yes, therapy helps!
What is really Populism?

What is really Populism?

April 27, 2024

The concept of "populism "(Or adjective" populist ") has entered the current political scene in a fast and almost forced way. This word, although it is used assiduously by politicians, media or even ordinary citizens, does not seem to have a consensus definition and, therefore, its use can lead to confusion.

The formulation and use of words with various meanings is a topic of interest for cultural and political psychology, and that is why we propose to investigate within the bowels of this ambiguous concept which has come to be used (not always correctly) both to designate a xenophobic movement and the "Front National" of Marine Le Pen or the party of PODEMOS led by Pablo Iglesias .


What is "Populism"?

"Populism", understood as a political practice, derives from the Latin word populus which, as is easily deductible, means village . Interestingly, "democracy", formed by the Greek root of dêmos it also means village. According to the sociologist Gérard Mauger [1], the concept of town which refers to "democracy" it is the civic body in the whole of a nation-state . On the contrary, the people who refer to "populism" can be interpreted in two different ways, both conceptions being based on different mental representations of reality. The first, the version corresponding to the conservative political prism, refers to ethnos rather than populus, where its main nuance resides in a logic of social Darwinism. Therefore, xenophobic and excluding logic, as if culture were something closed, well delimited and to some extent atemporal; In addition, it aims to criminalize a political class based in power.


Conversely, the second version , more likely to be used by the political sectors of the left, does not look at social Darwinism, but considers the people as a whole, without differences except those that intervene in the division of classes. That is, according to this conception the town is the living body in which the culture develops , a confluence of singularities that can not be covered by a single explanatory framework. Politically, it is the people dispossessed by over-empowered elites who try to mold the people according to their interests.

Populism and We Can (Pablo Iglesias)

To these last two conceptualizations proposed by the French sociologist, one could add one whose use is predominant lately in the speeches of certain political parties in the Kingdom of Spain. These characteristics could be added in the two proposals of the sociologist. The "populism", used predominantly to designate the political formation PODEMOS (argument used by the Popular Party and the Spanish Socialist Workers Party), has a connotation somewhat different from the definitions previously proposed and, therefore, certainly incorrect. The noun seems to denominate a political practice composed of fallacious arguments whose purpose is aimed at capturing an electorate in general (the people) and, ultimately, power . This definition is closer to demagogy, but the similarities with "populism" and the ease of mixing one with the other are obvious.


On the other hand, Ernesto Laclau, political scientist and Argentine philosopher, suggests a definition that brings together the division between the two visions mentioned above:

"Populism is not a pejorative term. But rather a neutral notion. Populism is a way to build politics. Play the base against the summit, the people against the elites, the masses mobilized against the official institutions set. "

Differences between Populism and Demagogy

Understanding "populism" as a political practice that leads the interpretation of problems towards those of above, that is, against political-economic elites, does not lead inexorably to define a political discourse as fallacious (extended practice in the anti-PODEMOS argument) ). In fact, if we take this definition, "populism" as a fallacious political practice, we could get to denominate as populists the great majority of political parties of the Spanish fan, only for the fact of being subject to the logic of electoralism in a representative democracy .

Conversely, "populism", as a political practice directed to the call of the people against their elites, contributes to the political interventionism of the citizen who they are (or should be), in the first instance, those directly responsible for a democracy. The cases of corruption, the politics of cultural confrontation, the cuts of the public sector ... no longer leave space to think of another representation of reality outside the corruption of the current political system and those who perpetuate it.

Notes:

[1] Gérard Mauger is a French sociologist, director of research at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) in France and deputy director of the Center for European Sociology (CSE).


What Is Populism? (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que le populisme?

Qu'est-ce que le populisme?

Mai 25, 2022

Le concept de "populisme "(Ou adjectif" populiste ") est entré dans la scène politique actuelle de manière rapide et presque forcée. Ce mot, bien qu’il soit utilisé assidûment par les politiciens, les médias ou même les citoyens ordinaires, ne semble pas avoir de définition consensuelle et, par conséquent, son utilisation peut prêter à confusion.

La formulation et l’utilisation de mots ayant différentes significations sont un sujet d’intérêt pour la psychologie culturelle et politique, c’est pourquoi nous proposons d’examiner dans les entrailles de ce concept ambigu qui a été utilisé (pas toujours correctement). à la fois pour désigner un mouvement xénophobe et le "Front national" de Marine Le Pen ou le parti du PODEMOS dirigé par Pablo Iglesias .


Qu'est-ce que le "populisme"?

Le "populisme", compris comme une pratique politique, dérive du mot latin populus qui, comme il est facile de déduire, signifie village . Fait intéressant, la "démocratie", formée par la racine grecque de dêmos cela signifie aussi village. Selon le sociologue Gérard Mauger [1], le concept de ville qui se réfère à la "démocratie" c'est le corps civique dans l'ensemble d'un État-nation . Au contraire, les gens qui parlent de "populisme" peuvent être interprétés de deux manières différentes, les deux conceptions étant basées sur des représentations mentales différentes de la réalité. La première, la version correspondant au prisme politique conservateur, fait référence à l'ethno plutôt qu'au populus, où sa principale nuance réside dans une logique du darwinisme social. Par conséquent, logique xénophobe et excluant, comme si la culture était une chose fermée, bien délimitée et, dans une certaine mesure, intemporelle; En outre, il vise à criminaliser une classe politique basée au pouvoir.


Au contraire, la deuxième version , plus susceptible d’être utilisé par les secteurs politiques de gauche, ne se penche pas sur le darwinisme social, mais considère le peuple dans son ensemble, sans différence sauf celles qui interviennent dans la division des classes. C'est, selon cette conception la ville est le corps vivant dans lequel la culture se développe , une confluence de singularités qui ne peut être couverte par un seul cadre explicatif. Politiquement, ce sont les personnes dépossédées par des élites surpuissantes qui essaient de façonner le peuple en fonction de leurs intérêts.

Le populisme et nous pouvons (Pablo Iglesias)

À ces deux dernières conceptualisations proposées par le sociologue français, on pourrait en ajouter une dont l'utilisation est prédominante ces derniers temps dans les discours de certains partis politiques du Royaume d'Espagne. Ces caractéristiques pourraient être ajoutées aux deux propositions du sociologue. Le "populisme", utilisé principalement pour désigner la formation politique PODEMOS (argument utilisé par le Parti populaire et le Parti socialiste ouvrier espagnol), a une connotation quelque peu différente des définitions précédemment proposées et, par conséquent, certainement incorrecte. Le nom semble se dénommer une pratique politique composée d'arguments fallacieux ayant pour but de capturer un électorat en général (le peuple) et, finalement, le pouvoir . Cette définition est plus proche de la démagogie, mais les similitudes avec le "populisme" et la facilité de mélange entre eux sont évidentes.


Par ailleurs, Ernesto Laclau, politologue et philosophe argentin, propose une définition qui associe la division entre les deux visions mentionnées ci-dessus:

"Le populisme n’est pas un terme péjoratif. Mais plutôt une notion neutre. Le populisme est un moyen de construire la politique. Jouez la base contre le sommet, le peuple contre les élites, les masses mobilisées contre les institutions officielles établies. "

Différences entre populisme et démagogie

Comprendre le "populisme" comme une pratique politique qui oriente l'interprétation des problèmes vers ceux d'en haut, c'est-à-dire contre les élites politico-économiques, ne conduit pas inexorablement à définir un discours politique comme fallacieux (pratique étendue dans l'argument anti-PODEMOS) ). En fait, si nous prenons cette définition du "populisme" comme une pratique politique fallacieuse, nous pourrions arriver à qualifier de populistes la grande majorité des partis politiques de l'éventail espagnol, uniquement pour le fait d'être soumis à la logique de l'électoralisme dans une démocratie représentative .

Au contraire, le "populisme", en tant que pratique politique orientée vers l'appel du peuple contre ses élites, contribue à l'interventionnisme politique du citoyen qu'il est (ou devrait être), en premier lieu, ceux qui sont directement responsables d’une démocratie. Les cas de corruption, les politiques de confrontation culturelle, les coupes dans le secteur public… ne laissent plus la place à une autre représentation de la réalité en dehors de la corruption du système politique actuel et de ceux qui le perpétuent.

Notes:

[1] Gérard Mauger est un sociologue français, directeur de recherche au Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) en France et directeur adjoint du Centre de sociologie européenne (CSE).

Articles Connexes