yes, therapy helps!
The modular theory of the mind: what it is and what it explains about the brain

The modular theory of the mind: what it is and what it explains about the brain

October 5, 2022

The theory of the mind tells us that the specialized neurons in our brain allow us to generate hypotheses about how the minds of others work. This allows us to anticipate the behaviors and intentionality of the other and, based on that, direct our behavior. For this reason, it is an important skill in the acquisition of knowledge and behavior, and has been attributed an essential value in adaptive terms.

But how is this happening? Modular theory suggests that the process of mentalization described above is possible because our mind works through different modules. We will see below what is the modular theory of the mind and how it explains our cognitive processes .


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Modular theory of the mind: the psyche as a set of processes

Among other things, the more traditional approach to the theory of the mind suggested that the mind is a multipurpose tool, capable of activating any type of task or information . Thus, regardless of whether we are presented with a logical-mathematical, linguistic, physical or social problem, our mind (as a unitary system) sets in motion mechanisms of perception and problem solving.

Faced with this conception, the modular approach maintains that the mind is not a unitary or monolithic tool. It is, rather, a set of tools, each specialized in a specific problem, task or information. Beyond being a single multipurpose tool, the mind is conceived as a set of processes and systems specialized in solving different types of problems (García García, 2008).


As such, each process would have a certain structure and competence. And for this reason, each process is conceived as a different "module". Thus, the mind would be constructed by a set of specialized modules in a certain type of process or activity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 executive functions of the human brain"

Development and background

In the year of 1986, the philosopher and psycholinguist Jerry Fodor He proposed that the mind is structured in "innate modules". He defined the latter as input systems (ie, perceptual systems). According to Fodor, the modules work independently and specialized in a domain. And in addition, they are automatic and fast processes.

But our mind is not only composed of different modules encapsulated and independent of each other. Contrary to this, Fodor also proposed that in the middle of the modules there is a central system, whose task is to receive the information from the input systems (that is, from the different modules). In other words, there is a central system that is responsible for integrating and recording the information processed by each module, and from this, we can generate processes and complex functions such as memory .


This is how Fodor developed the concept of "modularity". Through this he explained how the perceptive and cognitive processes work as a set of modules with specialized tasks. One of the examples where the modular theory of the mind is reflected is the theory of multiple intelligences, and another is the metaphor of the computational processor applied to the theory of the mind.

Does our mind work like a Swiss army knife?

One of the most used forms in theory of the mind to explain the modular approach is the Swiss army knife. It was proposed in 1994 by the psychologist Leda Cosmides and the anthropologist John Tooby , both specialized in evolutionary psychology.

What they suggest is that, traditionally, the theory of the mind held that the latter worked like a common knife that we can take with us to solve any problem, from opening a can to cutting a piece of bread. On the contrary, the modular theory of the mind maintains that the latter operates as a "Swiss army knife", which is also a manual tool, but it is composed of different tools with different functions.

You can have a knife, scissors, knives of different sizes, a flashlight, among others; and each one is useful to solve specific problems (and not others). In fact, its utility is precisely this: extreme specialization of each component , that allows to solve in an effective way concrete problems.

The physical bases of the mental modules

According to this theory, modular structure and organization would be the result of a complex phylogenetic process that has allowed us to develop different structures and mechanisms. At the same time, such development occurs adaptively , that is, it is a consequence of the constant modification of problems and tasks that our environment presents to us.

Thus, we generate new and different needs as we develop in a specific context, which ends up building different mental modules. The latter, translated into neurophysiological language, corresponds to brain plasticity and the connectionist model that holds that the information received is stored in neural circuits. In this way, a part of the modular theory maintains that the physiological basis of the nodules are precisely the cumulus and the neural networks; and in the same way, the psychophysical basis of modular development would be cerebral plasticity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bacáicoa Ganuza, F. (2002). The modular mind. Journal of Psychodidactics, 13: 1-24.
  • Robbins, P. (2017). Modularity of Mind. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved October 3, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/modularity-mind/#CaseForMassModu.
  • García García, E. (2008). Neuropsychology and education. From mirror neurons to the theory of the mind. Journal of Psychology and Education, 1 (3): 69-89.
  • Gómez Echeverry, I. (2010). Cognitive science, Theory of mind and autism. Psychological thinking, 8 (15): 113-124.

Explorations of the Modularity of the Mind (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie modulaire de l'esprit: qu'est-ce que c'est et ce qu'elle explique sur le cerveau

La théorie modulaire de l'esprit: qu'est-ce que c'est et ce qu'elle explique sur le cerveau

Juillet 25, 2022

La théorie de l'esprit nous dit que les neurones spécialisés de notre cerveau nous permettent de générer des hypothèses sur le fonctionnement de l'esprit des autres. Cela nous permet d’anticiper les comportements et l’intentionnalité de l’autre et, partant, de diriger notre comportement. Pour cette raison, il s’agit d’une compétence importante dans l’acquisition de connaissances et de comportements, qui s’est vu attribuer une valeur essentielle en termes d’adaptation.

Mais comment ça se passe? La théorie modulaire suggère que le processus de mentalisation décrit ci-dessus est possible car notre esprit fonctionne à travers différents modules. Nous verrons ci-dessous quelle est la théorie modulaire de l'esprit et comment elle explique nos processus cognitifs .


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Théorie modulaire de l'esprit: le psychisme en tant qu'ensemble de processus

Entre autres choses, l’approche plus traditionnelle de la théorie de l’esprit suggérait que l’esprit est un outil polyvalent, capable d'activer tout type de tâche ou d'information . Ainsi, que nous ayons ou non un problème logico-mathématique, linguistique, physique ou social, notre esprit (en tant que système unitaire) met en mouvement des mécanismes de perception et de résolution de problèmes.

Face à cette conception, l'approche modulaire maintient que l'esprit n'est pas un outil unitaire ou monolithique. Il s’agit plutôt d’un ensemble d’outils, chacun spécialisé dans un problème, une tâche ou une information spécifique. En plus d’être un outil polyvalent unique, l’esprit est conçu comme un ensemble de processus et de systèmes spécialisés dans la résolution de différents types de problèmes (García García, 2008).


En tant que tel, chaque processus aurait une certaine structure et compétence. Et pour cette raison, chaque processus est conçu comme un "module" différent. Ainsi, l'esprit serait construit par un ensemble de modules spécialisés dans un certain type de processus ou d'activité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 fonctions exécutives du cerveau humain"

Développement et fond

En 1986, le philosophe et psycholinguiste Jerry Fodor Il a proposé que l'esprit soit structuré en "modules innés". Il a défini ces derniers comme des systèmes d’entrée (c’est-à-dire des systèmes perceptuels). Selon Fodor, les modules fonctionnent de manière indépendante et spécialisés dans un domaine. Et en plus, ce sont des processus automatiques et rapides.

Mais notre esprit n'est pas uniquement composé de différents modules encapsulés et indépendants les uns des autres. Contrairement à cela, Fodor a également proposé de placer au milieu des modules un système central chargé de recevoir les informations des systèmes d’entrée (c’est-à-dire des différents modules). En d’autres termes, il existe un système central responsable de l’intégration et de l’enregistrement des informations traitées par chaque module. nous pouvons générer des processus et des fonctions complexes telles que la mémoire .


C’est ainsi que Fodor a développé le concept de "modularité". À travers cela, il a expliqué comment les processus perceptifs et cognitifs fonctionnent comme un ensemble de modules avec des tâches spécialisées. L'un des exemples où la théorie modulaire de l'esprit est reflétée est la théorie des intelligences multiples, et un autre est la métaphore du processeur de calcul appliqué à la théorie de l'esprit.

Notre esprit fonctionne-t-il comme un couteau suisse?

L'une des formes les plus utilisées en théorie de l'esprit pour expliquer l'approche modulaire est le couteau suisse. Il a été proposé en 1994 par la psychologue Leda Cosmides et l'anthropologue John Tooby , tous deux spécialisés en psychologie de l'évolution.

Ce qu'ils suggèrent, c'est que, traditionnellement, la théorie de l'esprit considérait que ce dernier fonctionnait comme un couteau ordinaire que nous pouvons emporter avec nous pour résoudre tout problème, de l'ouverture d'une boîte de conserve à la coupe d'un morceau de pain. Au contraire, la théorie modulaire de l'esprit soutient que celui-ci fonctionne comme un "couteau suisse", qui est aussi un outil manuel, mais il est composé de différents outils avec des fonctions différentes.

Vous pouvez avoir un couteau, des ciseaux, des couteaux de différentes tailles, une lampe de poche, entre autres; et chacun est utile pour résoudre des problèmes spécifiques (et non d'autres). En fait, son utilité est précisément ceci: spécialisation extrême de chaque composant , cela permet de résoudre efficacement des problèmes concrets.

Les bases physiques des modules mentaux

Selon cette théorie, la structure et l'organisation modulaires seraient le résultat d'un processus phylogénétique complexe qui nous a permis de développer différentes structures et mécanismes. À son tour, un tel développement se produit de manière adaptative c’est-à-dire une conséquence de la modification constante des problèmes et des tâches que notre environnement nous présente.

Ainsi, nous générons des besoins nouveaux et différents lorsque nous évoluons dans un contexte spécifique, ce qui aboutit à la construction de différents modules mentaux. Ce dernier, traduit en langage neurophysiologique, correspond à la plasticité cérébrale et le modèle connexionniste selon lequel l'information reçue est stockée dans des circuits neuronaux. De cette manière, une partie de la théorie modulaire soutient que les bases physiologiques des nodules sont précisément le cumulus et les réseaux de neurones; et de la même manière, la base psychophysique du développement modulaire serait la plasticité cérébrale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bacáicoa Ganuza, F. (2002). L'esprit modulaire. Journal of Psychodidactics, 13: 1-24.
  • Robbins, P. (2017). Modularité d'esprit. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 3 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/modularity-mind/#CaseForMassModu.
  • García García, E. (2008). Neuropsychologie et éducation. Des neurones miroirs à la théorie de l'esprit. Journal de psychologie et d'éducation, 1 (3): 69-89.
  • Gómez Echeverry, I. (2010). Science cognitive, théorie de l'esprit et autisme. Pensée psychologique, 8 (15): 113-124.

3 clues to understanding your brain | VS Ramachandran (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes