yes, therapy helps!
Arachnoid (brain): anatomy, functions and associated disorders

Arachnoid (brain): anatomy, functions and associated disorders

May 18, 2024

The meninges are a series of membranes that together with the skull and spine protect the central nervous system , so that it prevents minor blows or injuries can alter its operation or destroy it completely.

In addition to this they allow the brain to be in place and, because there are different types of pain receptors in them, we can perceive that there is some type of problem or injury. In this article we are going to explore the arachnoid membrane in order to analyze what it is, its particularities and functions.

  • Recommended article: "Parts of the human brain (and its functions)"

Arachnoids: the intermediate meninge

The arachnoid, together with the dura mater and the pia mater, is one of the three meninges . These are membranes that protect our brain and marrow from injuries coming from outside and that have an important role in our survival. They are placed one below the other, forming three small protective layers.


In the case of the arachnoid we are facing the intermediate membrane, being in contact with the dura mater and the pia mater. It turns out to be the most fragile and prone to break of the three. Another of its main characteristics is that it is not vascularized.

Although they are in close contact, the arachnoid is separated from the dura through the subdural space, which is more than a space a thin layer of cells between which interstitial fluid is found. With respect to the pia mater, it is separated from it by the subarachnoid space, and in turn connects with it by means of the arachnoid trabeculae.

One of the main aspects that distinguish it from the other two meninges is the fact that it contains the subarachnoid space, through which the cerebrospinal fluid circulates.


Main components

Observing the arachnoid we can identify the existence in them of different layers or parts.

1. Arachnoid or arachnoidal barrier layer

It corresponds to the part of the arachnoid that is in contact with the dura mater . Their cells are very close and hardly allow the passage of interstitial fluid, being the most resistant part of the arachnoid. This layer prevents ions and molecules from entering or leaving. However, in it, a series of arachnoid granulations or villi can be distinguished by which they connect with the existing veins in the dura, which allows the cerebrospinal fluid to be expelled at the end of its cycle.

2. Arachnoid trabeculae or reticular arachnoid layer

The cells of the arachnoidal barrier layer project towards the pia mater, forming a network that crosses the subarachnoid space which in turn forms a network or mesh that in fact gives name to the meninx (due to the resemblance to the fabric of a spider). Within these projections we find fibers in net, anchor fibers and microfibers. The exact function of the trabeculae is not yet fully known, although it is speculated that they are capable of perceiving the pressure caused by the cerebrospinal fluid.


3. Subarachnoid space

Although more than part of the arachnoid is a space located between its blades, the subarachnoid space is one of the most important parts of the arachnoid. This is so because it is through it that the cerebrospinal fluid passes . In this space we can also find a series of important pits and cerebral cisterns in which the cerebrospinal fluid accumulates and which allow its distribution.

In addition to the brain itself, an orbital subarachnoid space surrounding the optic nerve can be found.

Principal functions

The arachnoid is a membrane that, like the other meninges, has diverse functions that allow and favor our survival.

1. Protects the nervous system

Despite being relatively fragile, the arachnoid, together with the rest of the meninges, allows the brain and spinal cord to be protected against blows and injuries , as well as contamination and infection by harmful agents.

2. Cerebrospinal fluid distribution

It is in the arachnoid and in the different cisterns of the subarachnoid space through which the cerebrospinal fluid circulates , essential element to keep the neurons of the nervous system alive by nourishing them and in turn allowing the elimination of the residues of brain functioning.

3. Vascular-cerebrospinal fluid system connection

Cerebrospinal fluid carries the waste of brain activity, but it is necessary to expel them . This is done through the blood of the veins of the dura mater, with whom the arachnoid communicates. In the same way it prevents the cerebrospinal fluid from accumulating excessively, which does not cease to be secreted.

4. It allows the buoyancy of the brain

The fact that the cerebrospinal fluid circulates through its interior allows the brain to be somewhat floating , which reduces its weight and allows the maintenance of its morphology.

5. Perception of intracranial pressure

Although it is something that is not completely known, it is suspected that they are the arachnoid trabeculae those that allow the body to detect increases in intracranial pressure.

Associated disorders

There are several affectations that are linked to alterations in the arachnoid or in another of the meninges. Among these alterations we can find the following.

1. Arachnoid cyst

Small cystic structures can form within the arachnoid that fill with cerebrospinal fluid. While they may not cause problems, they may generate a pressure that damages the nervous system. Headaches, sensitivity problems, paresthesia or paralysis are common.

2. Meningitis

Both the arachnoid and the rest of the meninges can succumb to a viral or bacterial infection, becoming inflamed and causing different symptoms such as dizziness, headache or weakness. The composition of the cerebrospinal fluid circulating in the arachnoid may be altered , as well as causing compression of the brain.

3. Communicating hydrocephalus

It is a disorder in which cerebrospinal fluid builds up inside the skull , in this case because the parts of the arachnoid that allow the communication between it and the blood of the veins does not work correctly, accumulating too much fluid and not re-entering the blood.

4. Subarachnoid hemorrhage

It occurs when due to illness or injury (such as due to a traumatic brain injury) , the blood enters and floods the subarachnoid space. It can be deadly. Headache, alterations of consciousness and gastrointestinal problems such as nausea and vomiting are frequent.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Martínez, F .; Tomorrow, G .; Panuncio, A. and Laza, S. (2008). Anatomo-clinical review of the meninges and intracranial spaces with special reference to chronic subdural hematoma. Mexican Journal of Neuroscience; 9 (1): 47-60

The Meninges: Neuroanatomy Video Lab - Brain Dissections (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Arachnoïde (cerveau): anatomie, fonctions et troubles associés

Arachnoïde (cerveau): anatomie, fonctions et troubles associés

Septembre 25, 2022

Les méninges sont une série de membranes qui, avec le crâne et la colonne vertébrale, protègent le système nerveux central , afin d’éviter des coups mineurs ou des blessures peuvent altérer son fonctionnement ou le détruire complètement.

En plus de cela, ils permettent au cerveau d'être en place et, comme ils contiennent différents types de récepteurs de la douleur, nous pouvons percevoir qu'il existe un type de problème ou de blessure. Dans cet article, nous allons explorer la membrane arachnoïdienne afin d'analyser ce que c'est, ses particularités et ses fonctions.

  • Article recommandé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et ses fonctions)"

Arachnoïdes: la méninges intermédiaire

L'arachnoïde, ainsi que la dure-mère et la pie-mère, est l'une des trois méninges. . Ce sont des membranes qui protègent notre cerveau et notre moelle contre les blessures provenant de l’extérieur et qui jouent un rôle important dans notre survie. Ils sont placés les uns sous les autres, formant trois petites couches protectrices.


Dans le cas de l'arachnoïde, nous sommes en face de la membrane intermédiaire, en contact avec la dure-mère et la pie-mère. Il s’avère être le plus fragile et le plus vulnérable des trois. Une autre de ses caractéristiques principales est qu'il n'est pas vascularisé.

Bien qu’ils soient en contact étroit, l’arachnoïde est séparée de la dure-mère à travers l’espace sous-dural, qui est plus qu’un espace constitué d’une fine couche de cellules entre lesquelles se trouve un liquide interstitiel. En ce qui concerne la pie-mère, elle est séparée de celle-ci par l'espace sous-arachnoïdien et s'y connecte à son tour au moyen des trabécules arachnoïdiennes.

L’un des aspects principaux qui le distingue des deux autres méninges est le fait qu’il contient l’espace sous-arachnoïdien, dans lequel circule le liquide céphalorachidien.


Composants principaux

En observant l'arachnoïde, nous pouvons identifier l'existence en eux de différentes couches ou parties.

1. Couche barrière arachnoïdienne ou arachnoïdienne

Il correspond à la partie de l'arachnoïde en contact avec la dure-mère . Leurs cellules sont très proches et permettent difficilement le passage du liquide interstitiel, constituant la partie la plus résistante de l'arachnoïde. Cette couche empêche les ions et les molécules d'entrer ou de sortir. Cependant, on y distingue une série de granulations d'arachnoïde ou de villosités qui se connectent aux veines existantes dans la dure-mère, ce qui permet d'expulser le liquide céphalorachidien à la fin de son cycle.

2. Trabécules d'arachnoïde ou couche d'arachnoïde réticulaire

Les cellules de la couche barrière arachnoïdale font saillie vers la pie-mère, formant un réseau qui traverse l'espace sous-arachnoïdien qui à son tour forme un réseau ou un maillage qui donne en fait un nom au méninx (du fait de sa ressemblance avec le tissu d’une araignée). Dans ces projections, on trouve des fibres dans des filets, des fibres d'ancrage et des microfibres. La fonction exacte des trabécules n'est pas encore complètement connue, bien que l'on suppose qu'ils sont capables de percevoir la pression causée par le liquide céphalorachidien.


3. l'espace sous-arachnoïdien

Bien qu’une partie de l’arachnoïde soit un espace situé entre ses lames, l’espace sous-arachnoïdien est l’une des parties les plus importantes de l’arachnoïde. C'est parce que c'est à travers elle que le liquide céphalo-rachidien passe . Dans cet espace, on peut également trouver une série de fosses et citernes cérébrales importantes dans lesquelles le liquide céphalo-rachidien s'accumule et qui permettent sa distribution.

En plus du cerveau lui-même, un espace sous-arachnoïdien orbital entourant le nerf optique peut être trouvé.

Fonctions principales

L'arachnoïde est une membrane qui, comme les autres méninges, remplit diverses fonctions qui permettent et favorisent notre survie.

1. protège le système nerveux

En dépit d'être relativement fragile, l'arachnoïde, ainsi que le reste des méninges, permet de protéger le cerveau et la moelle épinière contre les coups et les blessures , ainsi que la contamination et l’infection par des agents nocifs.

2. Distribution du liquide céphalo-rachidien

C'est dans l'arachnoïde et dans les différentes citernes de l'espace sous-arachnoïdien à travers lequel le liquide céphalo-rachidien circule , élément essentiel pour maintenir les neurones du système nerveux en vie en les nourrissant et en permettant ensuite l’élimination des résidus du fonctionnement du cerveau.

3. Connexion du système de fluide vasculaire cérébro-spinal

Le liquide céphalo-rachidien entraîne les pertes d'activité cérébrale, mais il est nécessaire de les expulser . Cela se fait par le sang des veines de la dure-mère, avec laquelle l'arachnoïde communique. De la même manière, il empêche le liquide céphalo-rachidien de s'accumuler de manière excessive, ce qui ne cesse pas d'être sécrété.

4. Il permet la flottabilité du cerveau

Le fait que le liquide céphalorachidien circule à travers son intérieur permet au cerveau de flotter un peu , ce qui réduit son poids et permet le maintien de sa morphologie.

5. Perception de la pression intracrânienne

Bien que ce soit quelque chose qui ne soit pas complètement connu, on soupçonne qu’il s’agit de trabécules arachnoïdiennes. ceux qui permettent au corps de détecter une augmentation de la pression intracrânienne.

Troubles associés

Plusieurs affectations sont liées à des altérations de l'arachnoïde ou d'une autre des méninges. Parmi ces modifications, nous pouvons trouver les suivantes.

1. Kyste arachnoïdien

De petites structures kystiques peuvent se former dans l'arachnoïde qui se remplit de liquide céphalo-rachidien. Bien qu'ils ne causent pas de problèmes, ils peuvent générer une pression qui endommage le système nerveux. Les maux de tête, les problèmes de sensibilité, la paresthésie ou la paralysie sont fréquents.

2. Méningite

L'arachnoïde et le reste des méninges peuvent succomber à une infection virale ou bactérienne, s'enflammer et provoquer différents symptômes tels que vertiges, maux de tête ou faiblesse. La composition du liquide céphalo-rachidien circulant dans l’arachnoïde peut être modifiée , ainsi que provoquant une compression du cerveau.

3. Hydrocéphalie communicante

C'est un trouble dans lequel le liquide céphalo-rachidien s'accumule à l'intérieur du crâne , dans ce cas, car les parties de l’arachnoïde permettant la communication entre celui-ci et le sang des veines ne fonctionnent pas correctement, accumulent trop de liquide et ne rentrent pas dans le sang.

4. Hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne

Il survient en raison d'une maladie ou d'une blessure (due à une lésion cérébrale traumatique, par exemple) , le sang entre et inonde l’espace sous-arachnoïdien. Cela peut être mortel. Les maux de tête, les altérations de la conscience et les problèmes gastro-intestinaux tels que nausées et vomissements sont fréquents.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Martínez, F.; Demain, G .; Panuncio, A. et Laza, S. (2008). Revue anatomo-clinique des méninges et des espaces intracrâniens avec une référence particulière à l'hématome sous-dural chronique. Journal mexicain des neurosciences; 9 (1): 47-60

Neuroanatomie : Le Cerveau Humain (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes