yes, therapy helps!
The main theories of personality

The main theories of personality

September 7, 2022

Personality, understood as the relatively stable set of trends and thought patterns, information processing and behavior that each of us manifests throughout life and through time and different situations, is one of the main aspects that have been studied and analyzed by Psychology. Different currents and authors have established different theories and personality models.

Below we briefly explain some of the main theories of personality , which start from different approaches such as the internalist, the situationist and the interactionist or the correlational, the experimental or the clinical.


  • Related article: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

The most important personality theories of Psychology

These are the contributions to the study of personality that traditionally have had more weight throughout the history of Psychology. However, not all are still valid today.

1. Freud's theory of personality

The psychodynamic current has contributed various theories and personality models , being the best known those of the father of psychoanalysis, Sigmund Freud. For him, behavior and personality are linked to the existence of impulses that we need to put into practice and the conflict that this need implies and the limitation that reality implies for its fulfillment. It is a clinical and internalist model.


In his first topic, Freud proposed that the human psyche was structured in three systems , an unconscious one governed by the search of the reduction of tensions and works through the pleasure principle, a conscious one that is governed by the perception of the external world and the logic and the reality principle and a preconscious in which the unconscious contents can Become aware and vice versa.

In the second topic, Freud determines a second great structure of the personality compatible with the previous one, in which the psyche is configured by three psychic instances, the Id or Ello, the I and the Super-ego. The id is our most instinctive part, which governs and directs the internal energy in the form of impulses and from which all other structures start.

The "I" would be the result of the confrontation of impulses and impulses with reality , being a mediating structure and in continuous conflict that uses different mechanisms to sublimate or redirect the energies coming from impulses. Finally, the third instance is the superego or part of the personality that is given by society and whose main function is to judge and censure behaviors and desires that are not socially acceptable.


The personality is built up throughout the development, in different phases, based on the existing conflicts between the different instances and structures and the defense mechanisms applied to try to solve them.

2. Jung's personality theory

In addition to Freud, many other components of the psychodynamic current have proposed their own personality structures . For example, Carl Jung proposed that the personality was shaped by the person or part of our personality that serves to adapt to the environment and that is related to what others can observe and the shadow or the part in which those parts of the Self are included. that are not admissible for the subject.

Likewise, from the archetypes acquired by the collective unconscious and the different complexes that we adopt in our development towards identity, different types of personality are generated depending on whether the concerns are directed towards the interior or exterior, if they are more sensitive or intuitive and if they tend to focus more on thinking or feeling , being to think, feel, intuit and perceive the main psychological functions.

  • Related article: "The 8 personality types according to Carl Gustav Jung"

3. The phenomenological theory of Carl Rogers

From a humanist-phenomenological perspective of clinical approach, Carl Rogers proposes that each person has his phenomenological field or way of seeing the world, depending on the behavior of that perception .

The personality is derived from the self-concept or symbolization of the experience of one's existence, which arises from the integration of the tendency to update or tendency to improve oneself with the needs of feeling love from the environment and self-esteem derived from the contrast between their behavior and the consideration or response that this receives by the environment. If there are contradictions, defensive measures will be used with which to hide said incongruity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The phenomenological theory of Carl Rogers"

4. Theory of Kelly's personal constructs

As example of personality theory derived from cognitivism and constructivism we can find the theory of Kelly's personal constructs, also clinical approach. For this author each person has their own mental representation of reality and acts in a scientific way trying to give an explanation to what surrounds them.

It is considered that the personality is constituted as a hierarchical system of dichotomous personal constructs They influence each other, which form a network with nuclear and peripheral elements through which we try to respond and make predictions of the future. What motivates the behavior and the creation of the system of constructs is the attempt to control the environment thanks to the prediction capacity derived from them and the improvement of said predictive model through experience.

  • Related article: "The theory of the personal constructs of George Kelly"

5. Theory of ideographic personality of Allport

Allport considers that each individual is unique in the sense that it has an integration of the different characteristics different from the rest of people (it is based on the ideographic, in what makes us unique), as well as that We are active entities that focus on the achievement of goals .

It is one of the authors who considers the personality that works the personality from structural and stable elements, the features. For him, we try to make our behavior consistent and act in such a way that we create a system from which we can make different sets of stimuli equivalent, so that we can respond in a similar way to different stimulations.

Thus, we elaborate ways to act or express the behavior that allow us to adapt to the environment. These features have different importance depending on the influence they have on our behavior , being able to be cardinal, central or secondary.

The set of features would be integrated into the propium itself, which is derived from the self-perception and self-consciousness generated and composed of the experience of identity, perception, corporality, interests and self-esteem, rationality and intentionality.

6. Cattell's personality theory

The personality theory of Raymond Cattell is one of the most famous and recognized factorial theories of personality. Structuralist, correlational and internalist as Allport and starting from the analysis of the lexicon, considers that the personality can be understood as a function of a set of features, which are understood as the tendency to react in a certain way to reality .

These features can be divided into temperamental (the elements that tell us how to act), dynamic (the motivation of the behavior or attitude) or fitness (the skills of the subject to carry out the behavior).

The most relevant are temperamentals, of which Cattell would extract the sixteen primary factors of personality that are measured in the 16 PF (which would refer to affectivity, intelligence, stability of self, dominance, impulsiveness, daring, sensitivity, suspicion, conventionalism , imagination, cunning, rebellion, self-sufficiency, apprehension, self-control and tension).

The dynamics of the personality also depends on the motivation , finding different components in the form of dynamic traits or attitudes among which are ergos (way of acting upon specific stimulations such as sex or aggression) and feelings.

7. Eysenck's personality theory

From an internalist and factorial position centered on the biological, Eysenck generates one of the most important explanatory personality hypotheses from a correlational approach . This author generates the PEN model, which proposes that personality differences are based on biological elements that allow processes such as motivation or emotion.

The personality is a relatively stable structure of character, intellect, temperament and physique, each one providing the will, the intelligence, the emotion and the biological elements that allow them.

Eysenck finds and isolates three main factors in which all others can be grouped, being these the psychoticism or tendency to act with harshness, the neuroticism or emotional stability and the extraversion / introversion or focalization in the external or internal world.

The author would consider that the level of extraversion depended on the activation of the ascending reticular activation system or SARA, the neuroticism of the limbic system and psychoticism, although a clear correlate has not been identified, tends to be linked to the level of androgens or the relationship between dopamine and serotonin.

The three factors of the PEN model they integrate the different personality traits and allow the organism to react in certain ways to environmental stimulation based on more or less specific and frequent behavioral responses.

8. The Big Five theory of Costa and McCrae

Another of the great factorial theories and based on a lexical approach (based on the idea that the terms with which we explain our behavior allow after a factorial analysis to establish the existence of groupings of characteristics or personality traits), The Big Five or theory of the Big Five of Costa and McCrae is one of the most extended personality models .

Through factor analysis, this model indicates the existence of five major personality factors that we all have to a greater or lesser degree. Its about neuroticism or emotional adjustment , extraversion as quantity and intensity of personal relationships, cordiality as the qualities expressed in the interaction, responsibility or awareness, organization, control and motivation towards goals and openness to experience or interest in experimenting.

Each of these large factors is composed of features or facets. The different features are related to each other, and together they account for the way of perceiving the world and reacting to it.

9. The model BIS AND BAS of Gray

Gray proposes a factorial and biological model in which he considers that there are two dimensions that allow elements such as emotion and learning, based on the combination of the extraversion and neuroticism factors of Eysenck .

In this case, it is proposed that anxiety, as a combination of introversion and neuroticism, would act as a behavior inhibiting mechanism (BIS or Behavior Inhibition System), while impulsivity (which would be equivalent to a combination of extraversion and neuroticism) would act as a mechanism of approach and motivation to action (BAS or Behavior Approximation System). Both systems would act together to regulate our behavior.

10. Cloninger model

This model contemplates the existence of temperamental elements, being these the avoidance of pain, the reliance on reward, the search for novelties and persistence. These elements of biological and acquired nature would account for the behavioral pattern that we apply in our life, and depend to a large extent on the neurochemical balance of the brain in regard to neurotransmitters.

It also incorporates elements of character that help place one's self in reality, these being cooperation as social behavior, self-direction or autonomy and self-transcendence as an element that integrates us and gives us a role in the world.

11. Rotter's Theory of Social Learning

This author considers that the behavior pattern that we usually use is an element derived from learning and social interaction . It considers the human being an active element and uses a close approach to behaviorism. We act based on the existence of needs and the visualization and evaluation of these and the possible behaviors we have learned to carry out. Although close to interactionism, it is situated in a situationist perspective

The behavioral potential is the probability of performing certain behavior in a specific situation. This potential depends on elements such as expectations (both the ability to influence the results as well as the result itself and the possible benefits obtained after the conduct) and the consideration or value given to the consequences of carrying out the conduct in question, as well as the way in which the person process and assess the situation (known as psychological situation).

  • Related article: "Rotter's theory of social learning"

12. The interactionist approach

Throughout history there have been many authors who have one of two positions: that the personality is something innate or that it is derived from learning. But nevertheless There is a third option, defended by authors such as Mischel , in which the personality is formed by the interaction between innate elements and the phenomena that we live.

This position explores personality characteristics through the study of the existence of consistency of behavior through situations, temporal stability and predictive validity of traits. The conclusions indicated that other types of different categorizations of features should be used , because these do not reflect a totally valid predictive model since they are of a more naturalistic nature. Defend that it is more efficient to talk about competencies, values, expectations, constructs and self-control.

Other authors such as Allen reflect that the consistency can vary according to the person, as well as the main values ​​and the aspects that best predict the behavior. In this way, traits would be consistent but only if those that are most relevant to each person are taken into account.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychology of the personality. Theory and research. (Vol I and II). Didactic Unit of the UNED. Madrid.
  • Hermangómez, L. & Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of Personality and Differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les principales théories de la personnalité

Les principales théories de la personnalité

Novembre 24, 2022

La personnalité, comprise comme l’ensemble relativement stable de tendances et de schémas de pensée, de traitement de l’information et de comportements que chacun de nous manifeste tout au long de sa vie et au cours du temps et dans des situations différentes, est l’un des principaux aspects de cette personnalité. qui ont été étudiés et analysés par la psychologie. Différents courants et auteurs ont établi différentes théories et modèles de personnalité.

Ci-dessous, nous expliquons brièvement certaines des principales théories de la personnalité. , qui partent de différentes approches telles que l’internaliste, le situationniste et le interactionniste ou le corrélationnel, l’expérimental ou le clinique.


  • Article connexe: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

Les théories de la personnalité les plus importantes de la psychologie

Ce sont les contributions à l’étude de la personnalité qui ont traditionnellement eu plus de poids à travers l’histoire de la psychologie. Cependant, tous ne sont pas encore valables aujourd'hui.

1. La théorie de la personnalité de Freud

Le courant psychodynamique a contribué à diverses théories et modèles de personnalité , étant les plus connus ceux du père de la psychanalyse, Sigmund Freud. Pour lui, comportement et personnalité sont liés à l'existence d'impulsions que nous devons mettre en pratique et au conflit que cela implique et à la limitation que la réalité implique pour son accomplissement. C'est un modèle clinique et internaliste.


Dans son premier sujet, Freud a proposé que la psyché humaine était structurée en trois systèmes , un inconscient régi par la recherche de la réduction des tensions et fonctionne à travers le principe du plaisir, un conscient qui est régi par la perception du monde extérieur et du principe logique et du principe de réalité et un préconscient dans lequel le contenu inconscient peut Devenir conscient et vice versa.

Dans le deuxième sujet, Freud détermine une deuxième grande structure de la personnalité compatible avec la précédente, dans laquelle la psyché est configurée par trois instances psychiques, le Id ou Ello, le I et le Surmoi. Le ça est notre partie la plus instinctive, qui gouverne et dirige l’énergie interne sous forme d’impulsions et à partir de laquelle toutes les autres structures partent.

Le "je" serait le résultat de la confrontation des pulsions et des pulsions avec la réalité , étant une structure de médiation et en conflit continu qui utilise différents mécanismes pour sublimer ou rediriger les énergies provenant d’impulsions. Enfin, la troisième instance est le surmoi ou une partie de la personnalité donnée par la société et dont la fonction principale est de juger et de censurer les comportements et les désirs qui ne sont pas socialement acceptables.


La personnalité se construit tout au long du développement, en différentes phases, en fonction des conflits existants entre les différentes instances et structures et des mécanismes de défense appliqués pour tenter de les résoudre.

2. La théorie de la personnalité de Jung

En plus de Freud, de nombreux autres composants du courant psychodynamique ont proposé leurs propres structures de personnalité . Par exemple, Carl Jung a proposé que la personnalité soit façonnée par la personne ou par une partie de notre personnalité qui serve à s'adapter à l'environnement et soit liée à ce que les autres peuvent observer et à l'ombre ou à la partie dans laquelle ces parties du Soi sont incluses. qui ne sont pas admissibles pour le sujet.

De même, à partir des archétypes acquis par l’inconscient collectif et des différents complexes que nous adoptons dans notre développement identitaire, différents types de personnalité sont générés selon que les préoccupations sont orientées vers l’intérieur ou vers l’extérieur, si elles sont plus sensibles ou intuitives et si elles ont tendance à se concentrer davantage sur la pensée ou les sentiments être capable de penser, ressentir, intuiter et percevoir les principales fonctions psychologiques.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de personnalité selon Carl Gustav Jung"

3. La théorie phénoménologique de Carl Rogers

Dans une perspective humaniste-phénoménologique d’approche clinique, Carl Rogers propose que chaque personne ait son champ phénoménologique ou sa façon de voir le monde, en fonction du comportement de cette perception .

La personnalité découle de la conception de soi ou de la symbolisation de l'expérience de son existence, qui découle de l'intégration de la tendance à se moderniser ou à s'améliorer avec le besoin de ressentir l'amour de l'environnement et l'estime de soi tirés du contraste entre leur comportement et la considération ou la réponse que cela reçoit de l'environnement. S'il y a des contradictions, des mesures défensives seront utilisées pour cacher cette incongruité.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie phénoménologique de Carl Rogers"

4. Théorie des constructions personnelles de Kelly

Comme exemple de la théorie de la personnalité dérivée du cognitivisme et du constructivisme nous pouvons trouver la théorie des constructions personnelles de Kelly, ainsi qu'une approche clinique. Pour cet auteur, chaque personne a sa propre représentation mentale de la réalité et agit de manière scientifique en essayant de donner une explication à ce qui l'entoure.

On considère que la personnalité est constituée comme un système hiérarchique de constructions personnelles dichotomiques Ils s'influencent mutuellement et forment un réseau d'éléments nucléaires et périphériques à travers lesquels nous essayons de réagir et de prédire l'avenir. Ce qui motive le comportement et la création du système de constructions, c’est la tentative de contrôle de l’environnement grâce à la capacité de prévision qui en découle et l’amélioration de ce modèle prédictif grâce à l’expérience.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie des constructions personnelles de George Kelly"

5. Théorie de la personnalité idéographique d'Allport

Allport considère que chaque individu est unique en ce sens qu'il intègre les différentes caractéristiques différentes du reste des gens (il est basé sur l'idéographie, dans ce qui nous rend unique), ainsi que Nous sommes des entités actives qui se concentrent sur la réalisation des objectifs .

C'est l'un des auteurs qui considère la personnalité qui la travaille à partir d'éléments structurels et stables, de traits. Pour lui, nous essayons de rendre notre comportement cohérent et agissons de manière à créer un système à partir duquel nous pouvons créer différents ensembles de stimuli de manière à pouvoir répondre de manière similaire à différentes stimulations.

Ainsi, nous élaborons des moyens d’agir ou d’exprimer le comportement nous permettant de nous adapter à l’environnement. Ces caractéristiques ont une importance différente selon leur influence sur notre comportement. , pouvant être cardinal, central ou secondaire.

L'ensemble des caractéristiques serait intégré au propium lui-même, dérivé de la perception de soi et de la conscience de soi générées et composé de l'expérience de l'identité, de la perception, de la corporalité, des intérêts et de l'estime de soi, de la rationalité et de l'intentionnalité.

6. La théorie de la personnalité de Cattell

La théorie de la personnalité de Raymond Cattell est l’une des théories factorielles les plus connues et reconnues de la personnalité. Structuraliste, corrélationnel et internaliste comme Allport, à partir de l'analyse du lexique, considère que la personnalité peut être comprise en fonction d'un ensemble de caractéristiques, qui sont comprises comme tendance à réagir d'une certaine manière à la réalité .

Ces caractéristiques peuvent être divisées en tempérament (les éléments qui nous disent comment agir), dynamique (motivation du comportement ou de l'attitude) ou forme physique (aptitudes du sujet à adopter le comportement).

Les plus pertinents sont les tempéraments, dont Cattell extrairait les seize facteurs principaux de la personnalité mesurés dans le 16 PF (qui se rapporterait à l'affectivité, l'intelligence, la stabilité de soi, la domination, l'impulsivité, l'audace, la sensibilité, la suspicion, le conventionnalisme , imagination, ruse, rébellion, autosuffisance, appréhension, maîtrise de soi et tension).

La dynamique de la personnalité dépend aussi de la motivation , trouvant différentes composantes sous la forme de traits ou d’attitudes dynamiques, parmi lesquels ergos (manière d’agir sur des stimulations spécifiques telles que le sexe ou l’agressivité) et les sentiments.

7. La théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck

D'une position internaliste et factorielle centrée sur le biologique, Eysenck génère l'une des plus importantes hypothèses de personnalité explicatives à partir d'une approche corrélationnelle. . Cet auteur génère le modèle PEN, qui propose que les différences de personnalité reposent sur des éléments biologiques permettant des processus tels que la motivation ou les émotions.

La personnalité est une structure relativement stable de caractère, d'intellect, de tempérament et de physique, chacune fournissant la volonté, l'intelligence, l'émotion et les éléments biologiques qui le permettent.

Eysenck trouve et isole trois facteurs principaux dans lesquels tous les autres peuvent être regroupés, à savoir le psychoticisme ou la tendance à agir avec dureté, le névrotisme ou la stabilité émotionnelle et l'extraversion / introversion ou la focalisation dans le monde externe ou interne.

L'auteur considérerait que le niveau d'extraversion dépend de l'activation du système d'activation réticulaire ascendant ou SARA, le neuroticisme du système limbique et le psychoticisme, bien qu’aucun corrélat clair n’ait été identifié, ont tendance à être liés au niveau d’androgènes ou à la relation entre la dopamine et la sérotonine.

Les trois facteurs du modèle PEN ils intègrent les différents traits de personnalité et permettent à l'organisme de réagir de certaines manières à la stimulation de l'environnement à partir de réponses comportementales plus ou moins spécifiques et fréquentes.

8. La théorie des Big Five de Costa et McCrae

Une autre des grandes théories factorielles et basée sur une approche lexicale (basée sur l'idée que les termes avec lesquels nous expliquons notre comportement permettent, après une analyse factorielle, d'établir l'existence de groupements de caractéristiques ou de traits de personnalité), Le Big Five ou théorie des Big Five de Costa et McCrae est l’un des modèles de personnalité les plus étendus .

Par l’analyse factorielle, ce modèle indique l’existence de cinq facteurs de personnalité majeurs plus ou moins importants. Il s'agit de neuroticism ou ajustement émotionnel , extraversion comme quantité et intensité des relations personnelles, cordialité comme qualités exprimées dans l’interaction, la responsabilité ou la conscience, l’organisation, le contrôle et la motivation à l’égard des objectifs et l’ouverture à l’expérience ou à l’intérêt pour l’expérimentation.

Chacun de ces grands facteurs est composé de caractéristiques ou de facettes. Les différentes caractéristiques sont liées les unes aux autres et, ensemble, elles expliquent la manière dont le monde est perçu et réagi.

9. Le modèle BIS ET BAS de Gray

Gray propose un modèle factoriel et biologique dans lequel il considère qu'il existe deux dimensions permettant des éléments tels que l'émotion et l'apprentissage, basé sur la combinaison des facteurs d'extraversion et de névrotisme d'Eysenck .

Dans ce cas, il est proposé que l’anxiété, en tant que combinaison d’introversion et de neuroticisme, agisse comme un mécanisme inhibiteur du comportement (BIS ou système d’inhibition du comportement), tandis que l’impulsivité (qui équivaudrait à une combinaison d’extraversion et de neuroticisme) agirait en tant que mécanisme. d’approche et de motivation à agir (BAS ou Behavior Approximation System). Les deux systèmes agiraient ensemble pour réguler notre comportement.

10. modèle Cloninger

Ce modèle envisage l’existence d’éléments de tempérament, c’est-à-dire l’évitement de la douleur, le recours à la récompense, la recherche de nouveautés et la persistance. Ces éléments de nature biologique et acquise expliqueraient le schéma comportemental que nous appliquons dans notre vie et dépendons dans une large mesure de l’équilibre neurochimique du cerveau en ce qui concerne les neurotransmetteurs.

Il intègre également des éléments de caractère qui aident à se situer dans la réalité: coopération en tant que comportement social, auto-direction ou autonomie et dépassement de soi en tant qu'élément qui nous intègre et nous donne un rôle dans le monde.

11. Théorie de l'apprentissage social de Rotter

Cet auteur considère que le modèle de comportement que nous utilisons habituellement est un élément dérivé de l'apprentissage et de l'interaction sociale . Il considère l'être humain comme un élément actif et utilise une approche proche du behaviorisme. Nous agissons en fonction de l’existence de besoins, de la visualisation et de l’évaluation de ceux-ci et des comportements possibles que nous avons appris à adopter. Bien que proche de l'interactionisme, il se situe dans une perspective situationniste

Le potentiel comportemental est la probabilité de réaliser certains comportements dans une situation donnée. Ce potentiel dépend d'éléments tels que les attentes (à la fois la capacité d'influencer les résultats ainsi que le résultat lui-même et les avantages possibles obtenus après le comportement) et la considération ou la valeur accordée aux conséquences de la réalisation du comportement en question, ainsi que la manière dont la personne traiter et évaluer la situation (appelée situation psychologique).

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de Rotter sur l'apprentissage social"

12. L'approche interactionniste

Au cours de l'histoire, de nombreux auteurs ont adopté l'une des deux positions suivantes: la personnalité est innée ou dérivée de l'apprentissage. Cependant Il existe une troisième option, défendue par des auteurs tels que Mischel , dans lequel la personnalité est formée par l’interaction entre des éléments innés et les phénomènes que nous vivons.

Cette position explore les caractéristiques de la personnalité à travers l'étude de l'existence d'une cohérence de comportement à travers les situations, la stabilité temporelle et la validité prédictive des traits. Les conclusions ont indiqué que il faut utiliser d'autres types de catégories différentes de caractéristiques , car ils ne reflètent pas un modèle prédictif totalement valide car ils sont de nature plus naturaliste. Défendez qu'il est plus efficace de parler de compétences, de valeurs, d'attentes, de constructions et de maîtrise de soi.

D'autres auteurs, comme Allen, affirment que la cohérence peut varier en fonction de la personne, ainsi que des valeurs principales et des aspects qui prédisent le mieux le comportement. De cette manière, les traits seraient cohérents, mais seulement si ceux qui sont les plus pertinents pour chaque personne sont pris en compte.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychologie de la personnalité. Théorie et recherche. (Vol I et II). Unité didactique de l'UNED. Madrid
  • Hermangómez, L. & Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.

Cours de Psychologie - Le Béhaviorisme (1/3) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes