yes, therapy helps!
Mindfulness in sport: getting athletes in Flow State

Mindfulness in sport: getting athletes in Flow State

April 27, 2024

For many decades, sports psychology has depended on the Behavioral Cognitive Therapy to be able to control and modify the psychological variables that intervene in the sports performance . Recently, the philosophy and praxis of Mindfulness has aroused great interest among sports psychologists, as it seems to contribute to a better psychological predisposition on the part of the athletes who practice it.

The application of Mindfulness in sport

But, first of all, we are going to answer a basic question: what exactly is "Mindfulness"?

Mindfulness it means paying attention in a particular way, on purpose, in the present moment, and without judging. To know more about Mindfulness practice, we invite you to visit our article "Mindfulness: 8 benefits of mindfulness".


Mindfulness improves sports performance

When talking about improving sports performance, many people think only about the physical variables , However the psychological component It's very important. Although the role of the sports psychologist is unknown by many individuals, more and more are the teams and athletes who hire the services of a psychologist aware of the benefits it brings in different aspects of sports performance, training or interpersonal relationships .

The correct combination of cognitive, affective, physiological conditions, allows an optimal state of performance in sport , similar to what we understand as the State of Flow, but applied to the field of sports.


Mindfulness and the important psychological variables for better sports performance

There are many psychological variables (motivation, activation level, stress, etc.) that are going to be decisive for the optimal performance of an athlete, and many are the investigations that have shown their impact on athletes. These variables, in addition, make up other important variables (for example, within the variable self-efficacy, the perception of control) that will also affect the individual's athletic performance.

It is important to note that these variables are related to each other . For example, the stress variable may affect the activation level variable, or the activation level variable to the care variable (and vice versa). Mindfulness, directly or indirectly, will influence many of these variables, such as: stress, activation level, attention, etc.


On the other hand, Mindfulness will also positively influence the self-esteem and self-confidence of an athlete, since the "non-judgmental" interpretation characteristic of this practice will be positive when it comes to interpreting successes and failures. This is also important for young athletes, because educating them with Mindfulness at an early age can influence their future well-being.

In addition, Mindfulness practice will be beneficial in interpersonal relationships and team cohesion , a determining factor in collective sports.

Emotional management and Mindfulness in sport

Unlike Behavioral Cognitive Therapy, which assumes the idea that the best sports performance is based on self-control or behavior change, Mindfulness focuses on the idea that optimal performance is a state that emerges from the acceptance of thoughts, emotions and sensations without attempting to eliminate or modify them, simply observe them in a non-judgmental manner.

The acceptance of emotions causes an improvement in both the attention and the level of activation, because emotions are not interpreted as negative (even those emotions that are part of stress). The emotional self-knowledge acquired with Mindfulness and the correct emotional regulation resulting from this self-knowledge and "being in the present", propitiates an ideal state of sports performance. The athlete who practices Mindfulness in sport is in "State of Flow", because his body and mind are in tune.

The State of Flow in Mindfulness

People who habitually use Mindfulness, stop reasoning, controlling and ruminating everything that affects them negatively, to merge into an acceptance process, which brings with it a union between body and mind , a union with the present. The athlete observes what he feels and what he thinks without further transcendence, and increases his concentration considerably. Thoughts and emotions are allowed to pass, without giving them meaning or value, achieving a distancing with them since they are not controlled, they are only accepted.

Time is reversed in the present: in the consciousness of the moment, in the bodily sensations and in the State of Flow. That is to say, energy is not invested in worries or in future expectations, and in this way a better sport performance is achieved.

Mindfulness and sports injuries

Mindfulness has been applied in numerous fields with benefits in variables such as stress management, pain or quality of life. But in the field of sports psychology is not only being used to improve stress management and improving the performance of athletes, but is also being implemented with injured athletes.

The sports injuries they have negative consequences for the mental well-being of the athletes, because they provoke psychological symptoms (fear, anger, low self-esteem, sadness, etc.) that can have a significant impact on the correct recovery. In fact, these psychological factors can contribute to a poor adherence to treatment, a reduction in athletic performance in the rehabilitation phase, and provoke, even the abandonment of the practice.

Solé, Bruno, Serpa and Palmi (2014), in his article "Applications of Mindfulness (full awareness) in sports injury", published in the Magazine of Sports Psychology, recommend the progressive introduction of Mindfulness in the prevention and rehabilitation of sports injuries , because it has been shown that its contribution can be very useful, since it manages to improve the following variables: the balance in the sport action, the pre-competition anxiety, the post-injury emotional reactivity, the pain control, the necessary communication so that the athlete improves the relationship with his environment and his medical team, the adherence to the established recovery program, the attentional capacity and the improvement of coping resources.

Bibliographic references:

  • Solé S., Carrança B., Serpa S. and Palmi J. (2014) Applications of mindfulness in sports injury. Journal of Sports Psychology, 23 (2), 501-508

Kobe Bryant & Phil Jackson | Meditation (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La pleine conscience dans le sport: amener les athlètes à l'état de fluidité

La pleine conscience dans le sport: amener les athlètes à l'état de fluidité

Avril 14, 2021

Pendant de nombreuses décennies, la psychologie du sport a dépendu de la Thérapie cognitive comportementale pour pouvoir contrôler et modifier les variables psychologiques qui interviennent dans la performance sportive . Récemment, la philosophie et la pratique de Pleine conscience suscite un vif intérêt chez les psychologues du sport, car elle semble contribuer à une meilleure prédisposition psychologique de la part des athlètes qui la pratiquent.

L'application de la pleine conscience dans le sport

Mais, tout d’abord, nous allons répondre à une question fondamentale: c’est quoi au juste "Mindfulness"?

Pleine conscience cela signifie prêter attention d'une manière particulière, à dessein, au moment présent et sans porter de jugement. Pour en savoir plus sur la pratique de la pleine conscience, nous vous invitons à consulter notre article "La pleine conscience: 8 bienfaits de la pleine conscience".


La pleine conscience améliore les performances sportives

Quand on parle d’améliorer les performances sportives, beaucoup de gens ne pensent qu’aux variables physiques cependant le composante psychologique c'est très important. Bien que le rôle du psychologue du sport soit inconnu de nombreuses personnes, les équipes et les athlètes qui font appel aux services d’un psychologue sont de plus en plus conscients des avantages qu’il apporte aux différents aspects de la performance sportive, de la formation ou des relations interpersonnelles. .

La combinaison correcte des conditions cognitives, affectives, physiologiques, permet un état optimal de performance dans le sport , similaire à ce que nous comprenons comme l’état de flux, mais appliqué au domaine du sport.


La pleine conscience et les variables psychologiques importantes pour une meilleure performance sportive

De nombreuses variables psychologiques (motivation, niveau d'activation, stress, etc.) vont être déterminantes pour la performance optimale d'un athlète, et bon nombre des enquêtes qui ont montré leur impact sur les athlètes. De plus, ces variables constituent d’autres variables importantes (par exemple, dans la variable auto-efficacité, la perception de contrôle) qui affectera également la performance sportive de l'individu.

Il est important de noter que ces variables sont liées les unes aux autres . Par exemple, la variable de stress peut affecter la variable de niveau d'activation, ou la variable de niveau d'activation de la variable de soins (et inversement). La pleine conscience, directement ou indirectement, influencera beaucoup de ces variables, telles que: le stress, le niveau d'activation, l'attention, etc.


D'autre part, la pleine conscience influencera également positivement l'estime de soi et la confiance en soi d'un athlète, puisque l'interprétation caractéristique "sans jugement" de cette pratique sera positive lorsqu'il s'agira d'interpréter les succès et les échecs. Ceci est également important pour les jeunes athlètes, car les éduquer à la pleine conscience dès leur plus jeune âge peut influer sur leur bien-être futur.

En outre, la pratique de la pleine conscience sera bénéfique dans les relations interpersonnelles et la cohésion d'équipe , facteur déterminant dans les sports collectifs.

Gestion émotionnelle et pleine conscience dans le sport

Contrairement à la thérapie cognitive comportementale, qui repose sur l’idée que la meilleure performance sportive est basée sur la maîtrise de soi ou un changement de comportement, La pleine conscience se concentre sur l'idée que la performance optimale est un état qui émerge de l'acceptation des pensées, des émotions et des sensations sans tenter de les éliminer ou de les modifier, observez-les simplement sans porter de jugement.

L'acceptation des émotions entraîne une amélioration à la fois de l'attention et du niveau d'activation, car les émotions ne sont pas interprétées comme négatives (même les émotions faisant partie du stress). La connaissance de soi émotionnelle acquise avec Mindfulness et la régulation émotionnelle correcte résultant de cette connaissance de soi et de "l'être dans le présent", favorisent un état idéal de performance sportive. L'athlète qui pratique la pleine conscience dans le sport est en «état de fluidité», car son corps et son esprit sont en accord.

Le État de flux en pleine conscience

Les personnes qui utilisent habituellement Mindfulness, cessent de raisonner, de contrôler et de ruminer tout ce qui les affecte négativement, pour se fondre dans un processus d'acceptation qui apporte une union entre le corps et l'esprit , une union avec le présent. L'athlète observe ce qu'il ressent et ce qu'il pense sans transcender davantage et augmente considérablement sa concentration. Les pensées et les émotions sont autorisées à passer, sans leur donner de sens ou de valeur, obtenant une prise de distance avec elles car elles ne sont pas contrôlées, elles ne sont acceptées.

Le temps est inversé dans le présent: dans la conscience du moment, dans les sensations corporelles et dans l'état de flux. En d’autres termes, l’énergie n’est pas investie dans les inquiétudes ni dans les attentes futures et permet ainsi d’obtenir de meilleures performances sportives.

Pleine conscience et blessures sportives

La pleine conscience a été appliquée dans de nombreux domaines, avec des avantages pour des variables telles que la gestion du stress, la douleur ou la qualité de vie. Cependant, dans le domaine de la psychologie sportive, non seulement il est utilisé pour améliorer la gestion du stress et la performance des athlètes, mais il est également appliqué aux athlètes blessés.

Le blessures sportives ils ont des conséquences négatives sur le bien-être mental des athlètes, car ils provoquent des symptômes psychologiques (peur, colère, manque d'estime de soi, tristesse, etc.) pouvant avoir un impact significatif sur le bon rétablissement. En fait, ces facteurs psychologiques peuvent contribuer à une mauvaise adhésion au traitement, à une réduction de la performance sportive en phase de rééducation, et à provoquer, voire à l'abandon de la pratique.

Solé, Bruno, Serpa et Palmi (2014), dans son article "Applications de la pleine conscience dans le sport", publié dans le Magazine de psychologie du sport, recommander l'introduction progressive de Mindfulness dans la prévention et la rééducation des blessures sportives , puisqu'il a été démontré que son apport peut être très utile, car il parvient à améliorer les variables suivantes: l'équilibre dans l'action sportive, l'anxiété avant la compétition, la réactivité émotionnelle après une blessure, le contrôle de la douleur, la communication nécessaire afin que l'athlète améliore la relation avec son environnement et son équipe médicale, le respect du programme de récupération établi, la capacité d'attention et l'amélioration des ressources d'adaptation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Solé S., Carrança B., Serpa S. et Palmi J. (2014) Applications de la pleine conscience aux blessures sportives. Journal of Sports Psychology, 23 (2), 501-508

SALUD y BELLEZA: estar guapa y saludable, por Adolfo Pérez Agustí (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes