yes, therapy helps!
Test (or Study) of Gordon Allport Values

Test (or Study) of Gordon Allport Values

June 11, 2024

The Values ​​Study, a personality test prepared by Gordon Allport , Philip Vernon and Gardner Lindzey, was one of the first psychological instruments that were developed with the objective of evaluating personal values ​​or basic motivations. In this article we will analyze the content, the mode of application and the variables that this test measures.

  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

The Allport Values ​​Study

The American psychologist Gordon William Allport (1897-1967) is known primarily for his personalistic theory, one of the first attempts to explain personality human from the psychology, emphasizing the individuality of each human being and the active aspect of our nature, which drives us to achieve goals.


In the year 1931 Allport, along with Philip E. Vernon and Gardner Lindzey, published a scale of evaluation of personal values, which can also be understood as basic motivations. This test was based directly on the book "Types of men" by the philosopher Eduard Sprange r and its creators called it "Values ​​Study".

Allport thought that a good way to analyze the personality of a specific individual is to evaluate what their moral values ​​are. In this sense he gave much more importance to the present moment than to personal history, in which the psychoanalytic orientation was focused, which dominated the psychology of the time.


The goal of the Allport test and its collaborators is to determine the relative weight they have for a given individual six types of values: the theoretical, the economic, the aesthetic, the social, the political and the religious , which Spranger considered fundamental. Later we will describe in detail the definition of each of these basic motivations.

  • Related article: "Gordon Allport's personality theory"

Content and mode of application of the test

The Allport test consists of two parts. The first one is composed of dichotomous questions; for example, item 24 ("Which of these books would you choose?") includes the answer options "A) History of religion" and "B) History of industrial development". At present, each item includes four response options depending on the intensity of the preference.


The second part contains statements with four response options that they should be ordered according to the degree of relative preference . Thus, in item number 9. ("Which topic would you prefer to discuss in a meeting with close friends?") You would have to order the options "A) The meaning of life", "B) The latest scientific developments", "C ) Literature "and" D) Socialism ".

The total number of items in the test rises to 240: in the first part, 90 points are assigned to one or other of the values ​​that are evaluated, while in the second, 150 points are distributed according to how the response options have been ordered of each of the elements.

The Values ​​Study can be applied both individually and collectively (that is, to several people at the same time). Although there is no set time limit to complete the test, examinees should try to answer questions more or less quickly. It is important to mention that the test was designed for people with higher education .

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

The 6 values ​​reflected in the test

The results of the Values ​​Study consist in obtaining six scores, one for each of the basic motivations handled by Spranger, as well as by Allport and its collaborators. The comparison between the scores in one and other variables indicates how important each of these values ​​(or behavioral tendencies) is for the person.

1. Theoretical

People with a high score on the theoretical value they want to discover the truth about things , that is, to obtain knowledge ordered and systematized through logical and empirical criteria.

2. Economical

The economic value is associated with the focus on the material and the practical. This includes the accumulation of goods, the saving of energy and the utilitarian conception of relationships with other people .

3. Aesthetic

Those who score high on this motivation value the beauty, the harmony and the formal aspects of reality , which is somewhat opposed to the theoretical value. Your personal satisfaction is derived from the creation and / or contemplation of aesthetic experiences.

4. Social

The main motivation of these people is to have the company of others, and the help of others is their core value. The high scores in this variable They indicate altruism, kindness, compassion and generosity .

5. Politician

In this case, the main motivation is obtaining power and control over the behavior of other individuals ; this is associated with leadership. Knowledge is seen as a means to achieve this goal.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fears in today's society: should we control them?"

6. Religious

According to Allport, people governed by religious reasons they orient their behavior based on their spiritual beliefs and ethics. Both the definition of this value and the items that compose it are ambiguous and are probably the best example of the negative impact that the passage of time has had on the Values ​​Study.


Measuring Personality: Crash Course Psychology #22 (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Test (ou étude) des valeurs de Gordon Allport

Test (ou étude) des valeurs de Gordon Allport

Décembre 4, 2022

The Values ​​Study, un test de personnalité préparé par Gordon Allport , Philip Vernon et Gardner Lindzey, a été l’un des premiers instruments psychologiques mis au point dans le but d’évaluer les valeurs personnelles ou les motivations fondamentales. Dans cet article, nous analyserons le contenu, le mode d’application et les variables analysées par ce test.

  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

L'étude sur les valeurs Allport

Le psychologue américain Gordon William Allport (1897-1967) est connu principalement pour sa théorie personnaliste, une des premières tentatives pour expliquer la personnalité humain de la psychologie, en mettant l'accent sur l'individualité de chaque être humain et l'aspect actif de notre nature, qui nous pousse à atteindre des objectifs.


En 1931, Allport, avec Philip E. Vernon et Gardner Lindzey, a publié une échelle d’évaluation des valeurs personnelles, qui peut également être comprise comme une motivation de base. Ce test était basé directement sur le livre "Types of men" du philosophe Eduard Sprange r et ses créateurs l'ont appelé "Values ​​Study".

Allport pensait qu'un bon moyen d'analyser la personnalité d'un individu spécifique était d'évaluer ses valeurs morales. En ce sens, il accordait beaucoup plus d’importance au moment présent qu’à l’histoire personnelle, dans laquelle se concentrait l’orientation psychanalytique, qui dominait la psychologie de l’époque.


Le but du test Allport et de ses collaborateurs est de déterminer le poids relatif qu’ils ont pour un individu donné six types de valeurs: la théorie, l’économique, l’esthétique, le social, le politique et le religieux , ce que Spranger a considéré comme fondamental. Ensuite, nous décrirons en détail la définition de chacune de ces motivations de base.

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de la personnalité de Gordon Allport"

Contenu et mode d'application du test

Le test Allport comprend deux parties. Le premier est composé de questions dichotomiques; Par exemple, le point 24 ("Lequel de ces livres choisiriez-vous?") inclut les options de réponse "A) Histoire de la religion" et "B) Histoire du développement industriel". À l’heure actuelle, chaque élément comprend quatre options de réponse en fonction de l’intensité de la préférence.


La deuxième partie contient des instructions avec quatre options de réponse qui ils doivent être classés en fonction du degré de préférence relative . Ainsi, au point 9 ("Quel sujet préférez-vous discuter lors d'une réunion avec des amis proches?"), Vous devez commander les options "A) Le sens de la vie", "B) Les derniers développements scientifiques", "C ) Littérature "et" D) Socialisme ".

Le nombre total d'éléments dans le test s'élève à 240: dans la première partie, 90 points sont attribués à l'une ou l'autre des valeurs évaluées, tandis que dans la seconde, 150 points sont répartis en fonction de l'ordre des options de réponse. de chacun des éléments.

L'étude sur les valeurs peut être appliquée individuellement et collectivement (c'est-à-dire à plusieurs personnes en même temps). Bien que le test ne soit pas limité dans le temps, les candidats doivent essayer de répondre aux questions plus ou moins rapidement. Il est important de mentionner que le test a été conçu pour les personnes ayant fait des études supérieures .

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

Les 6 valeurs reflétées dans le test

Les résultats de l'étude sur les valeurs consistent à obtenir six scores, un pour chacune des motivations de base traitées par Spranger, ainsi que par Allport et ses collaborateurs. La comparaison entre les scores de l'une et d'autres variables indique l'importance de chacune de ces valeurs (ou tendances comportementales) pour la personne.

1. théorique

Personnes avec un score élevé sur la valeur théorique ils veulent découvrir la vérité sur les choses c'est-à-dire obtenir des connaissances ordonnées et systématisées selon des critères logiques et empiriques.

2. économique

La valeur économique est associée à la focalisation sur le matériel et la pratique. Cela inclut l’accumulation de biens, les économies d’énergie et la la conception utilitaire des relations avec les autres .

3. esthétique

Ceux qui obtiennent un score élevé sur cette valeur de motivation la beauté, l'harmonie et les aspects formels de la réalité , qui s’oppose quelque peu à la valeur théorique. Votre satisfaction personnelle découle de la création et / ou de la contemplation d'expériences esthétiques.

4. sociale

La principale motivation de ces personnes est d'avoir la compagnie des autres et l'aide des autres est leur valeur fondamentale. Les meilleurs scores dans cette variable Ils indiquent l'altruisme, la gentillesse, la compassion et la générosité .

5. homme politique

Dans ce cas, la principale motivation est d'obtenir pouvoir et contrôle sur le comportement d'autres individus ; cela est associé au leadership. La connaissance est considérée comme un moyen d'atteindre cet objectif.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les peurs dans la société d'aujourd'hui: devrions-nous les contrôler?"

6. religieux

Selon Allport, les personnes gouvernées par des raisons religieuses ils orientent leur comportement en fonction de leurs croyances spirituelles et éthique. La définition de cette valeur et les éléments qui la composent sont ambiguës et constituent probablement le meilleur exemple de l'impact négatif du passage du temps sur l'étude des valeurs.


What we can do about the culture of hate | Sally Kohn (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes