yes, therapy helps!
The Cognitive Theory of Jerome Bruner

The Cognitive Theory of Jerome Bruner

January 25, 2022

Nowadays, the idea that knowing or learning something consists of a process in which we receive information from the outside, process it and finally interpret it so that we end up having knowledge of the element in question can seem logical and common.

This idea indicates that the individual who knows participates in the process of knowing, shaping and interpreting reality in a direct way. However, this consideration has not always existed, there being multiple theories and ways of conceptualizing the reality that linked the fact of knowing with the exact transfer of objective reality to our consciousness, being the person a passive element between reality and cognition, or that although there is an intermediate step, this is an indecipherable element.


The theories that affirm that the fact of knowing and learning are mediated by a series of internal cognitive processes, manipulating the symbolic elements that we perceive in order to endow reality with a meaning are the so-called cognitivist theories, being among them one of the first the cognitive theory of Jerome Bruner .

Bruner's cognitive theory: active subject and categorization theory

For Jerome Bruner and for the rest of cognitive theories, one of the main elements when it comes to knowing is the active participation of the subject who learns. That is to say, it is not about the individual taking the information from outside without more, but so that it is transformed into knowledge must be processed , worked and endowed with meaning by the subject.


According to Bruner's cognitive theory, in the process of knowing and learning human beings try to categorize the events and elements of reality in sets of equivalent items. Thus, we experience the experiences and the perceived reality by creating concepts from the discrimination of the different stimuli.

In this process, called categorization, the information received from outside is actively worked, being codified and classified with a series of labels or categories in order to enable the understanding of reality. This categorization allows the formation of concepts and the ability to make predictions and make decisions. It is an explanatory model very influenced by computer science , which was based on the operation of the computers of the time.

From the cognitive perspective of Bruner, from the categorization we are able to generate knowledge . These categorizations will not always remain stable and closed, but will vary from the life experience, modifying and expanding. When faced with a reality to be categorized, the individual can establish two types of processes, Concept Formation or known as Concept Attainment.


Concept Formation

This process is typical of early stages of development. The subject proceeds to learn a concept or category, generating by itself the information to classify in the category by him / her created. Common patterns are recognized in several units of information and are unified in certain concepts.

Concept Attainment

The second type of process that can be performed is the identification of properties that allow registering the stimulus in an existing category, created by others. The subject infers the main attributes of the category that has been formed , comparing and contrasting examples that contain the main attributes of the category with other elements that do not possess them. In other words, this process allows the creation of inclusion and exclusion criteria within a category.

Modes of representation of reality according to Bruner's cognitive theory

Based on what has been commented so far, it is deducible that for Bruner learning is active , the individual having a cognitive structure based on the association with previous knowledge that allows him to build knowledge and make inferences.

The representation of reality that is made through cognition can be acquired in three ways or modes, used at different developmental moments of development due to the need for sufficient cognitive resources as they become more complicated. These modes of representation are not mutually exclusive, and several can be applied at the same time to facilitate learning.

Enactive representation

In this mode, Knowledge is acquired through action and direct interaction with the element to be known . This modality to represent reality is typical of initial stages of development, that is, in the first years of life. It is the type of representation obtained with procedural learning, such as learning to go by car or bicycle, or using cutlery to eat.

Iconic representation

It is known through the iconic mode when recognizable and non-symbolic visual elements are used , like a photograph or drawing. It is after three years that the majority of boys and girls are able to use this type of representation, due to their higher level of development.

Symbolic representation

Knowing in a symbolic way implies that information is obtained through symbols, such as words, concepts, abstractions and written language. The level of intellectual development necessary for this type of representation is much higher than the previous ones , because it requires having the capacity for abstraction and recognition of symbols and their meaning. It is considered that this type of representation has emerged around the age of six in the majority of boys and girls.

Applications of cognitive theory in education

Learning is the means through which human beings and other organisms acquire information and knowledge of the environment. For this reason, Bruner's cognitive theory has served and in fact has focused largely on promoting learning processes and development since childhood, although his perspective becomes constructivist.

For Bruner, education consists of the inculcation of skills and knowledge through the representation of what is already known and what is intended to be known, so that the individual can generalize knowledge, taking into account the particularities of each knowledge.

The concept of scaffolding

Another of the fundamental concepts in Bruner's theory, in this case from a constructivist conception, is the concept of scaffolding. For Bruner, the learning or process by which we obtain knowledge must be facilitated by the provision of external aid . The individual is not the only source of learning, but from outside you can create facilities so that these "fit" into the level of learning of the other person and, thus, improve the quality and speed of education.

These aids have to be awarded in a graduated way, providing a great level of help at the beginning or in the presence of great difficulties so that over time and with the progressive mastery on the part of the apprentice they are withdrawn, giving each time greater autonomy to the individual.

The metaphor of a scaffolding used to build a building is evident, referring to this process of adaptation and transience of the aids as scaffolding.

Importance of values, needs and expectations

The knowledge and even perception of the phenomena have been shown to a large extent dependent on the needs , beliefs and expectations. Seeing how the results do not fit with too high expectations can cause learning to stop because of frustration, while too low expectations can hinder it and prevent potential progress.

An example of the importance of expectations is visible in some experiments, in which, for example, subjects with a low economic level are able to perceive coins as larger due to the greater value they are given.

Giving meaning: work with what is already known

It is also essential to know that new knowledge is based on the old, in what the person already knows, in order to be able to build and modify the new information based on it.

This allows the subject to give a sense to the new information , being able to know not only a decontextualized information but also other cognitions that you can use in your daily life.

In search of learning by discovery

As stipulated in your cognitive theory, for Bruner the subject is an active entity in learning and the process of knowing , which does not limit itself to recording information from the outside but has to operate with it in order to convert it into knowledge. In this sense, it considers that the traditional learning of schools has been based too much on a decontextualized information acquisition process.

In opposition to this proposes a learning by discovery, in which the subject learns and is stimulated to know through curiosity, motivation and self-learning, being the teacher a guide for it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bruner, J. S. (Ed.). (1980). Research on cognitive development. Madrid: Pablo del Río.
  • Bruner, J. S. (1981). Mental reality and possible worlds. Madrid: Gedisa.
  • Bruner, J. S., Goodnaw, J. J. and Austin, G. A. (1978). The mental process in learning. Madrid: Nancea.
  • Guilar, M.E. (2009). Bruner's ideas: from the cognitive revolution to the cultural revolution. Educere, 13; 44, 235-241. University of the Andes, Venezuela.
  • Méndez, Z. (2003). Learning and Cognition. San Jose Costa Rica. Publisher: EUNED, sixth reprint.

Jerome Bruner (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie cognitive de Jérôme Bruner

La théorie cognitive de Jérôme Bruner

Novembre 25, 2022

De nos jours, l'idée de savoir ou d'apprendre quelque chose consiste en un processus dans lequel nous recevons des informations de l'extérieur, nous les traitons et finalement nous les interprétons de sorte que nous ayons finalement connaissance de l'élément en question peut sembler logique et commun.

Cette idée indique que l'individu qui sait participe au processus de connaissance, de formation et d'interprétation de la réalité de manière directe. Cependant, cette considération n’a pas toujours existé, les théories et les façons de conceptualiser la réalité liant le fait de savoir au transfert exact de la réalité objective à notre conscience étant multiples, la personne étant un élément passif entre la réalité et la cognition, ou bien qu'il existe une étape intermédiaire, il s'agit d'un élément indéchiffrable.


Les théories qui affirment que le fait de savoir et d'apprendre sont médiatisés par une série de processus cognitifs internes, manipulant les éléments symboliques que nous percevons afin de donner un sens à la réalité sont les soi-disant théories cognitivistes, être parmi eux l'un des premiers de la théorie cognitive de Jerome Bruner .

Théorie cognitive de Bruner: sujet actif et théorie de la catégorisation

Pour Jerome Bruner et pour le reste des théories cognitives, l'un des principaux éléments à connaître est la participation active du sujet qui apprend. C'est-à-dire, il ne s'agit pas de l'individu qui prend les informations de l'extérieur sans plus, mais pour qu'elles soient transformées en connaissances, il faut les traiter , travaillé et doté de sens par le sujet.


Selon la théorie cognitive de Bruner, dans le processus de connaissance et d’apprentissage, les êtres humains essaient de catégoriser les événements et les éléments de la réalité dans des ensembles d’articles équivalents. Ainsi, nous expérimentons les expériences et la réalité perçue en créant des concepts à partir de la discrimination des différents stimuli.

Dans ce processus, appelé catégorisation, les informations reçues de l’extérieur sont activement exploitées, codifiées et classées avec une série d’étiquettes ou de catégories afin de permettre la compréhension de la réalité. Cette catégorisation permet la formation de concepts et la capacité de faire des prédictions et de prendre des décisions. C'est un modèle explicatif très influencé par l'informatique , qui était basé sur le fonctionnement des ordinateurs de l’époque.

Du point de vue cognitif de Bruner, à partir de la catégorisation, nous sommes en mesure de générer des connaissances . Ces catégorisations ne resteront pas toujours stables et fermées, mais varieront de l'expérience de vie, en modification et en expansion. Lorsqu'il est confronté à une réalité à catégoriser, l'individu peut établir deux types de processus, la formation de concept ou connue sous le nom de réalisation de concept.


Formation de concept

Ce processus est typique des premières étapes du développement. Le sujet passe à apprendre un concept ou une catégorie, en générant par lui-même les informations à classer dans la catégorie par lui / elle créé. Les modèles communs sont reconnus dans plusieurs unités d’information et sont unifiés dans certains concepts.

Réalisation du concept

Le deuxième type de processus pouvant être exécuté est l’identification de propriétés permettant d’enregistrer le stimulus dans une catégorie existante, créée par d’autres. Le sujet en déduit les principaux attributs de la catégorie qui a été formée , en comparant et en contrastant les exemples qui contiennent les attributs principaux de la catégorie avec d’autres éléments qui ne les possèdent pas. En d'autres termes, ce processus permet de créer des critères d'inclusion et d'exclusion au sein d'une catégorie.

Modes de représentation de la réalité selon la théorie cognitive de Bruner

Sur la base de ce qui a été commenté jusqu'à présent, on peut déduire que pour Bruner l'apprentissage est actif , l’individu ayant une structure cognitive basée sur l’association avec des connaissances antérieures lui permettant d’acquérir des connaissances et de tirer des conclusions.

La représentation de la réalité faite par la cognition peut être acquise de trois manières ou modes, utilisée à différents moments du développement en raison de la nécessité de ressources cognitives suffisantes au fur et à mesure de leur complexification. Ces modes de représentation ne s'excluent pas mutuellement et plusieurs peuvent être appliqués simultanément pour faciliter l'apprentissage.

Représentation active

Dans ce mode, La connaissance est acquise par l'action et l'interaction directe avec l'élément à connaître . Cette modalité de représentation de la réalité est typique des premières étapes du développement, c'est-à-dire dans les premières années de la vie. C'est le type de représentation obtenu avec l'apprentissage procédural, comme apprendre à aller en voiture ou à vélo, ou à utiliser des couverts pour manger.

Représentation iconique

On sait par le mode iconique que des éléments visuels reconnaissables et non symboliques sont utilisés , comme une photo ou un dessin. C'est après trois ans que la majorité des garçons et des filles peuvent utiliser ce type de représentation en raison de leur plus haut niveau de développement.

Représentation symbolique

Connaître de manière symbolique implique que l'information soit obtenue au moyen de symboles, tels que des mots, des concepts, des abstractions et un langage écrit. Le niveau de développement intellectuel nécessaire pour ce type de représentation est beaucoup plus élevé que les précédents , car il faut avoir la capacité d’abstraction et de reconnaissance des symboles et de leur signification. On considère que ce type de représentation est apparu vers l'âge de six ans chez la majorité des garçons et des filles.

Applications de la théorie cognitive en éducation

L'apprentissage est le moyen par lequel les êtres humains et d'autres organismes acquièrent des informations et une connaissance de l'environnement. Pour cette raisonLa théorie cognitive de Bruner a servi et s’est en fait concentrée sur la promotion des processus d’apprentissage et développement depuis l'enfance, bien que sa perspective devienne constructiviste.

Pour Bruner, l’éducation consiste à inculquer des compétences et des connaissances au moyen de la représentation de ce qui est déjà connu et de ce qui est censé être connu, afin que l’individu puisse généraliser le savoir en tenant compte des particularités de chaque savoir.

Le concept d'échafaudage

Un autre des concepts fondamentaux de la théorie de Bruner, en l'occurrence une conception constructiviste, est le concept d'échafaudage. Pour Bruner, l'apprentissage ou le processus par lequel nous obtenons des connaissances doit être facilité par la fourniture d'une aide extérieure . L’individu n’est pas la seule source d’apprentissage, mais de l’extérieur, vous pouvez créer des installations qui «s’intègrent» au niveau d’apprentissage de l’autre personne et améliorent ainsi la qualité et la rapidité de l’éducation.

Ces aides doivent être attribuées de manière progressive, en apportant une aide importante au début ou en présence de grandes difficultés, de sorte qu'avec le temps et avec la maîtrise progressive de l'apprenti, elles sont retirées, en donnant à chaque fois une plus grande autonomie à l'individu.

La métaphore d'un échafaudage utilisé pour construire un bâtiment est évidente, faisant référence à ce processus d'adaptation et de transitoire des aides en tant qu'échafaudage.

Importance des valeurs, des besoins et des attentes

La connaissance et même la perception des phénomènes ont été largement démontrées en fonction des besoins , croyances et attentes. Si les résultats obtenus ne correspondent pas à des attentes trop élevées, l'apprentissage peut être interrompu par frustration, tandis que des attentes trop faibles peuvent le gêner et empêcher des progrès potentiels.

Un exemple de l’importance des attentes est visible dans certaines expériences, dans lesquelles, par exemple, des sujets à faible niveau économique peuvent percevoir les pièces comme étant plus grandes en raison de la plus grande valeur qu’elles reçoivent.

Donner un sens: travailler avec ce que l'on sait déjà

Il est également essentiel de savoir que les nouvelles connaissances reposent sur les anciennes, dans ce que la personne sait déjà, afin de pouvoir construire et modifier les nouvelles informations basées sur celles-ci.

Cela permet au sujet de donner un sens à la nouvelle information , capable de connaître non seulement une information décontextualisée mais également d’autres cognitions que vous pouvez utiliser dans votre vie quotidienne.

En quête d'apprentissage par découverte

Comme stipulé dans votre théorie cognitive, pour Bruner le sujet est une entité active dans l'apprentissage et le processus de connaissance , qui ne se limite pas à enregistrer des informations de l’extérieur mais doit fonctionner avec celles-ci afin de les convertir en connaissances. En ce sens, il considère que l'apprentissage traditionnel des écoles s'est trop basé sur un processus d'acquisition d'informations décontextualisé.

En opposition à cela, nous proposons un apprentissage par découverte, dans lequel le sujet apprend et est stimulé par la curiosité, la motivation et l'auto-apprentissage, et sert de guide à cet enseignant.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bruner, J.S. (Ed.). (1980). Recherche sur le développement cognitif. Madrid: Pablo del Río.
  • Bruner, J.S. (1981). Réalité mentale et mondes possibles. Madrid: Gedisa.
  • Bruner, J.S., Goodnaw, J.J. et Austin, G.A. (1978). Le processus mental dans l'apprentissage. Madrid: Nancea.
  • Guilar, M.E. (2009). Les idées de Bruner: de la révolution cognitive à la révolution culturelle. Educere, 13 ans; 44, 235-241. Université des Andes, Venezuela.
  • Méndez, Z. (2003). Apprentissage et cognition. San José, Costa Rica. Editeur: EUNED, sixième réimpression.

CM 7 les théories classiques de l'apprentissage (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes