yes, therapy helps!
The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?

The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?

May 6, 2021

Recently the testimonies of mothers and fathers have increased in frequency, who, despite loving their children above all else, today seriously question whether they would have made the same decision if they could go back in time.

What can this change of perspective be due to? What factors may be supporting such claims?

Being parents: what implications do you have today?

Paternity becomes a set of experiences and strong changes of character both on a personal (individual) and family (systemic) level that take place in a certain period of time between the moment the future arrival of the baby is known and the two subsequent years to the birth of this, approximately.


During this relatively short period, many events occur that can be a source of emotional stress for the future parent. For this reasonor talk about transition or crisis of the family cycle .

Although, in a generic way, the satisfactions that this new role entails can compensate for the balance derived from the stressors, the latter are of considerable relevance and imply adequate adaptive management that prevents the experience of the new stage as a parent. mother in a problematic way Among these factors can be differentiated: the time and effort dedicated to the care of the baby, the change in the marital relationship, the difficulty of reconciling the different roles that each individual exercises (professional and / or personal), the change of schedules and daily routines, the increase in family economic expenses or the increase in the complexity of family relationships, which go from being understood as dyadic systems (relationship between the couple) to triadic systems (father-mother-child relationship).


Transition to fatherhood or motherhood: vital changes

Between the processes of change and continuity in the transition to paternity / maternity, adaptations can be distinguished both individually and at conjugal level. Among the first, there are changes in daily habits (which refer to a restriction and alteration in sleep patterns, individual free time and interpersonal relationships, sexual habits and economic availability), the consequences on identity of the subject, his self-concept and self-esteem derived from the emergence of the new role as father and mother and the management of the adoption of gender roles that tend to be emphasized with the arrival of a child (understanding the mother as the main carer and the father as sole economic supporter).

On the other hand, there are also changes, albeit of moderate intensity, in marital relationships in terms of the establishment of new habits and shared activities (leisure and sexual relations fundamentally) tending to provide less satisfaction than previously; the organization of household tasks and the assumption of family roles (of relative impact); changes at the professional level (more pronounced for the mother than for the father) and the redistribution of the time allotted for family relationships and friendships (increase in the first and decrease in the last).


Family function: the socializing agent

In order to achieve the ultimate goal of promoting a satisfactory development of progeny, the family educational scenario is attributed the main functions of:

  • Maintenance, stimulation and support among the members of the family, which focus on the promotion of physical / biological, cognitive-attentional and social-emotional capacities respectively.
  • Structuring and control , which are responsible for the regulation of the three previous functions.

The latter are of relevant importance, since they affect all areas of child development; an adequate structure translated into the establishment of norms, routines and adaptive habits influences both the learning and conceptual-cognitive understanding of the world around him, as well as the ability to remain in a balanced socio-emotional state in the face of the perception of control and stability of the environment where he interacts in his day to day.

There must be, therefore, a clear consensus among the parents that allows a consistent and unitary transmission of all the mentioned aspects and that facilitates to the small one a guide of behavior and set of attitudes or values ​​that enhance their future personal and social well-being.

Importance of the parental agreement in the transfer of values

The peculiarities of the family nucleus place it in an advantaged position as a transmitting agent of values ​​refer to the expression and reception of affection, the volume and quality of timeshare between parents and children, the constancy of the family system and the time and the will of the members of the family system to ensure the overall development of each member.

A) Yes, values ​​are conceptualized as the set of both cognitive and behavioral ideals to which the human being is oriented in the course of the life cycle, which have a more or less stable character and present a mainly subjective character. It could be said that this concept refers to the set of beliefs that guide the subject in the achievement of vital goals or objectives.

Types of values

Two types of fundamental values ​​are differentiated depending on the function that is assigned to each one.

  • The instrumental values they are understood as competences and serve to reach other more transcendental or deep goals (the so-called terminal values). We can speak of values ​​of competence (such as imaginative capacity) and moral values ​​(such as honesty).
  • The seconds can be classified between Personal values (happiness) or social values (Justice).

The utility of the values ​​transmitted by the family

The values ​​have a motivating character that encourages the individual to enhance their self-esteem and positive self-concept and their social competence. The family, as a primary socializing agent, becomes a fundamental source for the internalization and achievement of values ​​in the child, since it has facilitating characteristics for this process such as proximity, emotional communication and cooperation between the different members of the family nucleus.

In the learning of values ​​should be taken into account the compatibility between themselves and, in case of conflict between some of them, should be selected that allows a greater social adjustment based on the defining beliefs of the family in question.

Other factors to consider

But it is not always the case that the values ​​that the parents wish to transmit to their offspring end up being transmitted directly, but that multiple factors can interfere to complicate this initial will , such as the influence of intergenerational family relations (grandparents-parents-children) and interpersonal relationships in the context of peers or schoolchildren, the dynamic and changing nature of the family system based on the experiences it is assuming, the socioeconomic characteristics that presents the family nucleus or the educational style used by the parents for the children.

Thus, the originally adaptive values ​​that parents intend to transmit are classified in those that enhance personal development (such as autonomy), interpersonal relationships (such as tolerance) and those that facilitate school or work (such as perseverance). Although all are potentially beneficial, sometimes they are not transmitted correctly by parents and this causes children to perceive them wrongly and can not be internalized.

It seems that one of the factors mentioned above, the educational style, plays a fundamental role in this aspect . Thus, parents who put into practice a democratic style are those who manage to make a transmission of values ​​more reliable than previously expected. This educational methodology is optimal for this purpose since it encourages the interaction and participation of all family members, being more empathetic, understanding and more dialoguing than other more distant educational styles.

The effects of constant disagreement

The agreement between both parents on the mentioned points (the transmission of values ​​and the educational guidelines applied) becomes a determining factor of the final behavior of the child. The existence of parental disagreement in these matters exacerbates the appearance of marital conflicts , which focus on disputes about what value or educational style to convey as a priority instead of orienting to teach the child a pattern of appropriate behavior. The result of this is significantly harmful for the family as a whole, since the child does not internalize how he or she should act, since the criterion is changing depending on the situation.

On the other hand, among parents a negative relationship dynamics is created based on discussion or competitiveness on the criterion that is finally applied, equally maladaptive. All this can contribute significantly to developing a feeling of dissatisfaction with the experience of paternity / maternity.

In conclusion

The quality of the family "educational curriculum" (what and how it is taught) is a determining factor in child development since, given its implicit and relatively unconscious or indirect nature, the set of values, norms, skills and learning are transmitted in a automatic and involuntary in most of the occasions. It is convenient, therefore, reflection on what kind of values ​​and educational guidelines are being transmitted , assessing its adequacy from a more conscious and rational perspective.

Due to the transcendence of the role of the family in the integral development of the child, it seems essential that the parental nucleus assume the responsibility that comes with the decision of paternity / maternity.As has been proven, there are numerous changes to be experienced by future parents both personally and socially. Therefore, both the emotional stability of each spouse separately, as well as the stability of the parental nucleus in itself and the level of agreement between both parents on the educational guidelines to be transmitted are aspects to be considered in an extensive and profound way before making the determination. to embark on the exercise of paternity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aguilar, M. C. (2001): Family education. Challenge or need ...? Madrid: Dykinson.
  • Carrobles, J. A. and Pérez Pareja, J. (1999): School of parents. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • López-Barajas, E. (ed.) (1997): The family in the third millennium. Madrid: UNED.

Maulana Tariq Jameel - Family Tree Of The Prophet (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?

L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?

Janvier 6, 2023

Récemment, les témoignages de mères et de pères ont augmenté en fréquence, qui, malgré aimer leurs enfants avant tout, se demandent aujourd'hui sérieusement s'ils auraient pris la même décision s'ils avaient pu remonter dans le temps.

À quoi ce changement de perspective peut-il être dû? Quels facteurs peuvent soutenir de telles revendications?

Être parents: quelles sont vos implications aujourd'hui?

La paternité devient un ensemble d'expériences et de changements de caractère marqués, tant sur le plan personnel (individuel) que familial (systémique), qui se produisent dans une certaine période de temps entre le moment où la future arrivée du bébé est connue et les deux années suivantes. à la naissance de cela, environ.


Pendant cette période relativement courte, de nombreux événements peuvent être une source de stress émotionnel pour le futur parent. Pour cette raisonou parler de transition ou de crise du cycle familial .

Bien que, d'une manière générique, les satisfactions que ce nouveau rôle entraîne puissent compenser l'équilibre généré par les facteurs de stress, ceux-ci revêtent une importance considérable et impliquent une gestion adaptative adéquate empêchant l'expérience de la nouvelle étape en tant que société mère. mère de manière problématique Parmi ces facteurs peuvent être différenciés: le temps et les efforts consacrés aux soins du bébé, le changement de la relation conjugale, la difficulté de concilier les différents rôles exercés par chaque individu (professionnel et / ou personnel), le changement d'horaires et de routine quotidienne, l'augmentation des dépenses économiques familiales ou la complexité croissante des relations familiales, qui vont du système dyadique (relation entre le couple) au système triadique (relation père-mère-enfant).


Transition vers la paternité ou la maternité: des changements essentiels

Entre les processus de changement et la continuité dans le passage à la paternité / maternité, les adaptations peuvent être distinguées à la fois individuellement et au niveau conjugal. Parmi les premiers, il y a des changements dans les habitudes quotidiennes (qui se rapportent à une restriction et à une modification des habitudes de sommeil, au temps libre individuel et aux relations interpersonnelles, aux habitudes sexuelles et à la disponibilité économique), aux conséquences sur l'identité. du sujet, son image de soi et son estime de soi découlent de l’émergence du nouveau rôle de père et de mère et de la gestion de l’adoption de rôles sexospécifiques qui ont tendance à être soulignés lors de l’arrivée d’un enfant (comprendre la mère le père en tant que seul soutien économique).

D'autre part, il y a aussi des changements, quoique d'intensité modérée, dans les relations conjugales en termes d'établissement de nouvelles habitudes et d'activités communes (loisirs et relations sexuelles fondamentalement) tendant à fournir moins de satisfaction qu'auparavant; l'organisation des tâches ménagères et la prise en charge des rôles familiaux (à impact relatif); changements au niveau professionnel (plus prononcés pour la mère que pour le père) et redistribution du temps alloué aux relations familiales et aux amitiés (augmentation au premier degré et diminution au dernier degré).


Fonction familiale: l'agent de socialisation

Afin d'atteindre l'objectif ultime de promouvoir un développement satisfaisant de la progéniture, le scénario éducatif familial se voit attribuer les fonctions principales de:

  • Maintenance, stimulation et soutien parmi les membres de la famille, qui se concentrent sur la promotion des capacités physiques / biologiques, cognitivo-attentionnelles et socio-affectives, respectivement.
  • Structuration et contrôle , qui sont responsables de la régulation des trois fonctions précédentes.

Ces derniers ont une importance pertinente, car ils concernent tous les domaines du développement de l’enfant; une structure adéquate traduisant l'établissement de normes, de routines et d'habitudes adaptatives influence à la fois l'apprentissage et la compréhension conceptuelle-cognitive du monde qui l'entoure, ainsi que la capacité de rester dans un état socio-émotionnel équilibré face à la perception de contrôle et de stabilité du environnement où il interagit au quotidien.

Il doit donc exister un consensus clair entre les parents permettant une transmission cohérente et unitaire de tous les aspects mentionnés et qui facilite aux petits un guide de comportement et un ensemble d’attitudes ou de valeurs qui améliorent leur bien-être personnel et social futur.

Importance de l'accord parental dans le transfert de valeurs

Les particularités du noyau familial le placent dans une position privilégiée en tant qu’agent de transmission des valeurs qui font référence à l’expression et à la réception de l’affection, au volume et à la qualité de la multipropriété en temps partagé entre parents et enfants, à la constance du système familial et à temps et la volonté des membres du système familial d’assurer le développement général de chaque membre.

Ainsi, les valeurs sont conceptualisées comme l'ensemble des idéaux cognitifs et comportementaux l’être humain au cours du cycle de vie, qui ont un caractère plus ou moins stable et présentent un caractère principalement subjectif. On pourrait dire que ce concept fait référence à l'ensemble des croyances qui guident le sujet dans la réalisation d'objectifs vitaux.

Types de valeurs

Deux types de valeurs fondamentales sont différenciés en fonction de la fonction qui est assignée à chacun.

  • Le valeurs instrumentales elles sont comprises comme des compétences et permettent d’atteindre d’autres objectifs plus transcendants ou plus profonds (les valeurs dites finales). Nous pouvons parler de valeurs de compétence (telles que la capacité d'imagination) et de valeurs morales (telles que l'honnêteté).
  • Les secondes peuvent être classées entre valeurs personnelles (bonheur) ou valeurs sociales (la justice).

L'utilité des valeurs transmises par la famille

Les valeurs ont un caractère motivant qui encourage l’individu à améliorer son estime de soi et son image de soi positive ainsi que ses compétences sociales. La famille, en tant que principal agent de socialisation, devient une source fondamentale d’internalisation et de réalisation des valeurs chez l’enfant, car il présente des caractéristiques facilitantes pour ce processus, telles que la proximité, la communication émotionnelle et la coopération entre les différents membres du noyau familial.

Dans l’apprentissage des valeurs, il convient de prendre en compte la compatibilité entre elles et, en cas de conflit entre certaines d’entre elles, de choisir celui qui permet un meilleur ajustement social sur la base des convictions fondamentales de la famille en question.

Autres facteurs à prendre en compte

Mais il n’est pas toujours vrai que les valeurs que les parents souhaitent transmettre à leur progéniture finissent par être transmises directement, mais que de multiples facteurs peuvent interférer pour compliquer cette volonté initiale , tels que l’influence des relations familiales intergénérationnelles (grands-parents-parents-enfants) et les relations interpersonnelles chez les pairs ou les écoliers, la nature dynamique et changeante du système familial fondé sur les expériences qu’il assume, les caractéristiques socio-économiques qui présente le noyau familial ou le style éducatif utilisé par les parents pour les enfants.

Ainsi, les valeurs adaptatives initiales que les parents ont l'intention de transmettre sont classées en deux catégories: celles qui renforcent le développement personnel (telles que l'autonomie), les relations interpersonnelles (telles que la tolérance) et celles qui facilitent l'école ou le travail (telles que la persévérance). Bien que tous soient potentiellement bénéfiques, ils ne sont parfois pas transmis correctement par les parents, ce qui amène les enfants à les percevoir de manière erronée et ne peut être intériorisés.

Il semble que L’un des facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus, le style éducatif, joue un rôle fondamental dans cet aspect. . Ainsi, les parents qui mettent en pratique un style démocratique sont ceux qui parviennent à rendre plus fiable la transmission des valeurs que prévu. Cette méthodologie éducative est optimale à cet effet car elle encourage l’interaction et la participation de tous les membres de la famille, en faisant preuve de plus d’empathie, de compréhension et de dialogue que d’autres styles éducatifs plus éloignés.

Les effets d'un désaccord constant

L'accord entre les deux parents sur les points mentionnés (la transmission des valeurs et les directives pédagogiques appliquées) devient un facteur déterminant du comportement final de l'enfant. L’existence de désaccords parentaux sur ces questions exacerbe l’apparence de conflits conjugaux , qui se concentrent sur les différends concernant la valeur ou le style d’éducation à donner en priorité au lieu d’orienter l’apprentissage d’un comportement approprié à l’enfant. Le résultat en est considérablement préjudiciable pour la famille dans son ensemble, car l'enfant n'intègre pas la manière dont il devrait agir, car le critère change en fonction de la situation.

D'autre part, chez les parents, une dynamique de relation négative est créée, basée sur la discussion ou la compétitivité, sur le critère finalement appliqué, également inadapté. Tout cela peut contribuer de manière significative à créer un sentiment d'insatisfaction à l'égard de l'expérience de paternité / maternité.

En guise de conclusion

La qualité du "programme éducatif" familial (ce qu’il enseigne et comment il est enseigné) est un facteur déterminant du développement de l’enfant car, vu son caractère implicite et relativement inconscient ou indirect, l’ensemble des valeurs, normes, compétences et apprentissages sont transmis de manière automatique et involontaire dans la plupart des cas. C'est pratique, donc, réflexion sur le type de valeurs et de directives pédagogiques transmises , en évaluant son adéquation dans une perspective plus consciente et rationnelle.

En raison de la transcendance du rôle de la famille dans le développement intégral de l'enfant, il semble essentiel que le noyau parental assume la responsabilité qui accompagne la décision de paternité / maternité.Comme il a été prouvé, de nombreux changements doivent être vécus par les futurs parents, tant personnellement que socialement. Par conséquent, tant la stabilité émotionnelle de chaque conjoint séparément que la stabilité du noyau parental en soi et le degré d'accord entre les deux parents sur les directives éducatives à transmettre sont des aspects à prendre en compte de manière approfondie et approfondie avant de prendre une décision. se lancer dans l'exercice de la paternité.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aguilar, M. C. (2001): Education familiale. Défi ou besoin ...? Madrid: Dykinson.
  • Carrobles, J. A. et Pérez Pareja, J. (1999): Ecole des parents. Madrid: pyramide.
  • López-Barajas, E. (ed.) (1997): La famille au troisième millénaire. Madrid: UNED.

SOTS | Knowing the Father | E08 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes