yes, therapy helps!
4 tips (and exercises) to stimulate children's language

4 tips (and exercises) to stimulate children's language

May 1, 2024

Verbal language is a skill that not only serves to express needs and desires ; it is a competence that greatly influences the ability to organize, structure and mentally assimilate external information.

It is a process that usually begins during the first year of age, with sounds and babbles sometimes unintelligible, and it is estimated that by 2 years the first words begin to be structured.

The first sentences and the most complex words are acquired between 3 and 4 years and it is expected that at these ages other communication skills will also be developed such as greeting or saying goodbye, interacting orally with their peers, understanding orders, repeating topics, asking some questions, speaking spontaneously, improving pronunciation, among others.


  • Recommended article: "The 4 stages of language development"

Exercises to stimulate verbal language

It can happen that children take a little longer to acquire the necessary skills to communicate verbally, and this situation usually causes caregivers a lot of stress, especially if the children have already begun to go to school.

Fortunately there are several exercises that we can perform, even at home, and that stimulate several of the skills necessary to develop oral language.

Below we explain four exercises that can be useful and simple , and that also take into consideration that language is acquired through the successive development of different skills.


1. Work on lingual and labial praxies (mouth gymnastics)

Praxias are the voluntary motor skills that we generally acquire by imitation. The lingual praxias are the movements that we perform with the tongue in a voluntary way and the labial praxias are movements that we make with the lips.

Performing both lingual and labial praxias favor articulation; that is, they are useful because they stimulate the parts of the body that allow us to emit sounds and words. For example, we can sit facing the child, move the tongue in different ways that call his attention and ask him to imitate these movements.

We can also make games that involve blowing, smiling or making facial gestures that allow the lips to move in different ways. One of the most attractive exercises for the little ones is to make a die with different images that illustrate different ways of moving the lips and the tongue, and ask them to imitate them together with us.


2. Stimulate vocabulary with onomatopoeias

An onomatopoeia is a word that imitates the sound of the action or the object to which it refers. For example, the sound we make when we knock on a door, the sound of the bell, the clock, an object falling, the sound of dogs, birds, cows, sheep, trains, cars, fields or the sirens of ambulances.

All these are attractive and easy to pronounce sounds for the little ones; That is why they are a good starting point when we want to stimulate oral language. So we can make games like races with cars, imitate the sound of the sirens when we go with them down the street or if we see a train, or play to be different animals.

3. Work semantic fields: start with animals, colors, transports

In line with the previous point, and remembering that language helps us to structure and make sense of information and external stimuli, we can help children acquire the first words through different semantic fields .

It is advisable to start with animals, colors or transports because they are the stimuli that are usually closest, making their acquisition easier.

We can present not only the sound but the name of the object and through different games, for example we can play the farm, or take a trip, tell stories where the protagonists are animals, match different objects of the same color, paint and ask for the name of colors, etc.

4. Use material where they can associate image and word

In the early stages of development, the information we receive is fundamentally sensory, that is, it enters through sounds, smells, touch, flavors and also visual stimuli .

Therefore, some of the tools we have to stimulate the language of children are striking images. For example, we can sit down with the child and show him / her different pictures or drawings (again it may be useful to start with animals, means of transport or the most everyday objects).

Once we have recognized and differentiated the sound of each object we can tell its name and ask it to repeat it, and even incorporate other everyday objects such as food or kitchen utensils (for example, names of fruits or vegetables, bread, cup , glass plate).

Remember that according to age it is easier to say some syllables than others, so it is good to start with one or two syllable words and have easy to articulate vowels and consonants.

Some general recommendations

Children learn by imitation and through observation and experience , with which, it is not necessary to give them extensive explanations about the games or the objects. It is useful to do the exercises ourselves by getting their attention, and then to tell them to repeat it.

In addition, each child has its own rhythm, we must be patient, perform the repetitions that are necessary. And in the same sense remember that this type of strategy does not necessarily accelerate the process in all children.

In order to reinforce the language firmly, a thorough evaluation must be carried out, as well as a systematic exercise program appropriate to the needs and area of ​​the child's upcoming development. For example, in some cases it is necessary to initiate language stimulation by favoring more basic skills such as swallowing or chewing, which must be detected through a formal orientation.


4 speech therapy exercises to help babies start speaking. (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
4 astuces (et exercices) pour stimuler le langage des enfants

4 astuces (et exercices) pour stimuler le langage des enfants

Septembre 18, 2019

Le langage verbal est une compétence qui sert non seulement à exprimer des besoins et des désirs ; c'est une compétence qui influe grandement sur la capacité d'organisation, de structuration et d'assimilation mentale d'informations externes.

C'est un processus qui commence généralement au cours de la première année d'âge, avec des sons et des babillages parfois incompréhensibles, et on estime que les premiers mots commencent à être structurés à 2 ans.

Les premières phrases et les mots les plus complexes sont acquis entre 3 et 4 ans et on s'attend à ce qu'à cet âge, d'autres compétences en communication soient également développées, telles que saluer ou dire au revoir, interagir oralement avec leurs pairs, comprendre les ordres, répéter des sujets, poser certaines questions, parler spontanément, améliorer la prononciation, entre autres.


  • Article recommandé: "Les 4 étapes du développement du langage"

Exercices pour stimuler le langage verbal

Il peut arriver que les enfants mettent un peu plus de temps à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour communiquer oralement et cette situation est généralement une source de stress pour les personnes qui s'occupent de l'enfant, surtout si les enfants ont déjà commencé à aller à l'école.

Heureusement, il existe plusieurs exercices que nous pouvons effectuer, même à la maison, et qui stimulent plusieurs des compétences nécessaires au développement du langage oral.

Nous expliquons ci-dessous quatre exercices qui peuvent être utiles et simples. , et qui tiennent également compte du fait que la langue est acquise par le développement successif de différentes compétences.


1. Travailler sur les praxies linguales et labiales (gymnastique de la bouche)

Les Praxias sont les habiletés motrices volontaires que nous acquérons généralement par imitation. Les praxias linguales sont les mouvements que nous effectuons avec la langue de manière volontaire et les praxias labiales sont des mouvements que nous faisons avec les lèvres.

Les praxias linguales et labiales favorisent l'articulation; c'est-à-dire qu'ils sont utiles car ils stimulent les parties du corps qui nous permettent d'émettre des sons et des mots. Par exemple, on peut s'asseoir face à l'enfant, bouger la langue de différentes manières pour attirer son attention et lui demander d'imiter ces mouvements.

Nous pouvons également créer des jeux qui impliquent de souffler, de sourire ou de faire des gestes du visage. qui permettent aux lèvres de bouger de différentes manières. L'un des exercices les plus attrayants pour les plus petits consiste à fabriquer un dé avec des images différentes illustrant différentes manières de faire bouger les lèvres et la langue, et de leur demander de les imiter avec nous.


2. Stimuler le vocabulaire avec les onomatopées

Une onomatopée est un mot qui imite le son de l'action ou de l'objet auquel elle se réfère. Par exemple, le son que nous faisons lorsque nous frappons à une porte, le son de la cloche, l’horloge, la chute d’un objet, le son des chiens, des oiseaux, des vaches, des moutons, des trains, des voitures, des champs ou les sirènes des ambulances.

Tous ceux-ci sont attrayants et faciles à prononcer des sons pour les plus petits; C'est pourquoi ils constituent un bon point de départ pour stimuler le langage oral. Alors on peut faire des jeux comme des courses avec des voitures, imiter le son des sirènes quand on les accompagne dans la rue ou si nous voyons un train, ou jouons pour être des animaux différents.

3. Champs sémantiques de travail: commencer par les animaux, les couleurs, les transports

Conformément au point précédent, et en nous rappelant que le langage nous aide à structurer et à donner un sens à l’information et aux stimuli externes, nous pouvons aider les enfants à acquérir les premiers mots à travers différents champs sémantiques .

Il est conseillé de commencer par les animaux, les couleurs ou les transports, car ce sont les stimuli habituellement les plus proches, ce qui facilite leur acquisition.

Nous pouvons présenter non seulement le son, mais aussi le nom de l'objet et à travers différents jeux. Par exemple, nous pouvons jouer à la ferme, faire un voyage, raconter des histoires où les protagonistes sont des animaux, associer différents objets de la même couleur, peindre et demander le nom. de couleurs, etc.

4. Utilisez du matériel où ils peuvent associer image et mot

Dans les premiers stades de développement, les informations que nous recevons sont fondamentalement sensorielles, c'est-à-dire qu'elles entrent par les sons, les odeurs, le toucher, les arômes et aussi les stimuli visuels .

Par conséquent, certains des outils dont nous disposons pour stimuler le langage des enfants sont des images frappantes. Par exemple, nous pouvons nous asseoir avec l'enfant et lui montrer différentes images ou dessins (là encore, il peut être utile de commencer par les animaux, les moyens de transport ou les objets les plus courants).

Une fois que nous avons reconnu et différencié le son de chaque objet, nous pouvons donner son nom et lui demander de le répéter, et même d’incorporer d’autres objets de la vie quotidienne, tels que des ustensiles de cuisine ou de cuisine (noms de fruits ou de légumes, pain, tasse, etc.). , verre, plat).

Rappelez-vous qu’en fonction de l’âge, il est plus facile de dire certaines syllabes que d’autres. Il est donc bon de commencer par un ou deux mots syllabes et d’énoncer facilement les voyelles et les consonnes.

Quelques recommandations générales

Les enfants apprennent par imitation, par observation et par expérience , avec lequel, il n'est pas nécessaire de leur donner des explications détaillées sur les jeux ou les objets. Il est utile de faire les exercices nous-mêmes en attirant leur attention, puis de leur dire de le répéter.

De plus, chaque enfant a son propre rythme, il faut être patient, effectuer les répétitions nécessaires. Dans le même sens, rappelez-vous que ce type de stratégie n’accélère pas nécessairement le processus chez tous les enfants.

Afin de renforcer fermement le langage, une évaluation approfondie doit être réalisée, ainsi qu'un programme d'exercices systématique adapté aux besoins et au domaine du développement à venir de l'enfant. Par exemple, dans certains cas, il est nécessaire d'initier une stimulation de la langue en privilégiant des compétences plus élémentaires telles que la déglutition ou la mastication, qui doivent être détectées par une orientation formelle.


Exercices pour stimuler le développement du langage, créés par une orthophoniste. (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes