yes, therapy helps!
13 characteristics of self-realized people according to Abraham Maslow

13 characteristics of self-realized people according to Abraham Maslow

May 7, 2021

Abraham Maslow was an American psychologist belonging to the humanist perspective, the "third force" in what refers to psychological currents, after psychoanalysis and behaviorism.

The focus of Humanistic Psychology focuses on the most positive aspects of the human experience and its development. The humanists consider the individual responsible for the results of his life , and they trust that, with the appropriate conditions, it will develop in a desirable direction, since all humans possess the potential necessary for optimal growth.

Humanistic psychologists believed that people are intrinsically good and resort to environmental causes to explain behaviors considered negative. However, according to Maslow, that all people have the power to be the engines of their own personal development does not mean that everyone does. Only some come to the decision of self-realization, with all the efforts and sacrifices that this entails. These will become self-realized people.


Self-realized people

Maslow believed that people develop through various levels towards their full potential. Although all people can reach the highest levels of self-realization, in practice there are a few who achieve the highest level of development. These are the so-called self-realized people, and Maslow estimated that less than 1% of the population was .

What is self-realization?

Self-realization, according to Maslow, consists in the full development of human potential. It is defined as "the continuous realization of potentials, capacities and talents, such as the fulfillment of a mission, destiny or vocation, as a full knowledge and acceptance of the intrinsic nature of the person, as an incessant tendency towards unity, integration and synergy. within the person. "


For him, psychological disorders would be nothing but denials of one's internal potential and attacks against the very nature of the individual.

Characteristics of self-realized people

From a series of observations and studies, Maslow identified a series of common characteristics of self-realized people

It is not innate traits that some people have inherited through the genes, but they are simply ways in which the process of conquering self-realization is expressed. These characteristics are the following:

1. Efficient perception of reality

Self-realized individuals perceive reality more clearly and objectively . Therefore, it is more unlikely that they are deceived, since they show ease in detecting the manipulation strategies of others and are able to judge people in a useful and adaptive way.


2. Acceptance

Self-realized people show a relatively high degree of self-acceptance, and this is reflected in their self-image and self-esteem. This characteristic of acceptance also extends to many other areas of life. Thus, self-realized individuals accept the bad and the good of life, having first identified what kind of situations are irremediable and can not be changed radically through the acts of the human being.

The self-realized people are aware that there are certain uncontrollable situations in life, and that is why they fit the losses better, elaborate the duels better, they adapt to the changes in their lives and have a lesser fear of death .

3. Spontaneity

By being in contact with your inner impulses and your subjective experience, self-realized people behave in a simple and natural way , without hiding behind a social mask or a false "me".

4. Focus on the problems

Self-realized people focus on problems outside of themselves , having a high level of social awareness, and do not hesitate to give up their ego to help others. They are usually sensitized and committed to various social causes and do not tolerate injustices.

5. Need for privacy

Enjoy the loneliness . They do not need to continuously enjoy external approval, and they think for themselves instead of letting others make decisions for them. Studies show that they can tolerate sensory deprivation more easily than others.

6. Autonomy

They are also independent, able to meet their own needs and fend for themselves without depending on others in excess. They make decisions without asking for the advice of others, trusting in their good judgment and taking responsibility for them.

7. Freshness in the assessment

Self-realized people show a sense of wonder and almost childlike admiration. Curious, they let life surprise them even in those contexts that others will perceive as banal and boring.

8. Summit experiences

Capable of having mystical experiences that Maslow defined as "states of unity where time tends to fade and the overwhelming feeling makes it seem that all needs are fulfilled."

Some of the sources that unleash peak experiences in the individual are love, art or erotic ecstasy .

9. Human relationship

They identify with human beings in general , and have a sense of relationship with the human race, without prejudice. In addition, they are able to create healthy love relationships, without attachment or dependency, only focusing on making the loved one grow.

10. Humility and respect

They are humble and can learn from many different people . They are democratic rather than authoritarian and do not insist on maintaining a status above others.

11. Ethics and values

They have strong ethical standards , although these are not conventional norms of good and evil, but own ideas that have been formed based on their own criteria and observation of the world.

12. Sense of humor

They have a great sense of humor that is not hostile, they do not laugh at the expense of other people. It is a more philosophical, existential sense of humor .

13. Creativity

It is present in all self-realized subjects. They are capable of generating genuine ideas and original solutions to problems .

Self-realization and basic needs

Maslow considered that every human being was capable of achieving his own self-realization having previously satisfied his basic needs, which he exposed in his famous hierarchy of needs (normally represented in the form of a pyramid).


Self Actualization - The Most Inspiring Self-Help Concept Of All Time (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
13 caractéristiques des personnes qui se réalisent d'elles-mêmes selon Abraham Maslow

13 caractéristiques des personnes qui se réalisent d'elles-mêmes selon Abraham Maslow

Février 24, 2021

Abraham Maslow C'était un psychologue américain appartenant à la perspective humaniste, la "troisième force" en ce qui concerne les courants psychologiques, après la psychanalyse et le behaviorisme.

La psychologie humaniste se concentre sur les aspects les plus positifs de l'expérience humaine et de son développement. Les humanistes considèrent l'individu comme responsable des résultats de sa vie et ils croient que, dans les conditions appropriées, il se développera dans une direction souhaitable, car tous les humains possèdent le potentiel nécessaire pour une croissance optimale.

Les psychologues humanistes croyaient que les gens sont intrinsèquement bons et ont recours à des causes environnementales pour expliquer les comportements considérés comme négatifs. Cependant, selon Maslow, le fait que tout le monde ait le pouvoir d'être le moteur de son développement personnel ne veut pas dire que tout le monde le fait. Seuls certains prennent la décision de se réaliser, avec tous les efforts et les sacrifices que cela implique. Ceux-ci deviendront des personnes auto-réalisées.


Personnes auto-réalisées

Maslow croyait que les gens se développaient à divers niveaux pour atteindre leur plein potentiel. Bien que toutes les personnes puissent atteindre les plus hauts niveaux de réalisation de soi, dans la pratique, quelques-unes atteignent le plus haut niveau de développement. Ce sont les soi-disant gens auto-réalisés, et Maslow a estimé que moins de 1% de la population était .

Qu'est-ce que la réalisation de soi?

La réalisation de soi, selon Maslow, consiste dans le plein développement du potentiel humain. Il est défini comme "la réalisation continue de potentiels, de capacités et de talents, tels que l'accomplissement d'une mission, d'un destin ou d'une vocation, en tant que connaissance et acceptation de la nature intrinsèque de la personne, en tant que tendance incessante à l'unité, à l'intégration et à la synergie. dans la personne. "


Pour lui, les troubles psychologiques ne seraient que des dénégations de son potentiel interne et des attaques contre la nature même de l'individu.

Caractéristiques des gens réalisés

D'une série d'observations et d'études, Maslow identifié une série de caractéristiques communes des personnes auto-réalisées

Ce ne sont pas des traits innés que certaines personnes ont hérités des gènes, mais ce sont simplement des moyens d’exprimer le processus de conquête de la réalisation de soi. Ces caractéristiques sont les suivantes:

1. Perception efficace de la réalité

Les individus auto-réalisés perçoivent la réalité plus clairement et objectivement . Par conséquent, il est plus improbable qu'ils soient trompés, car ils démontrent facilement la stratégie de manipulation des autres et sont capables de les juger de manière utile et adaptative.


2. Acceptation

Les personnes qui s'auto-réalisent montrent un degré d'acceptation de soi relativement élevé, ce qui se reflète dans leur image de soi et leur estime de soi. Cette caractéristique de l'acceptation s'étend également à de nombreux autres domaines de la vie. Ainsi, les individus auto-réalisés acceptent le mal et le bien de la vie, après avoir identifié quels types de situations sont irrémédiables et ne peuvent pas être changés radicalement par les actes de l'être humain.

Les personnes qui se réalisent d'elles-mêmes se rendent compte qu'il existe certaines situations incontrôlables dans la vie, c'est pourquoi elles correspondent mieux aux pertes, élaborent mieux les duels, ils s'adaptent aux changements de leur vie et craignent moins la mort .

3. Spontanéité

En étant en contact avec vos impulsions intérieures et votre expérience subjective, les gens auto-réalisés se comportent de manière simple et naturelle , sans se cacher derrière un masque social ou un faux "moi".

4. Focus sur les problèmes

Les gens auto-réalisés se concentrent sur des problèmes extérieurs à eux-mêmes , ayant un niveau élevé de conscience sociale et n'hésitent pas à abandonner leur ego pour aider les autres. Ils sont généralement sensibilisés et engagés dans diverses causes sociales et ne tolèrent pas les injustices.

5. Besoin de confidentialité

Profiter de la solitude . Ils n'ont pas besoin de bénéficier continuellement de l'approbation externe et ils pensent par eux-mêmes au lieu de laisser les autres prendre les décisions à leur place. Des études montrent qu’ils peuvent tolérer la privation sensorielle plus facilement que d’autres.

6. Autonomie

Ils sont également indépendants, capables de subvenir à leurs besoins et de se débrouiller seuls. sans dépendre des autres en excès. Ils prennent des décisions sans demander l'avis des autres, faisant confiance à leur bon jugement et en assumant la responsabilité.

7. Fraîcheur dans l'évaluation

Les personnes auto-réalisées montrent un sens de l'émerveillement et une admiration presque enfantine. Curieux, ils laissent la vie les surprendre même dans ces contextes que d'autres percevront comme banaux et ennuyeux.

8. Expériences du sommet

Capable de vivre des expériences mystiques définies par Maslow comme "des états d'unité dans lesquels le temps tend à s'estomper et où le sentiment accablant laisse présager que tous les besoins sont remplis".

Certaines des sources qui déclenchent des pics d’expérience chez l’individu sont amour, art ou extase érotique .

9. relation humaine

Ils s'identifient à l'homme en général et ont le sens des relations avec la race humaine, sans préjugés. En outre, ils sont capables de créer des relations amoureuses saines, sans attachement ni dépendance, en se concentrant uniquement sur la croissance de l'être cher.

10. Humilité et respect

Ils sont humbles et peuvent apprendre de nombreuses personnes différentes . Ils sont plus démocratiques qu'autoritaires et n'insistent pas pour conserver un statut supérieur à celui des autres.

11. Ethique et valeurs

Ils ont des normes éthiques fortes , bien que ce ne soient pas des normes conventionnelles du bien et du mal, mais des idées propres qui ont été formées sur la base de leurs propres critères et de l’observation du monde.

12. sens de l'humour

Ils ont un grand sens de l'humour qui n'est pas hostile, ils ne rient pas aux dépens des autres. C'est un sens de l'humour existentiel plus philosophique .

13. Créativité

Il est présent dans tous les sujets auto-réalisés. Ils sont capables de générer des idées authentiques et des solutions originales aux problèmes .

Réalisation de soi et besoins fondamentaux

Maslow considérait que tout être humain était capable de se réaliser lui-même après avoir préalablement satisfait ses besoins fondamentaux, qu’il exposait dans sa célèbre hiérarchie des besoins (normalement représentée sous la forme d’une pyramide).


La révélation des Pyramides - Le film en français (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes