yes, therapy helps!
The 10 essential women in the history of Psychology

The 10 essential women in the history of Psychology

February 8, 2023

Throughout history there have been many psychologists who have influenced the development of the science of mind and human behavior. It is usual to talk about Watson, Skinner, Bandura, Freud, among others, the great majority of men. Unfortunately, the voice of the woman has been silenced for many years , and their contributions were minimized or excluded from scientific circles.

But as Ann Johnson says of St. Thomas University, this changed from the 60s and 70s and, in recent years, the new generations of female psychologists have begun to receive more recognition .

The psychologists have not had an easy way

Nowadays it seems impossible to think that psychology was a profession exclusively of men, because at present it is a career studied by more women than men. The truth is that psychology was considered a male domain, and women who wished to carve out a professional future as psychologists had to find a place in a discipline that only accepted men.


Luckily, lThe social and economic changes of this last century have allowed the growth of "feminine psychology" . As in other fields, women have struggled to obtain the same rights as men. In the United States, the data show that the number of female psychologists has been increasing over the years: in 1901 only 20 women obtained their doctorate in psychology, in 1974 22% of the doctorates in psychology were for women, and in 1983 they obtained a doctorate 56% of psychologists.

The 10 most influential women in Psychology

It may now seem normal, but many of these women had to face the discrimination, obstacles and difficulties that were presented to them for a long time. In today's article, and in honor of all these women, we have developed a list of psychologists who have made important and innovative contributions in the field of psychology .


These women deserve to be recognized for their pioneering work and for being leaders in the struggle for equality. Despite all the difficulties, they left us an invaluable legacy that we will detail today.

1. Brenda Milner

The neuropsychologist Brenda Milner (1918), born in Manchester (United Kingdom), is considered the founder of neuropsychology and is one of the most important figures in the study of memory. For 60 years it has contributed to the knowledge of brain functioning. She continues to teach and direct research at the Neurological Institute of Montreal (Canada) and is also a professor in the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill University.

Brenda Milner is famous for her study in the case of the patient H.M. This was a young man who had suffered from very serious epileptic seizures since he was 10 years old. Desperate, he went to consult with Dr. Scoville and agreed to undergo experimental surgery in which his medial temporal lobes on both sides were excised. His epileptic seizures were significantly reduced, but he was affected antegrade amnesia, the inability to keep new events in long-term memory. Brenda Milner began working with H. M., carrying out a series of experiments designed to evaluate her memory and ability to learn. What he was observing, eventually led to a revolutionary discovery: he found that H. M. was constantly improving from one day to the next in the tests, despite the fact that he had no memory of having done those things before. In other words, the patient was learning new skills effectively despite having no memory of having done so before .


This indicated that the brain is not governed by a solitary memory system and caused a change in the direction of memory research from that moment. In addition to this monumental finding, Milner identified the role played by the hippocampus and the medial area of ​​the temporal lobe in explicit memory and provided the first data of implicit memory storage.

2. Virginia Satir

Virginia Satir ( 1916 - 1988) is known for her work as an exceptional therapist, and is one of the most important people in Systemic Family Therapy. Virginia Satir thought that people are equipped with the capacity for growth, transformation and continuing education. His methodology not only combined the interactive and intrapsychic elements of modern therapy, but also strived to create an improvement in the quality of communication and relationships within the family structure.

Systemic Transformation Satir Therapy works to address actions, emotions and perceptions of a client that are related to their dynamics in the family unit. As a highly qualified and qualified therapist, she worked with patients to allow them to find their sense of harmony and unity, and to hold them accountable for the direction and acceptance of traumas and wounds that ultimately lead to an inner sense of peace and joy.

3. Mary Ainsworth

Mary Ainsworth (1913) was born in Ohio, United States and developed an extensive and fruitful career. She was a pioneer in the psychology of development and is perhaps best known for her research on the behavior of babies in the "strange situation" and their contribution to the Theory of Attachment.

This theory, first developed by John Bowlby, is essential in any introductory book on developmental psychology. Ainsworth identified three attachment styles that children have with their parents and their caregivers. In a ranking that was elaborated in 2002 on the most influential psychologists of the 20th century, Ainsworth was ranked 97th out of the most frequently cited psychologists .

It may interest you: "The 10 most important and influential psychologists in history"

4. Elisabeth Loftus

Elizabeth Loftus (1944) is one of the most influential and at the same time controversial psychologists. She is famous for her research on the reliability of repressed memories and is a fundamental figure in cognitive psychology. With his work he has made an enormous contribution to psychology and opened the debate in a controversial aspect of psychology and memory. During the 70s, Loftus published a collection of influential studies on the fallibility of witness testimony in the judicial field . At first their contributions did not have much impact, but at present their work is beginning to leave its mark.

The controversial side of his investigations is based on the role he has played in the cases of accusation of sexual abuse in childhood based on the recovery of memories, which made his person the object of demands and death threats. His research on the use of false memories to modify behavior is considered by some to be very unethical.

5. Laura Perls

Laura Posner (1905 - 1990), better known as Laura Perls, is one of the most influential psychologists of this century. Together with her husband Fritz Perls and Paul Goodman, she developed Gestalt Therapy in the 40s, a humanistic-existentialist therapeutic model that was originally designed as an alternative to conventional psychoanalysis. Gestalt therapy experts use experiential and creative techniques to improve the patient's self-consciousness, freedom and self-direction.

If you want to know more about Gestalt Therapy, you can visit our article: "Gestalt Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

6. Leda Cosmides

Leda Cosmides (1957) is best known for his pioneering work in the field of evolutionary psychology. He developed his interest in this field while studying biology at Harvard University, and in 1985 he obtained his doctorate in cognitive psychology. Cosmides was a member of the Center for Advanced Studies in Behavioral Sciences, before moving to the University of California, Santa Bárbara, where he has been in the faculty since 1991.

In 1988 he won the Research Prize in Behavioral Sciences of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and in 1993 he was awarded the Distinguished Scientist Prize of the American Psychological Association. In 1992 he published his well-known book called "The Adapted Mind" together with J. H. Barkow and J. Tooby. This text is recognized as one of the most important at the moment in its field , both for establishing the theoretical and methodological principles that serve as the basis for evolutionary psychology, and for its importance in the field of application.

7. Anna Freud

Anna Freud (1895 - 1982) was born in Vienna at the end of the 19th century. She is the daughter of Sigmund Freud but, far from staying in the shade, was also important in the theory that his father originated, because was a pioneer in the field of child psychoanalysis and extended the concept of defense mechanisms that are put in place to adjust the drives of the id to the demands of the superego.

He was especially interested in the problems of communication between therapists. His contributions were eminently practical, fruit of his experience the Child Therapy Clinic of Hampstead in London. He did many scientific works and helped to found the annual publication of the Psychoanalytic Study of the Child in 1945. His main work is "The Self and the Defense Mechanisms" (1936), which has become a classic of psychoanalysis.

8. Mary Whiton Calkins

Mary Whiton Calkins (1863 - 1930) was an American psychologist who became the first female president of the American Psychological Associations (APA).Despite graduating in philosophy, he became an influential figure in the development of early psychology, especially ego psychology, and trained many students through his teaching position at Wellesley College.

At the time, women could not study psychology, and even though she was invited to a seminary at Harvard University, the center refused to grant her the title because she was a woman.

9. Melanie Klein

Melanie Klein (1882 - 1960) was born in Vienna in and was an Austrian psychologist known for creating a therapeutic technique called "Game Therapy". His initial intention was to attend medical school, but she became a well-known psychoanalyst .

He met Sigmund Freud for the first time in 1918 at the International Psychoanalytic Congress in Budapest (Hungary), and inspired him to write his first article on psychoanalysis called "The Development of a Child." This experience was a motivation to remain linked to this current of psychology and began to devote himself to psychological therapy. It is one of the most famous in the school of psychoanalysis.

10. Margaret Floy Washburn

Margaret Floy Washburn (1871 - 1939) was a pioneer in her time because she will always be remembered for being the first woman to get a PhD in psychology .

He received his doctorate in 1984 and his contributions to psychology were many. This psychologist spent long years of her life doing research with animals. It should be noted that Washburn was the second woman to preside over the American Psychological Association (APA) after Mary Whiton Calkins.


7 Essential Psychology Books (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 femmes essentielles dans l'histoire de la psychologie

Les 10 femmes essentielles dans l'histoire de la psychologie

Septembre 20, 2022

Au cours de l'histoire, de nombreux psychologues ont influencé le développement de la science de l'esprit et du comportement humain. Il est habituel de parler de Watson, Skinner, Bandura, Freud, entre autres, de la grande majorité des hommes. Malheureusement, la voix de la femme a été réduite au silence pendant de nombreuses années et leurs contributions ont été minimisées ou exclues des cercles scientifiques.

Mais comme le dit Ann Johnson de l’Université St. Thomas, cela a changé depuis les années 60 et 70 et, ces dernières années, les nouvelles générations de femmes psychologues ont commencé à recevoir plus de reconnaissance .

Les psychologues n'ont pas eu un moyen facile

De nos jours, il semble impossible de penser que la psychologie était une profession exclusivement masculine, car à l’heure actuelle, c’est une carrière étudiée par plus de femmes que d’hommes. La vérité est que la psychologie était considérée comme un domaine réservé aux hommes et que les femmes qui souhaitaient se constituer un avenir professionnel en tant que psychologues devaient trouver une place dans une discipline qui n'acceptait que les hommes.


Heureusement, lLes changements sociaux et économiques de ce siècle dernier ont permis l'essor de la "psychologie féminine" . Comme dans d'autres domaines, les femmes ont eu du mal à obtenir les mêmes droits que les hommes. Aux États-Unis, les données montrent que le nombre de femmes psychologues a augmenté au fil des ans: en 1901, seulement 20 femmes ont obtenu leur doctorat en psychologie, en 1974, 22% des doctorats en psychologie étaient des femmes et en 1983, ils ont obtenu un doctorat. 56% des psychologues.

Les 10 femmes les plus influentes en psychologie

Cela peut sembler maintenant normal, mais beaucoup de ces femmes ont dû faire face à la discrimination, aux obstacles et aux difficultés qui leur étaient présentées depuis longtemps. Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, et en l'honneur de toutes ces femmes, nous avons développé une liste de psychologues qui ont apporté des contributions importantes et novatrices dans le domaine de la psychologie .


Ces femmes méritent d'être reconnues pour leur travail de pionnière et pour être des leaders dans la lutte pour l'égalité. Malgré toutes les difficultés, ils nous ont laissé un précieux héritage que nous allons détailler aujourd’hui.

1. Brenda Milner

Le neuropsychologue Brenda Milner (1918), né à Manchester (Royaume-Uni), est considéré comme le fondateur de la neuropsychologie et est l’une des figures les plus importantes de l’étude de la mémoire. Depuis 60 ans, il contribue à la connaissance du fonctionnement du cerveau. Elle continue d'enseigner et de diriger des recherches à l'Institut neurologique de Montréal (Canada) et est également professeure au département de neurologie et de neurochirurgie de l'Université McGill.

Brenda Milner est célèbre pour son étude dans le cas du patient H.M. C'était un jeune homme qui souffrait de très graves crises d'épilepsie depuis l'âge de 10 ans. Désespéré, il alla consulter le Dr Scoville et accepta de subir une chirurgie expérimentale au cours de laquelle ses lobes temporaux médiaux étaient excisés des deux côtés. Ses crises d'épilepsie étaient significativement réduites, mais il était atteint amnésie antérieure, l’impossibilité de conserver de nouveaux événements dans la mémoire à long terme. Brenda Milner a commencé à travailler avec H. M. en réalisant une série d'expériences conçues pour évaluer sa mémoire et sa capacité à apprendre. Ce qu’il observait a finalement mené à une découverte révolutionnaire: il a constaté que H. M. s’améliorait constamment au fil des tests, même s’il n’avait pas le souvenir d’avoir fait cela auparavant. En d'autres termes, le patient apprenait efficacement de nouvelles compétences bien qu’il ne se souvienne plus de l’avoir fait avant .


Cela a indiqué que le cerveau n'est pas régi par un système de mémoire solitaire et a entraîné un changement d'orientation de la recherche sur la mémoire à partir de ce moment. Outre cette découverte monumentale, Milner identifia le rôle joué par l'hippocampe et la région médiale du lobe temporal dans la mémoire explicite et fournit les premières données de stockage en mémoire implicite.

2. Virginia Satir

Virginia Satir ( 1916 - 1988) est connue pour son travail en tant que thérapeute exceptionnelle et est l’une des personnes les plus importantes de la thérapie systémique familiale. Virginia Satir pensait que les gens sont dotés de la capacité de croissance, de transformation et de formation continue. Sa méthodologie combinait non seulement les éléments interactifs et intrapsychiques de la thérapie moderne, mais visait également à améliorer la qualité de la communication et les relations au sein de la structure familiale.

Transformation systémique Satir Therapy s'attaque aux actions, aux émotions et aux perceptions d'un client qui sont liées à sa dynamique dans la cellule familiale. En tant que thérapeute hautement qualifiée, elle a travaillé avec les patients pour leur permettre de retrouver leur sens de l’harmonie et de l’unité, et de les tenir pour responsables de la direction et de l’acceptation des traumatismes et des blessures qui conduisent finalement à un sentiment intérieur de paix et de joie.

3. Mary Ainsworth

Mary Ainsworth (1913) est né en Ohio, aux États-Unis et a développé une carrière longue et fructueuse. Elle a été une pionnière de la psychologie du développement et est peut-être mieux connue pour ses recherches sur le comportement des bébés dans la "situation étrange" et leur contribution à la théorie de l'attachement.

Cette théorie, d'abord développée par John Bowlby, est essentielle dans tout livre d'introduction à la psychologie du développement. Ainsworth a identifié trois styles d'attachement que les enfants ont avec leurs parents et leurs gardiens. Dans un classement élaboré en 2002 sur les psychologues les plus influents du XXe siècle, Ainsworth a été classé 97ème sur les psychologues les plus fréquemment cités .

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Les 10 psychologues les plus importants et les plus influents de l'histoire"

4. Elisabeth Loftus

Elizabeth Loftus (1944) est l'un des psychologues les plus influents et à la fois les plus controversés. Elle est célèbre pour ses recherches sur la fiabilité des mémoires refoulées et est une figure fondamentale de la psychologie cognitive. Avec son travail, il a apporté une énorme contribution à la psychologie et a ouvert le débat sur un aspect controversé de la psychologie et de la mémoire. Dans les années 70, Loftus a publié un recueil d'études influentes sur la faillibilité des témoignages dans le domaine judiciaire . Au début, leurs contributions n’ont pas eu beaucoup d’impact, mais à présent, leur travail commence à laisser sa marque.

L’aspect controversé de ses enquêtes est basé sur le rôle qu’il a joué dans les affaires d’accusation d’abus sexuel dans l’enfance, fondées sur la récupération de souvenirs, qui ont fait de sa personne l’objet de demandes et de menaces de mort. Ses recherches sur l'utilisation de faux souvenirs pour modifier le comportement sont considérées par beaucoup comme peu éthiques.

5. Laura Perls

Laura Posner (1905 - 1990), plus connue sous le nom de Laura Perls, est l’un des psychologues les plus influents de ce siècle. En collaboration avec son mari, Fritz Perls et Paul Goodman, elle a développé la Gestalt Therapy dans les années 40, un modèle thérapeutique humaniste-existentialiste conçu à l'origine comme une alternative à la psychanalyse conventionnelle. Les experts en Gestalt-thérapie utilisent des techniques expérimentales et créatives pour améliorer la conscience de soi, la liberté et la direction du patient.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la Gestalt Therapy, vous pouvez consulter notre article: "Gestalt Therapy: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-il basé?"

6. Leda Cosmides

Leda Cosmides (1957) est surtout connu pour son travail de pionnier dans le domaine de la psychologie de l'évolution. Il a développé son intérêt pour ce domaine tout en étudiant la biologie à l'Université de Harvard. En 1985, il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie cognitive. Cosmides était un membre de la Centre d'études avancées en sciences du comportement, avant de s’installer à l’Université de Californie, Santa Bárbara, où il est professeur depuis 1991.

En 1988, il remporte le prix de la recherche en sciences du comportement de la Association américaine pour l'avancement des scienceset en 1993, il a reçu le prix du scientifique distingué de la American Psychological Association. En 1992, il publie son livre bien connu intitulé "The Adapted Mind" avec J.H. Barkow et J. Tooby. Ce texte est reconnu comme l'un des plus importants en ce moment dans son domaine , à la fois pour l’établissement des principes théoriques et méthodologiques qui servent de base à la psychologie de l’évolution et pour son importance dans le domaine de l’application.

7. Anna Freud

Anna Freud (1895 - 1982) est né à Vienne à la fin du 19ème siècle. Elle est la fille de Sigmund Freud mais, loin de rester dans l'ombre, était également importante dans la théorie de l'origine de son père, car était un pionnier dans le domaine de la psychanalyse des enfants et étendu le concept de mécanismes de défense mis en place pour adapter les motivations du ça aux exigences du surmoi.

Il était particulièrement intéressé par les problèmes de communication entre les thérapeutes. Ses contributions étaient éminemment pratiques, fruit de son expérience du Clinique de thérapie pour enfants de Hampstead À Londres. Il a réalisé de nombreux travaux scientifiques et contribué à la fondation de la publication annuelle de l'Étude psychanalytique de l'enfant en 1945. Son ouvrage principal est "Le Soi et les mécanismes de défense" (1936), devenu un classique de la psychanalyse.

8. Mary Whiton Calkins

Mary Whiton Calkins (1863 - 1930) était une psychologue américaine qui est devenue la première femme présidente de l’Association américaine de psychologie (APA).Bien que diplômé en philosophie, il est devenu une figure influente dans le développement de la psychologie précoce, en particulier de la psychologie de l'ego, et a formé de nombreux étudiants grâce à son poste d'enseignant au Wellesley College.

À l'époque, les femmes ne pouvaient pas étudier la psychologie et, même si elle avait été invitée à un séminaire à l'Université de Harvard, le centre avait refusé de lui attribuer le titre, car elle était une femme.

9. Mélanie Klein

Mélanie Klein (1882 - 1960) est née à Vienne en Autriche. Elle était une psychologue autrichienne connue pour avoir créé une technique thérapeutique appelée "thérapie par le jeu". Son intention initiale était d'aller à l'école de médecine, mais elle est devenue un psychanalyste bien connu .

Il rencontra Sigmund Freud pour la première fois en 1918 au Congrès psychanalytique international à Budapest (Hongrie) et l’a inspiré à écrire son premier article sur la psychanalyse intitulé "Le développement de l’enfant". Cette expérience a été une motivation pour rester lié à ce courant psychologique et a commencé à se consacrer à la thérapie psychologique. C'est l'un des plus célèbres de l'école de psychanalyse.

10. Margaret Floy Washburn

Margaret Floy Washburn (1871 - 1939) fut une pionnière à son époque car on se souviendra toujours d'elle la première femme à obtenir un doctorat en psychologie .

Il a obtenu son doctorat en 1984 et ses contributions à la psychologie ont été nombreuses. Cette psychologue a passé de longues années de sa vie à faire de la recherche sur les animaux. Il convient de noter que Washburn a été la deuxième femme à présider la American Psychological Association (APA) d'après Mary Whiton Calkins.


LE CERVEAU DES FEMMES EXPLIQUÉ AUX HOMMES (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes