yes, therapy helps!
Sensory Integration Disorder: types, causes, symptoms and treatments

Sensory Integration Disorder: types, causes, symptoms and treatments

June 24, 2021

Although we use vision, touch and other senses as if they were unique and coherent information blocks that we all experience at the same time, the truth is that in order for several parts of the human brain to work well, they must work in coordination with each other.

Even if we believe that at any given moment our consciousness perfectly integrates what we hear, touch, see and taste, what actually happens is that our nervous system crisscrosses totally different data.

This is something that is evident in cases in which a person suffers sensory integration disorder, an alteration that is relatively common in boys and girls and that we will see next. In fact, it is estimated that approximately 15% of children of school age have the kind of problems associated with this disorder.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Anosognosia: when we do not perceive our disorders"

What is Sensory Integration Disorder?

This mental disorder, also known as sensory processing disorder , consists of an anomaly of the neurological functioning that generates problem when processing the data coming from the senses, being healthy the receiving organ of stimuli and the nerve that connects it to the rest of the nervous system.

For example, where there is sensory integration disorder it is possible that certain relevant and unambiguous sensory information captured by the eyes be omitted or arrive "late" to consciousness and that, consequently, it does not generate an adequate reaction or in a reasonable period.


It is also common for people with sensory processing disorder feel discomfort to be "overloaded" by data from the senses, or on the contrary, a lack of stimulation that makes have the feeling of living in a bubble .

For example, a girl may try to go somewhere else because what she has in front of her eyes is too complex, has many colors, etc. That is to say, that children with sensory integration disorder are more likely to notice too much stimulation even maintaining a passive attitude and not exploratory of the environment, or on the contrary, a hyposensitivity

Regrettably, the little that is known about this alteration makes it difficult to diagnose it , although the number of registered cases is increasing little by little, both in minors and adults.


  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Symptoms of Sensory Processing Disorder

The main symptoms of this alteration depend in part on whether hypersensitivity to stimuli or hyposensitivity is shown. In cases where there is a lot of sensitivity, characteristic symptoms are the following:

1. Hypersensitivity

For example, the boy or girl avoid being near bright lights , or it shows some very particular tastes with the clothes that can be put on because "it stings" or feels too much.

2. Clumsiness and lack of coordination

Costs know what place your body parts are occupying at each moment , which is why he falls relatively frequently and feels unskilled when handling objects.

3. Propensity to distractions

The high sensitivity to sensory stimuli whose information they can not process well makes these little ones more easily distracted, since they keep their minds occupied with this kind of complications .

As for those who experience hyposensitivity, the warning signs are of this style:

1. Look for constant contact

This can lead to asking for tight clothes, for example, or to ask for hugs at all times.

2. Restless attitude

Constant stimulation is sought by several routes, and they try to find places with many elements to touch , interesting sounds, etc.

3. Low sensitivity to pain

Even if your body is damaged, they react relatively little intensely.

4. Fear of the uncertainty of your position

Some children with this disorder they fear the possibility of modifying the position of their head and become "misplaced" by that change.

Types

The sensory integration disorder is not a completely homogeneous phenomenon, but rather the diversity of known cases leads one to think in several sub-categories. These are the types of sensory processing disorder which are considered so far:

Sensory modulation disorder

This variant It is characterized by low sensitivity to stimuli . For example, the person does not take long to react to a new stimulus after being exposed to several that are exactly equal to each other.

Motor sensory disorder

In these cases, the "lag" with which sensory information arrives makes It costs to coordinate one's movements at the time of trying to adapt to that environment that is changing and offering different sources of stimuli.

Sensory discrimination

There are significant difficulties when it comes to distinguish clearly different stimuli , or it is achieved but after having tried it for a too long time.

Causes of this alteration

The causes of the sensory integration disorder are not known, although it is estimated that a dysfunction of cortical areas involved in advanced processing of sensory information, since it is not exactly deafness, blindness or anything like that: it is a bad management, by the encephalon, of the data that are coming from the senses.

In this sense, areas of cortical association and areas of white matter, which are those that communicate with each other parts of the brain responsible for processing different data sources, could be involved.

Therapy

There is no known definitive cure for this disorder, although there are intervention proposals aimed at mitigating the harmful effect that the symptoms exert on the quality of life of children and adults who experience it.

Sensory integration therapy , in particular, makes the person involved in learning tasks that require coordination of their senses at the same time in real time in order to create opportunities for the corresponding areas of the brain to get used to working with each other through brain plasticity .


Sensory Processing Disorder: Occupational Therapy Demonstration (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble d'intégration sensorielle: types, causes, symptômes et traitements

Trouble d'intégration sensorielle: types, causes, symptômes et traitements

Juillet 26, 2022

Bien que nous utilisions la vision, le toucher et d'autres sens comme s'il s'agissait de blocs d'information uniques et cohérents que nous expérimentons tous en même temps, la vérité est que, pour que plusieurs parties du cerveau humain fonctionnent correctement, elles doivent fonctionner en coordination les unes avec les autres.

Même si nous croyons qu'à tout moment notre conscience intègre parfaitement ce que nous entendons, touchons, voyons et goûtons, ce qui se produit réellement, c'est que notre système nerveux croise des données totalement différentes.

C’est quelque chose qui est évident dans les cas où une personne souffre trouble d'intégration sensorielle, altération relativement courante chez les garçons et les filles et que nous verrons ensuite. En fait, on estime qu'environ 15% des enfants d'âge scolaire ont le type de problèmes associé à ce trouble.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Anosognosie: quand on ne perçoit pas nos troubles"

Qu'est-ce que le trouble d'intégration sensorielle?

Ce trouble mental, également appelé trouble du traitement sensoriel , consiste en une anomalie du fonctionnement neurologique qui génère un problème lors du traitement des données provenant des sens, étant en bonne santé l’organe récepteur des stimuli et le nerf qui le relie au reste du système nerveux.

Par exemple, en cas de trouble de l'intégration sensorielle, il est possible que certaines informations sensorielles pertinentes et non ambiguës capturées par les yeux être omis ou arriver "en retard" à la conscience et que, par conséquent, il ne génère pas de réaction adéquate ni dans un délai raisonnable.


Il est également courant que les personnes souffrant de troubles du traitement sensoriel éprouvent un malaise à être "surchargées" par des données provenant des sens, ou au contraire, par un manque de stimulation qui en résulte. avoir le sentiment de vivre dans une bulle .

Par exemple, une fille peut essayer d'aller ailleurs parce que ce qu'elle a devant ses yeux est trop complexe, a beaucoup de couleurs, etc. C’est-à-dire que les enfants ayant un trouble d’intégration sensorielle sont plus susceptibles de remarquer trop de stimulation même en maintenant une attitude passive et non exploratoire de l'environnement, ou au contraire, une hyposensibilité

Malheureusement le peu que l'on sache à propos de cette modification rend le diagnostic difficile , bien que le nombre de cas enregistrés augmente peu à peu, tant chez les mineurs que chez les adultes.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Symptômes du trouble du traitement sensoriel

Les principaux symptômes de cette altération dépendent en partie de la présence ou non d'une hypersensibilité aux stimuli ou d'une hyposensibilité. Dans les cas où il y a beaucoup de sensibilité, les symptômes caractéristiques sont les suivants:

1. hypersensibilité

Par exemple, le garçon ou la fille éviter d'être à proximité de lumières vives , ou il montre des goûts très particuliers avec les vêtements qui peuvent être mis parce que "ça pique" ou se sent trop.

2. Maladresse et manque de coordination

Ça vous coûte savoir quelle place occupent vos parties du corps à chaque instant , c’est la raison pour laquelle il tombe relativement souvent et se sent peu qualifié lorsqu’il manipule des objets.

3. Propension aux distractions

La grande sensibilité aux stimuli sensoriels dont ils ne peuvent pas bien traiter les informations rend ces petits plus facilement distraits, car ils s'occupent de ce genre de complications .

Pour ceux qui souffrent d'hyposensibilité, les signes précurseurs sont de ce style:

1. Rechercher un contact constant

Cela peut conduire à demander des vêtements serrés, par exemple, ou à demander des câlins en tout temps.

2. Attitude agitée

Une stimulation constante est recherchée par plusieurs voies et ils essaient de trouver des endroits avec beaucoup d'éléments à toucher , sons intéressants, etc.

3. Faible sensibilité à la douleur

Même si votre corps est endommagé, ils réagissent relativement peu intensément.

4. Peur de l'incertitude de votre position

Certains enfants atteints de ce trouble ils craignent la possibilité de modifier la position de leur tête et devenir "égaré" par ce changement.

Types

Le trouble de l'intégration sensorielle n'est pas un phénomène complètement homogène, mais la diversité des cas connus amène à penser en plusieurs sous-catégories. Ce sont les types de trouble du traitement sensoriel qui sont considérés jusqu'à présent:

Trouble de la modulation sensorielle

Cette variante Il est caractérisé par une faible sensibilité aux stimuli . Par exemple, la personne ne tarde pas à réagir à un nouveau stimulus après avoir été exposée à plusieurs stimulants identiques.

Trouble sensoriel moteur

Dans ces cas, le "décalage" avec lequel les informations sensorielles arrivent rend difficile Il en coûte de coordonner ses mouvements au moment d'essayer de s'adapter à cet environnement qui change et offre différentes sources de stimuli.

Discrimination sensorielle

Il existe des difficultés importantes en matière de distinguer clairement des stimuli différents , ou il est atteint mais après l’avoir essayé pendant trop longtemps.

Causes de cette altération

Les causes du trouble de l'intégration sensorielle ne sont pas connues, mais on estime qu'un dysfonctionnement de zones corticales impliquées dans le traitement avancé d’information sensorielle, car ce n’est pas exactement une surdité, une cécité ou quoi que ce soit du genre: c’est une mauvaise gestion, par l’encéphale, des données qui proviennent des sens.

En ce sens, des zones d'association corticale et des zones de substance blanche, qui sont celles qui communiquent entre elles, entre des parties du cerveau responsables du traitement de différentes sources de données, pourraient être impliquées.

Thérapie

Il n’existe pas de remède définitif connu pour ce trouble, bien que des propositions d’intervention aient pour but de réduire les effets néfastes des symptômes sur la qualité de vie des enfants et des adultes qui en souffrent.

Thérapie d'intégration sensorielle en particulier, permet à la personne impliquée dans des tâches d’apprentissage qui exigent la coordination de ses sens en même temps et en temps réel de manière à créer pour les zones correspondantes du cerveau des occasions de s’habituer au travail entre elles par la plasticité cérébrale .


L'hypersensibilité sensorielle ou mon allergie au bruit (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes