yes, therapy helps!
What is anterograde amnesia and what symptoms does it present?

What is anterograde amnesia and what symptoms does it present?

January 25, 2023

When we talk about someone suffering from amnesia, we automatically think of a person who does not remember their past. There is another type, antegrade amnesia, which consists of the inability to form new memories .

This memory problem usually goes hand in hand with retrograde amnesia, that of past episodes, but it is not always linked. It is, therefore, a form of independent amnesia with its own causes and altered mechanisms.

Causes of anterograde amnesia

The causes that cause brain injuries can be very diverse : traumatic brain injuries, hypoxia, herpetic encephalitis or vascular problems. The lesion that causes purest anterograde amnesia is the lesion of the anterior thalamus, usually of vascular origin.


In addition, it is possible to lose pyramidal cells in the bilateral hippocampus due to lack of oxygen or a blow to the skull, causing an amnesia that may be pure, or may occur in conjunction with other types of amnesia.

What is the problem in this type of amnesia?

Broadly speaking, patients with antegrade amnesia can not learn new information. They are unable to retain a long-term name, a new face, or learn some kind of game they did not know before.

They do not have perception problems, and they have a good working memory. These patients can remember new information and work with it for a short time, but are unable to retain it and remember it after a few hours . It is as if the new information, once it is no longer present, vanishes.


We know that to store information in memory, it is necessary that a coding and storage process occurs. Science, curious by nature, wonders exactly at what point in this process fail individuals with antegrade amnesia. Below the most used hypotheses.

1. Coding problems

There are hypotheses that support that it is a coding problem. The brain, although it receives the sensory stimuli, has difficulty giving them meaning and extracting which are the most important characteristics.

For example, patients with Korsakoff syndrome have trouble learning apple-cheese word pairs. Normally, this learning is facilitated because both things share a characteristic, but the Korsakoff fail to establish this relationship. However, this explanation is weak and does not seem the most fundamental.


2. Consolidation problems

Another hypothesis states that the biological processes responsible for transporting the encoded information and storing it are damaged . Thus, although the subject can process the information and work with it at the time, it is unable to save it for later.

For example, a group of American football players were taken who, 30 seconds after suffering a concussion, were asked what had happened. The players were able to explain the order of the events well, but as time passed they were able to remember fewer events, showing that the memory had not been consolidated.

This theory does not answer, however, why the loss of these memories due to non-consolidation is gradual.

3. Problems with contextual information

From this hypothesis it is said that people with antegrade amnesia lose the function of saving contextual information . Although they can remember concrete words, they are not able to relate them to anything. Therefore, when they are asked to repeat the words they have heard before, by not relating these words to any previous situation, they are unable to recover them.

This hypothesis presents problems, such as the deficit in coding of the context is closely related to damage in the temporal lobe, and those patients who do not have it damaged may have anterograde amnesia without a specific contextual deficit.

4. Forgotten forgetfulness

The fourth possibility says that the processing and storage of memories is intact, the problem is that the new information is forgotten very quickly . However, it is a hypothesis that has contradictory scientific support that has not been replicated.

5. Recovery problems

This way of understanding anterograde amnesia is subdivided into two hypotheses. The hypothesis of "pure" dysfunction in recovery says that there will be difficulties in accessing information learned independently of how it was learned. The other hypothesis postulates that, as the information retrieval depends a lot on how it was learned, the amnesiac has problems accessing the memory due to an initial problem in the coding.

In summary, the different theories point to a problem in the acquisition and consolidation of information, with a more subtle impact on the recovery processes. The exact explanation of why this acquisition problem occurs is in the air. One of the possible explanations may be that the amnestic patient's brain is unable to relate different types of information, such as contextual.


Amnesia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'amnésie antérograde et quels symptômes présente-t-elle?

Qu'est-ce que l'amnésie antérograde et quels symptômes présente-t-elle?

Juillet 20, 2022

Lorsque nous parlons d'une personne souffrant d'amnésie, nous pensons automatiquement à une personne qui ne se souvient pas de son passé. Il existe un autre type, l'amnésie antérieure, qui consiste en l'incapacité de former de nouveaux souvenirs. .

Ce problème de mémoire va généralement de pair avec l'amnésie rétrograde, celle des épisodes passés, mais il n'est pas toujours lié. C'est donc une forme d'amnésie indépendante avec ses causes propres et ses mécanismes altérés.

Causes de l'amnésie antérograde

Les causes des lésions cérébrales peuvent être très diverses : lésions cérébrales traumatiques, hypoxie, encéphalite herpétique ou problèmes vasculaires. La lésion qui cause l'amnésie antérograde la plus pure est la lésion du thalamus antérieur, généralement d'origine vasculaire.


En outre, il est possible de perdre des cellules pyramidales dans l'hippocampe bilatéral en raison d'un manque d'oxygène ou d'un coup au crâne, ce qui provoque une amnésie pure ou associée à d'autres types d'amnésie.

Quel est le problème dans ce type d'amnésie?

D'une manière générale, les patients atteints d'amnésie antérograde ne peuvent pas apprendre de nouvelles informations. Ils sont incapables de conserver un nom à long terme, un nouveau visage, ou d'apprendre un type de jeu qu'ils ne connaissaient pas auparavant.

Ils n'ont pas de problèmes de perception et ils ont une bonne mémoire de travail. Ces patients peuvent se souvenir de nouvelles informations et les utiliser pendant une courte période, mais sont incapables de le conserver et de s'en souvenir au bout de quelques heures . C'est comme si les nouvelles informations, une fois qu'elles n'étaient plus présentes, disparaissaient.


Nous savons que pour stocker des informations en mémoire, il est nécessaire qu'un processus de codage et de stockage ait lieu. La science, curieuse de nature, se demande à quel point de ce processus échouent les individus souffrant d’amnésie antérieure. Ci-dessous les hypothèses les plus utilisées.

1. Problèmes de codage

Il y a des hypothèses qui soutiennent que c'est un problème de codage. Le cerveau, bien qu'il reçoive les stimuli sensoriels, a du mal à leur donner un sens et à en extraire les caractéristiques les plus importantes.

Par exemple, les patients atteints du syndrome de Korsakoff ont du mal à apprendre les paires de mots pomme-fromage. Normalement, cet apprentissage est facilité parce que les deux choses ont une caractéristique commune, mais les Korsakoff ne parviennent pas à établir cette relation. Cependant, cette explication est faible et ne semble pas la plus fondamentale.


2. Problèmes de consolidation

Une autre hypothèse affirme que les processus biologiques responsables du transport de l’information codée et de son stockage sont endommagés . Ainsi, bien que le sujet puisse traiter les informations et les manipuler à ce moment-là, il ne peut pas les sauvegarder pour plus tard.

Par exemple, un groupe de joueurs de football américains ont été emmenés à qui on a demandé ce qui s'était passé, 30 secondes après avoir subi une commotion. Les joueurs ont pu expliquer l’ordre des événements mais, au fil du temps, ils ont pu se rappeler moins d’événements, ce qui montre que la mémoire n’avait pas été consolidée.

Cette théorie ne répond cependant pas pourquoi la perte de ces mémoires due à la non-consolidation est progressive.

3. Problèmes d’information contextuelle

De cette hypothèse on dit que les personnes souffrant d'amnésie antérograde perdent la fonction de sauvegarde des informations contextuelles . Bien qu'ils puissent se souvenir de mots concrets, ils ne sont pas en mesure de les relier à quoi que ce soit. Par conséquent, lorsqu'on leur demande de répéter les mots qu'ils ont entendus auparavant, en ne les rapportant à aucune situation antérieure, ils sont incapables de les retrouver.

Cette hypothèse pose des problèmes, tels que le déficit de codage du contexte est étroitement lié aux dommages dans le lobe temporal, et que les patients qui ne le subissent pas peuvent avoir une amnésie antérograde sans déficit contextuel spécifique.

4. Oubli oublié

La quatrième possibilité dit que le traitement et le stockage des mémoires sont intacts, le problème est que la nouvelle information est oubliée très rapidement . Cependant, il s’agit d’une hypothèse qui repose sur un soutien scientifique contradictoire et qui n’a pas été reproduite.

5. Problèmes de récupération

Cette manière de comprendre l'amnésie antérograde est subdivisée en deux hypothèses. L'hypothèse d'un dysfonctionnement "pur" dans la reprise indique qu'il sera difficile d'accéder à l'information appris indépendamment de la façon dont il a été appris. L'autre hypothèse postule que, comme la récupération d'informations dépend beaucoup de la manière dont elle a été apprise, l'amnésique a des problèmes pour accéder à la mémoire en raison d'un problème initial dans le codage.

En résumé, les différentes théories soulignent un problème d’acquisition et de consolidation de l’information, avec un impact plus subtil sur les processus de récupération. L'explication exacte de la raison pour laquelle ce problème d'acquisition se produit est dans l'air. L'une des explications possibles pourrait être que le cerveau du patient amnésique est incapable de relier différents types d'informations, tels que les informations contextuelles.


6 BUGS FOUS de TON CERVEAU ???? (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes