yes, therapy helps!
The schools surrounded by vegetation enhance the cognitive development of children

The schools surrounded by vegetation enhance the cognitive development of children

January 22, 2021

An investigation focused on the study of elementary school students from Barcelona suggests that Children who attend teaching centers with nearby vegetation and natural spaces tend to develop their cognitive skills better . The results have been published recently in PNAS.

The research team tested the students' abilities in terms of concentration and working memory, which is the ability to keep something in mind temporarily to carry out a task. The result of the data analysis shows how students who attend a school surrounded by green areas they yield more in these dimensions. In addition, differences in the socioeconomic status of families of children do not explain this discovery.


The study used as a sample a total of 2,000 second, third and fourth grade students attending 36 schools located in Barcelona (Spain). To order each of the schools according to the amount of vegetation around them, the team took satellite photographs of each of the schools and measured the amount of green that appeared on their grounds and perimeter.

Different causes, the same result

Part of the reasons why students in schools involved in vegetation could be doing more could be found in the quality of the air they breathe , as revealed by the analysis of the concentration of pollution . All plants provide pure air to the environment, but trees and shrubs also act as a barrier against air currents polluted by the smoke of cars. The same effect of Physical isolation occurs with noise coming from urban environments , which makes it easier for students to concentrate on tasks.


In addition, the presence of areas with vegetation could enhance the use of the environment to practice sports. Being that regular exercise helps reduce stress levels and can improve performance in certain cognitive areas It is very possible that students who go to schools immersed in a green environment feel more stimulated to attend in class and easily assimilate what they learn, not to be distracted and have a well trained mind to attend.

The environment affects us more than we thought

The social and urban implications they are more or less evident: replacing concrete patios and urban environments with wooded areas could have a positive impact on the way classes are used (and, in turn, improve the health of students and professionals in the center). Of course, not all schools have the possibility of opening up to natural spaces by being located in the center of large cities, but direct efforts to place even a few wooded areas on school grounds could be a quick and easy way to help young people to better train their mental abilities.


Childhood is a time when the smallest changes in the context can have a powerful influence on the cognitive development , and staying close to areas not modified by the workforce of the human species does not have to be much to ask.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dadvand, P., Nieuwenhuijsen, M. J., Esnaola, M., Forns, J., BasagaƱa, X., Alvarez-Pedrerol, M., et al. (2015). Green spaces and cognitive development in primary schoolchildren, PNAS, online consultation. doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1503402112

Living Universe | Journey To Another Stars - Documentary 4K [2018] (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les écoles entourées de végétation favorisent le développement cognitif des enfants

Les écoles entourées de végétation favorisent le développement cognitif des enfants

Mars 7, 2021

Une enquête centrée sur l’étude des élèves du primaire à Barcelone suggère que Les enfants qui fréquentent des centres d’enseignement dont la végétation et les espaces naturels se trouvent à proximité ont tendance à développer leurs compétences cognitives . Les résultats ont été publiés récemment dans PNAS.

L’équipe de recherche a testé les capacités des étudiants en termes de concentration et de mémoire de travail, c’est-à-dire la capacité de garder quelque chose à l’esprit temporairement pour effectuer une tâche. Le résultat de l’analyse des données montre comment les élèves qui fréquentent une école entourée de espaces verts ils rapportent plus dans ces dimensions. De plus, les différences de statut socio-économique des familles d'enfants n'expliquent pas cette découverte.


L’étude a utilisé comme échantillon un total de 2 000 élèves de deuxième, troisième et quatrième années fréquentant 36 écoles situées à Barcelone (Espagne). Pour ordonner chacune des écoles en fonction de la quantité de végétation autour d'elles, l'équipe a pris des photographies satellites de chacune des écoles et mesuré la quantité de verdure apparue sur leurs terrains et leur périmètre.

Des causes différentes, le même résultat

Une des raisons pour lesquelles les élèves des écoles impliquées dans la végétation pourraient faire plus pourrait être trouvée dans la qualité de l'air qu'ils respirent , comme l'a révélé l'analyse de la concentration de pollution . Toutes les plantes fournissent de l'air pur à l'environnement, mais les arbres et les arbustes agissent également comme une barrière contre les courants d'air pollués par la fumée des voitures. Le même effet de L'isolement physique est dû au bruit provenant des environnements urbains , ce qui permet aux étudiants de se concentrer plus facilement sur leurs tâches.


De plus, la présence de zones de végétation pourrait améliorer l'utilisation de l'environnement pour la pratique de sports. L’exercice régulier contribue à réduire le niveau de stress et peut améliorer les performances dans certains domaines cognitifs Il est très possible que les élèves qui fréquentent des écoles immergées dans un environnement verdoyant se sentent plus incités à assister aux cours et assimilent facilement ce qu'ils apprennent, à ne pas être distraits et à avoir l'esprit formé pour y aller.

L'environnement nous concerne plus que nous le pensions

Les implications sociales et urbaines elles sont plus ou moins évidentes: le remplacement des patios en béton et des environnements urbains par des zones boisées pourrait avoir un impact positif sur la manière dont les cours sont utilisés (et ainsi améliorer la santé des étudiants et des professionnels du centre). Bien sûr, toutes les écoles n’ont pas la possibilité de s’ouvrir aux espaces naturels en étant situées au centre des grandes villes, mais des efforts directs pour placer même quelques zones boisées sur le terrain de l’école pourraient constituer un moyen simple et rapide d’aider les jeunes à mieux former leurs capacités mentales.


L’enfance est une période où les moindres changements de contexte peuvent avoir une influence puissante sur développement cognitif , et rester près de zones non modifiées par la main-d'œuvre de l'espèce humaine n'a pas besoin d'être beaucoup demander.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dadvand, P., Nieuwenhuijsen, M.J., Esnaola, M., Forns, J., Basagaña, X., Alvarez-Pedrerol, M., et al. (2015). Espaces verts et développement cognitif chez les écoliers du primaire, PNAS, consultation en ligne. doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1503402112

Antibody Specificity and KO Lysates (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes