yes, therapy helps!
Dysgraphia: causes, symptoms and treatment

Dysgraphia: causes, symptoms and treatment

September 16, 2022

Dysgraphia is one of the disorders whose effects are felt in the development of boys and girls from around the world, since it has to do with the difficulties when carrying out one of the most useful actions today: writing.

If this skill is not well understood in childhood, this can lead to a much lower capacity when communicating with other people, making lists and writing to better organize ones day-to-day life, or opting for high-value-added jobs. , among other negative consequences.

In this article we will see what characteristics, symptoms and causes are related to dysgraphia , as well as the types of treatments recommended to mitigate their effects on the development of childhood.


  • Related article: "Learning difficulties: definition and warning signs"

What is dysgraphia?

It is known as dysgraphia the phenomenon by which a person (usually a boy or a girl) presents serious difficulties to write well, either for questions of spelling, calligraphy or both types of problems at the same time. It is, therefore, a group of disorders of written expression, which in turn can be encompassed in the category of specific learning disorders .

In turn, dysgraphia is frequently accompanied by other specific learning disorders, such as dyscalculia or dyslexia.


The components of writing that can be affected by dysgraphia are varied, so the symptoms of this alteration are also. Among the most prominent are the following, always taking into account the age range to which the person belongs.

  • Inconsistent calligraphy or so strange that it costs to read.
  • Problems to accentuate.
  • Bad management of spaces between words, phrases and lines.
  • Bad score .
  • Grammatical problems
  • Replacing letters .
  • Strange links of words.
  • Inappropriate grasp of pencil or ballpoint pen .

Types of dysgraphia

The cases of dysgraphia can be classified into two main types , according to the characteristics of the difficulties when writing.

Disortography

It consists of the presence of significant problems in learning the rules of spelling in the practice of writing .


Motor dysgraphia

This form of dysgraphia has to do with problems of posture, coordination and integration between movements and visual information in regard to writing In addition to these two types, there are cases in which it is difficult to classify what happens, given that there is a wide variety of symptoms.

Prevalence: what percentage of children present it?

Although there is currently little data on this, It is estimated that around 3% of boys and girls presents some problems to comply with orthographic rules that can be considered cases of dysgraphia, while the rest of difficulties associated with writing would occur with a somewhat lower frequency.

Causes

What is produced by dysgraphia is still not well understood, but it is most likely that behind most of the cases there are several causes acting at the same time. For example, may be acting genetic predispositions that lead to producing an encephalon design in which the neuronal structures that must be coordinated to produce the writing are not as well connected as they should be, or perinatal brain lesions that affect these groups of neurons can occur.

Thus, the causes of dysgraphia are nonspecific, in the sense that different variables may be acting as genesis in their appearance in the first years of development during childhood. In turn, the longer the stage in which there are serious problems at the time of writing, the more difficult it will be to overcome this phenomenon, as pessimistic expectations appear, giving way to self-fulfilling prophecy.

Possibly several types of malformations and microlesions lead to similar results, since there is no easily identifiable brain region that is responsible for writing itself.

In addition, dysgraphia can also be caused by a harmful learning dynamic , or even by the effect of stress and anticipatory anxiety linked to the activity of writing.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Treatment for dysgraphia

Being a disorder that occurs in childhood, it is necessary to intervene in it as soon as possible so that its negative effects do not accumulate making the child stay in a situation of vulnerability in their learning trajectory . The objective of these initiatives will be to compensate this situation of disadvantage through an extra effort to write well that must be channeled through the appropriate learning and training techniques, so as not to produce exhaustion and frustration.

The main technique of intervention is the chain, that is, the improvement of specific skills that little by little are becoming more sophisticated and can be integrated in previous learning.

On the other hand, this form of training and learning (which must be guided by a specialist) must be accompanied by interventions aimed at dealing with the problems of beliefs, expectations and self-esteem that usually go hand in hand with dysgraphia.

At the same time, as long as there is no rapprochement between the level of writing you have and the minimum level of writing required, it is good to present alternatives in learning assessment methods, such as oral exams. In this way the development of other cognitive skills will not be impeded, thus avoiding the appearance of a serious learning bottleneck due to having difficulties in a specific area of ​​behavior, in this case writing.

Bibliographic references:

  • A. Suarez, Difficulties in learning: a diagnostic model in education. Editorial Santillana.
  • Center, INSERM Collective Expertise (2007). Dyslexia Dysorthography Dyscalculia. Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale. PMID 21348173
  • Helman, A. L .; Calhoon, M.B .; Kern, L. (2015). "Improving science vocabulary of high school English language learners with reading disabilities". Learning Disability Quarterly. 38 (1): 40-52.
  • Rodis, P., Garrod, A., & Boscardin, M.L. (Eds.). (2001). Learning Disabilities & Life Stories. Boston, USA: Allan & Bacon.

Dysgraphia ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dysgraphie: causes, symptômes et traitement

Dysgraphie: causes, symptômes et traitement

Septembre 14, 2022

La dysgraphie est l’un des troubles dont les effets se font sentir dans le développement des garçons et des filles. du monde entier, car il s’agit de difficultés lors de l’une des actions les plus utiles aujourd’hui: écrire.

Si cette compétence n’est pas bien comprise dans l’enfance, cela peut réduire considérablement la capacité de communiquer avec d’autres personnes, d’établir des listes et d’écrire pour mieux organiser la vie quotidienne, ou d’opter pour des emplois à haute valeur ajoutée. , parmi d'autres conséquences négatives.

Dans cet article, nous verrons Quelles caractéristiques, symptômes et causes sont liés à la dysgraphie , ainsi que les types de traitements recommandés pour atténuer leurs effets sur le développement de l’enfance.


  • Article connexe: "Difficultés d'apprentissage: définition et signes avant-coureurs"

Qu'est-ce que la dysgraphie?

On appelle dysgraphie le phénomène par lequel une personne (généralement un garçon ou une fille) présente de sérieuses difficultés pour bien écrire, que ce soit pour des questions d'orthographe, de calligraphie ou les deux types de problèmes à la fois. C’est donc un groupe de troubles de l’expression écrite qui, à son tour, peut être inclus dans la catégorie des troubles de l'apprentissage spécifiques .

À son tour, la dysgraphie s'accompagne souvent d'autres troubles d'apprentissage spécifiques, tels que la dyscalculie ou la dyslexie.


Les composants de l’écriture pouvant être affectés par la dysgraphie sont variés, de même que les symptômes de cette altération. Les plus importants sont les suivants, toujours en tenant compte de la tranche d’âge à laquelle appartient la personne.

  • Calligraphie incohérente ou si étrange qu'il en coûte de lire.
  • Problèmes à accentuer.
  • Mauvaise gestion des espaces entre les mots, les phrases et les lignes.
  • Mauvais score .
  • Problèmes grammaticaux
  • Remplacer des lettres .
  • Liens étranges de mots.
  • Saisir de manière inappropriée un crayon ou un stylo à bille .

Types de dysgraphie

Les cas de dysgraphie peuvent être classés en deux types principaux , en fonction des caractéristiques des difficultés d’écriture.

Disortographie

Il consiste en la présence de problèmes importants en apprenant les règles de l'orthographe dans la pratique de l'écriture .


Dysgraphie motrice

Cette forme de dysgraphie a à voir avec problèmes de posture, de coordination et d'intégration entre mouvements et informations visuelles en ce qui concerne l'écriture Outre ces deux types, il existe des cas dans lesquels il est difficile de classer ce qui se produit, étant donné qu'il existe une grande variété de symptômes.

Prévalence: quel pourcentage d'enfants le présente?

Bien qu’il existe actuellement peu de données à ce sujet, On estime qu'environ 3% des garçons et des filles présente certains problèmes pour se conformer aux règles orthographiques qui peuvent être considérées comme des cas de dysgraphie, alors que le reste des difficultés associées à l’écriture se produirait à une fréquence légèrement inférieure.

Les causes

Ce qui est produit par la dysgraphie n’est pas encore bien compris, mais il est fort probable que derrière la plupart des cas, plusieurs causes agissent en même temps. Par exemple, peut être agissant prédispositions génétiques qui conduisent à la création d’un dessin d’encéphale dans lequel les structures neuronales devant être coordonnées pour produire l’écriture ne sont pas aussi bien reliées qu’elles devraient l’être, ou des lésions cérébrales périnatales affectant ces groupes de neurones peuvent survenir.

Ainsi, les causes de la dysgraphie sont non spécifiques, en ce sens que différentes variables peuvent jouer un rôle moteur dans leur apparition au cours des premières années du développement de l’enfance. À son tour, plus le stade des problèmes graves au moment de l’écriture sera long, plus il sera difficile de surmonter ce phénomène, à mesure que des attentes pessimistes apparaissent, cédant la place à une prophétie auto-réalisatrice.

Il est possible que plusieurs types de malformations et de microlésions conduisent à des résultats similaires, car aucune région du cerveau facilement identifiable n'est responsable de l'écriture elle-même.

En outre, la dysgraphie peut aussi être causée par une dynamique d'apprentissage néfaste , ou même par l’effet du stress et de l’anxiété anticipative liés à l’activité d’écriture.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Traitement de la dysgraphie

Étant un trouble qui survient dans l’enfance, il est nécessaire d’intervenir le plus tôt possible afin que ses effets négatifs ne s’accumulent pas, obligeant ainsi l’enfant à rester une situation de vulnérabilité dans leur parcours d'apprentissage . L’objectif de ces initiatives sera de compenser cette situation de désavantage par un effort supplémentaire pour bien écrire, qui doit être canalisé à travers les techniques d’apprentissage et de formation appropriées, afin de ne pas produire épuisement et frustration.

La technique d’intervention principale est la chaîne, c’est-à-dire l’amélioration de compétences spécifiques qui deviennent progressivement plus sophistiquées et peuvent être intégrées dans les apprentissages antérieurs.

D'autre part, cette forme de formation et d'apprentissage (qui doit être guidée par un spécialiste) doit être accompagnée d'interventions visant à traiter les problèmes de croyances, d'attentes et d'estime de soi cela va généralement de pair avec la dysgraphie.

Dans le même temps, tant qu’il n’y aura pas de rapprochement entre votre niveau d’écriture et le niveau minimal d’écriture requis, il est bon de présenter des alternatives dans les méthodes d’évaluation des apprentissages, telles que les examens oraux. De cette manière, le développement d'autres compétences cognitives ne sera pas entravé, évitant ainsi l'apparition d'un goulot d'étranglement sérieux en raison de difficultés rencontrées dans un domaine spécifique du comportement, en l'occurrence l'écriture.

Références bibliographiques:

  • A. Suarez, Les difficultés d'apprentissage: un modèle de diagnostic en éducation. Editorial Santillana.
  • Centre, Expertise collective INSERM (2007). Dyslexie Dysorthographie Dyscalculie. Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale. PMID 21348173
  • Helman, A. L.; Calhoon, M.B .; Kern, L. (2015). "Améliorer le vocabulaire scientifique des apprenants de langue anglaise ayant un handicap de lecture dans les écoles secondaires". Trouble d'apprentissage trimestriel. 38 (1): 40-52.
  • Rodis, P., Garrod, A. et Boscardin, M.L. (Eds.). (2001). Troubles d'apprentissage et histoires de vie. Boston, États-Unis: Allan & Bacon.

Dyslexie, dysorthographie, dyscalculie (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes