yes, therapy helps!
9 ways in which machismo transforms us into psychopaths

9 ways in which machismo transforms us into psychopaths

April 5, 2024

When we think about the concept of "machismo", it is easy for us to imagine a man who expresses clearly sexist opinions about the role that women should have as caretakers of the home and children.

However, it has long been known that machismo is not just a series of beliefs about how relationships between men and women should be. It does not appear only when it directly shows unpopular opinions; It arises in our way of behaving and relating. It is in the facts, not in the words.

That is why, often, the hurtful character of machismo is disguised; it is seen as something totally normal not because it does not produce pain (it produces it) or because it is just (it is not), but because it is hard for us to imagine another way of relating to the feminine gender. It has become normal not to empathize with women , act in front of them as a psychopath would.


  • Related article: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

This is how machismo makes us psychopaths in front of women

Next we will see several attitudes, practices and behaviors that, despite being a way to treat women as an object, they are part of our daily life .

1. Expect a reward for treating the woman as a human being

Psychopaths are characterized by being able to manage any personal relationship following a logic of costs and benefits. I mean, practically everything they do when they're with someone makes sense as part of a more or less concrete strategy to get something in return .


This is something that often happens today in the way men try to get along with women. The fact of not explicitly belittling is perceived as a competitive window in front of a large number of men, and that means that it can be used to ask for something in return.

For example, the concept of "frienzone" often is used to blackmail emotionally in this sense, ignoring that friendship is not something that should be used to buy people.

  • Related article: "Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple"

2. Force situations where it costs too much to say no

Although it is slow, progress exists, and therefore more and more people are aware that rape is something aberrant in all cases (although it is hard to believe, this idea is relatively recent). However, actions that closely resemble this kind of will-power directed against women continue to be normalized.


An example of this has to do with "flirting" techniques commonly used by men and that have in common create such a violent situation in which to say that it does not cost much . This can consist of both making the limit of personal space blurred (with hugs that at first were going to be brief but ending up lengthening) and generating an environment so unpleasant that accepting any request is the easiest way out (for example, through very personal and uncomfortable questions).

The idea is place the woman in a clear situation of inferiority , leave it without space to negotiate what is acceptable and what is not.

  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

3. Pretend not to hear or understand

This practice is another of those subtle ways that are used to nullify women , and is to act as if everything that happens in the dialogues with them occurred in a theater, something that means nothing and what we can set aside to address people who do have the intelligence to understand what is happening .

4. Act as if every woman should give up her time to meet a man

It is systematic: nobody is surprised if going down the street we do not want to stop for a second to receive an advertising brochure for a new business that has opened in the area, but it is unacceptable that a woman does not want to pay attention for several minutes to give the opportunity to a man who wants to introduce himself . In the same way that psychopaths can focus on any relationship as a puzzle in which the goal is to obtain what one wants, in this kind of interactions the initial disposition of the woman does not matter; only the end you want to reach matters.

5. Blame the woman for her feelings

The emotional sphere has always been associated with the feminine, and that means that it can be interpreted as a sign of weakness. For example, workers are often belittled by assuming that they care more about people than about cold business goals. This happens even with bosses.

6. Use your sexuality against you

Much of the way we have learned to conceive female sexuality is based on a belief as irrational as it is harmful: If you are not a man and you want to live your sexuality, you lose rights and dignity .

That is, the simple knowledge that a woman is not totally alien to sexual life can be used against her, either to humiliate her or to restrict her freedom with the pretext of protecting it. Any excuse is good to subject a person who is not assigned to the male gender.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of sexism: 5 macho ideas that occur today"

7. Use your "purity" against you

If the previous option can not be exploited because there are no obvious signs that a woman does not conform to the role of sexual object, that can also be a reason to attack her.

How? There are different strategies: from treating it as something that has no value to being "disconnected" from its supposed function as a machine to reproduce and raise, to point out that not investing time and effort in arousing the interest of men detracts from it .

8. Value the woman just for her aesthetics

This goes far beyond that tendency that we have to look at the aspect of people to decide what attitude we will take in front of them, something in which we often fall regardless of how the other is. In the case of women, in addition, machismo contributes to the physicist who describes his personality , your aspirations and interests.

In other words, the woman is perceived as an animated mannequin, programmed specifically to guide her thinking towards the area in which the mannequin works: attract, offer a good image, etc.

9. Blame the victim of gender violence

It is still very frequent hold victims of sexual harassment or rape responsible for what happened to them . The reason for this is that doing anything else would mean taking full responsibility for a serious social and structural problem, while ignoring it and keeping women's safety needs out is more comfortable.


Why I'm done trying to be "man enough" | Justin Baldoni (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
9 façons dont le machisme nous transforme en psychopathes

9 façons dont le machisme nous transforme en psychopathes

Septembre 28, 2022

Lorsque nous pensons au concept de "machisme", il nous est facile d’imaginer un homme qui exprime des opinions clairement sexistes sur le rôle que les femmes devraient avoir en tant que gardiennes du foyer et des enfants.

Cependant, on sait depuis longtemps que le machisme n'est pas qu'une série de croyances sur la façon dont les relations entre hommes et femmes devraient être. Il n'apparaît pas seulement lorsqu'il montre directement des opinions impopulaires; Cela se pose dans notre façon de nous comporter et de nous raconter. C'est dans les faits, pas dans les mots.

C'est pourquoi, souvent, le caractère blessant du machisme est déguisé; cela est perçu comme quelque chose de tout à fait normal, non pas parce que cela ne produit pas de douleur (cela le produit) ou juste (ce n'est pas le cas), mais parce qu'il nous est difficile d'imaginer une autre façon de se rapporter au genre féminin. Il est devenu normal de ne pas sympathiser avec les femmes , agissez devant eux comme le ferait un psychopathe.


  • Article connexe: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme quotidien"

C'est comme ça que le machisme fait de nous des psychopathes devant les femmes

Ensuite, nous verrons plusieurs attitudes, pratiques et comportements qui, en dépit d'être une façon de traiter les femmes comme un objet, elles font partie de notre vie quotidienne .

1. Attendez-vous à une récompense pour avoir traité la femme en tant qu'être humain

Les psychopathes se caractérisent par leur capacité à gérer toute relation personnelle en suivant une logique de coûts et d'avantages. Je veux dire, pratiquement tout ce qu'ils font quand ils sont avec quelqu'un est logique dans le cadre de une stratégie plus ou moins concrète pour obtenir quelque chose en retour .


C’est quelque chose qui arrive souvent de nos jours dans la façon dont les hommes essaient de s’entendre avec les femmes. Le fait de ne pas discréditer explicitement est perçu comme un créneau concurrentiel devant un grand nombre d'hommes, ce qui signifie qu'il peut être utilisé pour demander quelque chose en retour.

Par exemple, le concept de "frienzone" est souvent utilisé est habitué à faire chanter émotionnellement en ce sens, ignorer cette amitié n'est pas quelque chose qui devrait être utilisé pour acheter des gens.

  • Article connexe: "Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple"

2. Forcer les situations où il est trop coûteux de dire non

Bien que ce soit lent, les progrès existent et, par conséquent, de plus en plus de gens sont conscients que le viol est une aberration dans tous les cas (même s’il est difficile de croire, cette idée est relativement récente). Cependant, les actions qui ressemblent beaucoup à ce genre de volonté dirigée contre les femmes continuent à se normaliser.


Un exemple de cela concerne les techniques de "flirt" couramment utilisées par les hommes et qui ont en commun créer une telle situation violente pour dire que cela ne coûte pas cher . Cela peut consister à rendre brouillées les limites de l’espace personnel (avec des accolades qui allaient être brèves au départ, puis à rallonger) et à créer un environnement si désagréable qu’accepter toute demande est le moyen le plus simple de sortir (par exemple, à travers des questions très personnelles et inconfortables).

L'idée est placer la femme dans une situation d'infériorité claire , laissez-le sans espace pour négocier ce qui est acceptable et ce qui ne l’est pas.

  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

3. Faire semblant de ne pas entendre ou comprendre

Cette pratique est un autre de ces moyens subtils qui sont utilisés pour annuler les femmes et doit agir comme si tout ce qui se passait dans les dialogues avec eux se produisait dans un théâtre, ce qui ne veut rien dire et ce que nous pouvons mettre de côté pour répondre aux personnes qui ont l’intelligence nécessaire pour comprendre ce qui se passe .

4. Agissez comme si chaque femme devait donner son temps pour rencontrer un homme

C’est systématique: personne ne s’étonne si, en descendant la rue, nous ne voulons pas nous arrêter un instant pour recevoir un dépliant publicitaire d’une nouvelle entreprise qui a ouvert ses portes dans la région, mais il est inacceptable qu’une femme ne veuille pas faire attention pendant plusieurs minutes. donner l'occasion à un homme qui veut se présenter . De la même manière que les psychopathes peuvent considérer toute relation comme un casse-tête dans lequel le but est d'obtenir ce que l'on veut, dans ce type d'interactions, la disposition initiale de la femme n'a pas d'importance; seul le but que vous voulez atteindre compte.

5. Blâmer la femme pour ses sentiments

La sphère émotionnelle a toujours été associée au féminin, ce qui signifie qu’elle peut être interprétée comme un signe de faiblesse. Par exemple, les travailleurs sont souvent dépréciés en supposant qu'ils se soucient davantage des personnes que des objectifs d'une entreprise froide. Cela arrive même avec les patrons.

6. Utilisez votre sexualité contre vous

Une grande partie de la façon dont nous avons appris à concevoir la sexualité féminine repose sur une conviction aussi irrationnelle que nuisible: Si vous n'êtes pas un homme et que vous voulez vivre votre sexualité, vous perdez vos droits et votre dignité. .

Autrement dit, la simple connaissance qu’une femme n’est pas totalement étrangère à la vie sexuelle peut être utilisée contre elle, soit pour l'humilier ou pour restreindre sa liberté sous prétexte de le protéger. Toute excuse est bonne pour soumettre une personne qui n’est pas affectée au sexe masculin.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Psychologie du sexisme: 5 idées machistes qui se produisent aujourd'hui"

7. Utilisez votre "pureté" contre vous

Si l'option précédente ne peut pas être exploitée parce qu'il n'y a aucun signe évident qu'une femme ne se conforme pas au rôle d'objet sexuel, cela peut également être une raison pour l'attaquer.

Comment Il existe différentes stratégies: le traiter comme quelque chose qui n'a pas de valeur et le "déconnecter" de sa fonction supposée de machine à reproduire et à élever, pour indiquer que ne pas investir du temps et des efforts pour éveiller l'intérêt des hommes en porte atteinte .

8. Valoriser la femme juste pour son esthétique

Cela va bien au-delà de la tendance selon laquelle nous devons examiner l'aspect des personnes pour décider de l'attitude que nous adopterons, attitude dans laquelle nous tombons souvent indépendamment de la position de l'autre. Dans le cas des femmes, en outre, le machisme contribue au physicien qui décrit sa personnalité , vos aspirations et vos intérêts.

En d’autres termes, la femme est perçue comme un mannequin animé, programmé spécifiquement pour guider sa réflexion vers le domaine dans lequel le mannequin fonctionne: attirer, offrir une bonne image, etc.

9. Blâmer la victime de la violence de genre

C'est encore très fréquent tenir les victimes de harcèlement sexuel ou de viol responsables de ce qui leur est arrivé . La raison en est que faire autre chose signifierait assumer l'entière responsabilité d'un grave problème social et structurel, tout en l'ignorant et en ignorant les besoins des femmes en matière de sécurité, ce serait plus confortable.


That Time Disney Remade Beauty and the Beast (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes