yes, therapy helps!
Medullary syndromes: types, causes and symptoms

Medullary syndromes: types, causes and symptoms

July 14, 2024

Within the human organism is the spinal cord, an extensive cord that is responsible for transport nerve impulses from the brain to the rest of the body and vice versa . Thanks to her we can make any movement, stand up or perceive all kinds of sensations, both internal and external.

However, when it is injured or suffer some kind of pathology Medullary syndromes or myelopathies appear . The term of spinal syndromes groups together a variety of marrow affections with consequences that affect both motor skills and sensory abilities.

  • Related article: "Spinal cord: anatomy, parts and functions"

What are spinal syndromes?

Medullary syndromes, or diseases of the spinal cord, refer to a diverse set of symptoms and signs that may vary depending on the location of the spinal cord injury .


Although these conditions do not usually occur very frequently, they tend to cause serious effects and consequences on the person's health, leading, in many cases, some type of disability .

This is the reason why a hasty diagnosis of these spinal syndromes, as well as an effective therapeutic intervention, is essential to diminish or compensate in the best way the symptoms of these conditions.

We can distinguish several types of spinal syndromes based on the symptoms that each one of them presents. These symptoms are associated with specific etiological processes; that is, to the causes that have caused the damage or injury. These damages can affect the entire medullary cylinder or, on the contrary, damage only a part of the cord in its cross section.


At the moment in which the medical professional has to make the diagnosis of one of these spinal syndromes, must take into account the possibility that it is any of the conditions, such as some autoimmune, muscular or psychiatric diseases, which have a symptomatology Similary. An exhaustive differential diagnosis will be the key to be able to carry out a satisfactory treatment of the patient .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Types of spinal syndromes

As mentioned above, there is a great variety of classic spinal syndromes. The main way to classify them is by taking into account their symptoms, as well as the temporal pattern of these.

1. Complete spinal cord injury

In those cases of complete spinal cord injury, or transverse myelopathy, the person will experience the disappearance of all sensory modalities , as well as a bilateral alteration of the motor pathways that are below the lesion.


This syndrome is characterized by presenting sensory symptoms and motor symptoms. The sensory symptoms of a complete spinal cord injury are:

  • Paresthesias or abnormal sensations of tingling and changes in body temperature. These sensations are given in the section that corresponds to the level of the injury.
  • Pain located in the vertebrae .
  • Root pain according to the location of the lesions. If it is a cervical injury, the person will experience pain in the arms, while if it is thoracic or lumbar, the pain will focus on the thorax and abdomen or legs.
  • Low sensory threshold or loss of all sensory modalities.

On the other hand, symptoms related to motor functions include:

  • Lesions in the lower motor neurons that cause muscle atrophy, fasciculations or small muscle contractions that can be observed under the skin and hyporeflexia or decreased reflex response.
  • Paraparesis / paraplegia or tetraparesis / tetraplegia . The person experiences paralysis or mobility problems, both of varying degree, in the lower extremities or in all four extremities.

2. Incomplete spinal cord injury

In cases of incomplete syndromes or spinal cord injuries, the spinal cord is not completely damaged at the transverse level , so that the person does not experience a total paralysis, nor a total loss of sensitivity.

Likewise, there are several types of incomplete spinal cord injuries that differ according to the set of symptoms they cause.

Medullary hemisection or Brown-Séquard syndrome

In this case the person suffers an alteration or damage in the hemimédula . However, it is very complicated that this lesion is just in the median line of the cord or that it appears purely unilaterally.

Spinal cord hemisection may be caused by some type of infection or injury at that particular point. Likewise, certain tumor bodies or degenerative diseases They can also cause this type of syndrome.

The symptoms typical of this condition usually appear at the ipsilateral level and below the level of the lesion, the most important being the paralysis of the first homolateral motor neuron and the lack of sensitivity to pain and temperature.

Symptoms of spinal cord hemisection include:

  • Ioslateral paralysis.
  • Thermoanalgesia or insensitivity to contralateral temperature.
  • Muscle weakness and paralysis .
  • Loss or diminution of sensibility and sensory perception.
  • Alterations in the perception of posture and position (proprioceptive system).

Centromedullary syndrome

In the condition of the medullary type, the damage is found in the central gray matter and in the spinothalamic tracts that cross the central area of ​​the medulla. In addition, this lesion can dissipate in a centrifugal way affecting other anatomical pathways.

Among the sensitive symptoms we find a loss of sensitivity to pain and temperature . While at motor level the person can experience muscle atrophy, fasciculations, muscle weakness and hyporeflexia.

Combined lesion of posterior and lateral cords

In this type of injury the person can experience motor symptoms such as muscle weakness, constant muscular spasticity or contraction, hyperreflexia and Babinski reflex, which consists of the dorsal extension of the big toe.

At a sensitive level, symptoms include alterations in the proprioceptive system and sensitivity to vibration .

Isolated lesion of posterior cords

In this case the damage is caused only in certain cords or posterior fibers. This injury causes an alteration of the proprioceptive and vibratory sensibility in the person, as well as ataxia or difficulties in the coordination of the movements. In addition, the person You may also experience a throbbing pain in your legs and urinary incontinence .

Previous antlers syndrome

In comparison with the rest of the ailments, in the anterior horns syndrome, only pure motor symptoms appear, typical of an atrophy in the second motor neuron. These symptoms include fasciculations, muscle weakness, hypotonia and hyporeflexia in one or several muscle groups. In addition, it also causes absence of reflexes.

Pyramidal and anterior horn syndrome combined

In this last syndrome of incomplete medullary nature, also only motor symptoms appear ; with the difference that symptoms of the first and second motor neurons develop simultaneously within the same muscle group. The cause is an anomaly present in the pyramidal tracts and in the previous horns.

3. Medullary vascular syndromes

Unlike the syndromes typical of complete and incomplete spinal cord injuries, in the spinal cord syndromes the origin of the anomaly is found in an anomaly of blood flow in any area of ​​the medulla .

Medullary arterial ischemia syndromes

In this case, the suspension of arterial blood supply in the spinal cord has the direct result of the occurrence of stroke or transient ischemic accidents.

Medullary venous ischemia syndrome

This type of syndromes are much more infrequent than the previous ones. Further, tend to affect the lower extremities , producing bilateral syndromes or complete transverse syndromes almost always asymmetrically.

The main causes of this type of pathologies are arteriovenous malformations, fibrocartilaginous emboli and the effects of decompression.

Medullary hemorrhage syndromes

In these syndromes we can differentiate between intramedullary hemorrhage and extramedullary hemorrhage . The intramedullary is produced by a vascular rupture causing spinal pain, paresis and sensory alterations below the level of the lesion.

As for extramedullary hemorrhage, this is much more infrequent. In this case the person experiences an acute spinal pain in the place where the effusion is found, together with symptoms similar to those of a cerebral subarachnoid hemorrhage. Among those that include numbness in one part of the body, cervical tension seizures, vision problems, nausea or muscle aches.


Brown-Séquard syndrome - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndromes médullaires: types, causes et symptômes

Syndromes médullaires: types, causes et symptômes

Septembre 18, 2019

Dans l’organisme humain se trouve la moelle épinière, une vaste moelle responsable de la transporter les impulsions nerveuses du cerveau au reste du corps et vice versa . Grâce à elle, nous pouvons faire n'importe quel mouvement, nous lever ou percevoir toutes sortes de sensations, à la fois internes et externes.

Cependant, quand il est blessé ou souffre d'une pathologie quelconque Des syndromes médullaires ou des myélopathies apparaissent . Le terme de syndromes spinaux regroupe diverses affections de la moelle osseuse dont les conséquences affectent à la fois la motricité et les capacités sensorielles.

  • Article connexe: "Moelle épinière: anatomie, pièces et fonctions"

Quels sont les syndromes de la colonne vertébrale?

Les syndromes médullaires ou les maladies de la moelle épinière se réfèrent à un ensemble divers de symptômes et de signes pouvant varier en fonction de la localisation de la lésion de la moelle épinière .


Bien que ces affections ne se produisent généralement pas très souvent, elles ont tendance à avoir des effets et conséquences graves sur la santé de la personne. conduisant, dans de nombreux cas, à un type d'incapacité .

C'est la raison pour laquelle un diagnostic hâtif de ces syndromes rachidiens, ainsi qu'une intervention thérapeutique efficace, sont essentiels pour atténuer ou compenser au mieux les symptômes de ces affections.

On peut distinguer plusieurs types de syndromes spinaux en fonction des symptômes présentés par chacun d’eux. Ces symptômes sont associés à des processus étiologiques spécifiques; c'est-à-dire aux causes qui ont causé le dommage ou la blessure. Ces dommages peuvent toucher l’ensemble du cylindre médullaire ou au contraire endommager seulement une partie du cordon dans sa section transversale.


Au moment où le professionnel de la santé doit poser le diagnostic de l’un de ces syndromes rachidiens, il doit tenir compte de la possibilité que l’une de ces affections, telle que certaines maladies auto-immunes, musculaires ou psychiatriques, présentent une symptomatologie. similaire Un diagnostic différentiel exhaustif sera la clé pour pouvoir mener à bien un traitement satisfaisant du patient .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Types de syndromes rachidiens

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, il existe une grande variété de syndromes rachidiens classiques. Le principal moyen de les classer est de prendre en compte leurs symptômes, ainsi que leur configuration temporelle.

1. Blessure complète à la moelle épinière

Dans les cas de lésion médullaire complète ou de myélopathie transversale, la personne fera l'expérience de la disparition de toutes les modalités sensorielles , ainsi qu'une altération bilatérale des voies motrices situées sous la lésion.


Ce syndrome se caractérise par la présentation de symptômes sensoriels et de symptômes moteurs. Les symptômes sensoriels d’une lésion médullaire complète sont les suivants:

  • Paresthésies ou sensations anormales de picotements et de changements de la température corporelle. Ces sensations sont données dans la section correspondant au niveau de la blessure.
  • Douleur localisée dans les vertèbres .
  • Douleur racinaire en fonction de la localisation des lésions. S'il s'agit d'une lésion cervicale, la personne ressentira des douleurs aux bras, tandis que si elle est thoracique ou lombaire, la douleur se concentrera sur le thorax, l'abdomen ou les jambes.
  • Seuil sensoriel bas ou perte de toutes les modalités sensorielles.

D'autre part, les symptômes liés aux fonctions motrices incluent:

  • Les lésions dans les neurones moteurs inférieurs qui causent atrophie musculaire, fasciculations ou petites contractions musculaires qui peut être observé sous la peau et l'hyporéflexie ou une réponse réflexe diminuée.
  • Paraparésie / paraplégie ou tétraparèse / tétraplégie . La personne éprouve des problèmes de paralysie ou de mobilité, tous deux de degré variable, aux extrémités inférieures ou aux quatre extrémités.

2. Lésion incomplète de la moelle épinière

En cas de syndromes incomplets ou de lésions de la moelle épinière, la moelle épinière n'est pas complètement endommagée au niveau transversal , afin que la personne ne subisse pas une paralysie totale, ni une perte totale de sensibilité.

De même, il existe plusieurs types de lésions de la moelle épinière incomplètes qui diffèrent en fonction de l'ensemble des symptômes qu'elles provoquent.

Hémisection médullaire ou syndrome de Brown-Séquard

Dans ce cas, la personne souffre une altération ou un dommage dans l'hémimédule . Cependant, il est très compliqué que cette lésion se situe dans la ligne médiane du cordon ou qu'elle apparaisse purement unilatérale.

L'hémisection de la moelle épinière peut être causée par un type d'infection ou de blessure à un moment donné. De même certains corps tumoraux ou maladies dégénératives Ils peuvent aussi causer ce type de syndrome.

Les symptômes typiques de cette affection apparaissent généralement au niveau ipsilatéral. et au-dessous du niveau de la lésion, le plus important étant la paralysie du premier neurone moteur homolatéral et le manque de sensibilité à la douleur et à la température.

Les symptômes de l'hémisection de la moelle épinière comprennent:

  • Paralysie Ioslateral.
  • Thermoanalgésie ou insensibilité à la température controlatérale.
  • Faiblesse musculaire et paralysie .
  • Perte ou diminution de la sensibilité et de la perception sensorielle.
  • Altérations dans la perception de la posture et de la position (système proprioceptif).

Syndrome centromédullaire

Dans l'état du type médullaire, les dommages se situent dans la matière grise centrale et dans les voies spinothalamiques qui traversent la zone centrale de la moelle épinière. De plus, cette lésion peut se dissiper de manière centrifuge en affectant d’autres voies anatomiques.

Parmi les symptômes sensibles on trouve une perte de sensibilité à la douleur et à la température . Au niveau moteur, la personne peut ressentir une atrophie musculaire, des fasciculations, une faiblesse musculaire et une hyporéflexie.

Lésion combinée des cordons postérieurs et latéraux

Dans ce type de blessure, la personne peut ressentir des symptômes moteurs tels que faiblesse musculaire, spasticité ou contraction musculaire constante, hyperréflexie et réflexe de Babinski, qui consistent en une extension dorsale du gros orteil.

Au niveau sensible, les symptômes incluent altérations du système proprioceptif et sensibilité aux vibrations .

Lésion isolée des cordons postérieurs

Dans ce cas, les dommages ne sont causés que par certaines cordes ou fibres postérieures. Cette blessure provoque une altération de la sensibilité proprioceptive et vibratoire chez la personne, ainsi qu'une ataxie ou des difficultés dans la coordination des mouvements. De plus, la personne Vous pouvez également ressentir une douleur lancinante dans les jambes et une incontinence urinaire. .

Syndrome de bois précédent

En comparaison avec le reste des affections, dans le syndrome des cornes antérieures, seuls apparaissent des symptômes moteurs purs, typiques d'une atrophie du deuxième neurone moteur. Ces symptômes incluent fasciculations, faiblesse musculaire, hypotonie et hyporéflexie dans un ou plusieurs groupes musculaires. En outre, il provoque également une absence de réflexes.

Syndrome pyramidal et corne antérieure combinés

Dans ce dernier syndrome de nature médullaire incomplète, également seuls les symptômes moteurs apparaissent ; à la différence que les symptômes des premier et second motoneurones se développent simultanément dans le même groupe musculaire. La cause est une anomalie présente dans les voies pyramidales et dans les cornes précédentes.

3. Syndromes vasculaires médullaires

Contrairement aux syndromes typiques des lésions médullaires complètes et incomplètes, dans les syndromes médullaires, l’origine de l’anomalie se trouve dans une anomalie du flux sanguin dans n'importe quelle zone de la moelle .

Syndrome d'ischémie artérielle médullaire

Dans ce cas, la suspension de l'apport de sang artériel dans la moelle épinière a pour conséquence directe la survenue d'accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou d'accidents ischémiques transitoires.

Syndrome d'ischémie veineuse médullaire

Ce type de syndromes sont beaucoup plus rares que les précédents. En outre, ont tendance à affecter les membres inférieurs , produisant des syndromes bilatéraux ou des syndromes transversaux complets presque toujours asymétriquement.

Les principales causes de ce type de pathologies sont les malformations artérioveineuses, les emboles fibrocartilagineux et les effets de la décompression.

Syndromes d'hémorragie médullaire

Dans ces syndromes on peut différencier une hémorragie intramédullaire d'une hémorragie extramédullaire . L'intramédullaire est produit par une rupture vasculaire provoquant des douleurs à la colonne vertébrale, une parésie et des altérations sensorielles inférieures au niveau de la lésion.

Quant aux hémorragies extramédullaires, elles sont beaucoup plus rares. Dans ce cas, la personne ressent une douleur rachidienne aiguë à l'endroit où se trouve l'épanchement, ainsi que des symptômes similaires à ceux d'une hémorragie cérébrale sous-arachnoïdienne. Parmi ceux qui comprennent un engourdissement dans une partie du corps, des convulsions de tension cervicale, des problèmes de vision, des nausées ou des douleurs musculaires.


Syndrome de Arnold Chiari, Syringomyélie et Scoliose - Institut Chiari de Barcelona (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes