yes, therapy helps!
The 4 traits of people obsessed with pets

The 4 traits of people obsessed with pets

September 23, 2022

There is nothing wrong with loving animals, but sometimes the obsession for pets can reach pathological extremes .

The problems of hygiene, space and coexistence that this phenomenon can generate have a negative impact on animals, the person who "adopts" them and their close social environment. That is why it is worth paying attention to the warning signs that reveal the presence of this mental disorder.

How are people obsessed with pets?

Here we will review the features that characterize those who are too obsessed with animals understood as pets.

1. Accumulate animals in your home

Noah's syndrome is a variant of the Diogenes syndrome, which is characterized because the person who suffers it accumulates a large number of animals in your home . Some of the causes of this disorder are situations of psychosocial stress and loneliness.


However, many of the subjects with Noé syndrome also have a previous mental or medical disorder, very often appearing along with dementia, major depression, psychotic characteristics and even due to drug addiction.

2. They have hygiene problems

People obsessed by pets to a pathological extreme often carry out behaviors of abandonment of self-care (self-care) and the home, also tend to accumulate unusable objects and show an isolation behavior. The disorder usually develops in older people.

3. They do not care enough for animals

These individuals not only collect many animals (usually dogs or cats), but also do not give them the basic attention they need and are unable to recognize what this can mean for their own health and well-being as well as for their animals. It's not that they are cruel, it's just that they are not aware of their own behavior , since they present a phenomenon known as anosognosia.


4. They are not animal lovers

It is important to distinguish between these people and animal lovers, who may come to own several pets in their home. When we talk about Noah's syndrome, we are talking about a disorder, and therefore the person have serious problems associated : dementia, adjustment problems, depression ...

The animals that can accumulate in your home are: dogs, cats, chickens, exotic birds ... It is also possible that they have horses, cows, goats, sheep and other animals more typical of a farm in their own home.

How do they get the animals?

Animals can be achieved in two ways: actively or passively. The first of the methods takes place when the affected with this syndrome rescues them from the street or are delivered by other people in good faith.

During active acquisition, a person with pathological obsession for pets can look for abandoned animals on the street or through advertisements.


The two methods can also occur at the same time, that is, they can take animals home and reproduce there without control.

In the majority of occasions, this strange behavior goes unnoticed, largely due to the image of the altruistic person that is projected. Also, it is difficult for these people to seek help because they are not aware of how they act. This also makes treatment difficult, since the will is an important part of psychological therapy.

Associated mental disorders

These individuals usually present psychological disorders along with this syndrome. Actually, between one third and half of the subjects with Noah's syndrome have dementia or some other type of mental disorder l , among which schizophrenia, obsessive compulsive disorder or depressive disorder stand out. Alcoholism is also frequent.

Likewise, some studies have also found neurophysiological alterations associated with the disorder. For example, there is a decreased activity in the anterior dorsal cingulate gyrus , which affects decision making and lack of attention and concentration. In addition, anomalies in the prefrontal cortex have also been observed.

For this reason, it is very important to perform a complete psychological evaluation to detect comorbidities. The family and neighbors can be valuable sources of medical and social information, and excellent support in therapeutic interventions. However, the isolation of these people makes this option unlikely.

Causes of Noah's syndrome

One of the possible causes that cause this disorder to develop is loneliness. Accumulating pets would be a way to overcome this situation traumatic, in which pain and social abandonment predominate.

These animals, unlike objects (in the Diogenes syndrome), are an ideal companion for the sick. Let's say that these people have an altered pattern in the relationships of affection and attachment and, therefore, have difficulty socializing. The animals are an ideal substitute, because they provide company and support in moments of solitude.


The Line Between People And Pets (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 traits de gens obsédés par les animaux domestiques

Les 4 traits de gens obsédés par les animaux domestiques

Mars 25, 2019

Il n'y a rien de mal à aimer les animaux, mais parfois l'obsession pour les animaux domestiques peut atteindre des extrêmes pathologiques .

Les problèmes d'hygiène, d'espace et de coexistence que ce phénomène peut générer ont un impact négatif sur les animaux, la personne qui les "adopte" et leur environnement social proche. C'est pourquoi il convient de prêter attention aux signes avant-coureurs qui révèlent la présence de ce trouble mental.

Comment les gens sont obsédés par les animaux de compagnie?

Ici, nous allons passer en revue les caractéristiques qui caractérisent ceux qui sont trop obsédés par les animaux compris comme animaux de compagnie.

1. Accumuler des animaux dans votre maison

Le syndrome de Noé est une variante du syndrome de Diogène, caractérisé par le fait que la personne qui en souffre accumule un grand nombre d'animaux dans votre maison . Certaines des causes de ce trouble sont des situations de stress psychosocial et de solitude.


Cependant, de nombreux sujets atteints du syndrome de Noé ont également un trouble mental ou médical antérieur, apparaissant très souvent avec une démence, une dépression majeure, des caractéristiques psychotiques et même une dépendance à la drogue.

2. Ils ont des problèmes d'hygiène

Les personnes obsédées par les animaux de compagnie à un extrême pathologique adoptent souvent des comportements de abandon des soins personnels (soins personnels) et à la maison, ont également tendance à accumuler des objets inutilisables et à faire preuve d'un comportement d'isolement. Le trouble se développe généralement chez les personnes âgées.

3. Ils ne se soucient pas assez des animaux

Non seulement ces individus collectionnent de nombreux animaux (généralement des chiens ou des chats), mais ils ne leur accordent pas l'attention de base dont ils ont besoin et sont incapables de reconnaître ce que cela peut signifier pour leur santé et leur bien-être, ainsi que pour leur santé. les animaux. Ce n'est pas qu'ils sont cruels, c'est juste que ils ne sont pas conscients de leur propre comportement , car ils présentent un phénomène connu sous le nom d'anosognosie.


4. Ils ne sont pas amoureux des animaux

Il est important de faire la distinction entre ces personnes et les amoureux des animaux, qui peuvent posséder plusieurs animaux domestiques chez eux. Lorsque nous parlons du syndrome de Noé, nous parlons d'un trouble, et donc de la personne avoir de graves problèmes associés : démence, problèmes d'adaptation, dépression ...

Les animaux qui peuvent s'accumuler dans votre maison sont: des chiens, des chats, des poules, des oiseaux exotiques ... Il est également possible qu'ils aient des chevaux, des vaches, des chèvres, des moutons et d'autres animaux plus typiques d'une ferme dans leur propre maison.

Comment obtiennent-ils les animaux?

Les animaux peuvent être obtenus de deux manières: active ou passive. La première de ces méthodes a lieu lorsque les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome les sortent de la rue ou sont livrées de bonne foi par d’autres personnes.

Pendant l'acquisition active, une personne ayant une obsession pathologique pour les animaux domestiques peut rechercher des animaux abandonnés dans la rue ou à travers des publicités.


Les deux méthodes peuvent également être utilisées simultanément, c'est-à-dire qu'elles peuvent ramener des animaux à la maison et s'y reproduire sans contrôle.

Dans la plupart des cas, ce comportement étrange passe inaperçu, en grande partie à cause de l'image de la personne altruiste projetée. En outre, il est difficile pour ces personnes de demander de l'aide car elles ne savent pas comment elles agissent. Cela rend également le traitement difficile, car la volonté est une partie importante de la thérapie psychologique.

Troubles mentaux associés

Ces personnes présentent généralement des troubles psychologiques parallèlement à ce syndrome. En fait, entre un tiers et la moitié des sujets atteints du syndrome de Noé être atteint de démence ou d'un autre type de trouble mental l , parmi lesquels la schizophrénie, le trouble obsessionnel compulsif ou le trouble dépressif se distinguent. L'alcoolisme est également fréquent.

De même, certaines études ont également révélé des altérations neurophysiologiques associées à la maladie. Par exemple, il y a un diminution de l'activité du gyrus cingulaire dorsal antérieur , qui affecte la prise de décision et le manque d’attention et de concentration. En outre, des anomalies dans le cortex préfrontal ont également été observées.

Pour cette raison, il est très important d'effectuer une évaluation psychologique complète pour détecter les comorbidités. La famille et les voisins peuvent être des sources précieuses d’informations médicales et sociales et un excellent soutien pour les interventions thérapeutiques. Cependant, l'isolement de ces personnes rend cette option peu probable.

Causes du syndrome de Noé

L'une des causes possibles de ce trouble est la solitude. L'accumulation d'animaux de compagnie serait un moyen de surmonter cette situation traumatique, dans lequel prédominent la douleur et l'abandon social.

Ces animaux, contrairement aux objets (dans le syndrome de Diogène), sont un compagnon idéal pour les malades. Disons que ces personnes ont une structure modifiée dans leurs relations d'affection et d'attachement et ont donc du mal à socialiser. Les animaux sont un substitut idéal, car ils fournissent compagnie et soutien dans les moments de solitude.


Disruptive, impulse control, and conduct disorders (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes