, acteurs et de tous les membres des arts Scénique

Enfin, soulignez que chaque jour, l'importance du travail du psychologue dans la formation mentale du musicien devient plus évidente . Dans un monde aussi concurrentiel que la musique, le facteur mental peut faire la différence dans la carrière musicale d'un professionnel.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 13 types d’apprentissage: que sont-ils?"

LA VIDÉO PAS DRÔLE MAIS INTÉRESSANTE (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes