yes, therapy helps!
Testhobia (phobia of tests and exams): symptoms, causes and treatment

Testhobia (phobia of tests and exams): symptoms, causes and treatment

October 4, 2022

The testofobia is intense and persistent fear of exams. It is a specific phobia of a situational type related to the negative experience of being evaluated. Although the testofobia usually begins in early adulthood, it can also be generated during childhood, since it is the fear of a common practice in our current societies.

Then we will see in more detail what is the testofobia , what are some of its causes and how can it be treated?

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Testhobia: fear of exams

The term testofobia takes on the one hand the word "test", which in English means "test" or "examination", and on the other, the word "phobia", which comes from Greek "fobos" ("fear"). Thus, the "testofobia" means fear of exams and evaluation tests .


The testofobia is not recognized as a particular clinical picture by specialists in psychology and psychiatry. However, the term is usually found in colloquial literature to describe the experience of persistent fear of evaluations.

In this sense the testofobia it could be considered as a specific phobia . Specific phobias, on the other hand, are characterized by an intense and persistent fear, excessive or irrational, that is triggered by the presence or anticipation of specific objects or situations (Bados, 2005). These objects or situations can be from animals, to the need to present an exam, as it is in this case.


Likewise, specific phobias can be of a situational type, when fear is induced by specific situations. In that case it would be the situations related to the application of tests. On the other hand, the testofobia is related to social phobia, in that it implies the persistent fear of situations that involve exposing oneself to the evaluation of others.

That is to say that, although the application of tests and exams is by itself a potentially stressful situation ; The testofobia occurs when this situation is experienced with a fear that exceeds the rational justification and that generates a series of behaviors and physiological reactions linked to anxiety. This irrationality of fear is even recognized by the person who experiences it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

symptom

As we have said, testofobia can be characterized by the presence of physiological reactions associated with anxiety states , triggered by situations that involve the application of an exam (which may be in the school context, but also in the sporting or recreational context, or any related to high performance, logic of success-failure and competition). The latter is a situation that is perceived as harmful, which causes the activation of the sympathetic nervous system and generates a series of involuntary motor reactions.


These reactions are, for example, tachycardia, palpitations, increased blood pressure, sensation of suffocation, dizziness , sweating, decreased gastrointestinal activity, etcetera. In addition, as soon as an anxiety response is triggered, specific phobias often generate panic attacks.

As with other phobias, test phobia can generate other secondary behaviors, which, such as the experience of anxiety, are not easily observable, but have a negative impact on the daily activities of those who experience them.

It is, for example, fears related to everything that is around presenting some proof , or it can also include behaviors like avoidance to the same circumstance, since, otherwise, they are experienced as intense discomforts.

Likewise, test phobia can be one of the manifestations of anxiety disorders or other types of more complex and profound experiences,

Possible causes and development of this phobia

The fear that characterizes phobias is related to the possibility of suffering harm; regardless of whether this damage has occurred previously, and without necessarily considering the actual probability that it will occur. On the other hand, such fear may be caused by a previous experience where the damage has actually occurred.

In this sense, the testofobia can be generated well by the direct negative consequences of having failed in exams or previous tests ; or, it may be caused by the meanings associated with the experience of being evaluated and of failing, even if the previous results have been mostly positive.

The latter may also be related to expectations and demands generated by the surrounding environment , and that do not necessarily correspond to the person's performance, abilities or interests.

On the other hand, situation-specific phobias tend to develop in early adulthood, although in some cases they occur during childhood. It usually happens that the fear of the situation is presented in a rational but persistent way during childhood, but do not trigger a phobia until adulthood .

Bados (2005) tells us that in some studies it has been reported that it can take around 9 years between the onset of fear and that of phobia. In addition, specific phobias are more common in women (three women per man), although this may vary according to the specific situation in question.

Treatment

As with other phobias, there are different strategies that can help decrease the experience of discomfort related to the stressful situation . These strategies range from the analysis and modification of the meanings attributed to the stimulus that generates stress (in this case, the experience of being evaluated through an exam), to the relearning of emotional coping styles to the same situation.

In the specific case of the testofobia it is important to ensure that the situations that are around the application of a test (that is, what happens before and after the moment of presenting it), generate experiences of tranquility and not just stress.

In other words, it is important to compensate for the tensions caused by the excessive need for study, with other activities or experiences that provide relaxation. In the same way, it is important assertively manage the results of the test , especially when it comes to unexpected or unsatisfactory results.

Bibliographic references:

  • Testophobia (2017). Common-phobias. Retrieved August 31. Available at //common-phobias.com/testo/phobia.htm.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias. Faculty of Psychology, University of Barcelona. Retrieved August 31, 2018. Available at //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.
  • Talha, M. (2004). Phobia A select annotated bibliography. Dissertation for the award of the degree of Master of Library & Information Science. Aligarh Muslim University (India). Retrieved August 31, 2018. Available at //ir.amu.ac.in/7550/1/DS%203365.pdf.
  • Testophobia-Fear of taking test (S / A). Phobia Source. Retrieved August 31, 2018. Available at //www.phobiasource.com/testophobia-fear-of-taking-tests/.

Hobie in der Bar3000 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Testhobie (phobie des tests et examens): symptômes, causes et traitement

Testhobie (phobie des tests et examens): symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 11, 2021

Le testofobia est une peur intense et persistante des examens. C'est une phobie spécifique de type situationnel liée à l'expérience négative d'être évalué. Bien que le testofobia commence généralement au début de l'âge adulte, il peut également être généré pendant l'enfance, puisqu'il s'agit de la peur d'une pratique courante dans nos sociétés actuelles.

Ensuite nous verrons plus en détail quel est le testofobia , quelles sont certaines de ses causes et comment peut-il être traité?

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Testhobia: peur des examens

Le terme testofobia prend d'une part le mot "test", qui en anglais signifie "test" ou "examen", et d'autre part, le mot "phobie", qui vient du grec "fobos" ("peur"). Ainsi, le "testofobia" signifie la peur des examens et des tests d'évaluation .


Le testofobia n'est pas reconnu comme un tableau clinique particulier par les spécialistes en psychologie et psychiatrie. Cependant, le terme est généralement utilisé dans la littérature courante pour décrire l'expérience de la peur persistante des évaluations.

En ce sens, le testofobia il pourrait être considéré comme une phobie spécifique . Les phobies spécifiques, en revanche, se caractérisent par une peur intense et persistante, excessive ou irrationnelle, déclenchée par la présence ou l’anticipation d’objets ou de situations spécifiques (Bados, 2005). Ces objets ou situations peuvent être des animaux, à la nécessité de présenter un examen, comme c'est le cas dans ce cas.


De même, les phobies spécifiques peuvent être de type situationnel, lorsque la peur est provoquée par des situations spécifiques. Dans ce cas, ce sont les situations liées à l’application de tests. D'autre part, le testofobia est lié à la phobie sociale, en ce sens qu'il implique la peur persistante de situations qui impliquent de s'exposer à l'évaluation des autres.

C’est-à-dire que, bien que l’application de tests et d’examens soit en soi une situation potentiellement stressante ; Le testofobia se produit lorsque cette situation est vécue avec une peur dépassant la justification rationnelle et générant une série de comportements et de réactions physiologiques liés à l'anxiété. Cette irrationnelle de la peur est même reconnue par la personne qui en fait l'expérience.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Les symptômes

Comme nous l’avons dit, testofobia peut être caractérisé par la présence de réactions physiologiques associées aux états d'anxiété , déclenchée par des situations impliquant l’application d’un examen (qu’il s’agisse du contexte scolaire, mais également du contexte sportif ou récréatif, ou de tout ce qui a trait à la performance, à la logique réussite-échec et à la compétition). Cette dernière est une situation perçue comme nuisible, qui provoque l’activation du système nerveux sympathique et génère une série de réactions motrices involontaires.


Ces réactions sont, par exemple, tachycardie, palpitations, augmentation de la tension artérielle, sensation de suffocation, vertiges , sudation, diminution de l'activité gastro-intestinale, etc. De plus, dès qu'une réaction d'anxiété est déclenchée, des phobies spécifiques génèrent souvent des attaques de panique.

Comme pour les autres phobies, les tests de phobie peuvent générer d'autres comportements secondaires qui, tels que l'expérience d'anxiété, ne sont pas facilement observables, mais ont un impact négatif sur les activités quotidiennes de ceux qui les vivent.

C'est par exemple craintes liées à tout ce qui est autour de présenter des preuves , ou cela peut également inclure des comportements tels que l’évitement de la même situation, sinon, ils sont ressentis comme des inconforts intenses.

De même, la phobie du test peut être l’une des manifestations de troubles anxieux ou d’autres types d’expériences plus complexes et plus profondes.

Causes possibles et développement de cette phobie

La peur qui caractérise les phobies est liée à la possibilité de subir un préjudice; indépendamment du point de savoir si ce dommage est survenu précédemment et sans nécessairement tenir compte de la probabilité réelle qu'il se produise. D'autre part, une telle peur peut être causée par une expérience antérieure où le dommage a effectivement eu lieu.

En ce sens, le testofobia peut être bien généré par les conséquences négatives directes d'un échec aux examens ou aux tests précédents ; ou bien, cela peut être causé par les significations associées à l'expérience d'être évalué et d'échouer, même si les résultats précédents ont été pour la plupart positifs.

Ces derniers peuvent aussi être liés à attentes et demandes générées par l'environnement et qui ne correspondent pas nécessairement à la performance, aux capacités ou aux intérêts de la personne.

D'autre part, les phobies spécifiques à une situation ont tendance à se développer chez les jeunes adultes, bien que dans certains cas, elles surviennent pendant l'enfance. Il arrive généralement que la peur de la situation se présente de manière rationnelle mais persistante pendant l’enfance, mais ne déclenche pas de phobie avant l'âge adulte .

Bados (2005) nous dit que dans certaines études, il peut s'écouler environ 9 ans entre le début de la peur et celui de la phobie. De plus, les phobies spécifiques sont plus courantes chez les femmes (trois femmes par homme), bien que cela puisse varier en fonction de la situation spécifique en question.

Traitement

Comme pour les autres phobies, différentes stratégies peuvent aider diminuer le malaise lié à la situation stressante . Ces stratégies vont de l'analyse et de la modification des significations attribuées au stimulus qui génère du stress (dans ce cas, l'expérience d'être évalué à l'aide d'un examen), à la réapprentissage des styles d'adaptation émotionnels à la même situation.

Dans le cas spécifique du testofobia, il est important de s'assurer que les situations entourant l'application d'un test (c'est-à-dire ce qui se passe avant et après le moment de la présentation) génèrent des expériences de tranquillité et pas seulement de stress.

En d’autres termes, il est important de compenser les tensions engendrées par le besoin excessif d’études, par d’autres activités ou expériences propices à la détente. De la même manière, il est important gérer avec assurance les résultats du test , surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de résultats inattendus ou insatisfaisants.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Testophobie (2017). Phobies communes. Récupéré le 31 août. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/testo/phobia.htm.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques. Faculté de psychologie, Université de Barcelone. Récupéré le 31 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.
  • Talha, M. (2004). Phobie Une bibliographie sélective annotée. Mémoire pour l'attribution du diplôme de Master en bibliothéconomie et sciences de l'information. Université musulmane d'Aligarh (Inde). Récupéré le 31 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //ir.amu.ac.in/7550/1/DS%203365.pdf.
  • Testophobie-Peur de prendre le test (S / A). Source de phobie. Récupéré le 31 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.phobiasource.com/testophobia-fear-of-taking-tests/.

Speed & Stability Test! Hobie Revolution 16 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes