yes, therapy helps!
Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain

Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain

May 6, 2021

The psychotropic drugs They are one of the most influential tools in psychology and psychiatry, both in its intervention and in research.

However, the fact that its commercialization and popularity have spread over a large part of the planet does not prevent there being a certain confusion about what a psychotropic drug is really.

What exactly are the psychotropic drugs?

Psychotropic drugs are chemical substances that influence the mental processes acting on the nervous system.

However, we must bear in mind that there are many substances that directly or indirectly affect the networks of neurons in our body, and that is why The concept of psychoactive drug has a lot to do with the type of effects the substance has, its intensity and the legal regulations that determine how and when their consumption should be.


Types of psychotropic drugs

Within the wide variety of psychotropic drugs that have been developed there is also a very wide range of functions . And is that if the nervous system is able to perform all kinds of processes, such as allowing decision-making or regulation of emotional states, the substances that influence these groups of neurons can also produce very varied effects depending on the type of psychotropic drug concerned.

Although each class of substance has very specific effects, it does a classification of the types of psychotropic drugs can be established . These are the following:

Anxiolytics and sedatives

Anxiolytics are a class of psychotropic drugs that reduce the signs of anxiety and agitation that are associated with it without producing numbness. Among the most important anxiolytics are benzodiazepines.


Sedatives, on the other hand, do lower the level of consciousness. Both types of psychotropic drugs can be used as tranquilizers.

Mood stabilizers

This class of psychotropic drugs is used especially in mood disorders and the like, being the cases of bipolar disorder the most typical.

Antipsychotics

Antipsychotics, also called neuroleptics, are a type of psychotropic drugs whose effects are usually related to the mitigation of the effects of psychosis and schizophrenia.

Antidepressants

Antidepressants are psychotropic drugs used especially in the treatment of major depressive disorders, and disorders related to the difficulty in controlling certain impulses.

Among the types of antidepressants we find some such as MAOIs, SSRIs, tricyclic antidepressants.


How do psychopharmaceuticals work?

In general, the basic function of psychotropic drugs is to make certain neurons behave in a different way than they were acting. This is achieved by directly or indirectly influencing the way in which these nerve cells recapture certain types of substances called neurotransmitters.

Thus, for example, a psychotropic drug can cause a certain class of neurons to stop capturing such a high amount of dopamine, which generates a chain reaction that makes the symptoms of a disorder improve.

Psychopharmaceuticals and their side effects

Psychotropic drugs are, in the end, a type of drug whose target is the Central Nervous System. However, make your goal "ideal" are very specific areas of the brain does not mean that these substances only have effects there .

Like all medicines, psychotropic drugs are not intelligent organisms, without sets of molecules that "fit" in some parts of the body and not in others. That means that they act on where they are supposed to act, but also on many other parts of the body. That is to say, that psychotropic drugs have side effects, many of which can become very negative.

The psychopharmaceutical in the fight against mental illness

Traditionally, psychotropic drugs have been the response of medicine to cases of mental illness. That means in part that its use has not been thought to apply to healthy people, and also means that its use has been a way to combat symptoms of disorders that were understood to have a cause in the individual.

However, there is currently a very intense debate about the way in which we must understand mental disorders and, therefore, the way in which they should be treated by health specialists. This debate affects the use of psychopharmaceuticals , that in some cases can go from being the core of the treatment to become a complement in a type of approach to the problem that serves to intervene more in the context in which the person lives and not so much in the person as something isolated.

About this topic, you may be interested in this article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Overview of psychoactive drugs | Processing the Environment | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Drogues psychotropes: drogues agissant sur le cerveau

Drogues psychotropes: drogues agissant sur le cerveau

Avril 14, 2021

Le drogues psychotropes Ils constituent l’un des outils les plus influents en psychologie et en psychiatrie, tant dans son intervention que dans la recherche.

Cependant, le fait que sa commercialisation et sa popularité se soient répandues sur une grande partie de la planète n'empêche pas une certaine confusion quant à ce qu'est réellement une drogue psychotrope.

Quels sont exactement les médicaments psychotropes?

Les drogues psychotropes sont des substances chimiques qui influencent les processus mentaux agissant sur le système nerveux.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'il existe de nombreuses substances qui affectent directement ou indirectement les réseaux de neurones de notre corps, et c'est pourquoi Le concept de drogue psychoactive a beaucoup à voir avec le type d'effets de la substance, son intensité et les réglementations légales qui déterminent comment et quand leur consommation devrait être.


Types de drogues psychotropes

Parmi la grande variété de médicaments psychotropes qui ont été développés il y a aussi un très large éventail de fonctions . Et c’est que si le système nerveux est capable de réaliser toutes sortes de processus, tels que la prise de décision ou la régulation des états émotionnels, les substances qui influencent ces groupes de neurones peuvent également produire des effets très variés selon le type de drogue psychotrope. concerné.

Bien que chaque classe de substance ait des effets très spécifiques, elle une classification des types de drogues psychotropes peut être établie . Ce sont les suivantes:

Anxiolytiques et sédatifs

Les anxiolytiques sont une classe de médicaments psychotropes qui réduisent les signes d’anxiété et d’agitation qui y sont associés sans provoquer d’engourdissement. Parmi les anxiolytiques les plus importants figurent les benzodiazépines.


Les sédatifs, en revanche, abaissent le niveau de conscience. Les deux types de médicaments psychotropes peuvent être utilisés comme tranquillisants.

Stabilisateurs d'humeur

Cette classe de médicaments psychotropes est utilisée en particulier dans les troubles de l'humeur et similaires, les cas les plus typiques étant le trouble bipolaire.

Antipsychotiques

Les antipsychotiques, également appelés neuroleptiques, sont un type de médicaments psychotropes dont les effets sont généralement liés à l'atténuation des effets de la psychose et de la schizophrénie.

Antidépresseurs

Les antidépresseurs sont des médicaments psychotropes utilisés notamment dans le traitement des troubles dépressifs majeurs et des troubles liés à la difficulté à contrôler certaines impulsions.

Parmi les types d'antidépresseurs, on trouve certains tels que les IMAO, les ISRS, les antidépresseurs tricycliques.


Comment fonctionnent les produits psychopharmaceutiques?

En général, la fonction de base des médicaments psychotropes est de faire en sorte que certains neurones se comportent différemment de ce qu’ils étaient. Ceci est réalisé en influençant directement ou indirectement la façon dont ces cellules nerveuses recapturent certains types de substances appelées neurotransmetteurs.

Ainsi, par exemple, une drogue psychotrope peut empêcher une certaine classe de neurones de capturer une telle quantité de dopamine, ce qui génère une réaction en chaîne qui améliore les symptômes d'un trouble.

Produits psychopharmaceutiques et leurs effets secondaires

Les médicaments psychotropes sont finalement un type de médicament dont le système nerveux central est la cible. Cependant, faites de votre objectif "idéal" sont des zones très spécifiques du cerveau ne signifie pas que ces substances n’ont d’effets que là-bas. .

Comme tous les médicaments, les psychotropes ne sont pas des organismes intelligents, sans ensembles de molécules qui "s'insèrent" dans certaines parties du corps et pas dans d'autres. Cela signifie qu'ils agissent là où ils sont censés agir, mais également sur de nombreuses autres parties du corps. C’est-à-dire que les médicaments psychotropes ont des effets secondaires, dont beaucoup peuvent devenir très négatifs.

Le psychopharmaceutique dans la lutte contre la maladie mentale

Traditionnellement, les médicaments psychotropes ont été la réponse des médicaments aux cas de maladie mentale. Cela signifie en partie que son utilisation n'a pas été pensée pour les personnes en bonne santé, mais aussi que son utilisation a été un moyen de lutter contre les symptômes de troubles dont la cause était supposée chez la personne.

Cependant, il existe actuellement un débat très intense sur la manière dont nous devons comprendre les troubles mentaux et, par conséquent, sur la manière dont ils devraient être traités par des spécialistes de la santé. Ce débat concerne l'utilisation des psychopharmaceutiques , que dans certains cas, le traitement peut devenir un complément dans une approche du problème qui permet d’intervenir davantage dans le contexte dans lequel vit la personne et non pas dans sa personne, mais plutôt dans son isolement.

À propos de ce sujet, cet article pourrait vous intéresser: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

UNE NOUVELLE ÉTUDE A RÉVÉLÉ QUE L’ALCOOL NUIT AU CERVEAU PLUS QUE LE CANNABIS. (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes