yes, therapy helps!
How to give emotional support, in 6 steps

How to give emotional support, in 6 steps

May 3, 2024

When it comes to passing through especially fragrant moments in our lives, we often tend to forget that these negative emotions and feelings are experienced in a very different way if we have the support of others. Sadness, helplessness or disappointment do not have to be suffered in isolation; if we live in society it is to receive help and to help others.

In fact, it is normal that when we see that someone is mentally ill, we get the urge to help. But knowing how to give emotional support is not necessarily easy , and it is relatively easy to make mistakes.

  • Related article: "What are Psychological First Aid?"

Tips to know how to give emotional support

In the following lines we will see several tips to know how to give emotional support from relatively simple steps. Applying them well requires a certain practice, but with time and effort, you will most likely see significant improvements in your way of help the other cope better with their bad emotional situation .


1. Choose the right context

Choosing a correct time and place is a necessary and insufficient condition to know how to give emotional support.

The main thing is to be at a time that is not transitional, that is, that will not end soon (for example, the passage through an elevator), which is not strongly linked to an important experience unrelated to what produces discomfort ( for example, the conclusion of a paper in a congress) and that allows to have a certain privacy .

The physical characteristics of the place are also something to consider. Much better if it is a place with few distractions and in which communication is easy: free of noise, sudden changes, etc.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 14 main social skills to succeed in life"

2. Let the other person give the information they want

It is important not to pressure the other to give us all the necessary information to know exactly how he feels. The mere fact of feeling that pressure is another cause of stress that accentuates the discomfort.

In case you notice that it closes in band, it is enough to give him the opportunity to open up more directly expressing that he can count on you for whatever, and that he notices that he will not be judged.

For the latter it is necessary to maintain a serious whole that expresses empathy, and do not joke too much about the possible cause of the emotional pain of the other . It is a mistake to imply that what makes you feel bad is really silly, because from that perspective it is impossible to connect with the other.


3. Exercise active listening

When the person talks it is important that you give signs that you are making efforts to understand what he says and the implications of what he says. Being honest about what makes us feel bad is something that intimidates a lot of people, and if you do not feel that you are serving much, the incentives to accept our support vanish.

To do this, practice active listening and make this moment really a symmetrical personal interaction in which one person expresses himself and the other supports her and tries to understand how the other feels. Maintain eye contact, make comments without interrupting sharply , recapitulate the information given by the other, etc.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

4. Validate your emotions

It clearly shows that you know that what you feel makes sense, although obviously you do not feel the same. This is important, because otherwise it is taken for granted that there is a disconnect between you because you have not gone through exactly the same thing. Do not ridicule their ideas or their feelings, on the contrary, it shows that you know they have a reason to be.

5. Talk about your perspective

This is something that many times is obvious, but it is very useful. It is true that when giving emotional support the important thing is what feels who is experiencing emotional distress , but it is also true that if you talk about what you believe, you will indicate that you are involved in your case and try to draw parallels between what happens to you and what has ever happened to you. In addition, this perspective can help you see your experiences from another point of view.

So, when you have already heard the main thing about your case, you can give it this brief feedback, but without letting the conversation go on to deal with a totally different topic: it must be something that is included in the act of supporting it so that it happens to him

6. Point out the possibility of a hug

It is possible to give rise to that, if the other person wants it, give you a hug . But do not ask for it directly or make a clear gesture that shows that you are going to hug, because if you do not want to, this can leave a bad taste in your mouth when you feel guilty if you refuse.

Normally the best thing is something more subtle: taps on the shoulder or on the back that give an excuse to get close and that, if the other wants, can become a hug. Let the other one take that step.


10 Ways To Support Your Partner (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment donner un soutien émotionnel, en 6 étapes

Comment donner un soutien émotionnel, en 6 étapes

Décembre 6, 2019

Lorsqu'il s'agit de traverser des moments particulièrement parfumés de notre vie, nous avons souvent tendance à oublier que ces émotions et sentiments négatifs sont vécus de manière très différente si nous avons le soutien des autres. La tristesse, l'impuissance ou la déception ne doivent pas être vécues isolément; si nous vivons en société, c'est recevoir de l'aide et aider les autres.

En fait, il est normal que lorsque nous voyons une personne atteinte de maladie mentale, nous ressentions le besoin d'aider. Mais savoir soutenir émotionnellement n'est pas forcément facile et il est relativement facile de faire des erreurs.

  • Article connexe: "Que sont les premiers secours psychologiques?"

Conseils pour savoir comment apporter un soutien émotionnel

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons plusieurs astuces pour savoir comment donner un soutien émotionnel à partir d’étapes relativement simples. Bien les appliquer nécessite une certaine pratique, mais avec le temps et les efforts nécessaires, vous constaterez probablement des améliorations significatives dans votre façon de travailler. aider l'autre à mieux faire face à sa mauvaise situation émotionnelle .


1. Choisissez le bon contexte

Choisir le bon moment et le bon endroit est une condition nécessaire et insuffisante pour savoir comment apporter un soutien émotionnel.

Le principal est d’être à un moment qui n’est pas transitoire, c’est-à-dire qui ne se terminera pas bientôt (par exemple, le passage dans un ascenseur), qui n’est pas étroitement lié à une expérience importante sans rapport avec ce qui produit un inconfort ( par exemple, la conclusion d’un document dans un congrès) et cela permet d'avoir une certaine intimité .

Les caractéristiques physiques de l'endroit doivent également être prises en compte. Bien mieux s'il s'agit d'un lieu peu distrait et dans lequel la communication est facile: sans bruit, sans changements brusques, etc.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"

2. Laisser l'autre personne donner l'information qu'elle veut

Il est important de ne pas faire pression sur l'autre pour qu'il nous donne toutes les informations nécessaires pour savoir exactement ce qu'il ressent. Le simple fait de sentir que la pression est une autre cause de stress cela accentue le malaise.

Au cas où vous remarqueriez qu'il se ferme en groupe, il lui suffit de lui donner l'occasion de s'ouvrir plus directement en lui indiquant qu'il peut compter sur vous pour n'importe quoi, et qu'il s'aperçoit qu'il ne sera pas jugé.

Pour ces derniers, il est nécessaire de maintenir un ensemble sérieux exprimant l’empathie, et ne plaisante pas trop sur la cause possible de la douleur émotionnelle de l'autre . C'est une erreur de laisser entendre que ce qui vous fait sentir mal est vraiment ridicule, car de ce point de vue, il est impossible de se connecter à l'autre.


3. Exercer une écoute active

Lorsque la personne parle, il est important que vous donniez des signes indiquant que vous faites des efforts pour comprendre ce qu’elle dit et les implications de ce qu’elle dit. Être honnête à propos de ce qui nous rend mal à l'aise est quelque chose qui intimide beaucoup de gens, et si vous ne sentez pas que vous servez beaucoup, les incitations à accepter notre soutien disparaissent.

Pour ce faire, pratiquez l'écoute active et faites de ce moment une interaction personnelle symétrique dans laquelle une personne s'exprime et l'autre la soutient et tente de comprendre ce que ressent l'autre. Maintenir le contact visuel, faire des commentaires sans interrompre brusquement , récapitulez les informations données par l'autre, etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

4. Validez vos émotions

Cela montre clairement que vous savez que ce que vous ressentez a un sens, même si, de toute évidence, vous ne le ressentez pas. Ceci est important, car sinon, il est pris pour acquis qu'il existe un décalage entre vous car vous n'avez pas vécu exactement la même chose. Ne ridiculisez pas leurs idées ou leurs sentiments, au contraire, cela montre que vous savez qu'ils ont une raison d'être.

5. Parlez de votre point de vue

C’est quelque chose qui est évident à maintes reprises, mais qui est très utile. Il est vrai que lorsque vous apportez un soutien émotionnel la chose importante est ce qui se sent qui éprouve une détresse émotionnelle , mais il est également vrai que si vous parlez de ce que vous croyez, vous indiquerez que vous êtes impliqué dans votre cas et essayez de tracer des parallèles entre ce qui vous arrive et ce qui vous est arrivé. En outre, cette perspective peut vous aider à voir vos expériences d’un autre point de vue.

Ainsi, lorsque vous avez déjà entendu l'essentiel de votre cas, vous pouvez lui donner ce bref retour d'informations, mais sans laisser la conversation continuer sur un sujet totalement différent: il doit s'agir de quelque chose qui est inclus dans l'acte de le soutenir afin que ça lui arrive

6. Signaler la possibilité d'un câlin

Il est possible de donner lieu à que, si l'autre personne le veut, faites-lui un câlin . Mais ne le demandez pas directement ou ne faites pas un geste clair qui montre que vous allez faire un câlin, car si vous ne le souhaitez pas, cela peut laisser un mauvais goût dans la bouche lorsque vous vous sentez coupable si vous refusez.

Normalement, la meilleure chose à faire est quelque chose de plus subtil: des tapotements sur l’épaule ou sur le dos qui donnent une excuse pour s’approcher et qui, si l’autre le souhaite, peuvent devenir un câlin. Laissez l'autre faire ce pas.


DEPENDANCE affective : s'en libérer en 5 étapes (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes