yes, therapy helps!
15 films that talk about Autism

15 films that talk about Autism

May 6, 2021

A few weeks ago we told you about our ranking of 10 movies about Psychology and Mental Disorders, with recommendations to deepen your knowledge about behavioral science.

Today we return to the charge to offer you a list of fifteen films about Autism . Autism spectrum disorder is one of those conditions that arouses us all a lot of interest. And there are a number of films that have managed to accurately detail the living conditions of people who suffer from it, and also the value of families and teachers who struggle every day to improve the situation of people who suffer Autism.

Movies about Autism: knowing this disorder thoroughly

The seventh art has been responsible for collecting stories about people with Autism . Surely there are many other films that we have forgotten, our knowledge about this area is quite deep, but not infinite. Anyway, if you know some other interesting title, you can leave it written in the comments section, and we will try to include the movie that you propose in this list.


What we can assure you is that the twelve films that you will meet next deal with the subject of Autism with an interesting vision. They are films that can teach us a lot about the reality of autistic spectrum disorders . We recommend that you sign them and see them as soon as possible. We start?

1. Mater amatísima (1980)

Most precious Mater is the story of Juan, a child with Autism . Clara, his mother, tries to educate Juan to be a child integrated into society. But little by little, the mother-child relationship is plunging Clara into a bubble.

2. Rain Man (1988)

A classic of the big screen. Dustin Hoffman interpends Kim Peek, a young man with a very deep autism, but with the extraordinary ability to memorize everything he reads. His brother in fiction, played by a young Tom Cruise, will discover that life can be seen with different eyes. A story based on real events .


3. The Secret of Sally (1993)

In this shocking film, a woman, Ruth, becomes a widow when her husband has an accident at work. The daughter of Ruth, fatherless since then, reacts in a way that alarms her mother . She decides to go to a professional expert in autism spectrum disorders. This psychologist, Jake, will try to help Sally.

4. A witness in silence (1994)

A child with autism witnesses the death of their parents, who are brutally murdered . Being the only witness of the double homicide, the police asks for help from a psychiatrist in order to clarify the case, through a complicated communication with the child. A film that went completely unnoticed when it premiered, but which is interesting because it deals with the communication problems linked to Autism.

5. Nell (1994)

Nell, embodied in the popular Jodie Foster, is an extravagant young woman who lives apart from society , in a cabin lost in a forest. Following the death of her mother, Nell shuns all human contact and isolates herself completely. One day, two researchers discover its existence and begin to follow him to study his behavior and his way of acting. Interesting film.


6. Mercury Rising: Red Hot (1998)

An FBI policeman named Art Jeffries is in charge of wiretapping. In a somewhat gray position, Jeffries feels a bit frustrated. Until one day, his bosses charge him to investigate a case of a child who disappeared after his parents were killed. The search is long, but when he manages to find the whereabouts of the child, Jeffries realizes that he is a child with Autism with incredible cognitive abilities.

7. Molly (1999)

Little Molly suffers from Autism and has lived throughout her life in a health center where she receives attention and care from doctors, psychiatrists and educators. His parents died years ago. Fortunately, her older brother comes to the center to get Molly out of there and start a life together . An exciting movie, highly recommended.

8. Mockingbird do not sing (2001)

In a poor neighborhood of Los Angeles, a teenager of only 12 years lives totally isolated from society , locked up by her parents in a small room from which she has not left since she was one year old. Without any contact with the outside or with other human beings, Genie lives totally absorbed in her thoughts, immobile. Luckily, it is discovered and for her a totally different life begins, in which she must learn to speak, to relate ... A magnificent film that you must not miss.

9. They call me Radio (2003)

This movie is based on a real case. ORn Young without hardly friends and with a slight cognitive delay is nicknamed "Radio" for his love of the radio and to listen to songs through his transistor. Radio is shy and very reserved, but one day the coach of the school football team, an eminence in the town, becomes his friend and, between joke and joke, manages to gain their trust. Through the coach's support, Radio begins to carve out a much warmer life.

10 Miracle Run: An Unexpected Trip (2004)

Corrine, a mother who raises her twins alone, has a difficult situation: must educate without the support of anyone two children with Autism . In spite of everything, he struggles unceasingly to give them a full and normal life. An inspiring film that makes us value many things about life.

11. Thumbsucker: Fingering (2005)

Justin Cobb is a 17 year old teenager who, despite his age, he keeps sucking his finger . Seeing that his strange habit is beginning to cause problems, he decides to try to solve the problem by going to a hypnosis specialist.

12. Crazy in love: Locos de amor (2005)

A story about some very unique lovers. TOBoth suffer from an autism spectrum disorder that manifests, among other things, dysfunctions in the emotional domain . Donald, taxi driver and a great expert in numerical calculation, suffers from Asperger's Syndrome, so he lives in very strict dynamics and routines. In addition, it is responsible for coordinating a group of people with this same affectation. There he will meet Isabel, a woman who will change his life.

13. SuperBrother (2009)

This film mixes the genre of science fiction with the problem of Autism. Anton is a naughty 11-year-old boy who has an older brother who has Autism. Anton does not understand his brother and wishes he could play with him. By magic, one day his brother begins to manifest certain powers that make him an extraordinary being , in a hero. Both will have to do their best to control this supernatural gift.

14. Dear John (2010)

A romantic drama highly recommended. John, a young military man, is seen as an eccentric person for being extremely reserved . During a permit, he meets Savannah, a college student. They quickly become attracted and begin a loving idyll not exempt from difficulties.

15. There is someone there (2014)

A Venezuelan production that brings us closer to the universe of Helena , a 9 year old girl who suffers from Autism. Through his daily experiences and those of his family, There is someone there is a good portrait of the difficulties (but also of the joys and longings) of people with this problem. This is a film a little different from the others, since it is a documentary.

Full movie on YouTube:


"Inside Autism" Educational Dramatic Film (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
15 films qui parlent de l'autisme

15 films qui parlent de l'autisme

Février 18, 2019

Il y a quelques semaines, nous vous avions parlé de notre classement de 10 films sur la psychologie et les troubles mentaux, avec des recommandations pour approfondir vos connaissances sur la science du comportement.

Aujourd'hui, nous revenons à la charge de vous offrir une liste de quinze films sur l'autisme . Le trouble du spectre de l'autisme est l'une de ces conditions qui suscite beaucoup d'intérêt. Et il y a un certain nombre de films qui ont réussi à décrire avec précision les conditions de vie des personnes qui en souffrent, ainsi que la valeur des familles et des enseignants qui luttent chaque jour pour améliorer la situation des personnes souffrant d'autisme.

Films sur l'autisme: connaître ce trouble à fond

Le septième art a été chargé de rassembler des histoires sur des autistes . Il y a sûrement beaucoup d'autres films que nous avons oubliés, notre connaissance de ce domaine est assez profonde, mais pas infinie. Quoi qu'il en soit, si vous connaissez un autre titre intéressant, vous pouvez le laisser écrit dans la section commentaires, et nous essaierons d'inclure le film que vous proposez dans cette liste.


Ce que nous pouvons vous assurer, c’est que les douze films que vous rencontrerez traiteront du sujet de l’autisme avec une vision intéressante. Ce sont des films qui peuvent nous apprendre beaucoup sur la réalité des troubles du spectre autistique . Nous vous recommandons de les signer et de les voir le plus tôt possible. Nous commençons?

1. Mater amatísima (1980)

Le plus précieux Mater est l'histoire de Juan, un enfant autiste . Clara, sa mère, tente d'éduquer Juan pour qu'il soit un enfant intégré à la société. Mais petit à petit, la relation mère-enfant plonge Clara dans une bulle.

2. L'homme de pluie (1988)

Un classique du grand écran. Dustin Hoffman interpelle Kim Peek, un jeune homme atteint d'autisme très profond, mais doté d'une capacité extraordinaire à mémoriser tout ce qu'il lit. Son frère dans la fiction, interprété par un jeune Tom Cruise, découvrira que la vie peut être vue avec des yeux différents. Une histoire basée sur des événements réels .


3. Le secret de Sally (1993)

Dans ce film choquant, une femme, Ruth, devient veuve lorsque son mari a un accident de travail. La fille de Ruth, sans père depuis lors, réagit de manière à alarmer sa mère . Elle décide de consulter un spécialiste des troubles du spectre autistique. Ce psychologue, Jake, va essayer d'aider Sally.

4. Un témoin en silence (1994)

Un enfant autiste est témoin de la mort de ses parents, brutalement assassinés . Seul témoin du double homicide, la police demande l'aide d'un psychiatre afin de clarifier l'affaire, par le biais d'une communication compliquée avec l'enfant. Un film complètement passé inaperçu lors de la première, mais intéressant car il traite des problèmes de communication liés à l'autisme.

5. Nell (1994)

Nell, incarné dans la populaire Jodie Foster, est une jeune femme extravagante qui vit en dehors de la société , dans une cabane perdue dans une forêt. Après le décès de sa mère, Nell évite tout contact humain et s’isole complètement. Un jour, deux chercheurs découvrent son existence et commencent à le suivre pour étudier son comportement et son comportement. Film intéressant.


6. Mercury Rising: Red Hot (1998)

Art Jeffries, un policier du FBI, est en charge des écoutes téléphoniques. Dans une position quelque peu grise, Jeffries se sent un peu frustré. Jusqu'à ce qu'un jour, ses chefs le chargent d'enquêter sur le cas d'un enfant qui a disparu après que ses parents ont été tués. La recherche est longue, mais lorsqu'il parvient à retrouver le lieu où se trouve l'enfant, Jeffries se rend compte qu'il est un enfant autiste doté de capacités cognitives incroyables.

7. Molly (1999)

Little Molly souffre d'autisme et a vécu toute sa vie dans un centre de santé où elle reçoit l'attention et les soins de médecins, de psychiatres et d'éducateurs. Ses parents sont morts il y a des années. Par chance, son frère aîné vient au centre pour sortir Molly de là et commencer une vie ensemble . Un film passionnant, hautement recommandé.

8. Mockingbird ne chante pas (2001)

Dans un quartier pauvre de Los Angeles, un adolescent de 12 ans seulement vit totalement isolé de la société , enfermée par ses parents dans une petite pièce dont elle n’a pas quitté depuis l’âge de 1 an. Sans aucun contact avec l'extérieur ou avec d'autres êtres humains, Genie vit totalement absorbée par ses pensées, immobile. Heureusement, on découvre et pour elle commence une vie totalement différente dans laquelle elle doit apprendre à parler, à raconter ... Un film magnifique à ne pas manquer.

9. Ils m'appellent Radio (2003)

Ce film est basé sur un cas réel. Un Jeune homme sans peine et avec un léger retard cognitif est surnommé "Radio" pour son amour de la radio et pour écouter des chansons à travers son transistor. La radio est timide et très réservée, mais un jour, l’entraîneur de l’équipe de football de l’école, une éminence de la ville, devient son ami et parvient à gagner la confiance. Grâce au soutien de l’entraîneur, Radio commence à mener une vie beaucoup plus chaleureuse.

10 course miracle: un voyage inattendu (2004)

Corrine, une mère qui élève seule ses jumeaux, a une situation difficile: doit éduquer sans le soutien de qui que ce soit deux enfants autistes . Malgré tout, il lutte sans cesse pour leur donner une vie bien remplie et normale. Un film inspirant qui nous fait apprécier beaucoup de choses sur la vie.

11. Thumbsucker: Doigté (2005)

Justin Cobb est un adolescent de 17 ans qui, malgré son âge, il continue de sucer son doigt . Voyant que son étrange habitude commence à poser problème, il décide de tenter de le résoudre en faisant appel à un spécialiste de l'hypnose.

12. Fou amoureux: Locos de amor (2005)

Une histoire sur des amants très uniques. UnTous deux souffrent d'un trouble du spectre autistique qui se manifeste, entre autres, par des dysfonctionnements dans le domaine émotionnel. . Donald, chauffeur de taxi et grand expert en calcul numérique, est atteint du syndrome d'Asperger. Il vit donc dans une dynamique et des routines très strictes. En outre, il est responsable de la coordination d'un groupe de personnes ayant cette même affectation. Il y rencontrera Isabel, une femme qui changera sa vie.

13. Super frère (2009)

Ce film mêle le genre de la science fiction au problème de l'autisme. Anton est un vilain garçon de 11 ans qui a un frère aîné atteint d'autisme. Anton ne comprend pas son frère et souhaite pouvoir jouer avec lui. Par magie, un jour son frère commence à manifester certains pouvoirs qui font de lui un être extraordinaire , dans un héros. Tous deux devront faire de leur mieux pour contrôler ce cadeau surnaturel.

14. Cher John (2010)

Un drame romantique fortement recommandé. John, un jeune militaire, est considéré comme une personne excentrique pour son extrême réserve . Lors d'une autorisation, il fait la connaissance de Savannah, une étudiante. Ils deviennent rapidement attirés et commencent une idylle aimante non exempte de difficultés.

15. Il y a quelqu'un là-bas (2014)

Une production vénézuélienne qui nous rapproche de l'univers d'Helena , une fille de 9 ans qui souffre d'autisme. À travers ses expériences quotidiennes et celles de sa famille, il y a quelqu'un qui décrit bien les difficultés (mais aussi les joies et les aspirations) des personnes aux prises avec ce problème. C'est un film un peu différent des autres puisqu'il s'agit d'un documentaire.

Film complet sur YouTube:


Top 6 symptômes d'Autisme chez les Enfants. (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes