yes, therapy helps!
The 5 main technologies for the study of the brain

The 5 main technologies for the study of the brain

May 9, 2021

The human brain is a mystery, but it is, too, one of the mysteries that have generated most interest throughout history .

After all, millennia ago it is known that it is there where thoughts, feelings, subjective sensations and self-awareness arise. In addition, this set of organs is so complex that until recently who wanted to study it could only do so passively and indirectly, ie, examine the brains of people already deceased and try to relate the symptoms expressed by this person with the anatomy of their nervous organs.

With what technologies is the brain and nervous system studied?

This had clear drawbacks: you could not contrast this type of information with what was observed in the behavior of the person in real time (which meant among other things that you could not get useful data for the treatment of patients), nor could one directly study brain activity, only present in living people. The latter is very relevant, taking into account that the brain is being formed in part by the activity that is in it: the characteristics of the nervous functioning dynamics of each one modify the anatomy of the brain .


Fortunately. today there are technologies that allow to study not only the anatomy of the brain of living and conscious people , but also its operation and activity in real time. These new techniques are enceplography (EGG), computerized axial tomography (CAT), positron emission tomography (or PET), angiogram and functional magnetic resonance imaging (fRMI). Next we will see the characteristics of each one of these systems.

1. Electroencephalography, or EEG

This has been one of the first methods developed to "read" the activity of the brain, that is, the electric firing patterns that run through it. The technique is relatively simple, and consists of leaving fixed electrodes on the scalp of the person so that they capture the electrical impulses that capture just below to send this information to a machine. The machine collects this data and expresses it in the form of lines and peaks of activity by means of a graphic plotter, in the same way as seismographs that measure the intensity of earthquakes work. This activity record is called encephalogram .


The EEG is very simple and versatile, so it can be used to measure the activity of a few neurons or larger areas of the cerebral cortex. It is widely used to study cases of epilepsy, as well as the brain waves of sleep, but as it is not very precise it does not allow us to know exactly in which part of the brain these activation patterns are initiated. In addition, knowing how to interpret encephalographies is complicated and you need a good training and training to do so.

2. Computerized axial tomography, or CAT scan

The computed axial tomography (CAT) , unlike encephalography, it gives us an image of the brain and its anatomy seen from various angles, but not of its activity. That's why it basically serves to study the forms and proportions of different parts of the brain at any given time.

3. Positron emission tomography, or PET

This type of tomography it does serve to study brain activity in specific areas of the brain, albeit indirectly. To apply this technique, a slightly radioactive substance is injected into the person's blood, which will leave a trace of radiation where it passes. Then, some sensors will detect in real time, which areas of the brain are those that monopolize a greater radiation, which may indicate that these areas are absorbing more blood because, precisely, they are being more active.


From this information a screen is recreated the image of a brain with the most activated areas indicated .

4. Angiogram

The angiogram It looks a bit like PET, although in this case a kind of ink is injected into the blood. In addition, the ink is not accumulated for a while in the most activated areas of the brain, contrary to what happens with radiation, and it keeps circulating through the blood vessels until it disappears, so it does not allow to obtain an image of the brain. brain activity and yes of its structure and anatomy.

It is specially used to detect areas of the brain that are diseased .

5. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI and fMRI)

Both the magnetic resonance imaging as its "extended" version, functional magnetic resonance imaging or fMRI, are two of the most popular brain study techniques in research related to psychology and neurosciences.

Its operation is based on the use of radio waves in a magnetic field in which the head of the person in question is introduced .

The limitations of these techniques

The use of these technologies is not free of inconveniences . The most obvious is its cost: the machines that are required for its use are very expensive, and to that we must add the opportunity cost of having a space reserved for a clinic and having at least one highly qualified person to lead the process.

In addition, the information related to the parts of the brain that are activated do not always provide much information, since each brain is unique. That makes the fact that a part of the cerebral cortex "lights up" does not have to mean that the part responsible for X function has been activated.


How Scientists Are Using Diaper Technology to Study Brains (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 principales technologies pour l'étude du cerveau

Les 5 principales technologies pour l'étude du cerveau

Décembre 7, 2022

Le cerveau humain est un mystère, mais c’est aussi l'un des mystères qui ont suscité le plus d'intérêt au cours de l'histoire .

Après tout, il y a des millénaires, on sait que c'est là que naissent les pensées, les sentiments, les sensations subjectives et la conscience de soi. En outre, cet ensemble d’organes est si complexe que, jusqu’à récemment, ceux qui souhaitaient l’étudier ne pouvaient le faire que de manière passive et indirecte, c’est-à-dire examiner le cerveau de personnes déjà décédées et essayer de relier les symptômes exprimés par cette personne à l’anatomie de leur personne. organes nerveux.

Avec quelles technologies le cerveau et le système nerveux sont-ils étudiés?

Cela présentait des inconvénients évidents: vous ne pouviez pas opposer ce type d'informations à ce qui était observé dans le comportement de la personne en temps réel (ce qui signifiait entre autres que vous ne pouviez pas obtenir de données utiles pour le traitement de patients), on ne pourrait pas non plus étudier directement l'activité cérébrale, seulement présente chez les personnes vivantes. Cette dernière est très pertinente, compte tenu du fait que le cerveau est en partie formé par l'activité qui s'y trouve: les caractéristiques de la dynamique de fonctionnement nerveux de chacun modifient l'anatomie du cerveau .


Heureusement Aujourd'hui il existe des technologies qui permettent d'étudier non seulement l'anatomie du cerveau de personnes vivantes et conscientes , mais aussi son fonctionnement et son activité en temps réel. Ces nouvelles techniques sont l’encenséographie (EGG), la tomographie axiale informatisée (CAT), la tomographie à émission de positrons (ou PET), l’angiogramme et l’imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle (IRMf). Nous verrons ensuite les caractéristiques de chacun de ces systèmes.

1. Electroencéphalographie ou EEG

Cela a été l’une des premières méthodes développées pour "lire" l’activité du cerveau, c’est-à-dire les schémas de tir électrique qui le parcourent. La technique est relativement simple et consiste à laisser des électrodes fixes sur le cuir chevelu de la personne afin qu'elles capturent les impulsions électriques capturées juste en dessous pour envoyer ces informations à une machine. La machine recueille ces données et les exprime sous forme de lignes et de pics d'activité au moyen d'un traceur graphique, à la manière des sismographes qui mesurent l'intensité du travail des tremblements de terre. Cet enregistrement d'activité est appelé encéphalogramme .


L'EEG est très simple et polyvalent, il peut donc être utilisé pour mesurer l'activité de quelques neurones ou de vastes zones du cortex cérébral. Il est largement utilisé pour étudier les cas d'épilepsie, ainsi que les ondes cérébrales du sommeil, mais comme il n'est pas très précis, il ne nous permet pas de savoir exactement dans quelle partie du cerveau ces modèles d'activation sont initiés. En outre, savoir interpréter les encéphalographies est compliqué et vous avez besoin d’une bonne formation pour pouvoir le faire.

2. Tomographie axiale informatisée ou tomodensitométrie

Le tomographie axiale calculée (CAT) contrairement à l'encéphalographie, il nous donne une image du cerveau et de son anatomie sous différents angles, mais pas de son activité. C'est pourquoi il sert essentiellement à étudier les formes et les proportions de différentes parties du cerveau à un moment donné.

3. Tomographie par émission de positrons ou PET

Ce genre de tomographie il sert à étudier l'activité cérébrale dans des zones spécifiques du cerveau, bien qu'indirectement. Pour appliquer cette technique, une substance légèrement radioactive est injectée dans le sang de la personne, ce qui laissera une trace de rayonnement là où elle passe. Ensuite, certains capteurs détecteront en temps réel quelles zones du cerveau sont celles qui monopolisent un rayonnement plus important, ce qui peut indiquer que ces zones absorbent plus de sang car, précisément, elles sont plus actives.


De cette information un écran est recréé l'image d'un cerveau avec les zones les plus activées indiquées .

4. Angiogramme

Le angiogramme Cela ressemble un peu au PET, bien que dans ce cas une sorte d’encre soit injectée dans le sang. De plus, contrairement aux radiations, l'encre ne s'accumule pas pendant un certain temps dans les zones du cerveau les plus activées et continue de circuler dans les vaisseaux sanguins jusqu'à ce qu'elle disparaisse, de sorte qu'elle ne permet pas d'obtenir une image du cerveau. l'activité cérébrale et oui de sa structure et de l'anatomie.

Il est spécialement utilisé pour détecter les zones du cerveau qui sont malades .

5. Imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM et IRMf)

Les deux imagerie par résonance magnétique dans sa version "étendue", l'imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle ou IRMf, sont deux des techniques d'étude du cerveau les plus populaires dans les recherches liées à la psychologie et aux neurosciences.

Son fonctionnement est basé sur l'utilisation d'ondes radio dans un champ magnétique dans lequel la tête de la personne en question est introduite .

Les limites de ces techniques

L'utilisation de ces technologies n'est pas exempte d'inconvénients . La plus évidente est son coût: les machines nécessaires à son utilisation sont très chères, auquel il faut ajouter le coût d'opportunité d'avoir un espace réservé à une clinique et d'avoir au moins une personne hautement qualifiée pour diriger le processus.

De plus, les informations relatives aux parties du cerveau activées ne fournissent pas toujours beaucoup d'informations, chaque cerveau étant unique. Le fait qu’une partie du cortex cérébral "s’allume" ne signifie pas nécessairement que la partie responsable de la fonction X a été activée.


Ce que l'on ne vous dit pas sur le terme "Dieu" ! Terribles révélations ! (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes