yes, therapy helps!
The influence of technology on human sexuality

The influence of technology on human sexuality

January 17, 2022

The technological advance has generated important changes over time, which apparently are imperceptible. However, when making a comparison between different periods, the transformations that human beings have suffered in the way they relate, communicate, behave, etc., are evident.

Likewise, the adherence that has occurred towards technological devices, Internet, social networks and applications that become a primordial part in the life of each individual is notorious. "The very acceleration of time today offers individuals new spaces and, possibly, new forms of social dynamics" (Pérez, 2010).

Sexuality, being one of the most important facets of life of the majority of people, it has also received the influences of this technological transformation. In this we will focus next.


  • Related article: "The 7 most widespread erroneous beliefs about sex"

How technological changes have transformed sexuality

The common use of the Internet and the possession of mobile phones , along with the combination of both with smartphones, is occurring at an unexpected speed. In this way, people are able to communicate and distribute information immediately, causing the intercommunication of people and a new model of social relationships (Agustina, 2010, Ryan, 2010).

In addition to this, it is important to consider the consequences that long-term technological progress can generate, taking into account that it is becoming faster and more unpredictable, just as permeates different areas of life, including sexuality .


The following are recent changes in our way of relating and living, based on the relationship between new technologies and sexuality.

1. Internet

Currently, the main source of information of all kinds is the Internet, short for Interconnected Networks, which means "interconnected networks" and refers to the union of all networks and computers distributed throughout the world (Arranz , Eskoriatza, 2007).

It is common for young people and adults to use this medium to obtain information about doubts or concerns they have regarding sexuality . However, in doing so, they can find different types of information, which can be reliable sources that contain congruent data or places where the information is not accurate and causes more confusion in browsers.

2. Content for adults on the Web

Pornography, by having free access to its content, can be seen by people of all ages, and thus, affect sexual identity, self-image and interpersonal relationships thereof.


According to Klaus Beier, Professor of Sexology at the Charité University Clinic in Berlin, 30% of children between the ages of 8 and 13 have already seen pornographic content, generating ideals difficult to achieve in real life, such as unrealistic sexual encounters and exaggerated expectations of the couple , also creating a preconceived idea of ​​how they should act.

It is clear that the internet has influenced the sexuality of the new generations, there are people who can distinguish between fiction and reality, using it as a source of eroticism without suffering any harm, however, it does not happen in this way in all cases.

3. Grooming

Another of the technological practices that have had a strong impact on sexuality, mainly in minors, is Grooming, defined as the way in which some people approach children and young people to gain their trust, create emotional bonds and be able to abuse they sexually (Villacampa, Gómez, 2016).

Frequently, the groomer (person who seeks to harm the child) uses technological means such as social networks to initiate the link , offering understanding and advice while obtaining information or images of the child in sexual or pornographic situations.

Obtaining these images is essential to control and frighten the child, having as a goal in the future, to establish physical sexual contact with the child or introduce it into environments of sexual exploitation and prostitution.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Grooming: a new danger for teenagers on the internet"

4. Sexting

Now, technology to enable new and diverse social practices, coupled with the search for people to manifest their sexual desire, leads to sexting, a term that refers to the act of sending texts, photographs and videos with content of a certain sexual level , taken or recorded by the protagonist of the same, by mobile phone.

Alluding to the phrase of D.H.Lawrence "Be silent when you have nothing to say, when genuine passion moves you, say what you have to say, and say it hot", Sexting can be useful in adult sexual life, since it expresses a game of seduction between two individuals, who when sending and receiving images, texts or erotic videos stimulate their imagination by increasing sexual desire.

This practice can be considered by some people as a sexual relationship moved to the screen of the mobile device . On the other hand, according to research conducted at the University of Michigan, United States, Sexting is becoming a regular part of courtship.

However, there are different risks in carrying out this practice, since the material with sexual themes can end up in unwanted hands and be spread very easily and widely, so that the initial sender loses all control over the dissemination of said contents.

Affective bonding through mobile applications

In terms of how to start relationships, technology has a strong impact through different mobile applications, through which the romantic love of past centuries has been there, in the past. Currently, a large number of people are known virtually, love at first sight comes from a photo, you have a first conversation in a chat on social networks and links through a screen.

An example of such mobile applications is Tinder , geosocial application (specifies the geographical distance between an individual and another), by means of which, according to compatibilities on personality, interests, age and friends in common, men and women are shown with different photos that are observed by users and on that basis approve or disapprove the other. Once two people approve the application puts them in contact so they can talk and make appointments or meetings (Bonavitta, 2015).

According to Espinoza Rojas (2015), Tinder and other applications or similar platforms, they look for fill the void that produces the loneliness of a society connected in digital networks , but not in human networks, in a society that has worn away the community and supersedes individuality and distance from others.

Haptic technology

In addition to mobile applications, there are also devices based on haptic technology (touch), that is, one that allows physical contact between human-machine or human being with another human being, in which a device mediates the relationship having as purpose to produce real sensations while two people are at a distance (Bonavitta, 2015).

An example of devices based on haptic technology is Lovepalz, designed to maintain technologically mediated sex. This instrument consists of two devices, for the man takes the name of Zeus and for the woman, Hera. Both are designed according to the physiology of each sex. Zeus, in the manner of a phallic-shaped vibrator and Hera in the shape of a masturbator, imitating the vaginal cavity.

People can feel the sexual movement of their partners simulating intercourse by transmitting in real time what it is that a person is doing at the muscular level with their sexual organs. LovePalz is mediated with an iPhone application which will be the one that connects via Wi-Fi what happens in one device and transmits it to the other, finishing building a complete platform for virtual sex.

More technology does not imply better intimate relationships

By way of conclusion, this type of applications and technological devices, enable communication with others without having the need to resort to face-to-face relationships, decreasing social skills and tools to generate a lasting affective bond. The fact that the number of means to maintain communication has increased does not mean that communication, contact and interaction between people improve.

The ways in which people establish ties has changed over time. The way in which sexuality is lived as well as the stories and their contents have also changed, generating conflicts as distrust in couples because of a "like" in social networks, perhaps as the subject of an endless discussion to hear the "I leave in sight", or the distancing in the couple because of the preference to satisfy their sexual needs only through media digital as pornography or virtual realities.

Bibliographic references:

  • Angustina, J.R. (2010). Minor offenders or victims of child pornography? Electronic Journal of Criminal Science and Criminology. Retrieved on September 5, 2017 from: //criminet.ugr.es/recpc/12/recpc12-11.pdf
  • Arranz, J. & Eskoriatz, C.S. (2007). Internet, Pediatrics and the Web. Jornadas de Pediatría de Álava. Retrieved on September 5, 2017 from: //www.avpap.org/documentos/jornadas2007/internet.pdf
  • Bonavitta, P. (2015). Love in the Tinder Times. Culture and Social Representations.Retrieved on September 6, 2017 from: //www.scielo.org.mx/pdf/crs/v10n19/v10n19a9.pdf
  • Espinoza, J. (2015) Reconfiguring love: Technological mediation and affective relationships. Academic Question Magazine. Vol. 1, No. 45 (January-March 2015).
  • Pérez, G. (2010). Cybersocialization and adolescence: a new binomial for reflection in social education. Social Education Magazine. Retrieved on September 7, 2017 from: //www.eduso.net/res/?b=14&c=129&n=367
  • Villacampa, C. & Gómez, M.J. (2016). New Technologies and Sexual Victimization of Minors by Online Grooming. Electronic Journal of Criminal Science and Criminology. Retrieved on September 6, 2017 from: //criminet.ugr.es/recpc/18/recpc18-02.pdf

Media's Impact on Sexuality (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'influence de la technologie sur la sexualité humaine

L'influence de la technologie sur la sexualité humaine

Décembre 4, 2022

Le progrès technologique a généré des changements importants au fil du temps, qui sont apparemment imperceptibles. Cependant, lors de la comparaison entre différentes périodes, les transformations subies par les êtres humains dans la manière dont elles racontent, communiquent, se comportent, etc., sont évidentes.

De même, l'adhésion aux dispositifs technologiques, à Internet, aux réseaux sociaux et aux applications devenant une partie primordiale de la vie de chaque individu est notoire. "L'accélération même du temps offre aux individus de nouveaux espaces et, éventuellement, de nouvelles formes de dynamiques sociales" (Pérez, 2010).

La sexualité, l'une des facettes les plus importantes de la vie de la majorité des gens, il a également reçu les influences de cette transformation technologique. En cela, nous allons nous concentrer ensuite.


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 croyances erronées les plus répandues sur le sexe"

Comment les changements technologiques ont transformé la sexualité

L'utilisation commune d'Internet et la possession de téléphones mobiles , avec la combinaison des deux avec les smartphones, se produit à une vitesse inattendue. De cette manière, les personnes sont capables de communiquer et de distribuer des informations immédiatement, ce qui provoque l'intercommunication des personnes et un nouveau modèle de relations sociales (Agustina, 2010, Ryan, 2010).

En outre, il est important d’examiner les conséquences que le progrès technique à long terme peut engendrer, en tenant compte du fait qu’il devient de plus en plus rapide et imprévisible, tout comme imprègne différents domaines de la vie, y compris la sexualité .


Vous trouverez ci-dessous des changements récents dans notre manière de vivre et de nous relier, basés sur le rapport entre les nouvelles technologies et la sexualité.

1. Internet

Actuellement, la principale source d’informations est l’Internet, abréviation de Réseaux interconnectés, qui signifie "réseaux interconnectés" et qui désigne l’union de tous les réseaux et ordinateurs distribués dans le monde entier (Arranz , Eskoriatza, 2007).

Il est courant que les jeunes et les adultes utilisent ce support pour obtenir des informations sur leurs doutes ou préoccupations concernant la sexualité . Cependant, ce faisant, ils peuvent trouver différents types d'informations, qui peuvent être des sources fiables contenant des données congruentes ou des endroits où les informations sont inexactes et créent davantage de confusion chez les navigateurs.

2. Contenu pour adultes sur le Web

La pornographie, en ayant un accès gratuit à son contenu, peut être vue par des personnes de tous âges, et donc, affecter l'identité sexuelle, l'image de soi et les relations interpersonnelles les mêmes.


Selon Klaus Beier, professeur de sexologie à la clinique universitaire Charité de Berlin, 30% des enfants âgés de 8 à 13 ans ont déjà vu du contenu pornographique, générant des idéaux difficiles à réaliser dans la vie réelle, tels que rencontres sexuelles irréalistes et attentes exagérées du couple , créant également une idée préconçue de la manière dont ils devraient agir.

Il est évident qu'Internet a influencé la sexualité des nouvelles générations. Certaines personnes peuvent distinguer la fiction de la réalité en l'utilisant comme source d'érotisme sans subir de préjudice. Cependant, cela ne se produit pas toujours de cette manière.

3. Toilettage

Une autre pratique technologique ayant un impact important sur la sexualité, principalement chez les mineurs, est le toilettage, défini comme la façon dont certaines personnes abordent les enfants et les jeunes pour gagner leur confiance, créer des liens affectifs et pouvoir abuser. ils sexuellement (Villacampa, Gómez, 2016).

Fréquemment, le toiletteur (personne qui cherche à nuire à l’enfant) utilise des moyens technologiques tels que les réseaux sociaux pour initier le lien , offrant compréhension et conseils lors de l’obtention d’informations ou d’images de l’enfant en situation sexuelle ou pornographique.

L'obtention de ces images est essentielle pour contrôler et effrayer l'enfant, ayant pour objectif futur d'établir un contact sexuel physique avec l'enfant ou de l'introduire dans des environnements d'exploitation sexuelle et de prostitution.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le toilettage: un nouveau danger pour les adolescents sur Internet"

4. Sexting

Maintenant, la technologie permettant de nouvelles pratiques sociales diverses, associée à la recherche de personnes pour manifester leur désir sexuel, conduit au sextage, terme qui désigne acte d'envoi de textes, de photographies et de vidéos avec un contenu d'un certain niveau sexuel , pris ou enregistré par le protagoniste de celui-ci, par téléphone portable.

Allusion à la phrase de D.H.Lawrence "Tais-toi quand tu n'as rien à dire, quand la vraie passion t'émeut, dit ce que tu as à dire, et le dit chaud", Sexting peut être utile dans la vie sexuelle adulte, puisqu'il exprime un jeu de séduction entre deux les individus qui, lorsqu'ils envoient et reçoivent des images, des textes ou des vidéos érotiques, stimulent leur imagination en augmentant leur désir sexuel.

Certaines personnes peuvent considérer cette pratique comme une relation sexuelle déplacé à l'écran de l'appareil mobile . D'autre part, selon des recherches menées à l'Université du Michigan, aux États-Unis, Sexting est en train de devenir un élément courant de la cour.

Cependant, la pratique présente des risques différents, car le matériel à thèmes sexuels peut se retrouver entre des mains non désirées et se répandre très facilement et largement, de sorte que l'expéditeur initial perd tout contrôle sur la diffusion de ledit contenu.

Collage affectif via des applications mobiles

Pour ce qui est de la création de relations, la technologie a un impact important à travers différentes applications mobiles, au travers desquelles l’amour romantique des siècles passés a toujours existé. Actuellement, un grand nombre de personnes sont connues virtuellement, le coup de foudre provient d'une photo, vous avez une première conversation dans une discussion sur les réseaux sociaux et des liens via un écran.

Tinder est un exemple d'application mobile. , application géosociale (spécifie la distance géographique entre un individu et un autre), grâce à laquelle, selon les compatibilités en matière de personnalité, d'intérêts, d'âge et d'amis communs, les hommes et les femmes sont représentés avec différentes photos observées par les utilisateurs. et sur cette base approuver ou désapprouver l'autre. Une fois que deux personnes ont approuvé l'application, elles sont mises en contact afin qu'elles puissent parler et prendre des rendez-vous ou des réunions (Bonavitta, 2015).

Selon Espinoza Rojas (2015), Tinder et d’autres applications ou plates-formes similaires, ils recherchent combler le vide qui produit la solitude d'une société connectée aux réseaux numériques , mais pas dans les réseaux humains, dans une société qui a usé la communauté et remplacé l’individualité et la distance par rapport aux autres.

Technologie haptique

Outre les applications mobiles, il existe également des appareils basés sur la technologie haptique (tactile), c'est-à-dire qui permet un contact physique entre une machine ou un être humain avec un autre être humain, dans lesquels un appareil assure la médiation de la relation. ayant pour but de produire de vraies sensations alors que deux personnes sont à distance (Bonavitta, 2015).

Lovepalz est un exemple de dispositif basé sur la technologie haptique, conçu pour maintenir le sexe techniquement. Cet instrument est constitué de deux appareils, l’homme prenant le nom de Zeus et l’hère Héra. Les deux sont conçus en fonction de la physiologie de chaque sexe. Zeus, à la manière d'un vibrateur de forme phallique et Hera en forme de masturbateur, imitant la cavité vaginale.

Les personnes peuvent ressentir les mouvements sexuels de leurs partenaires simulant des rapports sexuels en transmettant en temps réel ce que fait une personne au niveau musculaire avec ses organes sexuels. LovePalz est médiée avec une application iPhone qui sera celui qui connectera via Wi-Fi ce qui se passe dans un appareil et le transmettra à l’autre, finissant de construire une plate-forme complète pour le sexe virtuel.

Plus de technologie n'implique pas de meilleures relations intimes

En guise de conclusion, ce type d’applications et de dispositifs technologiques permet la communication avec des tiers sans avoir à recourir à des relations en face-à-face, à une diminution des compétences sociales et à des outils permettant de créer un lien affectif durable. Le fait que le nombre de moyens permettant de maintenir la communication ait augmenté ne signifie pas que la communication, le contact et l'interaction entre les personnes s'améliorent.

La façon dont les gens établissent des liens a changé au fil du temps. La façon dont la sexualité est vécue ainsi que les histoires et leur contenu ont également changé, générer des conflits sous forme de méfiance dans les couples à cause d'un "comme" dans les réseaux sociaux, peut-être comme sujet d'une discussion sans fin pour entendre le "je laisse en vue", ou la distanciation dans le couple en raison de la préférence pour satisfaire leurs besoins sexuels uniquement par le biais des médias numérique comme la pornographie ou les réalités virtuelles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Angustina, J.R. (2010). Délinquants mineurs ou victimes de pornographie enfantine? Revue électronique de science criminelle et de criminologie. Récupéré le 5 septembre 2017 de: //criminet.ugr.es/recpc/12/recpc12-11.pdf
  • Arranz, J. & Eskoriatz, C.S. (2007). Internet, pédiatrie et le Web. Jornadas de Pediatría de Álava. Récupéré le 5 septembre 2017 de: //www.avpap.org/documentos/jornadas2007/internet.pdf
  • Bonavitta, P. (2015). L'amour dans l'amadou. Culture et représentations sociales.Récupéré le 6 septembre 2017 de: //www.scielo.org.mx/pdf/crs/v10n19/v10n19a9.pdf
  • Espinoza, J. (2015) Reconfigurer l'amour: médiation technologique et relations affectives. Question académique Magazine. Volume 1, n ° 45 (janvier-mars 2015).
  • Pérez, G. (2010). Cybersocialisation et adolescence: un nouveau binôme de réflexion en éducation sociale. Magazine d'éducation sociale. Récupéré le 7 septembre 2017 de: //www.eduso.net/res/?b=14&c=129&n=367
  • Villacampa, C. & Gómez, M.J. (2016). Nouvelles technologies et victimisation sexuelle des mineurs par le toilettage en ligne. Revue électronique de science criminelle et de criminologie. Récupéré le 6 septembre 2017 de: //criminet.ugr.es/recpc/18/recpc18-02.pdf

AlliéEs pour la diversité sexuelle et de genre | Jeanne Lagabrielle | TEDxQuébec (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes