yes, therapy helps!
The associationist theory of creativity of Mednick (and other authors)

The associationist theory of creativity of Mednick (and other authors)

July 23, 2024

The associationism was in its beginnings a philosophical approach that affirmed that the human thought operated associating a state with other successor states.

The British associationists, among which John Locke and David Hume stand out , argued that this principle of association applied to all mental processes and that the ideas were associated in the mind following certain laws, among which stood out the law of continuity and the law of similarity.

In what way is this concept associated with creative processes? For this we must examine the associationist theory of creativity .

The ideas of Sarnoff Mednick

The law of continuity postulates that the ideas that have been experienced together tend to appear together in our minds (for example, when a situation evokes some feeling or the memory of a person).


The law of similarity, for its part, argues that psychic contents that have similarity tend to manifest together in our thinking (for example, when a picture of someone evokes traits of his personality).

In 1962, Sarnoff Mednick published his associative theory of the creative process , in which he argued that creative thinking was the process by which disparate elements come together in new combinations to elaborate a proposal useful for the individual or society. The combination of the most remote elements is considered more creative than the combination of more similar elements.

Serendipity, similarity and meditation

Mednick argued that the individual can produce creative solutions through one of three processes: serendipity, similarity, or meditation . Serendipity would be a process of accidental association, the similarity would be by evocation between two elements and meditation would produce evocation to present three or more elements.


This author also identified different variables, especially differentialists, which could contribute to increasing the probability of reaching a creative solution or of making a novel association. In this way a basis for the psychological study of the creative was created from an associationist theory of creativity.

The Remote Associations Test

Apparently, one of the advantages of the theory of association applied to creativity is that it could be put to the test. In 1967, Mednick operationalized the associative definition of creativity through the Remote Associations Test (RAT) , which is a very applied instrument in research on creative thinking, even today.

In their study, the Mednick team reported on the high RAT reliability values , as well as a positive correlation between high scores in RAT and high mental flexibility, while low scores in RAT were related to highly dogmatic individuals. Subsequent studies have found high correlation with the Creativity Rating Scale (CRS), while there seems to be no correlation between the RAT and the Miller Analogy Test (MAT) nor with the Grade Point Average (GPA).


Criticism of the creativity test

Despite the intensive use of the RAT in the study of creativity, the instrument has not been exempt from criticism . One of them is oriented to omit the effect that the motivation of the individual may have on the score, as well as other factors intrinsic to the person, such as their past experiences. It has also been found that a high score in RAT is significantly related to other cognitive variables such as verbal ability.

Likewise, the associative theory as a whole also has detractors. Among them is Daniel Fasko, who argues that the associative theory of creativity is too simplistic to address the complexity of this psychological phenomenon.

Alexander Bain and the concept of incubation

One of the proposals on creativity that has been born of associationism is the idea of ‚Äč‚Äčincubation proposed by Alexander Bain.

This author proposes that the incubation takes place when the new combinations of elements emerge from the ideas that already exist in the mind of the individual. From this perspective, creation from nothing would be impossible, because creation is understood as an act of combining, in a novel way, the substrate stored in the minds of individuals.

Incidental learning

Other authors point to the importance of the process of formation, retention and use of associations not only for creativity, but also for incidental learning, understood as incidental learning a situation in which apparently irrelevant ideas or relationships tend to be associated later generating a change in the knowledge of the individual and / or in his behavior.

In this sense, it is understood that a creative individual will exhibit better incidental learning.

To explain the possible connection between creativity and incidental learning, two hypotheses have been proposed: (a) a highly creative individual has a greater perceptual sensitivity for seemingly irrelevant stimuli; and (b) the highly creative person can better retain the stimulus and make it more accessible later, with the purpose of using the information in an incidental learning task (Laughlin, 1967).

Creative thinking seen from associationism

In summary, from the perspective of associationism, creative thinking is the result of a mental process in which disparate elements come together in a novel way resulting in a useful proposal to the individual or the environment , or solving a problem.

According to the associationists, ideas lead successively to other ideas and this continuum of connections would constitute the general functioning of the mind.

From this perspective, any associative theory about creativity will focus on analyzing the ways in which these ideas can be generated and in how these ideas are linked together in our mind .

At present, there is a consensus that expanding the number of options or elements, so that a great variety of associations can be generated, facilitates creativity. In fact, many of the current theories of creativity place the key to the creative process, precisely, in the association of ideas proposed by Mednick.

  • Related article: "The psychology of creativity and creative thinking"

What is ASSOCIATIONISM? What does ASSOCIATIONISM mean? ASSOCIATIONISM meaning & explanation (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie associationniste de la créativité de Mednick (et d'autres auteurs)

La théorie associationniste de la créativité de Mednick (et d'autres auteurs)

Juin 5, 2020

L'associationnisme était à ses débuts une approche philosophique affirmant que la pensée humaine opérait en associant un État à d'autres États successeurs.

Les associationnistes britanniques, parmi lesquels John Locke et David Hume se distinguent , ont fait valoir que ce principe d’association s’appliquait à tous les processus mentaux et que les idées s’y associaient dans l’esprit selon certaines lois, parmi lesquelles la loi de la continuité et la loi de la similitude.

De quelle manière ce concept est-il associé aux processus créatifs? Pour cela nous devons examiner la théorie associationniste de la créativité .

Les idées de Sarnoff Mednick

La loi de la continuité postule que les idées qui ont été expérimentées ensemble tendent à apparaître ensemble dans notre esprit (par exemple, lorsqu'une situation évoque un sentiment ou le souvenir d'une personne).


La loi de la similarité, quant à elle, soutient que les contenus psychiques qui ont une similitude ont tendance à se manifester ensemble dans notre pensée (par exemple, quand une image de quelqu'un évoque des traits de sa personnalité).

En 1962, Sarnoff Mednick a publié sa théorie associative du processus de création , dans lequel il a soutenu que la pensée créatrice était le processus par lequel des éléments disparates se combinent dans de nouvelles combinaisons pour élaborer une proposition utile pour l'individu ou la société. La combinaison des éléments les plus éloignés est considérée comme plus créative que la combinaison d'éléments plus similaires.

Sérendipité, similitude et méditation

Mednick a soutenu que l'individu peut produire des solutions créatives par l’un des trois processus suivants: sérendipité, similarité ou méditation . La sérendipité serait un processus d'association accidentelle, la similitude serait par l'évocation entre deux éléments et la méditation produirait une évocation pour présenter trois éléments ou plus.


Cet auteur a également identifié différentes variables, en particulier les différentiels, qui pourraient contribuer à augmenter la probabilité de parvenir à une solution créative ou de créer une nouvelle association. Ainsi, une base d'étude psychologique de la création a été créée à partir d'une théorie associationniste de la créativité.

Le test des associations distantes

Apparemment, l’un des avantages de la théorie de l’association appliquée à la créativité est qu’elle pourrait être mise à l’épreuve. En 1967, Mednick a opérationnalisé la définition associative de la créativité via le test des associations distantes (RAT) , qui est un instrument très appliqué dans la recherche sur la pensée créative, même de nos jours.

Dans leur étude, l’équipe Mednick a rendu compte de la valeurs de fiabilité RAT élevées , ainsi qu’une corrélation positive entre les scores élevés en RAT et la flexibilité mentale élevée, alors que les scores faibles en RAT étaient liés à des individus extrêmement dogmatiques. Des études ultérieures ont montré une forte corrélation avec l’Échelle de notation de la créativité (CRS), alors qu’il ne semble pas exister de corrélation entre le test RAT et le test d’analogie de Miller (MAT) ni avec la moyenne pondérée cumulative (GPA).


Critique du test de créativité

Malgré l’utilisation intensive du RAT dans l’étude de la créativité, l'instrument n'a pas été exempt de critiques . L'une d'elles est orientée de manière à supprimer l'effet que la motivation de l'individu peut avoir sur le score, ainsi que d'autres facteurs intrinsèques à la personne, tels que ses expériences passées. Il a également été constaté qu'un score élevé de la RAT est significativement lié à d'autres variables cognitives telles que la capacité verbale.

De même, la théorie associative dans son ensemble a aussi des détracteurs. Parmi eux, Daniel Fasko, qui soutient que la théorie associative de la créativité est trop simpliste pour aborder la complexité de ce phénomène psychologique.

Alexander Bain et le concept d'incubation

Une des propositions sur la créativité qui est née de l’association est l’idée d’incubation proposée par Alexander Bain.

Cet auteur propose que l'incubation a lieu lorsque les nouvelles combinaisons d'éléments se dégagent des idées existantes dans l'esprit de l'individu. Dans cette perspective, la création à partir de rien serait impossible, car la création est comprise comme un acte combinant de manière nouvelle le substrat stocké dans l'esprit des individus.

Apprentissage accidentel

D'autres auteurs soulignent l'importance du processus de formation, de conservation et d'utilisation des associations, non seulement pour la créativité, mais aussi pour l'apprentissage fortuit, compris comme apprentissage fortuit, une situation dans laquelle des idées ou des relations apparemment non pertinentes tendent à être associées plus tard générer un changement dans les connaissances de l'individu et / ou dans son comportement.

En ce sens, il est entendu qu'un individu créatif manifestera un meilleur apprentissage incident.

Pour expliquer le lien possible entre créativité et apprentissage fortuit, deux hypothèses ont été proposées: (a) un individu très créatif a une sensibilité perceptuelle plus grande pour des stimuli apparemment non pertinents; et (b) la personne très créative peut mieux retenir le stimulus et le rendre plus accessible ultérieurement, dans le but d'utiliser les informations dans une tâche d'apprentissage fortuite (Laughlin, 1967).

Pensée créatrice vue par l'associationnisme

En résumé, du point de vue de l’associationnisme, la pensée créatrice est le résultat d’un processus mental dans lequel des éléments disparates se combinent de manière nouvelle. aboutissant à une proposition utile à l'individu ou à l'environnement ou résoudre un problème.

Selon les associationnistes, les idées mènent successivement à d'autres idées et ce continuum de connexions constituerait le fonctionnement général de l'esprit.

Dans cette perspective, toute théorie associative sur la créativité se focalisera sur l’analyse de la manière dont ces idées peuvent être générées et en comment ces idées sont liées dans notre esprit .

À l’heure actuelle, il est généralement admis qu’augmenter le nombre d’options ou d’éléments permettant de générer une grande variété d’associations facilite la créativité. En fait, de nombreuses théories actuelles sur la créativité placent la clé du processus créatif, précisément dans l’association des idées proposée par Mednick.

  • Article connexe: "La psychologie de la créativité et de la pensée créatrice"

Les théories d'apprentissage (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes