yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Psychosocial Development by Erik Erikson

The Theory of Psychosocial Development by Erik Erikson

August 13, 2022

Index

  • The Theory of Psychosocial Development by Erikson
  • The discrepancy between Erik Erikson and Sigmund Freud
  • features of Erikson's Theory
  • The 8 psychosocial stages in the theory of psychosocial development

In Evolutionary Psychology, also called Developmental Psychology, the Theory of the Psychosocial Development of Erikson It is one of the most widespread and accepted theories. Next, we will describe some of the foundations of Erik Erikson's theory, as well as describing the stages and their conflicts.

1. The theory of psychosocial development of Erikson

The Theory of Psychosocial Development was devised by Erik Erikson from the reinterpretation of the psychosexual stages developed by Sigmund Freud in which he highlighted the social aspects of each of them in four main facets:


  1. Emphasized the understanding of 'me' as an intense force, as an organizing capacity of the person, able to reconcile the syntonic and dystonic forces, as well as to solve the crises derived from the genetic, cultural and historical context of each person.
  2. He highlighted the stages of Freud's psychosexual development , integrating the social dimension and psychosocial development.
  3. He proposed the concept of personality development from childhood to old age.
  4. Investigated about the impact of culture, society and history in the development of personality.

2. The discrepancy between Erik Erikson and Sigmund Freud

Erikson disagrees with Freud on the relevance that the latter gave to sexual development to explain the evolutionary development of the individual.


Erikson understands that the individual, as he goes through the different stages, he is developing his consciousness thanks to social interaction .

3. Characteristics of Erikson's theory

Erikson also proposes a theory of competence. Each of the vital stages gives foot to the development of a series of competences .

If in each of the new stages of life the person has achieved the competence corresponding to that vital moment, that person will experience a sense of mastery that Erikson conceptualizes as ego strength . Having acquired competence helps solve the goals that will be presented during the next life stage.

Another of the fundamental features of Erikson's theory is that Each of the stages are determined by a conflict that allows individual development. When the person manages to resolve each of the conflicts, it grows psychologically.


In the resolution of these conflicts the person finds a great potential for growth , but on the other hand we can also find great potential for failure if we can not overcome the conflict of that life stage.

4. The 8 psychosocial stages

We will summarize each of the eight psychosocial stages described by Erik Erikson.

1. Confidence vs. Distrust

This stadium takes place from birth to eighteen months of life , and depends on the relationship or bond that has been created with the mother.

The relationship with the mother will determine the future links that will be established with people throughout their lives. It is the feeling of trust, vulnerability, frustration, satisfaction, security ... that can determine the quality of relationships.

2. Autonomy vs. Shame and doubt

This stadium starts from 18 months to 3 years of the child's life.

During this stage the child undertakes his cognitive and muscular development, when he begins to control and exercise the muscles that are related to the corporal excretions. This learning process can lead to moments of doubt and shame. Also, the achievements in this stage trigger a sense of autonomy and feel like an independent body.

3. Initiative vs Guilt

This stadium travels from 3 to 5 years old .

The child begins to develop very fast, both physically and intellectually. Growing interest in interacting with other children, testing their skills and abilities. Children are curious and positive to motivate them to develop creatively.

In case the parents react negatively to the children's questions or to their initiative, it is likely that they will feel guilty.

4. Laboriousness vs. Inferiority

This stadium occurs between 6-7 years to 12 years .

The children show a genuine interest in the functioning of things and try to carry out many activities on their own, with their own effort and putting their knowledge and skills to use. For that reason, the positive stimulation that the school can offer at home or in the peer group is so important.The latter begins to acquire a transcendental relevance for them.

In the event that this is not well received or his failures motivate comparisons with others, the child may develop a sense of inferiority that will make him feel insecure in front of others.

5. Identity Exploration vs. Identity Dissemination

This stadium takes place during adolescence . At this stage, a question is asked insistently: who am I?

Adolescents begin to show more independence and to distance themselves from their parents. They prefer to spend more time with their friends and begin to think about the future and decide what they want to study, where to work, where to live, etc.

The exploration of your own possibilities occurs at this stage. They begin to shore up their own identity based on their lived experiences. This search will cause you to feel confused about your own identity on multiple occasions.

6. Privacy versus Isolation

This stage comprises from 20 to 40 , approximately.

The way of relating to other people is modified, the individual begins to prioritize more intimate relationships that offer and require a reciprocal commitment, an intimacy that generates a sense of security, of company, of trust.

If this type of intimacy is evaded, one can be bordering on loneliness or isolation, a situation that can end in depression.

7. Generativity against Stagnation

This stadium takes place between 40 to 60 years .

It is a lapse of life in which the person spends his time with his family. The search for a balance between productivity and stagnation is prioritized; a productivity that is linked to the future, to the future of their own and of the next generations, is the search to feel needed by others, to be and to feel useful.

Stagnation is the question that the individual asks himself: What do I do here if it does not work?; He feels stuck and can not channel his effort to offer something to his people or the world.

8. Integrity of the I versus Despair

This stadium occurs from the age of 60 until death .

It is a time when the individual stops being productive, or at least does not produce as much as he was capable of before. A stage in which life and way of life are totally altered, friends and family die, one has to face the duels caused by old age, both in one's own body and in that of others.

Bibliographic references:

  • Erikson, Erik. (2000). The completed life cycle. Barcelona: Editions Paidós Ibérica.
  • Erikson, Erik. (1972). Society and Adolescence Buenos Aires: Editorial Paidós.
  • Erikson, Erik. (1968, 1974). Identity, Youth and Crisis. Buenos Aires: Editorial Paidós.

8 Stages of Development by Erik Erikson (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie du développement psychosocial par Erik Erikson

La théorie du développement psychosocial par Erik Erikson

Avril 1, 2020

Index

  • Le Théorie du développement psychosocial par Erikson
  • La discordance entre Erik Erikson et Sigmund Freud
  • Caractéristiques de la théorie d'Erikson
  • Le 8 étapes psychosociales dans la théorie du développement psychosocial

En psychologie évolutionniste, également appelée psychologie du développement, la Théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson C'est l'une des théories les plus répandues et acceptées. Ensuite, nous décrirons quelques fondements de la théorie d’Erik Erikson, ainsi que les étapes et leurs conflits.

1. La théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson

La théorie du développement psychosocial a été conçue par Erik Erikson du réinterprétation des stades psychosexuels développés par Sigmund Freud dans lequel il a souligné les aspects sociaux de chacun d’entre eux sous quatre aspects principaux:


  1. A souligné la compréhension de «moi» en tant que force intense, en tant que capacité d'organisation de la personne, capable de réconcilier les forces syntoniques et dystoniques, ainsi que de résoudre les crises découlant du contexte génétique, culturel et historique de chaque personne.
  2. Il a souligné les étapes du développement psychosexuel de Freud , intégrant la dimension sociale et le développement psychosocial.
  3. Il a proposé le concept de développement de la personnalité de l'enfance à la vieillesse.
  4. Enquête sur l'impact de la culture, de la société et de l'histoire dans le développement de la personnalité.

2. La discordance entre Erik Erikson et Sigmund Freud

Erikson n'est pas d'accord avec Freud sur la pertinence que ce dernier a donnée à développement sexuel expliquer le développement évolutif de l'individu.


Erikson comprend que l'individu, au fil des différentes étapes, il développe sa conscience grâce aux interactions sociales .

3. Caractéristiques de la théorie d'Erikson

Erikson propose également une théorie de la compétence. Chacun des étapes vitales donne le pied au développement d'une série de compétences .

Si, à chacune des nouvelles étapes de la vie, la personne a atteint la compétence correspondant à ce moment vital, elle éprouvera un sentiment de maîtrise qu'Erikson conçoit comme force de l'ego . Avoir acquis une compétence aide à résoudre les objectifs qui seront présentés lors de la prochaine étape de la vie.

Une autre caractéristique fondamentale de la théorie d'Erikson est que Chacune des étapes est déterminée par un conflit qui permet le développement individuel. Lorsque la personne parvient à résoudre chacun des conflits, elle grandit psychologiquement.


Dans la résolution de ces conflits, la personne trouve un grand potentiel de croissance , mais d’un autre côté, nous pouvons également trouver un grand potentiel d’échec si nous ne pouvons pas surmonter le conflit de cette étape de la vie.

4. Les 8 étapes psychosociales

Nous allons résumer chacune des huit étapes psychosociales décrites par Erik Erikson.

1. Confiance contre méfiance

Ce stade a lieu de la naissance à dix-huit mois et dépend de la relation ou du lien créé avec la mère.

La relation avec la mère déterminera les liens futurs qui seront établis avec les personnes tout au long de leur vie. C'est le sentiment de confiance, la vulnérabilité, la frustration, la satisfaction, la sécurité ... qui peuvent déterminer la qualité des relations.

2. Autonomie contre honte et doute

Ce stade commence de 18 mois à 3 ans de la vie de l'enfant.

Au cours de cette étape, l'enfant entreprend son développement cognitif et musculaire en commençant à contrôler et à exercer les muscles liés aux excrétions corporelles. Ce processus d'apprentissage peut conduire à des moments de doute et de honte. En outre, les résultats obtenus à ce stade suscitent un sentiment d’autonomie et donnent l’impression d’être un organe indépendant.

3. Initiative vs culpabilité

Ce stade voyage de 3 à 5 ans .

L'enfant commence à se développer très rapidement, à la fois physiquement et intellectuellement. Intérêt croissant pour interagir avec d'autres enfants, tester leurs compétences et leurs capacités. Les enfants sont curieux et positifs pour les motiver à se développer de manière créative.

Si les parents réagissent négativement aux questions des enfants ou à leur initiative, il est probable qu'ils se sentiront coupables.

4. laboriousness vs infériorité

Ce stade se produit entre 6-7 ans et 12 ans .

Les enfants manifestent un intérêt sincère pour le fonctionnement des choses et essayent de mener à bien de nombreuses activités de leur propre chef, avec leurs propres efforts et en mettant à profit leurs connaissances et leurs compétences. Pour cette raison, la stimulation positive que l’école peut offrir à la maison ou chez les pairs est très importante.Ces derniers commencent à acquérir une pertinence transcendantale pour eux.

Au cas où cela ne serait pas bien accueilli ou que ses échecs incitent à des comparaisons avec d'autres, l'enfant peut développer un sentiment d'infériorité qui le mettra en danger de se sentir moins en sécurité devant les autres.

5. Exploration de l'identité et diffusion de l'identité

Ce stade a lieu à l'adolescence . A ce stade, une question est posée avec insistance: qui suis-je?

Les adolescents commencent à montrer plus d'indépendance et à se distancer de leurs parents. Ils préfèrent passer plus de temps avec leurs amis et commencent à réfléchir à l'avenir et à décider de ce qu'ils veulent étudier, où travailler, où vivre, etc.

L'exploration de vos propres possibilités se produit à ce stade. Ils commencent à consolider leur propre identité sur la base de leurs expériences vécues. Cette recherche vous rendra confus à propos de votre propre identité à plusieurs reprises.

6. Confidentialité versus isolement

Cette étape comprend de 20 à 40 , environ.

La relation avec les autres étant modifiée, l'individu commence à privilégier les relations plus intimes qui offrent et exigent un engagement réciproque, une intimité qui génère un sentiment de sécurité, d'entreprise et de confiance.

Si ce type d’intimité est éludé, on peut être à la limite de la solitude ou de l’isolement, une situation qui peut aboutir à une dépression.

7. Générativité contre la stagnation

Ce stade a lieu entre 40 et 60 ans .

C'est une période de la vie dans laquelle la personne passe son temps avec sa famille. La recherche d'un équilibre entre productivité et stagnation est prioritaire; une productivité liée à l'avenir, à l'avenir des leurs et à ceux des générations à venir, est la recherche du besoin d'être ressenti par les autres, d'être et de se sentir utile.

La stagnation est la question que l’individu se pose: Qu'est-ce que je fais ici si ça ne marche pas?; Il se sent coincé et ne peut pas canaliser ses efforts pour offrir quelque chose à son peuple ou au monde.

8. Intégrité du moi contre le désespoir

Ce stade se produit à partir de 60 ans jusqu'à la mort .

C'est un moment où l'individu cesse d'être productif ou du moins ne produit pas autant qu'il était capable auparavant. Une étape dans laquelle la vie et le mode de vie sont totalement modifiés, les amis et la famille meurent, il faut faire face aux duels causés par la vieillesse, tant dans son propre corps que dans celui des autres.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Erikson, Erik. (2000). Le cycle de vie complété. Barcelone: ​​Editions Paidós Ibérica.
  • Erikson, Erik. (1972). Société et adolescence Buenos Aires: Éditorial Paidós.
  • Erikson, Erik. (1968, 1974). Identité, Jeunesse et Crise. Buenos Aires: Éditorial Paidós.

Le développement de l'enfant en 8 phases - Selon Eric Erikson (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes