yes, therapy helps!
The importance of choosing well your university career

The importance of choosing well your university career

July 23, 2024

At the end of the baccalaureate stage, it is when the opportunities and choices that they should value for their immediate future begin to haunt young people: what to do: Study a university degree? , Work? Know the world? It is a question that we all have asked at the end of our high school studies, and that it does not have an easy answer.

Choosing university studies well: many dilemmas

The majority of young people are facing your first big decision , which can cause some anxiety or feeling of anguish given the importance of the choice and its short experience. On the other hand, many face this moment with a great dose of motivation.


Every case is a world

Obviously, it is interesting to individualize each personal case, since behind this first situation of choice there are circumstances that will affect it: the family, the socioeconomic context, the personality ... Each person who has chosen to study has lived a series of thoughts and stimuli that, in their global calculation, have determined the election for one or another career.

They usually experience some family pressure to choose some races to the detriment of others, because some are better valued for "being someone in life". Needless to say, the final choice to study a particular career is not the crucial factor that tells us who is "someone in life". The chosen career will determine the field of study in which the person will deepen in their next years, but the construction of an identity or a reputation will be achieved by other ways that integrate many facets of the person.


Between illusion, vocation and family pressure

However, family and social pressure generate in young people the illusion of a future of recognition and social prestige which is reached through the effort and dedication of studying. This perception is wrong in many cases, and it is not a good basis for choosing one career over others.

It is not necessary to come from a strict and demanding family to experience these pressures when choosing a career, since there are many unconscious judgments and mental representations that we internalize and that play a decisive role in any decision we make throughout our life. Sometimes, these unconscious judgments can start from irrational, and limiting, premises.

Choose a university career: reasons, motives and fears

It is fundamental, then, to reflect on the reason for the election, taking into account that it is important to prioritize those reasons that are based on personal enjoyment, and intrinsic motivations. The pressure to find the vocation that will mark our lives usually generates anxiety, but we must remember that the vocation is built, modulated and reconstructed permanently throughout life , and it is in very few cases in which the individual has very clear his vocation from a young age.


Many students choose a university career without being very clear about what these studies are about, and finally they end up finding their vocation in this field. Some believe that they know well the contents of the university career that they are preparing to study, and then they find something very different from what they thought. Others wander from career to career without finding their true passion. There are cases like people in this world, and it is for that reason that the first choice can be transcendental to start on the right foot. university stage .

Some conclusions

In summary, the university stage should not be lived as a race where we must run without stopping and without looking back, but it is preferable to conceive it as a path through which we pass with firm step, while enjoying the landscape: enjoy with the knowledge and experiences that allow us to live the university stage it is the key element to find the true vocation and enjoy the process.

As it happens in many decisions that we make throughout life, choosing one or the other option can have a high arbitrariness component. Sometimes we choose more with reason than with the heart or vice versa, and only time will tell if we did well. In any case, to choose a university degree the most sensible thing is to bet on those studies that truly attract us , paying attention to our intuition.

It may interest you: "Why study Psychology?"

Is Med School Right for Me? | Deciding on a Career in Medicine (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'importance de bien choisir sa carrière universitaire

L'importance de bien choisir sa carrière universitaire

Janvier 29, 2024

À la fin du baccalauréat, c’est lorsque les jeunes et les jeunes qu’ils devraient valoriser pour leur avenir immédiat commencent à hanter les jeunes: que faire: Étudier une carrière universitaire? , Travailler? Connaître le monde? C'est une question que nous avons tous posée à la fin de nos études secondaires et à laquelle la réponse n'est pas facile.

Bien choisir ses études universitaires: de nombreux dilemmes

La majorité des jeunes font face à ta première grande décision , ce qui peut causer une certaine anxiété ou un sentiment d’angoisse compte tenu de l’importance du choix et de sa courte expérience. D'autre part, beaucoup font face à ce moment avec une grande dose de motivation.


Chaque cas est un monde

Évidemment, il est intéressant d’individualiser chaque cas personnel, car derrière cette première situation de choix, il existe des circonstances qui l’affecteront: la famille, le contexte socio-économique, la personnalité ... Chaque personne qui a choisi d’étudier a vécu une série de pensées et des stimuli qui, dans leur calcul global, ont déterminé l’élection pour l’une ou l’autre carrière.

Ils éprouvent généralement une certaine pression de la famille choisir certaines races au détriment des autres, car certaines sont plus appréciées pour "être quelqu'un dans la vie". Inutile de dire que le choix final d’étudier une carrière donnée n’est pas le facteur déterminant pour savoir qui est "quelqu'un dans la vie". La carrière choisie déterminera le domaine d'études dans lequel la personne approfondira ses prochaines années, mais la construction d'une identité ou d'une réputation sera réalisée par d'autres moyens intégrant de nombreuses facettes de la personne.


Entre illusion, vocation et pression familiale

Cependant, la pression familiale et sociale générer chez les jeunes l'illusion d'un avenir de reconnaissance et de prestige social qui est atteint par l'effort et le dévouement d'étudier. Cette perception est souvent fausse et ce n’est pas une bonne base pour choisir une carrière plutôt que d’autres.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de faire partie d’une famille stricte et exigeante pour faire l'expérience de ces pressions lors du choix d'une carrière, car il existe de nombreux jugements inconscients et représentations mentales que nous intériorisons et qui jouent un rôle décisif dans toutes les décisions que nous prenons au cours de notre vie. Parfois, ces jugements inconscients peuvent partir de prémisses irrationnelles et restrictives.

Choisissez une carrière universitaire: raisons, motivations et craintes

Il est donc fondamental de réfléchir à la raison de l'élection, en tenant compte du fait qu'il est important de hiérarchiser les raisons qui sont basées sur le plaisir personnel, et motivations intrinsèques. La pression pour trouver la vocation qui marquera nos vies génère généralement de l’anxiété, mais nous devons nous rappeler que la vocation est construite, modulée et reconstruite en permanence tout au long de la vie et c’est très peu de cas où l’individu a très clairement défini sa vocation dès son plus jeune âge.


Beaucoup d'étudiants choisissent une carrière universitaire sans être très clairs sur le sujet de ces études et finissent par trouver leur vocation dans ce domaine. Certains pensent qu'ils connaissent bien le contenu de la carrière universitaire qu'ils se préparent à étudier, puis ils trouvent quelque chose de très différent de ce qu'ils pensaient. D'autres errent de carrière en carrière sans trouver leur véritable passion. Il existe des cas semblables à ceux de ce monde, et c’est pour cette raison que le premier choix peut être transcendantal de partir du bon pied. stage universitaire .

Quelques conclusions

En résumé, la scène universitaire ne doit pas être vécue comme une course où nous devons courir sans arrêt et sans regarder en arrière, mais il est préférable de la concevoir comme une voie à travers laquelle nous passons à pas ferme, tout en profitant du paysage: profiter des connaissances et des expériences qui nous permettent de vivre le stade universitaire c'est l'élément clé pour trouver la vraie vocation et profiter du processus.

Comme cela arrive dans de nombreuses décisions que nous prenons au cours de notre vie, choisir l’une ou l’autre des options peut comporter un élément très arbitraire. Parfois, nous choisissons plus avec raison que avec cœur ou vice versa, et seul le temps nous dira si nous avons bien fait. Dans tous les cas, choisir un diplôme universitaire la chose la plus sensée est de parier sur les études qui nous attirent vraiment en prêtant attention à notre intuition.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Pourquoi étudier la psychologie?"

Choisir son orientation, c'est choisir sa vie www.orientaction-scolaire.com (Janvier 2024).


Articles Connexes