yes, therapy helps!
The third person effect: everyone is indoctrinated except me

The third person effect: everyone is indoctrinated except me

September 24, 2022

Each one of us has an idea about himself, a self-concept. We also have an idea about the world, a way of representing the reality that surrounds us and the people with whom we interact. And we also have an idea about how we or others can get or be affected by things. In this sense, we can observe that with regard to the visualization of advertising, we generally consider that it has a different effect on ourselves than on the rest. It is what is known as the third person effect , which we will explain throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

The third person effect: what is it?

We call the third person effect to a distortion in our belief system through which we consider that others are more influenced than ourselves.


The effect in question observes that, seen an advertising element or submitted to a specific argument to an attempt of persuasion, we tend to consider that the effect it has on ourselves is low or non-existent while in turn we consider it much more likely that third parties will be affected by it and modify your beliefs. The effect in question was formulated by Davidson in 1983, in the observation of people's beliefs regarding the power of persuasion in advertising.

The denomination "third person" starts from the idea that we usually think that not only we will not be affected by persuasion but also those that are close to us (friends, couple, family or people to whom we feel united in general), while that yes it will be people that are unknown to us or with whom we do not feel a connection. In other words: we believe that neither the subject we call "I" nor the one we consider "you" will be easily persuaded, but we usually call him / her with a certain imprecision if we consider them more susceptible.


  • You may be interested: "What is" the Self "in Psychology?"

What are these beliefs?

The third person effect is an effect that appears on a regular basis in most people and that is not pathological at all. But once defined, it is necessary to ask the why of this type of beliefs. And on the one hand, this effect supposes an overvaluation of one's ability to resist an attempt at persuasion , while on the other it supposes an underestimation of the resilience of others towards persuasion attempts.

In this sense, the same author who coined it (Davidson) considered that the cause of the third person effect was in pluralistic ignorance, that is, to the consideration of others they will not be able to analyze the situation with the same level of ability that we , either due to lack of skill or lack of the same information. This will cause external persuasion attempts to make more impression on them than on the subject itself.


Other authors, including some more psychodynamic, indicate that this effect is the product of individuation and the defense of self-concept: we believe ourselves less vulnerable than the rest as a mechanism to protect our own self-concept, in such a way that we unconsciously overestimate our abilities of resistance.

Influential factors

It should be noted that the third person effect it does not appear in the same way and with the same intensity before any attempt of persuasion , there are several factors that influence the consideration we have regarding the ability of a message to generate a behavioral change.

One of the main factors that influence is the message, affecting aspects such as its level of consistency, generality and abstraction. An unclear message, formulated in a generic way and with little specificity and with a somewhat abstract theme, has a greater tendency to generate a third person effect. Interestingly, if the message is much more structured and specific, the consideration is inverted, the third person effect ceases to appear to the first person effect: we believe that third parties are not going to be as deeply affected or moved by the message as we are.

On the other hand, the sender of the message and our relationship or consideration for him or her is also an element that can have a great influence on the differentiated belief regarding his ability to convince us and the rest. In general, the worse consideration we have of the subject or institution emitting greater intensity of the third person effect.

For example if we hate someone we will consider that their messages will not have any effect on us or our environment, while we accept that third parties can be convinced or deceived more easily by lacking the same information regarding the issuer.

Finally, another element to consider is the emotional sphere and the interest of the subject himself with respect to the message itself. A greater emotional involvement or the existence of motivation or interest tends to assume that the third person effect is not or will be less, being more likely to occur the aforementioned first person effect.

Bibliographic references

  • Davison, W. P. (1983). The third-person effect in communication. Public Opinion Quarterly, vol. 47: 1-15.
  • Paul, B .; Salwen, M.B. & Dupagne, M. (2000). The Third-Person Effect: A Meta-Analysis of the Perceptual Hypothesis. Mass Communication and Society; 3 (1): 57-85.
  • Falces, C: Bautista, R and Sierra, B. (2011). The third person effect: the role of the quality of the arguments and the type of estimate. Journal of Social Psychology, 26 (1): 133-139.

Mass Effect 3 - Shepard's Indoctrination (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'effet troisième personne: tout le monde est endoctriné sauf moi

L'effet troisième personne: tout le monde est endoctriné sauf moi

Mai 26, 2022

Chacun de nous a une idée de soi, un concept de soi. Nous avons également une idée du monde, une manière de représenter la réalité qui nous entoure et les personnes avec lesquelles nous interagissons. Et nous avons également une idée de la façon dont nous ou les autres pouvons être touchés ou affectés par les choses. En ce sens, on peut constater qu'en ce qui concerne la visualisation de la publicité, on considère généralement que cela a un effet différent sur nous-mêmes que sur le reste. Il est ce qu'on appelle l'effet à la troisième personne , que nous expliquerons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

L'effet troisième personne: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Nous appelons l'effet de troisième personne à une distorsion dans notre système de croyance à travers lequel nous considérons que les autres sont plus influencés que nous-mêmes.


L'effet en question indique que, vu un élément publicitaire ou soumis à un argument spécifique en vue d'une tentative de persuasion, nous avons tendance à considérer que l'effet qu'il produit sur nous-mêmes est faible ou inexistant alors que nous considérons qu'il est beaucoup plus probable que des tiers en soient affectés et modifiez vos croyances. L’effet en question a été formulé par Davidson en 1983, dans l’observation des croyances des gens concernant le pouvoir de persuasion dans la publicité.

La dénomination «troisième personne» part de l’idée que nous pensons généralement que non seulement nous ne serons pas influencés par la persuasion mais aussi par ceux qui nous sont proches (amis, couple, famille ou personnes avec lesquelles nous nous sentons unis en général), que oui, ce seront des personnes qui nous sont inconnues ou avec lesquelles nous ne ressentons aucun lien. En d'autres termes: nous pensons que ni le sujet appelé "je" ni celui que nous considérons comme "vous" ne seront facilement persuadés, mais nous l'appelons généralement avec une certaine imprécision si nous les considérons plus susceptibles.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que" le Soi "en psychologie?"

Quelles sont ces croyances?

L'effet de troisième personne est un effet qui apparaît régulièrement chez la plupart des gens et qui n'est pas du tout pathologique. Mais une fois défini, il est nécessaire de demander le pourquoi de ce type de croyances. Et d’une part, cet effet suppose une surévaluation de sa capacité à résister à une tentative de persuasion de l'autre, cela suppose une sous-estimation de la capacité de résistance des autres face aux tentatives de persuasion.

En ce sens, le même auteur qui l’a inventé (Davidson) a estimé que la cause de l’effet de tierce personne résidait dans l’ignorance pluraliste, c’est-à-dire à la considération des autres. ils ne pourront pas analyser la situation avec le même niveau de capacité que nous , soit par manque de compétence, soit par le manque d'informations identiques. Cela provoquera des tentatives de persuasion externes visant à les impressionner davantage que sur le sujet lui-même.


D'autres auteurs, dont certains plus psychodynamiques, indiquent que cet effet est le produit de l'individuation et de la défense de la notion de soi: nous nous croyons moins vulnérables que les autres en tant que mécanisme permettant de protéger notre propre conception de nous-mêmes, de manière à surestimer inconsciemment nos capacités de résistance.

Facteurs d'influence

Il convient de noter que l’effet de troisième personne il n'apparaît pas de la même manière et avec la même intensité avant toute tentative de persuasion , il existe plusieurs facteurs qui influencent la prise en compte de la capacité d’un message à générer un changement de comportement.

Le message est l’un des principaux facteurs qui influent sur des aspects tels que son niveau de cohérence, sa généralité et son abstraction. Un message peu clair, formulé de manière générique et avec peu de spécificité et avec un thème quelque peu abstrait, a davantage tendance à générer un effet de tierce personne. Il est intéressant de noter que si le message est beaucoup plus structuré et spécifique, la considération est inversée, l’effet de tierce personne cesse d’apparaître à la première personne: nous pensons que les tiers ne seront pas aussi profondément affectés par le message que le nôtre.

D'autre part, l'expéditeur du message et notre relation ou notre considération pour lui est également un élément qui peut avoir une grande influence sur la croyance différenciée concernant sa capacité à nous convaincre et à convaincre les autres. En général, la moins bonne considération que nous avons du sujet ou de l'institution émettant une plus grande intensité de l'effet de tiers.

Par exemple si nous détestons quelqu'un, nous considérerons que ses messages n'auront aucun effet sur nous ou notre environnement, alors que nous acceptons que des tiers puissent être convaincus ou trompés plus facilement en ne disposant pas des mêmes informations sur l'émetteur.

Enfin, un autre élément à considérer est la sphère émotionnelle et l’intérêt du sujet lui-même pour le message lui-même. Une plus grande implication émotionnelle ou l'existence d'une motivation ou d'un intérêt tendent à supposer que l'effet de tierce personne n'est pas ou sera moindre, ce qui est plus susceptible de produire l'effet de première personne susmentionné.

Références bibliographiques

  • Davison, W. P. (1983). L'effet à la troisième personne en communication. Journal d'opinion trimestriel, vol. 47: 1-15.
  • Paul, B.; Salwen, M.B. & Dupagne, M. (2000). L'effet à la troisième personne: une méta-analyse de l'hypothèse perceptuelle. Communication de masse et société; 3 (1): 57 à 85.
  • Falces, C: Bautista, R et Sierra, B. (2011). L'effet de troisième personne: le rôle de la qualité des arguments et du type d'estimation. Journal of Social Psychology, 26 (1): 133-139.

Secte Mode d'emploi: LA SECTE 1/3 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes