yes, therapy helps!
The social construction of identity

The social construction of identity

June 24, 2021
After an interminable night, it is finally done during the day. Marc opens his eyes and with a leap, he stands on the bed. Start running excited to the room, with wide eyes, thinking that this year Santa Claus was going to bring many gifts and treats, because he had done all and all homework. However, when he arrived, he was surprised to see coal next to a letter: "next year he helps dad and mom".

Mine or yours?

One of the worst moments of childhood is the disappointment experienced by Marc . However, that feeling does not arise from having received coal. The discomfort is due to the fact that Marc, who believed that he had behaved well, is letting him know that, in the eyes of others, he has behaved badly. So, Marc is a good or a bad boy? Are your own eyes or those of others right?


The duality of identity

This duality reflects that there is a part of us that we are not aware of and only from outside, we are communicated. While the conception of ourselves may differ from that of others, se presents us with a duality in the perspective of identity . In this sense, there is a perception of one's identity, but there are aspects of it that we can only access through others. Mead (1968) was one of the first theorists to differentiate a more personal identity, a more social identity ("me" and "me"), as two parts that coexist within the person and feed into each other. Although I was trying to identify two elements, I was really pointing out a process; a continuous relationship of the person with the environment that forms and the person who shapes the environment.


We could say in a few words that, just as we are aware that we have two eyes or a nose because we can touch them, we can see ourselves clearly before the mirror. Following this line, society is that reflection, thanks to which we can discern our way of being .

Mandatory reading: "Personal and social identity"

What is mine?

If you think that you are only you, I will start with trying to disprove you and, for now, tell you that you are less you than you think. Identity is usually defined as a unitary set of traits that remain stable and that allow a self-identification; an iron core to grab onto.

Why we are the way we are and the self-identification

Imagine Marc growing up and how he becomes Gothic feeling misunderstood; and then skater without getting involved in anything; and then a romantic that seeks commitment; and then a bachelor of crazy life; and then a businessman; and then ... Where is that stability? But nevertheless, the person is able to perceive and understand each of the contexts . That is, each of us can understand each other in each of our stages. In Bruner's terms (1991), identity is situated -in a space-time- and distributed -it is broken down into several facets-. Not only is one capable of understanding each of his facets in his life, but he is also understood by others; Marc's parents have understood him in every episode of his growth.


Self-concept and its relation to identity

This fact opens the doors to theory of mental models (Johnson-Laird, 1983). Although right now we have doubted what we are, it is true that we have an idea of ​​ourselves in our head, a self-concept. Besides, andThis self-concept serves as a mental model for our behavioral repertoire : we can imagine how we would act in different situations or before different people. Thanks to this, we can maintain an internal coherence of what we think about ourselves and not fall into a cognitive dissonance. This is how, in each interaction, we evoke to the outside part of what we are, because in this process we only evoke the features of our self-concept related to our environment, with our here and now - in a safe disco we would not show the same part of us that before an examination-.

Continuing with another metaphor, let us think for a moment about the case of an old painter, in a chair, with a canvas before him, behind a lush meadow. For many hours that you spend sitting trying to recreate the landscape that surrounds you, will never be able to accurately represent every detail that reality shows you . There will always be a small sheet or some shade of color that will only exist in reality. It is because of this fact that, when painting, he is recreating reality, not creating it.

What is yours?

This is how, although we can believe a lot, what we are for the other, may be less. Right at this point I intend to change it, tell you that you can be different from what you imagine .

Let's go back to our previous metaphors.For example to the experience of Marc, in which thinking if it is "good" or "bad" is given in case it is valued more to do homework or help parents. Or more simply, in the case of the painter, who after finishing the painting will each have their own impression of him.

The emission and interpretation of intentions

In this line, we explain how in the interaction, our interlocutor develops a process of inferences . This process is based on interpreting the semantics and pragmatics of the message, what and how it is said. From this, it does not interpret the message, but the intentionality of the sender, with what intention we are addressing him. Several studies show that features of communication such as accent, formalism or others, create different prejudices of people about their status, competence, anxiety, etc. (Ryan, Cananza and Moffie, 1977, Bradac and Wisegarver, 1984, Bradar, Bowers and Courtright, 1979; Howeler, 1972).

Based on these indications, the receiver interprets our intention and thereby creates his own mental model of us . Because in the same way that one imagines how one would act in different situations, one also elaborates a prefixed image of the other that allows us to predict what one can do or say, think or feel; what can we expect from that person? It is one of the basic heuristics to process the information with greater agility: if I can foresee, I can give an answer first.

That is the same end in the role of the receiver: give an answer . In each relationship that we maintain, the other person elaborates feedback, your feedback, from your interpretation of our acts. And if we have already said that our acts are somewhat different from what we would think and that the interpretation may be different from our intention, the feedback we receive may be totally different than expected. It can teach us parts of ourselves that we do not know or that we were not aware of; make us look different.

What do I decide to be?

In this way, as a third step of the process, I tell you that you are more than you believed, whether you want it or not, good or bad. We continually receive feedback from abroad, in every interaction we have with the others, with the environment and with ourselves. And that message we receive is not ignored, because we also exercise the same process that they did with us: now we are the receiver. We interpret the intention behind it and that is when we can find that they can treat us differently than we thought .

The importance of feedback in shaping identity

In the process of interpretation, the mental model received from the outside is in conflict with our own, that is, how they see us and how we see ourselves. Possibly, in the feedback received, new, unknown information has been included, which does not correspond to the idea we have of us. This information will be included and integrated into our mental model from two features: the affective charge and the recurrence (Bruner, 1991).

Returning to the painter, he can receive different opinions about his painting, but he will be shocked if all of them are only critical -recurrence of the same feedback- or if one of them comes from his wife who loves so much - emotional charge-.

We arrived then, to the danger zone. These two features modulate the influence of "how they see us" for us . If, in addition, it is very contrary to our initial mental model, we enter into cognitive dissonances, into internal inconsistencies due to the contradiction that they imply. Much psychological distress is given because we feel that "we do not receive what we give", or that "we are not how we want to be" and the strength of these beliefs can cause much suffering and psychological disorders such as depression if they become persistent and insidious.

But it is in this same area of ​​risk, where the person can grow, where that feedback can add and not subtract. For the development and personal growth, after defining this process, the keys are in the following points:

  • Self-awareness : if one is aware of the self-concept of oneself and the context that surrounds it, we can optimize the adaptation of what we evoke. Being aware of how we are and what surrounds us, we are able to make the decision on how to best respond to the needs of our environment.
  • Self-determination : we can be aware that the feedback we receive is information about how others receive us. In this way we can think about how to develop ourselves better and focus and obtain our goals.
  • Self-critical sense : in the same way that feedback information can help us achieve goals, it can also serve us for personal growth. Knowing what to collect from the feedback we receive to improve, or what areas are showing us that we still need to strengthen. In this case it is important to know how to recognize what our environment satisfies us.
  • Self-regulation : the ability to be more or less flexible in each of the parts of the "being".Both know how to expose ourselves in an authentic way and put defenses when you touch, both know how to get the most out of what they tell us and discard it if it is very contaminated. The fact of optimizing resources and our own management

Finally, you can be less, you can be different, you can be more. But - and excuse me for the expression - I leave you in the most "fucked up" situation of all, and that is that you can be what you want to be.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bradac, J. J. and Wisegarver, R. (1984). Ascribed status, lexical diversity, and accent: Determinants of perceived status, soladirity and control speech style. Journal of Language and Social Psychology, 3, 239-256.
  • Bradac, J. J., Bowers, J. W. and Courtright, J. A. (1979). Three language variables in communication research: Intensity, immediacy, and diversity. Human Communication Research, 5, 257-269.
  • Bruner, J. (1991). Acts of meaning. Beyond the cognitive revolution. Madrid: Editorial Alliance.
  • Johnson-Laird, Philip N (1983). Mental Models: Toward a Cognitive Science of Language, Inference and Consciousness. Harvard University Press.
  • Howeler, M. (1972). Diversity of Word usage as a stress indicator in an interview situation. Journal of Psycholinguistic Research, 1, 243-248.
  • Mead, G. H .: Spirit, person and society, Paidós, Buenos Aires, 1968 a.C
  • Ryan, E. B., Cananza, M. A. and Moffie, R. W. (1977). Reactions towards varying degrees of accentedness in the speech of Spanish-English. Language and Speech, 20, 267-273.

Identity Theory vs. Social Identity Theory (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La construction sociale de l'identité

La construction sociale de l'identité

Février 21, 2019
Après une nuit interminable, c'est finalement fait le jour. Marc ouvre les yeux et, d'un bond, il se met sur le lit. Commencez à courir avec enthousiasme dans la pièce, les yeux écarquillés, en pensant que cette année, le Père Noël allait apporter de nombreux cadeaux et gâteries, car il avait fait tous ses devoirs. Cependant, quand il est arrivé, il a été surpris de voir du charbon à côté d'une lettre: "l'année prochaine, il aide papa et maman".

À moi ou à toi?

L’un des pires moments de l’enfance est la déception vécue par Marc . Cependant, ce sentiment ne provient pas d'avoir reçu du charbon. L'inconfort est dû au fait que Marc, qui croyait s'être bien comporté, lui fait savoir que, aux yeux des autres, il s'est mal comporté. Ensuite, Marc est un bon ou un mauvais garçon? Vos propres yeux ou ceux des autres ont-ils raison?


La dualité d'identité

Cette dualité reflète le fait qu’il ya une partie de nous que nous ne connaissons pas et que nous ne communiquons que de l’extérieur. Bien que la conception de nous-mêmes puisse différer de celle des autres,e nous présente une dualité dans la perspective de l'identité . En ce sens, il y a une perception de son identité, mais il y a des aspects de celle-ci auxquels on ne peut accéder que par d'autres. Mead (1968) a été l'un des premiers théoriciens à distinguer une identité plus personnelle, une identité plus sociale ("moi" et "moi"), en deux parties qui coexistent dans la personne et se nourrissent l'une l'autre. Bien que j'essayais d'identifier deux éléments, je soulignais vraiment un processus; une relation continue de la personne avec l'environnement qui forme et la personne qui façonne l'environnement.


Nous pourrions dire en quelques mots que, tout en sachant que nous avons deux yeux ou un nez parce que nous pouvons les toucher, nous pouvons nous voir clairement devant le miroir. En suivant cette ligne, la société est cette réflexion, grâce à laquelle nous pouvons discerner notre façon d'être .

Lecture obligatoire: "Identité personnelle et sociale"

Ce qui est le mien

Si vous pensez que vous n'êtes que vous, je commencerai par essayer de vous réfuter et pour le moment, je vous dirai que vous êtes moins que vous ne le pensez. L’identité est généralement définie comme un ensemble unitaire de traits qui restent stables et permettent une auto-identification; un noyau de fer à saisir.

Pourquoi nous sommes comme nous et l'auto-identification

Imagine que Marc grandisse et qu'il devienne un gothique incompris; et puis patineur sans être impliqué dans rien; et puis un romantique qui cherche un engagement; et puis un célibataire de la vie folle; et ensuite un homme d'affaires; et ensuite ... Où est cette stabilité? Cependant, la personne est capable de percevoir et de comprendre chacun des contextes . Autrement dit, chacun de nous peut se comprendre à chacune de nos étapes. Dans les termes de Bruner (1991), l'identité est située - dans un espace-temps - et distribuée - elle est décomposée en plusieurs facettes -. Non seulement l’un est capable de comprendre chacune de ses facettes de sa vie, mais il est également compris par les autres; Les parents de Marc l'ont compris à chaque épisode de sa croissance.


Le concept de soi et son rapport à l'identité

Ce fait ouvre les portes à théorie des modèles mentaux (Johnson-Laird, 1983). Bien que nous ayons maintenant des doutes sur ce que nous sommes, il est vrai que nous avons une idée de nous-mêmes dans notre tête, un concept de soi. De plus, eCette image de soi sert de modèle mental à notre répertoire comportemental : nous pouvons imaginer comment nous agirions dans différentes situations ou devant différentes personnes. Grâce à cela, nous pouvons maintenir une cohérence interne de ce que nous pensons de nous-mêmes et ne pas tomber dans une dissonance cognitive. C’est ainsi que, dans chaque interaction, nous évoquons une partie extérieure de ce que nous sommes car, dans ce processus, nous n’évoquons que les caractéristiques de notre image de soi liées à notre environnement. Avec notre ici et maintenant, nous ne montrerions pas la même partie dans une discothèque sécurisée. de nous que avant un examen-.

Continuant avec une autre métaphore, pensons un instant au cas d’un vieux peintre, assis sur une chaise, une toile devant lui, derrière un pré luxuriant. Pendant de nombreuses heures que vous passez assis à essayer de recréer le paysage qui vous entoure, ne sera jamais capable de représenter avec précision chaque détail de la réalité . Il y aura toujours une petite feuille ou une nuance de couleur qui n'existera que dans la réalité. C'est pour cette raison que, lorsqu'il peint, il recrée la réalité et non la crée.

Quel est le vôtre?

C’est ainsi que, même si nous pouvons beaucoup croire, ce que nous sommes pour les autres, peut être moins. À ce stade, j’ai l’intention de le changer, vous dire que vous pouvez être différent de ce que vous imaginez .

Revenons à nos métaphores précédentes.Par exemple à l’expérience de Marc, dans laquelle il est indiqué si c’est «bon» ou «mauvais» au cas où il serait plus utile de faire des devoirs ou d’aider les parents. Ou plus simplement, dans le cas du peintre, qui, une fois le tableau terminé, aura sa propre impression de lui.

L'émission et l'interprétation des intentions

Dans cette ligne, nous expliquons comment dans l'interaction, notre interlocuteur développe un processus d'inférences . Ce processus est basé sur l'interprétation de la sémantique et de la pragmatique du message, de quoi et comment il est dit. A partir de cela, il n'interprète pas le message, mais l'intentionnalité de l'expéditeur, avec quelle intention nous lui adressons. Plusieurs études montrent que des caractéristiques de la communication telles que l’accent, le formalisme ou autres, créent différents préjugés sur le statut, la compétence, l’anxiété, etc. (Ryan, Cananza et Moffie, 1977, Bradac et Wisegarver, 1984, Bradar, Bowers). et Courtright, 1979; Howeler, 1972).

Sur la base de ces indications, le récepteur interprète notre intention et crée ainsi son propre modèle mental . Parce que de la même manière que l’on imagine comment on agirait dans différentes situations, on élabore également une image préfixée de l’autre qui nous permet de prédire ce que l’on peut faire ou dire, penser ou ressentir; Que pouvons-nous attendre de cette personne? L'une des heuristiques de base pour traiter les informations avec une plus grande agilité: si je peux prévoir, je peux d'abord donner une réponse.

C'est le même but dans le rôle du récepteur: donner une réponse . Dans chaque relation que nous entretenons, l’autre personne élabore commentaires, vos retours, de votre interprétation de nos actes. Et si nous avons déjà dit que nos actes sont quelque peu différents de ce que nous pensons et que l'interprétation peut différer de notre intention, les réactions que nous recevons pourraient être totalement différentes de celles attendues. Cela peut nous apprendre des parties de nous-mêmes que nous ne connaissons pas ou dont nous n'étions pas conscients; nous faire paraître différent.

Qu'est-ce que je décide d'être?

De la sorte, comme troisième étape du processus, je vous dis que vous êtes plus que ce que vous croyiez, que vous le vouliez ou non, bon ou mauvais. Nous recevons continuellement des commentaires de l'étranger, dans chaque interaction que nous avons avec les autres, avec l'environnement et avec nous-mêmes. Et le message que nous recevons n'est pas ignoré, car nous appliquons également le même processus que celui utilisé avec nous: nous sommes maintenant le destinataire. Nous interprétons l'intention qui se cache derrière et c'est alors que nous pouvons constater qu'ils peuvent nous traiter différemment de ce que nous pensions .

L'importance de la rétroaction dans la formation de l'identité

Dans le processus d’interprétation, le modèle mental reçu de l’extérieur est en conflit avec le nôtre, c’est-à-dire la façon dont ils nous voient et dont nous nous voyons. Peut-être, dans les commentaires reçus, de nouvelles informations inconnues ont été incluses, ce qui ne correspond pas à l'idée que nous avons de nous. Cette information sera incluse et intégrée dans notre modèle mental de deux caractéristiques: le charge affective et la récurrence (Bruner, 1991).

De retour chez le peintre, il peut recevoir différentes opinions sur sa peinture, mais il sera choqué si toutes ne sont que critiques - la répétition du même retour - ou si l'une d'entre elles vient de sa femme qui aime tellement - charge émotionnelle -.

Nous sommes alors arrivés à la zone de danger. Ces deux caractéristiques modulent l'influence de "comment ils nous voient" pour nous . Si, en outre, il est très contraire à notre modèle mental initial, nous entrons dans des dissonances cognitives, dans des incohérences internes dues à la contradiction qu'elles impliquent. Une grande détresse psychologique est provoquée par le sentiment que "nous ne recevons pas ce que nous donnons" ou que "nous ne sommes pas ce que nous voulons être" et que la force de ces croyances peut causer beaucoup de souffrances et de troubles psychologiques tels que la dépression si elles deviennent persistantes et insidieuses.

Mais c’est dans ce même domaine de risque, où la personne peut grandir, où ce retour peut s’additionner et non pas se soustraire. Pour le développement et la croissance personnelle, après avoir défini ce processus, les points clés sont les suivants:

  • Conscience de soi : si l’on prend conscience de la conception de soi de soi et du contexte qui l’entoure, on peut optimiser l’adaptation de ce que nous évoquons. Conscients de ce que nous sommes et de ce qui nous entoure, nous sommes en mesure de décider de la meilleure façon de répondre aux besoins de notre environnement.
  • Autodétermination : nous pouvons être conscients que les commentaires que nous recevons sont des informations sur la façon dont les autres nous reçoivent. De cette façon, nous pouvons réfléchir à la manière de nous développer nous-mêmes et nous concentrer et atteindre nos objectifs.
  • Sens autocritique : de la même manière que les informations en retour peuvent nous aider à atteindre nos objectifs, elles peuvent également nous servir pour notre croissance personnelle. Savoir quoi collecter à partir des retours que nous recevons pour nous améliorer, ou quels domaines nous montrent que nous avons encore besoin de nous renforcer. Dans ce cas, il est important de savoir reconnaître ce que notre environnement nous satisfait.
  • Autorégulation : la capacité d'être plus ou moins flexible dans chacune des parties de "l'être".Les deux savent comment s’exposer de manière authentique et mettent en place des défenses au toucher, ils savent tirer le meilleur parti de ce qu’ils nous disent et l’écarter s’il est très contaminé. Le fait d'optimiser les ressources et notre propre gestion

Enfin, vous pouvez être moins, vous pouvez être différent, vous pouvez être plus. Mais - et excusez-moi pour l'expression - je vous laisse dans la situation la plus "foutue" de toutes, et c'est que vous pouvez être ce que vous voulez être.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bradac, J. J. et Wisegarver, R. (1984). Statut attribué, diversité lexicale et accent: Déterminants du statut perçu, de la soladirité et du style de parole de contrôle. Journal of Language and Social Psychology, Journal 3, 239-256.
  • Bradac, J. J., Bowers, J. W. et Courtright, J. A. (1979). Trois variables linguistiques dans la recherche en communication: intensité, immédiateté et diversité. Human Communication Research, 5, 257-269.
  • Bruner, J. (1991). Actes de sens. Au-delà de la révolution cognitive. Madrid: Alliance Éditoriale.
  • Johnson-Laird, Philip N (1983). Modèles mentaux: Vers une science cognitive du langage, de l'inférence et de la conscience. Harvard University Press.
  • Howeler, M. (1972). Diversité d'utilisation de Word comme indicateur de stress dans une situation d'entretien. Journal of Psycholinguistic Research, 1, 243-248.
  • Mead, G. H.: Esprit, personne et société, Paidós, Buenos Aires, 1968 a.C
  • Ryan, E. B., Cananza, M. A. et Moffie, R. W. (1977). Réactions à divers degrés d'accentuation dans le discours espagnol-anglais. Language and Speech, 20, 267-273.

14 L identité sociale (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes