yes, therapy helps!
Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects

Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects

November 27, 2021

Mood disorders are, after anxiety disorders, the most prevalent in the population. Within these types of disorder, depression is the best known and most frequent.

It is a disorder that causes great problems in practically all of the vital areas of the human being, affecting both cognitive, emotional and interpersonal. For this reason, its treatment is one of the main goals of psychology and psychiatry, developing different types of treatments both at the psychological level and the cognitive-behavioral treatment as pharmacological in the form of antidepressants.

Regarding the latter, Research throughout history has produced numerous types of antidepressants in order to produce an improvement in depressive symptomatology avoiding side effects as much as possible.


Remembering concepts: what is depression?

The main objective of the different types of antidepressant is to treat depression . Starting from this premise, it is justified to make a small review of what we consider depression. At a clinical level, depression is considered to be a condition in which there is a sad state of mind (which can be seen as irritable in the case of childhood depression) along with the absence of motivation and pleasure experimentation, together with other symptoms such as problems of sleep or weight.

Depressed people tend to have a high level of passivity at the vital level, feeling that they have little control of their lives and often feelings of hopelessness appear. Those who suffer from a depression therefore have a high level of negative affect, together with a low positive affect and, in general, usually present a low level of activation both mentally and physiologically.


Thus, the different types of professionals who are in charge of working to improve the situation of these people have to find methods and mechanisms that allow them to face these difficulties, having been created from pharmacology. different types of antidepressants which are described below.

Main types of antidepressants

The different antidepressants have different mechanisms of action, but the main hypotheses and treatments explain depression from the degradation of monoamines and / or serotonin, with which the antidepressants created are mainly focused on avoiding the degradation of these substances and maintaining them for more time in the synaptic space.

1. Inhibitors of the enzyme MonoAmino Oxidase or IMAOS

It is about the first antidepressants discovered. Its performance is based, as in the other types of antidepressants, on prevent the degradation of monoamines, concentrating on a particular enzyme . This enzyme is the monoamine oxidase, which is emitted from the presynaptic neuron when it captures an excess of monoamines in the cerebral synapse in order to eliminate said excess. Thus, eliminating or blocking this enzyme prevents the degradation of monoamines in the synaptic space, there being a greater availability of these neurotransmitters.


But nevertheless This type of antidepressant presents a high risk to health , since in interaction with substances containing thiamine (a substance easily found in a wide variety of foods) can cause hypertensive crisis, along with other unpleasant side effects. This is why they are mainly used in cases where other antidepressants have not shown any effect.

Types of IMAOS

Within the IMAOS we can find two subtypes. The first subtype is that of the irreversible monoamine oxidase inhibitors , whose main mechanism of action is the complete destruction of this enzyme, so that until it is not generated again its basic functionality is lost. This type of antidepressant is the one with the highest risk, its interaction with other substances rich in thiamin is dangerous and the food to be consumed must be carefully monitored to avoid serious health problems.

A second subgroup is the reversible inhibitors of monoamine oxidase or RIMA, which are preferable to other types of MAOIs because they do not pose such a high risk or tend to interact with diet. Its functioning is based on inhibiting temporarily the function of the enzyme. Moclobemide is one of the substances that are part of this type of antidepressant.

2. Tricyclic and tetracyclic antidepressants

These drugs are, after the MAOIs, the oldest and what for a long period of time were the most used antidepressants. Its mechanism of action is based on preventing the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline. However, its action is non-specific, affecting other hormones such as acetylcholine, histamine and dopamine.Due to this it can present serious side effects and even be addictive.

Overdose by these types of substances is potentially life-threatening . For these reasons and before the discovery of new substances are no longer used, more can still be found in clinical practice due to its greater effect in cases of severe depression.

3. Selective Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin or SSRIs

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors are currently the type of antidepressant most commonly used in clinical practice, being the treatment of choice in cases of depression, among other things because the side effects they produce are not as intense as those of others drugs used for the same purpose.

These are psychotropic drugs that act by specifically inhibiting the reabsorption of serotonin , not presenting effects in other neurotransmitters. Although they can produce some side effects, these are usually mild (nausea, vomiting or light sedation, among others), they are one of the safest classes, applied in patients who have not had previous contact with antidepressants.

In addition, the relationship between depression and anxiety and the specific mechanism of action of the SSRI makes it also used as a treatment of choice in some anxiety disorders.

4. Selective Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline or ISRN

This type of antidepressant, being its best-known exponents venlafaxine and duloxetine, acts on serotonin and noradrenaline as it does with tricyclics . The main difference with this other type of antidepressant is in its specificity, that is to say, while the dual inhibitors of serotonin and noradrenaline have an effect only in these two neurotransmitters, the tricyclics have an effect in other substances such as acetylcholine, being able to produce side effects

Since they work not only on serotonin but also with noradrenaline, these drugs manifest a relatively faster effect than other substances.

5. Selective Inhibitor of Reuptake of Dopamine and Noradrenaline: Bupropion

While this substance is best known for being very useful in the detoxification of nicotine and other substances, Bupropion has been shown to have positive effects in cases of depression , acting by inhibiting the transport of dopamine and noradrenaline.

Risks and side effects

Like all psychotropic drugs, the use of different types of antidepressants can entail various risks and side effects. It must be borne in mind that between the first administration of antidepressant and its therapeutic action, in general, it can take between two and four weeks because the neurons have to perform a process of adaptation and modification of their receptors, especially as relative to serotonin.

But nevertheless, the presence of side effects can occur before noticing its therapeutic effects , which is why treatment with antidepressants is usually discontinuous and often abandoned. Some of the symptoms and risks of the consumption of the different types of antidepressants available are the following.

Dependence

Some types of antidepressants can generate tolerance and dependence , the tricyclics being an example of this. Likewise, the abrupt cessation of its consumption can generate withdrawal syndromes and rebound effects, being necessary to regulate both its consumption and the cessation of it. That is why sometimes it is not recommended to make a sudden withdrawal of consumption, but a more gradual that allows the body to adapt to the new situation.

Overdose

Taking an excessive amount of antidepressants can lead to intoxication and overdose , the latter being lethal. The tricyclics are some of the drugs that have registered cases of this phenomenon, fact to value when medicating patients with suicidal ideations.

Hypertensive crisis

This type of side effect is one of the greatest risks that the MAOIs produce. It is due to the interaction of this substance with substances rich in proteins and thiamine, frequent elements in the diet. Thus strict control of diet and blood tests are necessary to prevent problems .

Sexual and genital symptoms

The taking of some antidepressants sometimes produces a decrease in the libido of those who take them, decreasing the desire or being able to cause situations like anorgasmia or delayed ejaculation. This happens because the hormonal imbalance produced by the consumption of these substances is very noticeable in sexual behavior, as this is very sensitive to this type of change.

Sleepiness and sleep problems

Many types of antidepressant cause the appearance of drowsiness and sedation as a secondary symptom. Others, such as the MAOIs, can suppress REM or paradoxical sleep , also producing problems when consolidating new knowledge.

Manic symptoms

Some substances cause you to go from a depressed to a manic state. An example of this is bupropion.

Other somatic and gastrointestinal symptoms

The presence of nausea and vomiting is common with the taking of these substances . as well as headaches and tremors. In fact, this type of symptoms are the most common secondary symptoms during the use of antidepressants, being generally mild. Many of these alterations appear initially and with the appearance of tolerance to the substance they disappear.

Bibliographic references:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Practical Guide to Central Nervous System Pharmacology. Madrid: Ed. Creation and design.
  • Grosso, P. (2013). Antidepressants University School of Medical Technology. University of the Republic of Paraguay.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Thase, M. E. (1992). Long-term treatments of recurrent depressive disorders. J. Clin. Psychiatry; 53

Antidepressants: SSRI, SNRI & Tricyclic Antidepressatns. Citalopram Prozac Amitriptyline (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets

Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets

Août 9, 2020

Les troubles de l'humeur sont, après les troubles anxieux, les plus fréquents dans la population. Parmi ces types de troubles, la dépression est la plus connue et la plus fréquente.

C'est un trouble qui cause de gros problèmes dans pratiquement tous les domaines vitaux de l'être humain, affectant à la fois les capacités cognitives, émotionnelles et interpersonnelles. Pour cette raison, son traitement est l’un des objectifs principaux de la psychologie et de la psychiatrie, en développant différents types de traitements tant au niveau psychologique qu’au traitement cognitivo-comportemental, comme le traitement pharmacologique sous la forme d’antidépresseurs.

En ce qui concerne ce dernier, La recherche à travers l'histoire a produit de nombreux types d'antidépresseurs afin de produire une amélioration de la symptomatologie dépressive en évitant autant que possible les effets secondaires.


Rappel des concepts: qu'est-ce que la dépression?

L’objectif principal des différents types d’antidépresseurs est de traiter la dépression. . Partant de là, il est justifié de faire un petit tour d’horizon de ce que nous considérons comme dépression. Sur le plan clinique, la dépression est considérée comme une affection caractérisée par un triste état d'esprit (qui peut être considéré comme irritable dans le cas d'une dépression infantile), ainsi que par l'absence d'expérimentation de la motivation et du plaisir, ainsi que par d'autres symptômes tels que des problèmes. de sommeil ou de poids.

Les personnes déprimées ont tendance à faire preuve d'une grande passivité au niveau vital. Elles ont le sentiment qu'elles ont peu de contrôle sur leur vie et que des sentiments de désespoir apparaissent souvent. Ceux qui souffrent de dépression ont donc un niveau élevé d’affect négatif, ainsi qu’un affect faible, et présentent en général un faible niveau d’activation mentale et physiologique.


Ainsi, les différents types de professionnels chargés d'améliorer la situation de ces personnes doivent trouver des méthodes et des mécanismes leur permettant de faire face à ces difficultés, ayant été créés à partir de la pharmacologie. différents types d'antidépresseurs qui sont décrits ci-dessous.

Principaux types d'antidépresseurs

Les différents antidépresseurs ont des mécanismes d’action différents, mais les principales hypothèses et traitements expliquent la dépression due à la dégradation des monoamines et / ou de la sérotonine, avec lesquels les antidépresseurs créés sont principalement destinés à éviter la dégradation de ces substances et à les maintenir pendant plus longtemps. le temps dans l'espace synaptique.

1. Inhibiteurs de l’enzyme MonoAmino Oxidase ou IMAOS

Il s'agit des premiers antidépresseurs découverts. Ses performances sont basées, comme dans les autres types d'antidépresseurs, sur empêcher la dégradation des monoamines, en se concentrant sur une enzyme particulière . Cette enzyme est la monoamine oxydase, qui est émise par le neurone présynaptique lorsqu'elle capture un excès de monoamines dans la synapse cérébrale afin d'éliminer ledit excès. Ainsi, l'élimination ou le blocage de cette enzyme empêche la dégradation des monoamines dans l'espace synaptique, une plus grande disponibilité de ces neurotransmetteurs.


Cependant Ce type d'antidépresseur présente un risque élevé pour la santé , car en interaction avec des substances contenant de la thiamine (une substance que l’on trouve facilement dans une grande variété d’aliments) peut provoquer une crise hypertensive, ainsi que d’autres effets secondaires désagréables. C'est pourquoi ils sont principalement utilisés dans les cas où d'autres antidépresseurs n'ont montré aucun effet.

Types d'IMAOS

Dans IMAOS, nous pouvons trouver deux sous-types. Le premier sous-type est celui des inhibiteurs irréversibles de la monoamine oxydase , dont le mécanisme d’action principal est la destruction complète de cette enzyme, de sorte que tant qu’elle n’est pas générée à nouveau, sa fonctionnalité de base est perdue. Ce type d'antidépresseur est celui qui présente le risque le plus élevé. Ses interactions avec d'autres substances riches en thiamine sont dangereuses et les aliments à consommer doivent être surveillés de près pour éviter de graves problèmes de santé.

Un deuxième sous-groupe est constitué par les inhibiteurs réversibles de la monoamine oxydase ou RIMA, qui sont préférables aux autres types de IMAO car ils ne présentent pas un risque aussi élevé ou ont tendance à interagir avec le régime alimentaire. Son fonctionnement repose sur l’inhibition temporaire de la fonction de l’enzyme. Le moclobémide est l’une des substances faisant partie de ce type d’antidépresseur.

2. Antidépresseurs tricycliques et tétracycliques

Après les IMAO, ces médicaments sont les plus anciens et ceux qui ont longtemps été les antidépresseurs les plus utilisés. Son mécanisme d’action repose sur la prévention de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline. Cependant, son action est non spécifique et affecte d'autres hormones telles que l'acétylcholine, l'histamine et la dopamine.Pour cette raison, il peut présenter des effets secondaires graves et même créer une dépendance.

Le surdosage par ces types de substances est potentiellement mortel . Pour ces raisons et avant que la découverte de nouvelles substances ne soit plus utilisée, on peut encore en trouver davantage dans la pratique clinique en raison de son effet plus important dans les cas de dépression grave.

3. Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine ou des ISRS

Les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine sont actuellement le type d'antidépresseur le plus couramment utilisé en pratique clinique. C'est le traitement de choix en cas de dépression, entre autres parce que les effets secondaires qu'ils produisent ne sont pas aussi intenses que ceux des autres médicaments utilisés aux mêmes fins.

Ce sont des médicaments psychotropes qui agissent en inhibant spécifiquement la réabsorption de la sérotonine , ne présentant pas d'effets sur d'autres neurotransmetteurs. Bien qu'ils puissent produire certains effets secondaires, ceux-ci sont généralement légers (nausée, vomissements ou sédation légère, entre autres), mais ils constituent l'une des classes les plus sûres, appliquée chez les patients n'ayant jamais eu de contact avec des antidépresseurs.

En outre, la relation entre la dépression et l’anxiété et le mécanisme d’action spécifique du SSRI en fait également un traitement de choix dans certains troubles anxieux.

4. Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline ou de l’ISRN

Ce type d'antidépresseur, étant ses exposants les plus connus, la venlafaxine et la duloxétine, agit sur la sérotonine et la noradrénaline comme chez les tricycliques . La principale différence avec cet autre type d’antidépresseur réside dans sa spécificité, c’est-à-dire que les inhibiteurs doubles de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline n’agissent que dans ces deux neurotransmetteurs, les tricycliques agissant dans d’autres substances telles que l’acétylcholine, produire des effets secondaires

Comme ils agissent non seulement sur la sérotonine, mais aussi avec la noradrénaline, ces médicaments ont un effet relativement plus rapide que d’autres substances.

5. Inhibiteur sélectif de la recapture de la dopamine et de la noradrénaline: bupropion

Bien que cette substance soit mieux connue pour être très utile dans la détoxification de la nicotine et d’autres substances, Le bupropion a des effets positifs dans les cas de dépression. , agissant en inhibant le transport de la dopamine et de la noradrénaline.

Risques et effets secondaires

Comme tous les médicaments psychotropes, l'utilisation de différents types d'antidépresseurs peut entraîner divers risques et effets secondaires. Il faut garder à l'esprit qu'entre la première administration d'antidépresseur et son action thérapeutique, en général, cela peut prendre entre deux et quatre semaines, car les neurones doivent effectuer un processus d'adaptation et de modification de leurs récepteurs, notamment: par rapport à la sérotonine.

Cependant, la présence d'effets secondaires peut survenir avant de remarquer ses effets thérapeutiques C'est pourquoi le traitement aux antidépresseurs est généralement discontinu et souvent abandonné. Certains des symptômes et des risques de la consommation des différents types d'antidépresseurs disponibles sont les suivants.

La dépendance

Certains types d'antidépresseurs peuvent générer de la tolérance et de la dépendance , les tricycliques en sont un exemple. De même, l'arrêt brutal de sa consommation peut générer des syndromes de sevrage et des effets de rebond, nécessaires pour réguler à la fois sa consommation et sa cessation. C'est pourquoi parfois il n'est pas recommandé de faire un retrait soudain de la consommation, mais un processus plus graduel qui permet au corps de s'adapter à la nouvelle situation.

Surdose

Prendre une quantité excessive d'antidépresseurs peut entraîner une intoxication et une surdose , ce dernier étant mortel. Les tricycliques sont quelques-uns des médicaments qui ont enregistré des cas de ce phénomène, un fait à évaluer lors de la prise en charge de patients ayant des idées suicidaires.

Crise hypertensive

Ce type d’effet secondaire est l’un des plus grands risques que les IMAO produisent. Cela est dû à l'interaction de cette substance avec des substances riches en protéines et en thiamine, éléments fréquents de l'alimentation. Pour lui un contrôle strict du régime alimentaire et des analyses de sang sont nécessaires pour prévenir les problèmes .

Symptômes sexuels et génitaux

La prise de certains antidépresseurs entraîne parfois une diminution de la libido de ceux qui les prennent, diminuer le désir ou être capable de provoquer des situations comme l'anorgasmie ou l'éjaculation retardée. Cela est dû au fait que le déséquilibre hormonal produit par la consommation de ces substances est très perceptible dans le comportement sexuel, car il est très sensible à ce type de changement.

Somnolence et problèmes de sommeil

De nombreux types d'antidépresseurs provoquent l'apparition de somnolence et de sédation en tant que symptôme secondaire. D'autres, tels que les IMAO, peut supprimer le sommeil paradoxal ou paradoxal , produisant également des problèmes lors de la consolidation de nouvelles connaissances.

Symptômes maniaques

Certaines substances vous font passer d’un état déprimé à un état maniaque. Un exemple de ceci est le bupropion.

Autres symptômes somatiques et gastro-intestinaux

La présence de nausées et de vomissements est fréquente avec la prise de ces substances . ainsi que des maux de tête et des tremblements. En fait, ce type de symptômes sont les symptômes secondaires les plus courants lors de l’utilisation des antidépresseurs, étant généralement légers. Beaucoup de ces altérations apparaissent initialement et avec l'apparition de la tolérance à la substance, elles disparaissent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Guide pratique de la pharmacologie du système nerveux central. Madrid: Ed. Création et design.
  • Grosso, P. (2013). Antidépresseurs École universitaire de technologie médicale. Université de la République du Paraguay.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Thase, M.E. (1992). Traitements à long terme des troubles dépressifs récurrents. J. Clin. Psychiatrie; 53

LA DEPRESSION : définition , symptômes , causes , traitements antidépresseurs / Noura Marashi (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes