yes, therapy helps!
40 questions to think about and face uncertainty

40 questions to think about and face uncertainty

February 8, 2023

Since we have use of reason, human beings have always raised questions, some of them of great importance and others much more mundane. The way in which we face uncertainty talks about who we are. In this article we are going to see different questions to think and reflect on different topics , with which to test both the degree of knowledge and the management of doubts.

  • Maybe you're interested: "120 questions of general culture and their answers"

A short selection of questions to think about

Below you will find a series of questions to think that can help us to meditate on different aspects of our day to day, or to elaborate more transcendental reflections.


1. What is the meaning of life?

A very typical question, but the truth is that is one of the most intriguing to the human being . The answer is totally subjective.

2. How much do I love myself?

Although it may seem like an exercise in self-centeredness, the truth is that many people do not value themselves in a positive way and do not know how to appreciate or appreciate themselves as they deserve. Thinking about this will help us to see if we are underestimating or overestimating to some extent.

3. Is it better to be a dissatisfied human or a satisfied pig?

This question, from a sentence by Stuart Mill, discusses whether it is preferable to remain ignorant but being happy and complying with what we already have and know or if on the other hand it is not better to investigate, reflect and know the world even if it makes us see realities that make us unhappy.


However, we must bear in mind that one thing does not take away the other: we can feel miserable without knowing what is happening in the world or be immensely happy being wise and knowing how this works.

4. Does destiny exist or do we create it with our acts?

This question is controversial and has led throughout history to multiple philosophical discussions . On the one hand there are those who believe that everything is written and that it will suffer what has to happen, whatever we do. Others consider that there is nothing pre-established and that everything depends on the acts we carry out. We can also find intermediate beliefs.

5. What can I know?

We can inform you of a large number of topics and aspects in our day to day, as well as mastering different skills and techniques. But can we know everything? What is really what I can get to know or know?


  • Related article: "What is epistemology and what is it for?"

6. What should I do?

One of the reasons for greater anguish of the human being is the uncertainty, the fear of what could happen or the ignorance of what is his role in the world or in the concrete situation of which he is speaking. What to do and how to act are doubts that it can be of great concern to us .

7. What can I expect?

Expectations about what we can expect from life , of ourselves or of others is another element on which we can think and reflect. This and the two previous questions have been made by a large number of people throughout history, such as Kant.

8. What is worse, failing or not having tried?

Sometimes we do not act in search of what we want for fear of failing and the consequences of doing so, among other possible reasons. But even if we can fail, is not it better to at least try and take away the doubt of what could have happened if we had done it?

9. How have we changed over the years?

With the passage of time human beings change continuously. Although our personality can remain more or less stable , we live different experiences, we mature, we are happy and we suffer, which in the long run generates changes. Since we were children until now, what changes have we made and why?

  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

10. How far can we go to achieve our dreams?

One wonders what we would be able to do to achieve our deepest desires, the time and effort that we would be able to occupy in it and whether or not there are limits to achieve them. One of those questions to think that they make us reflect on our potential .

11. What activities should we devote less time to what we do and what more?

It is common that in general we tend to use large amounts of our time in things not excessively important and while neglecting others of great value to us. Thinking about it can help to revalue each of the aspects that we carry out .

12. If we could see our future ... would we want to know it?

In a similar way to what happens with the idea of ​​destiny, it is stated that on the one hand knowing our future can be curious and can offer us hope, but on the other we can find something that we would not like to know, besides breaking the illusion of achieving things little by little without knowing where we will end up.

Not to say that knowing what may happen in the future could alter our behavior so that it never happens.

13. How much of what do we really need?

We live in a society that promotes and requires the constant consumption of goods and services by the population to ensure that it works properly. But really we need everything we consume or acquire ? Do we really want it?

14. What values ​​guide our behavior?

Each of us has its own system of values ​​and beliefs that makes us act in a certain way, but often we are not completely aware of it. We do something because we feel it is the right thing (or not, what would generate cognitive dissonance), without asking us exactly why.

Therefore it is useful to assess what type of elements move us. And although the values ​​can be personal , are mostly acquired socially and culturally, so we can also assess what kind of values ​​prevail in our environment, society and culture.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

15. What do I love?

Question in simple appearance but that for many people is difficult to answer. We can easily say things that we more or less like or dislike, but ... what kind of activities or stimuli really make us vibrate? What makes us feel alive?

16. Why do we seem not to learn from the mistakes of the past?

This question can be asked on a personal level, at the level of society or even at the level of humanity. We continually encounter situations similar to those that have been experienced before, after which we promise to correct our mistakes and eventually fall back into them. Social and couple relationships or employment are typical examples . You can also see how the same patterns are repeated in wars and conflicts.

17. Is there a limit to what we can achieve?

In ancient times nobody believed that the human being could fly. Neither that we could get to space. Or live to be eighty years old. These are supposed limits that little by little the human being has been able to overcome. Is there really something we can not reach with enough time or patience?


18. Do we live or survive?

In today's society, human beings tend to limit themselves to doing what they are supposed to do, establishing relatively rigid behavior patterns and often abandoning their aspirations and dreams in pursuit of stability. Many people are limited, in fact, to survive without looking for what makes them feel alive, or what they really want or would like to achieve. And we? Do we live or survive?

19. What do we do to improve the world?

Knowing our role in life can be complicated, but most people seek to be a presence that improves the world in some way. It is not necessary to make great deeds but to make the world a better place for others, even if it is for our immediate environment.


20. What defines us as human beings?

It is easy to say that we are human beings. But what does it mean to be? What is it that makes someone or something human? In this sense we can consider, for example, if an android could become a human being and why yes or no could be considered as such. Is about one of the questions to think that touch the subject of the existential .

  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

21. Would you change something in your story?

Our life has its lights and shadows, its moments of happiness and pain. For better or for worse, all this has led us to the point where we are right now, and altering it would put us in a different situation from the current one. Would we change something of what we have lived?

22. What is missing from today's society?

Our society has its virtues and its shortcomings . Posing us what is missing will make us see what we consider valuable and can make us think of ways to implement it.


23. Is it good that everything changes continuously?

We live in a liquid and fluid society, always changing. This can be positive for many in many aspects. But although the change is positive, perhaps it occurs in an excessively accelerated way (although in some aspects there is still great immobility), which can generate the loss of stable referents in which to settle.

24. What happens to relationships? Has romanticism been lost?

Personal relationships, both social and as a couple, have suffered a certain decline. We live in a society that is increasingly individualistic, cold, superficial and materialistic, in which it is not uncommon to feel (not to be) alone despite being surrounded by people or being used by others for their own benefit.

25. Where do our actions lead us?

The question basically arises to reflect on where our actions lead, both as an individual and as a species.

26. Why do we consider that type of thinking that does not coincide with ours to be crazy?

The human being tends to think that his way of seeing the world is correct. It is logical and normal, after all it is the explanation that one gives to things and that have been elaborated through experience .

But we must bear in mind that it is the same for the rest of the world. And in fact, my explanation of reality is neither better nor worse than someone else's, it's just different. Other approaches can, in fact, be much more adaptive and positive than ours, and have enough flexibility to recognize it and introduce modifications in our way of seeing reality.

27. Do we have prejudices?

Most of us will respond quickly to this question that does not. But it is true? Often there are more prejudices than it seems, and many of them we are not even aware . Thinking about this topic can lead us to identify and fight many of them.

28. Is there something eternal?

Throughout our lives we often find that everything has a beginning and an end, including our own existence. Is there something that lasts forever?

29. What makes us happy?

One question that everyone has ever asked is how we can achieve or enhance their own happiness and / or that of others. But nevertheless there is no clear answer that is not a generality: everything depends on the person, his conception of happiness, his beliefs and values, among other aspects.

30. How does the world work?

This is one of the issues that has generated the most amount of reflection in the human being, science being born mainly to try to answer it.

31. What is the best education system possible?

Maybe you have legitimate doubts about whether the education system in the West is really respectful of children and their genuine ways of learning.

32. Am I as many people as human beings have an impression of me?

A relativistic doubt that can make us think about the way in which others value us.

33. Why do humans treat animals badly?

Many will argue that we should feed ourselves and animal protein is irreplaceable. This may sound reasonable, but are we really doing everything we can to make the animals live in peace and harmony?

34. Is it better to be right or left?

Progress against conservatism, and millions of arguments for and against each political position.

35. Does man have any purpose?

Are we designed for a kind of transcendental goal? Or are we slaves to a senseless free will?

36. What is religion?

An existential question that we have all ever asked ourselves. What is the purpose of religion? Should we believe in something? And if we believe in something, the teachings must be mediated by an institution made up of men and women of flesh and blood?

37. Is every human being worth the same?

Are we all equal, or are there reasons to think that some people deserve special consideration?

38. Why is there sexism?

It is possible to ask what are the reasons for discrimination between human beings.

39. What is the most execrable historical character?

Who did more harm to humanity, and why?

40. Do things have a meaning for themselves, or are we humans who give meaning to what we perceive?

A philosophical question that can make us think and reflect for hours.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
40 questions à réfléchir et à affronter dans l'incertitude

40 questions à réfléchir et à affronter dans l'incertitude

Juin 20, 2022

Depuis que nous utilisons la raison, les êtres humains ont toujours posé des questions, certaines d’une grande importance et d’autres beaucoup plus banales. La manière dont nous sommes confrontés à l'incertitude parle de qui nous sommes. Dans cet article, nous allons voir différentes questions pour réfléchir et réfléchir sur différents sujets , permettant de tester à la fois le degré de connaissance et la gestion des doutes.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "120 questions de culture générale et leurs réponses"

Une courte sélection de questions à réfléchir

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une série de questions à penser pouvant nous aider à méditer sur différents aspects de notre quotidien, ou à élaborer des réflexions plus transcendantales.


1. Quel est le sens de la vie?

Une question très typique, mais la vérité est que est l'un des plus intrigants pour l'être humain . La réponse est totalement subjective.

2. Combien je m'aime?

Bien que cela puisse sembler être un exercice d'égocentrisme, la vérité est que beaucoup de gens ne se valorisent pas de manière positive et ne savent pas comment s'apprécier ou s'apprécier comme ils le méritent. Penser à cela nous aidera pour voir si nous sous-estimons ou surestimons dans une certaine mesure.

3. Est-il préférable d'être un humain insatisfait ou un cochon satisfait?

Cette question, tirée d'une phrase de Stuart Mill, discute de la question de savoir s'il est préférable de rester ignorant, mais d'être heureux et de se conformer à ce que nous avons et savons déjà, ou s'il ne vaut pas mieux enquêter, réfléchir et connaître le monde même si cela nous rend voir les réalités qui nous rendent malheureux.


Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'une chose n'enlève pas l'autre: on peut se sentir misérable sans savoir ce qui se passe dans le monde ou être immensément heureux d'être sage et de savoir comment cela fonctionne.

4. Le destin existe-t-il ou est-il créé par nos actes?

Cette question est controversée et a conduit à travers l’histoire à plusieurs discussions philosophiques . D'un côté, il y a ceux qui croient que tout est écrit et qu'il va souffrir ce qui doit arriver, quoi que nous fassions. D'autres considèrent qu'il n'y a rien de préétabli et que tout dépend des actes que nous posons. Nous pouvons également trouver des croyances intermédiaires.

5. Que puis-je savoir?

Nous pouvons vous informer sur un grand nombre de sujets et d’aspects quotidiens, ainsi que sur la maîtrise de différentes compétences et techniques. Mais pouvons-nous tout savoir? Qu'est-ce que je peux réellement savoir ou savoir?


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'épistémologie et à quoi ça sert?"

6. Que devrais-je faire?

Une des raisons de la plus grande angoisse de l'être humain est l'incertitude, la peur de ce qui pourrait arriver ou l'ignorance de son rôle dans le monde ou dans la situation concrète dont il parle. Que faire et comment agir doutent que cela peut être une grande préoccupation pour nous .

7. Que puis-je attendre?

Des attentes sur ce que l'on peut attendre de la vie , de nous-mêmes ou des autres est un autre élément sur lequel nous pouvons penser et réfléchir. Cette question et les deux précédentes ont été posées par un grand nombre de personnes à travers l'histoire, telles que Kant.

8. Qu'est-ce qui est pire, échouer ou ne pas avoir essayé?

Parfois, nous n'agissons pas à la recherche de ce que nous voulons, de peur d'échouer et les conséquences de le faire, parmi d'autres raisons possibles. Mais même si nous pouvons échouer, n'est-il pas préférable d'essayer au moins de dissiper le doute quant à ce qui aurait pu se passer si nous l'avions fait?

9. Comment avons-nous changé au fil des ans?

Au fil du temps, les êtres humains changent continuellement. Bien que notre personnalité puisse rester plus ou moins stable , nous vivons des expériences différentes, nous grandissons, nous sommes heureux et nous souffrons, ce qui à long terme génère des changements. Depuis que nous sommes enfants jusqu'à maintenant, quels changements avons-nous apportés et pourquoi?

  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

10. Jusqu'où pouvons-nous aller pour réaliser nos rêves?

On se demande ce que nous pourrions faire pour réaliser nos désirs les plus profonds, le temps et les efforts que nous pourrions y consacrer et s’il existe ou non des limites à les réaliser. Une de ces questions à penser que ils nous font réfléchir sur notre potentiel .

11. Quelles activités devrions-nous consacrer moins de temps à ce que nous faisons et quoi de plus?

Il est courant qu'en général, nous consacrions une grande partie de notre temps à des tâches qui ne sont pas excessivement importantes et qui négligent les autres qui sont de grande valeur pour nous. Penser cela peut aider à revaloriser chacun des aspects que nous réalisons .

12. Si nous pouvions voir notre avenir ... voudrions-nous le savoir?

De manière similaire à ce qui se passe avec l’idée de destin, il est dit que connaître notre avenir peut être curieux et peut nous offrir de l’espoir, mais que nous pouvons trouver quelque chose que nous ne voudrions pas savoir, outre briser l’illusion de la réussite. les choses petit à petit sans savoir où nous finirons.

Cela ne veut pas dire que savoir ce qui pourrait arriver dans le futur pourrait modifier notre comportement de sorte que cela ne se produise jamais.

13. De quoi avons-nous vraiment besoin?

Nous vivons dans une société qui encourage et exige la consommation constante de biens et de services de la population pour assurer son bon fonctionnement. Mais vraiment nous avons besoin de tout ce que nous consommons ou acquérons ? En voulons-nous vraiment?

14. Quelles valeurs guident notre comportement?

Chacun de nous a son propre système de valeurs et de croyances qui nous oblige à agir d'une certaine manière, mais souvent nous n'en sommes pas complètement conscients. Nous faisons quelque chose parce que nous estimons que c'est la bonne chose (ou non, ce qui générerait une dissonance cognitive), sans nous demander exactement pourquoi.

Il est donc utile d’évaluer le type d’éléments qui nous fait bouger. Et bien les valeurs peuvent être personnelles , sont principalement acquis socialement et culturellement, nous pouvons donc aussi évaluer le type de valeurs qui prévalent dans notre environnement, notre société et notre culture.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

15. Qu'est-ce que j'aime?

Demandez en apparence simple, mais pour beaucoup de gens, il est difficile de répondre. Nous pouvons facilement dire des choses que nous aimons ou que nous n'aimons plus ou moins, mais ... quel genre d'activités ou de stimuli nous fait vraiment vibrer? Qu'est-ce qui nous fait nous sentir vivants?

16. Pourquoi ne semble-t-on pas apprendre des erreurs du passé?

Cette question peut être posée à un niveau personnel, au niveau de la société ou même au niveau de l'humanité. Nous rencontrons continuellement des situations similaires à celles que nous avons connues auparavant, après quoi nous nous engageons à corriger nos erreurs et à y retomber. Les relations sociales et de couple ou l'emploi sont des exemples typiques . Vous pouvez également voir comment les mêmes modèles se répètent dans les guerres et les conflits.

17. Y a-t-il une limite à ce que nous pouvons réaliser?

Dans les temps anciens, personne ne croyait que l’être humain pouvait voler. Ni que nous puissions aller dans l'espace. Ou vivre jusqu'à quatre-vingts ans. Celles-ci sont supposées être des limites que l'être humain a peu à peu pu surmonter. Y at-il vraiment quelque chose que nous ne pouvons pas atteindre avec suffisamment de temps ou de patience?


18. Vivons-nous ou survivons-nous?

Dans la société d'aujourd'hui, les êtres humains ont tendance à se limiter à faire ce qu'ils sont censés faire, établir des modèles de comportement relativement rigides et abandonnent souvent leurs aspirations et leurs rêves à la recherche de la stabilité. En fait, beaucoup de gens sont limités pour survivre sans chercher ce qui les fait se sentir en vie, ou ce qu'ils veulent ou voudraient vraiment accomplir. Et nous? Vivons-nous ou survivons-nous?

19. Que faisons-nous pour améliorer le monde?

Connaître notre rôle dans la vie peut être compliqué, mais la plupart des gens cherchent à être une présence qui améliore le monde d'une manière ou d'une autre. Il n'est pas nécessaire de faire de grandes actions mais de faire du monde un meilleur endroit pour les autres, même si c'est pour notre environnement immédiat.


20. Qu'est-ce qui nous définit en tant qu'êtres humains?

Il est facile de dire que nous sommes des êtres humains. Mais qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'être? Qu'est-ce qui fait que quelqu'un ou quelque chose soit humain? Dans ce sens, nous pouvons déterminer, par exemple, si un androïde pourrait devenir un être humain et pourquoi oui ou non pourrait être considéré comme tel. Il s'agit de une des questions à penser qui touchent le sujet de l'existentiel .

  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

21. Souhaitez-vous changer quelque chose dans votre histoire?

Notre vie a ses ombres et ses lumières, ses moments de bonheur et de douleur. Pour le meilleur ou pour le pire, tout cela nous a menés au point où nous en sommes maintenant, et le modifier nous placerait dans une situation différente de celle actuelle. Changerions-nous quelque chose de ce que nous avons vécu?

22. Qu'est-ce qui manque à la société d'aujourd'hui?

Notre société a ses vertus et ses faiblesses . En nous posant ce qui manque, nous verrons ce que nous considérons comme précieux et nous inciterons à réfléchir aux moyens de le mettre en œuvre.


23. Est-ce bien que tout change continuellement?

Nous vivons dans une société liquide et fluide, en constante évolution. Cela peut être positif pour beaucoup à bien des égards. Mais si le changement est positif, il se produit peut-être de manière excessivement accélérée (même si, à certains égards, il reste encore une grande immobilité), ce qui peut entraîner la perte de référents stables dans lesquels s’installer.

24. Qu'advient-il des relations? Le romantisme a-t-il été perdu?

Les relations personnelles, sociales et en couple, ont subi un certain déclin. Nous vivons dans une société de plus en plus individualiste, froide, superficielle et matérialiste, dans lequel il n’est pas rare de se sentir (ne pas être) seul malgré le fait d’être entouré de gens ou d’être utilisé par d’autres pour son propre bénéfice

25. Où nos actions nous mènent-elles?

La question qui se pose est de savoir où mènent nos actions, à la fois en tant qu’individu et en tant qu’espèce.

26. Pourquoi considérons-nous ce type de pensée qui ne coïncide pas avec le nôtre?

L'être humain a tendance à penser que sa façon de voir le monde est correcte. C'est logique et normal, après tout c'est l'explication que l'on donne aux choses et qui a été élaborée par l'expérience .

Mais il ne faut pas oublier qu’il en va de même pour le reste du monde. Et en fait, mon explication de la réalité n'est ni meilleure ni pire que celle de quelqu'un d'autre, c'est simplement différent. D’autres approches peuvent en réalité être beaucoup plus adaptatives et positives que la nôtre et avoir suffisamment de souplesse pour la reconnaître et introduire des modifications dans notre façon de voir la réalité.

27. Avons-nous des préjugés?

La plupart d'entre nous répondrons rapidement à cette question qui ne le fait pas. Mais il est vrai? Il y a souvent plus de préjugés qu'il n'y paraît, et beaucoup d'entre eux nous ne sommes même pas au courant . Penser à ce sujet peut nous amener à identifier et à en combattre plusieurs.

28. Y a-t-il quelque chose d'éternel?

Tout au long de notre vie, nous constatons souvent que tout a un début et une fin, y compris notre propre existence. Y a-t-il quelque chose qui dure pour toujours?

29. Qu'est-ce qui nous rend heureux?

Une question que tout le monde a déjà posée est de savoir comment nous pouvons atteindre ou améliorer leur propre bonheur et / ou celui des autres. Cependant il n'y a pas de réponse claire ce n'est pas une généralité: tout dépend de la personne, de sa conception du bonheur, de ses croyances et de ses valeurs, entre autres aspects.

30. Comment fonctionne le monde?

C’est l’une des questions qui a suscité le plus de réflexion dans l’être humain, la science étant née pour tenter d’y répondre.

31. Quel est le meilleur système d'éducation possible?

Peut-être avez-vous des doutes légitimes sur le point de savoir si le système éducatif occidental est vraiment respectueux des enfants et de leurs méthodes d'apprentissage authentiques.

32. Suis-je autant de personnes que les êtres humains ont une impression de moi?

Un doute relativiste qui peut nous amener à réfléchir à la manière dont les autres nous apprécient.

33. Pourquoi les humains traitent-ils mal les animaux?

Beaucoup diront que nous devrions nous nourrir nous-mêmes et que les protéines animales sont irremplaçables. Cela peut sembler raisonnable, mais faisons-nous vraiment tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour que les animaux vivent en paix et en harmonie?

34. Est-il préférable d'être à droite ou à gauche?

Des progrès contre le conservatisme et des millions d’arguments pour et contre chaque position politique.

35. L'homme a-t-il un but?

Sommes-nous conçus pour une sorte d'objectif transcendantal? Ou sommes-nous esclaves d'un libre arbitre insensé?

36. Qu'est-ce que la religion?

Une question existentielle que nous nous sommes tous déjà posé. A quoi sert la religion? Faut-il croire en quelque chose? Et si nous croyons en quelque chose, les enseignements doivent être transmis par une institution composée d'hommes et de femmes en chair et en os?

37. Est-ce que chaque être humain a la même valeur?

Sommes-nous tous égaux ou existe-t-il des raisons de penser que certaines personnes méritent une attention particulière?

38. Pourquoi y a-t-il du sexisme?

Il est possible de demander quelles sont les raisons de la discrimination entre les êtres humains.

39. Quel est le personnage historique le plus exécrable?

Qui a fait plus de mal à l'humanité et pourquoi?

40. Les choses ont-elles une signification pour elles-mêmes ou sommes-nous des êtres humains qui donnons une signification à ce que nous percevons?

Une question philosophique qui peut nous faire réfléchir et réfléchir pendant des heures.


"L'islam au risque de l'histoire" - Débat Olaf/Karim autour du Grand Secret de l'Islam (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes