yes, therapy helps!
5 things you did not know about human intelligence

5 things you did not know about human intelligence

July 19, 2024

The concept of human intelligence remains, even today, subject of controversy within science. Theorists and researchers do not come to an agreement about what is and how it can be measured.

However, there is a certain consensus that intelligence is related to the ability to seek and use the information we need in order to solve the problems we face.

  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

Curiosities about human intelligence

Let's see now five things you probably did not know about human intelligence.

1: The tests do not measure intelligence in absolute terms

Along the history, Many tests have been developed to measure the cognitive abilities inherent in intelligence . Two of these instruments are the Weschler Intelligence Test, and the Raven Progressive Matrices Test. Both have the particularity that they have a wide scientific literature that supports them and they also have a good correlation with each other. The latter means that whether they take one test or the other, both will show very similar results.


On the contrary, those tests that are often offered by current magazines or circulating on Facebook or some websites to check how smart we are, have not been scientifically studied, and therefore have no value.

But nevertheless, no test is used to measure our intelligence in absolute terms , but in relative terms. This means that what the result shows is how smart we are in relation to the rest of the population of our same age group; that is, it compares us with others and positions us within a hierarchical scale.

2: Intelligence is associated with operational memory

At the beginning of the 20th century, the English psychologist Charles Spearman proposed through an exhaustive factorial analysis that the intellectual capacity of people is subject to what he called the G factor of intelligence.


According to his hypothesis, the G factor would represent a basic and specific component for general intelligence , dependent on brain integrity and capable of being measured by means of the tests.

More recent research has also found a correlation between the Spearman G factor and the operating memory index.

Operational memory can be defined as the set of mental processes that allow us to temporarily manipulate the information we need for the correct performance of cognitive tasks such as reading, mathematical skills and even language comprehension. A classic example is when we go to the supermarket and we decided to take a mental estimate of what we are spending as we add products to the shopping cart.

That is, the greater the number of items or information that a person can keep circulating in their operating memory, the greater your intellectual capacity . This makes sense, because in order to solve any problem effectively, we will need to be able to contemplate and mentally manipulate the largest number of variables that intervene in it.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Work (operational) memory: components and functions"

3. There are scientists who propose that intelligence is not a one-dimensional concept

I am aware that this statement contradicts the previous point, but the truth is that The Theory of Multiple Intelligences, proposed by the psychologist Howard Gardner , basically sustains that who is intelligent in some sense, can be a complete fool in another.

This researcher defends the idea that there is no specific thing called "intelligence", and that on the contrary, the intelligence of the people it can manifest itself in many different ways .

According to the definition we gave at the beginning, someone who earns his living playing the piano or playing basketball, can not be said precisely that he is not intelligent because he lacks mathematical abilities or is not very good at solving logical problems. .

"If someone like Lionel Messi wins millions thanks to his ability with the ball, the last thing we can say about him is that he's stupid," Gardner could say without flinching.

This concept has gained much popularity among people because it essentially proposes that we are all potentially smart for something. However, there are scientists who criticize it claiming that certain personal qualities can not be considered as synonymous with intelligence, but rather "Areas" of good performance .

Even some researchers have come to the conclusion that at the base of the different disciplines that make up the "multiple intelligences" is the G factor of which we spoke earlier, as a kind of foundation or hard core on which multiple intelligences are built according to the individual differences. That is, the G factor would be in this case the common denominator to the different types of intelligence proposed by Gardner.

4: Intelligence tends to be stable over time

We all know that when we exercise a particular skill a lot, like playing chess or solving crosswords, eventually we end up becoming experts in that particular skill . It is true that practice makes perfect, but do not confuse being very good in a particular discipline with general intelligence.

Of course, the quantity and quality of information that we acquire throughout our lives will be what finally configures our knowledge base. But regardless of how much we study, how many languages ​​we learn, how many sports we practice, the G factor of intelligence tends to remain more or less immutable , whether we are 20 or 60 years old.

In other words, specific learning is restricted to their particular area of ​​activity. They are not extrapolated or generalized.

It is precisely this characteristic that makes some instruments of intelligence evaluation reliable, such as those mentioned at the beginning.

5: There is no intelligence gene

To the date no gene that is entirely responsible for human intelligence has been detected as we know it. And this makes sense, since the intellectual capacity seems to be the result of many different processes that interact with each other, which in turn require the involvement of many genes.

Just as when we listen to a symphony we can not say that the quality of the music that reaches our ears is the result of a particular instrument, it does not make sense to think that intelligence is the result of a single factor.

Nor can we separate intelligence from the culture in which we are immersed . We do not live isolated in a glass bell, but in a complex world shaped by infinite variables. Since we are born, or even before, we are exposed to an environment that interacts and permanently shapes our genetic predisposition.


12 Signs of High Intelligence You Probably Have (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
5 choses que tu ne savais pas sur l'intelligence humaine

5 choses que tu ne savais pas sur l'intelligence humaine

Juin 20, 2019

Le concept d'intelligence humaine reste, même aujourd'hui, sujet à controverse au sein de la science. Les théoriciens et les chercheurs ne s'entendent pas sur ce qui est et comment on peut le mesurer.

Cependant, il existe un certain consensus sur le fait que le renseignement est lié à la capacité de rechercher et d’utiliser les informations dont nous avons besoin pour résoudre les problèmes auxquels nous sommes confrontés.

  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Curiosités sur l'intelligence humaine

Voyons maintenant cinq choses que vous ignoriez probablement sur l'intelligence humaine.

1: Les tests ne mesurent pas l'intelligence en termes absolus

Tout au long de l'histoire, De nombreux tests ont été développés pour mesurer les capacités cognitives inhérentes à l'intelligence . Deux de ces instruments sont le test d'intelligence de Weschler et le test de matrices progressives de Raven. Les deux ont la particularité de disposer d'une vaste littérature scientifique qui les soutient et d'une bonne corrélation entre eux. Ce dernier signifie que, qu’ils subissent l’un ou l’autre des tests, les deux résultats seront très similaires.


Au contraire, les tests qui sont souvent proposés par les magazines actuels ou qui circulent sur Facebook ou sur certains sites Web pour vérifier notre intelligence, n'ont pas été étudiés scientifiquement et n'ont donc aucune valeur.

Cependant, aucun test n'est utilisé pour mesurer notre intelligence en termes absolus , mais en termes relatifs. Cela signifie que le résultat montre à quel point nous sommes intelligents par rapport au reste de la population du même groupe d’âge; c'est-à-dire qu'il nous compare aux autres et nous positionne dans une échelle hiérarchique.

2: l'intelligence est associée à la mémoire opérationnelle

Au début du XXe siècle, le psychologue anglais Charles Spearman a proposé, au moyen d’une analyse factorielle exhaustive, que la capacité intellectuelle des personnes est soumise à ce qu’il appelle le facteur G de l’intelligence.


Selon son hypothèse, le facteur G représenterait un composant de base spécifique pour l'intelligence générale , dépendant de l’intégrité du cerveau et pouvant être mesurée à l’aide des tests.

Des recherches plus récentes ont également révélé une corrélation entre le facteur Spearman G et l'indice de mémoire en fonctionnement.

La mémoire opérationnelle peut être définie comme un ensemble de processus mentaux nous permettant de manipuler temporairement les informations nécessaires à l'exécution correcte de tâches cognitives telles que la lecture, les compétences en mathématiques et même la compréhension du langage. Un exemple classique est lorsque nous allons au supermarché et que nous avons décidé de faire une estimation mentale de ce que nous dépensons lorsque nous ajoutons des produits au panier.

Autrement dit, plus le nombre d'éléments ou d'informations qu'une personne peut continuer à faire circuler dans sa mémoire de fonctionnement est grand, plus votre capacité intellectuelle est grande . Cela a du sens, car pour résoudre efficacement tout problème, nous devrons être en mesure de contempler et de manipuler mentalement le plus grand nombre de variables qui interviennent dans celui-ci.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Mémoire de travail (opérationnelle): composants et fonctions"

3. Il y a des scientifiques qui proposent que l'intelligence n'est pas un concept unidimensionnel

Je suis conscient que cette déclaration contredit le point précédent, mais la vérité est que La théorie des intelligences multiples, proposée par le psychologue Howard Gardner , soutient fondamentalement que qui est intelligent dans un certain sens, peut être un imbécile complet dans un autre.

Ce chercheur défend l'idée qu'il n'y a pas de chose spécifique appelée "intelligence", mais qu'au contraire, l'intelligence du peuple il peut se manifester de différentes manières .

Selon la définition que nous avons donnée au début, quelqu'un qui gagne sa vie en jouant du piano ou en jouant au basket-ball ne peut pas dire avec précision qu'il n'est pas intelligent parce qu'il manque de capacités mathématiques ou qu'il n'est pas très bon pour résoudre des problèmes logiques. .

"Si quelqu'un comme Lionel Messi gagne des millions grâce à son habileté au ballon, la dernière chose que nous puissions dire à son sujet, c'est qu'il est stupide", pourrait dire Gardner sans broncher.

Ce concept a acquis une grande popularité parmi les gens car il propose essentiellement que nous sommes tous potentiellement intelligents pour quelque chose. Cependant, certains scientifiques le critiquent en affirmant que certaines qualités personnelles ne peuvent pas être considérées comme synonymes d'intelligence, mais plutôt "Domaines" de bonnes performances .

Certains chercheurs sont même arrivés à la conclusion que le facteur G dont nous avons parlé plus tôt est à la base des différentes disciplines qui constituent les "intelligences multiples", en tant que base ou noyau dur sur lequel sont construites des intelligences multiples. selon les différences individuelles. Autrement dit, le facteur G serait dans ce cas le dénominateur commun aux différents types d’intelligence proposés par Gardner.

4: l'intelligence tend à être stable dans le temps

Nous savons tous que lorsque nous exerçons beaucoup une compétence particulière, comme jouer aux échecs ou résoudre des mots croisés, nous finissons par devenir des experts dans cette compétence particulière . Il est vrai que la pratique rend parfait, mais ne confondez pas être très bon dans une discipline donnée avec l'intelligence générale.

Bien entendu, la quantité et la qualité des informations que nous acquérons au cours de nos vies seront ce qui finira par configurer notre base de connaissances. Mais peu importe combien nous étudions, combien de langues nous apprenons, combien de sports nous pratiquons, le facteur G de l'intelligence a tendance à rester plus ou moins immuable , que nous ayons 20 ou 60 ans.

En d'autres termes, l'apprentissage spécifique est limité à leur domaine d'activité particulier. Ils ne sont pas extrapolés ou généralisés.

C'est précisément cette caractéristique qui rend fiables certains instruments d'évaluation du renseignement, tels que ceux mentionnés au début.

5: Il n'y a pas de gène de l'intelligence

A la date aucun gène entièrement responsable de l'intelligence humaine n'a été détecté comme nous le savons. Et cela a du sens, car la capacité intellectuelle semble résulter de nombreux processus différents qui interagissent les uns avec les autres, ce qui nécessite l’implication de nombreux gènes.

Tout comme lorsque nous écoutons une symphonie, nous ne pouvons pas dire que la qualité de la musique qui parvient à nos oreilles est le résultat d’un instrument particulier, il n’a aucun sens de penser que l’intelligence est le résultat d’un facteur unique.

Nous ne pouvons pas non plus séparer l'intelligence de la culture dans laquelle nous sommes immergés . Nous ne vivons pas isolés dans une cloche de verre, mais dans un monde complexe façonné par des variables infinies. Depuis notre naissance, ou même avant, nous sommes exposés à un environnement qui interagit et qui façonne en permanence notre prédisposition génétique.


15 Parties du Corps Humain Qui Disparaîtront Dans le Futur (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes