yes, therapy helps!
The teleological behaviorism of Howard Rachlin

The teleological behaviorism of Howard Rachlin

November 22, 2022

Given the popularity of behaviorism, especially half a century ago, it is not surprising that there are a large number of variants of this paradigm. Thus, we find classical models, such as the radical behaviorism of B. F. Skinner and Kantor's interbehaviorism, together with more recent contributions, among which the functional contextualism of Hayes stands out.

In this article we will describe the main aspects of Howard Rachlin's teleological behaviorism , which emphasizes the importance of the human will and our capacity for self-control of behavior. We will also present the most significant criticisms that have been made towards this theoretical perspective.


Biography of Howard Rachlin

Howard Rachlin is an American psychologist who was born in 1935 . When he was 30 years old, in 1965, he received his doctorate in Psychology from Harvard University. Since then he has dedicated his life to research, teaching and writing articles and books, among which "Conducta y mente" and "La ciencia del autocontrol" stand out.

Rachlin is considered one of the determining authors in the emergence of behavioral economics; Some of his research has examined phenomena such as the pathological game or the prisoner's dilemma. It is also known for teleological behaviorism, on which this article focuses.

During his professional career this author has studied mainly the decision making and the behavior of choice . According to him, his main objective as a researcher is to understand the psychological and economic factors that explain phenomena such as self-control, social cooperation, altruism and addictions.


Currently Rachlin is professor emeritus of Cognitive Science at the State University of New York, Stony Brook. His ongoing research focuses on analyzing patterns of choice over time and their effects on interpersonal cooperation and individual self-control.

Principles of teleological behaviorism

Teleological behaviorism follows the fundamental principles of classical behavioral orientation. Rachlin argues that the object of study of psychology must be observable behavior and adheres to the theories that conceive the mental contents (thoughts, emotions, etc.) as forms of behavior rather than as causal factors.

The central aspect that characterizes this discipline is its focus on voluntary or proactive behavior . This principle leads Rachlin to emphasize the relevance of issues such as the free will of human beings, our capacity for self-control or collaboration between different individuals.


In this sense, Rachlin's theory can be related to the contributions of authors such as Edward Tolman, whose proposals are known as "proactive behaviorism", or Albert Bandura, who affirmed that people can control their own behavior through processes of self-regulation ( which include self-observation or self-reinforcement).

Voluntary behavior, self-control and free will

With the popularization of Skinner's radical behaviorism, which attempts to predict behavior exclusively through the manipulation of environmental stimuli, the old question of free will became central in scientific psychology. According to Rachlin, determining whether a behavior is voluntary or not is fundamental from a social point of view .

This author affirms that the actions that most people consider voluntary are also motivated by environmental factors, but this is less obvious than with other types of behavior. At this point the concept of self-control is introduced, which Rachlin defined as the individual capacity to resist temptations thinking in the long term.

For Rachlin, for people with good self-control, the goal of behavior is not always to satisfy a present need, but also to seek reinforcement or avoidance of long-term punishment. This interest in delayed consequences and in the vision of the future is another of the most characteristic aspects of teleological behaviorism.

The ability to self-control is understood as a skill that can be trained; Rachlin affirms that the fact that a person develops it adequately or not depends on the consistency of his efforts to guide his behavior based on long-term gratification, and not on the immediate one. This can apply to problems such as addictions.

Criticisms of Rachlin's theory

Rachlin's teleological behaviorism argues that free will is a social construct whose definition depends exclusively on the context. This approach has received criticism for its relativistic nature.

MMany behaviourists believe that Rachlin's contributions deviate from the path that this discipline should follow . A particularly criticized aspect has been its focus on self-control, which some equate with the phenomenon of self-help psychology, reviled for considering that it seeks obvious economic benefit.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rachlin, H. (2000). The science of self-control. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press.
  • Rachlin, H. (2007). Free Will From the Viewpoint of Teleological Behaviorism. Behavioral Sciences and the Law, 25 (2): 235-250.
  • Rachlin, H. (2013). About Teleological Behaviorism. The Behavior Analyst, 36 (2): 209-222.

Matching Law Presentation (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le behaviorisme téléologique de Howard Rachlin

Le behaviorisme téléologique de Howard Rachlin

Août 11, 2020

Compte tenu de la popularité du behaviorisme, en particulier il y a un demi-siècle, il n’est pas surprenant qu’il existe un grand nombre de variantes de ce paradigme. Ainsi, nous trouvons des modèles classiques, tels que le behaviorisme radical de B. F. Skinner et l'interbehaviorisme de Kantor, ainsi que des contributions plus récentes, parmi lesquelles se distingue le contextualisme fonctionnel de Hayes.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les principaux aspects du comportementalisme téléologique de Howard Rachlin. , qui souligne l’importance de la volonté humaine et de notre capacité à nous contrôler nous-mêmes. Nous présenterons également les critiques les plus importantes qui ont été formulées à l’égard de cette perspective théorique.


Biographie de Howard Rachlin

Howard Rachlin est un psychologue américain né en 1935. . À l'âge de 30 ans, en 1965, il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie de l'Université de Harvard. Depuis lors, il a consacré sa vie à la recherche, à l’enseignement et à la rédaction d’articles et de livres, parmi lesquels «Conducta y mente» et «La ciencia del autocontrol».

Rachlin est considéré comme l’un des auteurs déterminants dans l’émergence de l’économie comportementale; Certaines de ses recherches ont porté sur des phénomènes tels que le jeu pathologique ou le dilemme du prisonnier. Il est également connu pour le behaviorisme téléologique, sur lequel cet article se concentre.

Au cours de sa carrière professionnelle, cet auteur a étudié principalement la prise de décision et le comportement de choix . Selon lui, son objectif principal en tant que chercheur est de comprendre les facteurs psychologiques et économiques qui expliquent des phénomènes tels que la maîtrise de soi, la coopération sociale, l'altruisme et les dépendances.


Actuellement, Rachlin est professeur émérite de sciences cognitives à l'Université d'État de New York, Stony Brook. Ses recherches en cours portent sur l'analyse des modèles de choix dans le temps et de leurs effets sur la coopération interpersonnelle et la maîtrise de soi.

Principes de comportement téléologique

Le behaviorisme téléologique suit les principes fondamentaux de l'orientation comportementale classique. Rachlin soutient que l'objet d'étude de la psychologie doit être un comportement observable et adhérer aux théories qui conçoivent le contenu mental (pensées, émotions, etc.) comme des formes de comportement plutôt que comme des facteurs de causalité.

L’aspect central de cette discipline est l’accent mis sur le comportement volontaire ou proactif . Ce principe amène Rachlin à souligner la pertinence de questions telles que le libre arbitre des êtres humains, notre capacité de maîtrise de soi ou de collaboration entre différents individus.


En ce sens, la théorie de Rachlin peut être reliée aux contributions d'auteurs tels qu'Edward Tolman, dont les propositions sont connues sous le nom de "behaviorisme proactif", ou Albert Bandura, qui a affirmé que les gens peuvent contrôler leur propre comportement grâce à des processus d'autorégulation ( qui incluent l’observation de soi ou l’auto-renforcement).

Comportement volontaire, maîtrise de soi et libre arbitre

Avec la popularisation du behaviorisme radical de Skinner, qui tente de prédire le comportement exclusivement par la manipulation de stimuli environnementaux, la vieille question du libre arbitre est devenue centrale dans la psychologie scientifique. Selon Rachlin, déterminer si un comportement est volontaire ou non est fondamental d'un point de vue social .

Cet auteur affirme que les actions que la plupart des gens considèrent comme volontaires sont également motivées par des facteurs environnementaux, mais cela est moins évident que pour d'autres types de comportement. À ce stade, le concept de maîtrise de soi est introduit, ce que Rachlin a défini comme la capacité individuelle de résister aux tentations de penser à long terme.

Pour Rachlin, pour les personnes qui ont une bonne maîtrise de soi, l'objectif du comportement n'est pas toujours de satisfaire un besoin actuel, mais aussi de chercher à renforcer ou à éviter un châtiment à long terme. Cet intérêt pour les conséquences différées et pour la vision du futur est un autre des aspects les plus caractéristiques du behaviorisme téléologique.

La capacité à se maîtriser est comprise comme une compétence pouvant être formée; Rachlin affirme que le fait qu'une personne la développe adéquatement ou non dépend de la cohérence de ses efforts pour orienter son comportement sur la base d'une gratification à long terme et non de la satisfaction immédiate. Cela peut s’appliquer à des problèmes tels que les dépendances.

Critiques de la théorie de Rachlin

Le behaviorisme téléologique de Rachlin affirme que le libre arbitre est une construction sociale dont la définition dépend exclusivement du contexte. Cette approche a été critiquée pour son caractère relativiste.

MBeaucoup de comportementalistes pensent que les contributions de Rachlin sont différentes de la voie que cette discipline devrait suivre . Un aspect particulièrement critiqué a été l'accent mis sur la maîtrise de soi, que certains assimilent au phénomène de la psychologie d'autoassistance, répugné pour avoir considéré qu'il visait un avantage économique évident.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rachlin, H. (2000). La science de la maîtrise de soi. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press.
  • Rachlin, H. (2007). Libre arbitre du point de vue du comportementalisme téléologique. Sciences du comportement et du droit, 25 (2): 235-250.
  • Rachlin, H. (2013). À propos du comportementalisme téléologique. The Behavior Analyst, 36 (2): 209-222.

Cours de Psychologie - Le Béhaviorisme (1/3) (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes