yes, therapy helps!
9 keys to change attitudes through persuasion

9 keys to change attitudes through persuasion

April 27, 2024

What leads us to change our opinion about a fact or to decide to acquire a certain product? How do we change a habit or our perception of another person?

From the Social Psychology are very diverse are the models that address the issue of attitudinal change . By definition, an attitude is a type of acquired and relatively durable predisposition to evaluate in a certain way a fact or a subject and to behave according to such assessment.

Attitudes are composed of a cognitive element (perception about the object of the attitude), an affective element (set of feelings that generates the attitude object) and a behavioral element (intentions and behavioral actions derived from the previous two).


Due to its complexity and the amount of internal and external aspects to the subject that are involved, modifying an attitude can be more arduous than it may seem superficially. Below are the key points that intervene in this particular psychological process.

  • Rotated article: "What is Social Psychology?"

Persuasive messages and their role in attitudinal change

Persuasive messages are socially mediated strategies which are usually used to pursue attitude change . It is a direct methodology that is based on a central idea to be defended and is complemented by one or two strong arguments that reinforce it, since its ultimate purpose is usually aimed at a type of recipient that is originally positioned in the opposite attitude .


Thus, the effectiveness of a persuasive messageeside in the ability to modify a series of beliefs already internalized by the recipient through the use of incentives and a clear and simple type of information that can be understood by the recipient.

The choice of such a persuasive message is very relevant , since it must produce a series of internal effects in the receiver such as attention, understanding, acceptance and retention. If these four processes are not combined, the achievement of attitudinal change can be greatly compromised. In turn, these cognitive processes depend on the nature of four other main external factors:

  • The source of information
  • The content of the message
  • The communicative channel
  • The communicative context

Several authors have tried to explain through different models why attitudinal change occurs throughout the last decades. McGuire (1981) defends a process of six stages that are summarized in the result of combining the joint probability on the reception of the information and the acceptance of said message.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Persuasion: definition and elements of the art of convincing"

The central route and the peripheral route

On the other hand, Petty and Cacioppo (1986) affirm in their Model of Probability of Elaboration that the individuals try to validate their position before the decision of accepting or rejecting a certain idea through two routes, the central route and the peripheral .

The center consists of the most lasting critical evaluation process where the arguments presented are analyzed in detail, and the peripheral route is the superficial assessment that has a low level of motivation and focuses on external aspects such as interest in the issuer or its credibility. In the latter case, the probability of basing the change of opinion on heuristics or "cognitive shortcuts" is considerably significant.

The Cognitive Response Theory (Moya, 1999), on the other hand, states that when receiving a persuasive message the receiver compare this information with one's own feelings and other previous attitudes regarding the same topic generating a cognitive response. Thus, the message recipients are "self-convinced" with their own messages based on their previous opinion when they receive certain persuasive information.

  • Related article: "Differences between emotions and feelings"

Key elements in the persuasion process

As discussed above, some of the main factors that modulate the effectiveness of persuasion for attitudinal change are the following.

1. The source of information

Aspects such as credibility, which is formed in turn by competition (or experience in the subject field in question) and authenticity (perceived sincerity), the attractiveness of the issuer, power or group similarity between this and the receiver affect at the level of attention raised by the information transmitted.

2. The message

They can be classified as rational vs. emotive and in unilateral vs. bilateral .

According to the first criterion, the investigations show that the level of persuasion maintains a relationship of inverted U with the degree of threat or perceived danger that the receiver presents to the received information. Thus, the so-called appeals to fear are often used in the promotion of attitudinal changes related to health and disease prevention.

In addition, greater persuasive power has been demonstrated when the level of fear raised is high provided that it is accompanied by certain indications on how to deal with the danger expressed in the message.

Unilateral messages are characterized by present exclusively the advantages of the object of persuasion , while the bilateral ones combine both positive aspects on alternative proposals and the negative aspects of the original message. The studies seem to position themselves in favor of bilateral messages regarding the effectiveness of persuasion, since they tend to be perceived as more credible and realistic than the former.

Other key elements to be assessed in the type of message they are, mainly: if the information is accompanied by graphic examples (which increases the persuasive efficacy), if the conclusion is explicit or not (more probability of attitudinal change in the first case) or the degree of the effects derived from the order of the ideas that make up the message (primacy effect -more memory of the information offered in the first place- or of recencia -more memory of the last information received-).

3. The receiver

The receiver of the message is also another key element. As pointed out by the findings of authors such as McGuire (1981), Zajonc (1968) or Festinger (1962), there is a lower probability that the recipient will resist accepting a persuasive message if:

1. The receiver feels involved with the subject matter

If what is spoken of has a meaning for the recipient, it will come out of it to listen to the proposal.

2. There is little discrepancy

There is little discrepancy between the defended position in the message and the previous beliefs of the receiver , that is, the level of discrepancy is moderate but existing.

3. The information given was not known

There has been a process of pre-exposure to information or not, which can lead the person to defend their original position and not give in to the persuasive message. This occurs in cases in which the power of information is not strong enough to overcome such defenses.

4. Moderate level of distraction

The level of distraction in the recipient is considerable, which makes it difficult to consolidate the arguments used by the persuasive message. When the degree of distraction is moderate, the persuasive power tends to increase because the tendency to counter-argue the idea transmitted is diminished .

5. The issuer's persuasive intention has been given a warning

On these occasions, the receiver usually increases their resistance as a prevention mechanism to preserve their previous beliefs. This factor interacts considerably with the degree of involvement of the individual in the subject matter : the greater the involvement and the greater the warning, the greater the resistance to persuasion.

6. Repetition of the persuasive message is maintained over time

This condition is given as long as it is based on the central transmission route.

7. The degree of exposure to stimulus or persuasive information is high

It seems to have been shown that the subject tends to increase the liking for the new attitude in question from spontaneous contact, since does not have the conscious perception of having been directly persuaded for it.

8. The power that cognitive dissonance is significant enough for the receiver

Cognitive dissonance is the effect of discomfort that an individual experiences when there is no correspondence between their beliefs and their actions, which is why he tries to readjust one of the two elements to decrease such discrepancy and minimize the psychological tension caused.

The degree of dissonance in turn is influenced by the type of incentive that accompanies the attitude change , the degree of freedom of choice of the decision or personal involvement, among others.

  • Related article: "Cognitive dissonance: the theory that explains self-deception"

9. There is consistency in the message

The arguments that justify the message are solid (central route).

conclusion

As explained in the text, the relative interaction between the cognitive aspects that are manifested in the recipient of a type of information in order to achieve a change of attitude (attention, understanding, acceptance and retention) and other external factors such as the characteristics of the original source of the message or the way it is presented can facilitate or hinder such attitudinal modification in a significant percentage .

Even so, the effect of the idea defended and the arguments used to substantiate it becomes a phenomenon that is considerably particular, since it is a function of circumstances such as the previous beliefs of the person, the type of feelings generated by the new information (which depend of previous life experiences) or the degree of discrepancy between theoretical thinking and the actual behavior that the individual emits, which determine to a greater extent the effectiveness of the persuasive intention.

Therefore, the existence of infallible strategies or methodologies can not be affirmed to achieve the change of attitude in a universal or standard way for all people.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baron, R. A. and Byrne, D. (2005) Social Psychology, 10th edition. Ed: Pearson.
  • Moya, M (1999). Persuasion and change of attitudes. Social psychology. Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

Persuasion, attitude change, and the elaboration likelihood model | MCAT | Khan Academy (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
9 clés pour changer les mentalités par la persuasion

9 clés pour changer les mentalités par la persuasion

Janvier 17, 2022

Qu'est-ce qui nous amène à changer notre opinion sur un fait ou à décider d'acquérir un certain produit? Comment réussissons-nous à modifier une habitude ou notre perception d'une autre personne?

De la psychologie sociale sont très divers sont les modèles qui aborder la question du changement d'attitude . Par définition, une attitude est un type de prédisposition acquise et relativement durable à évaluer d’une certaine manière un fait ou un sujet et à se comporter en fonction de cette évaluation.

Les attitudes sont composées d'un élément cognitif (perception de l'objet de l'attitude), d'un élément affectif (ensemble de sentiments générant l'objet d'attitude) et d'un élément de comportement (intentions et actions comportementales dérivées des deux précédentes).


En raison de sa complexité et de la quantité d’aspects internes et externes au sujet en cause, modifier une attitude peut être plus ardu qu'il n'y paraît superficiellement Vous trouverez ci-dessous les points clés qui interviennent dans ce processus psychologique particulier.

  • Article pivoté: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Les messages persuasifs et leur rôle dans le changement d'attitude

Les messages persuasifs sont des stratégies à médiation sociale qui sont généralement utilisés pour poursuivre le changement d'attitude . C'est une méthodologie directe qui repose sur une idée centrale à défendre et qui est complétée par un ou deux arguments forts qui la renforcent, son but ultime étant généralement de cibler un type de destinataire qui se positionnait à l'origine dans une attitude opposée .


Ainsi, l'efficacité d'un message persuasifen marge de la possibilité de modifier une série de croyances déjà intériorisées par le destinataire au moyen d'incitations et d'un type d'informations claires et simples pouvant être compris par le destinataire.

Le choix d'un tel message persuasif est très pertinent , car il doit produire une série d’effets internes chez le récepteur tels que l’attention, la compréhension, l’acceptation et la rétention. Si ces quatre processus ne sont pas combinés, la réalisation d'un changement d'attitude peut être grandement compromise. À leur tour, ces processus cognitifs dépendent de la nature de quatre autres facteurs externes principaux:

  • La source d'information
  • Le contenu du message
  • Le canal de communication
  • Le contexte communicatif

Plusieurs auteurs ont essayé d'expliquer à travers différents modèles pourquoi le changement d'attitude se produit au cours des dernières décennies. McGuire (1981) défend un processus en six étapes qui se résume en combinant la probabilité conjointe à la réception de l’information et à l’acceptation dudit message.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Persuasion: définition et éléments de l'art de convaincre"

La voie centrale et la voie périphérique

De leur côté, Petty et Cacioppo (1986) affirment dans leur modèle de probabilité d'élaboration que les individus tentent de valider leur position avant la décision d'accepter ou de rejeter une certaine idée. par deux voies, la voie centrale et la voie périphérique .

Le centre constitue le processus d’évaluation critique le plus durable au cours duquel les arguments présentés sont analysés en détail. La voie périphérique est l’évaluation superficielle peu motivée et axée sur des aspects externes tels que l’intérêt pour l’émetteur ou sa crédibilité. Dans ce dernier cas, la probabilité de fonder le changement d'opinion sur des heuristiques ou des "raccourcis cognitifs" est considérablement significative.

La théorie de la réponse cognitive (Moya, 1999), quant à elle, stipule que lorsqu’il reçoit un message persuasif, le destinataire comparer cette information avec ses propres sentiments et d'autres attitudes antérieures concernant le même sujet générant une réponse cognitive. Ainsi, les destinataires du message sont "auto-convaincus" avec leurs propres messages basés sur leur opinion antérieure lorsqu'ils reçoivent certaines informations persuasives.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre émotions et sentiments"

Éléments clés du processus de persuasion

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, certains des principaux facteurs qui modulent l’efficacité de la persuasion pour un changement d’attitude sont les suivants.

1. La source d'information

Des aspects tels que la crédibilité, formée à son tour par la concurrence (ou l’expérience dans le domaine considéré) et l’authenticité (sincérité perçue), l’attractivité de l’émetteur, le pouvoir ou la similitude de groupe entre celui-ci et le destinataire au niveau d'attention suscité par les informations transmises.

2. Le message

Ils peuvent être classés comme rationnels vs émotive et unilatérale vs bilatérale .

Selon le premier critère, les enquêtes montrent que le degré de persuasion entretient une relation de «U inversé» avec le degré de menace ou de danger perçu que le destinataire présente aux informations reçues. Pour lui, les soi-disant appels à craindre sont souvent utilisés dans la promotion des changements d'attitude liés à la santé et à la prévention des maladies.

En outre, un pouvoir de persuasion accru a été démontré lorsque le niveau de crainte soulevée est élevé, à condition qu’il soit accompagné de certaines indications sur la manière de traiter le danger exprimé dans le message.

Les messages unilatéraux sont caractérisés par présenter exclusivement les avantages de l'objet de persuasion , tandis que les accords bilatéraux combinent les aspects positifs des propositions alternatives et les aspects négatifs du message initial. Les études semblent se positionner en faveur des messages bilatéraux concernant l'efficacité de la persuasion, car ils ont tendance à être perçus comme plus crédibles et plus réalistes que les premiers.

Autres éléments clés à évaluer dans le type de message il s’agit principalement: si l’information est accompagnée d’exemples graphiques (ce qui augmente l’efficacité persuasive), si la conclusion est explicite ou non (plus de probabilité de changement d’attitude dans le premier cas) ou le degré des effets dérivés de l’ordre des les idées qui composent le message (effet de primauté - plus de mémoire de l'information offerte en premier lieu - ou de recencia - plus de mémoire de la dernière information reçue -).

3. Le récepteur

Le destinataire du message est également un autre élément clé. Comme le soulignent des conclusions d’auteurs tels que McGuire (1981), Zajonc (1968) ou Festinger (1962), il existe une probabilité plus faible que le destinataire refuse d’accepter un message persuasif si:

1. Le destinataire se sent impliqué dans le sujet

Si ce dont on parle a une signification pour le destinataire, il en sortira pour écouter la proposition.

2. Il y a peu d'écart

Il y a peu d'écart entre la position défendue dans le message et les croyances précédentes du destinataire c'est-à-dire que le niveau de divergence est modéré mais existant.

3. L'information donnée n'était pas connue

Il y a eu un processus de pré-exposition à l'information ou non, ce qui peut amener la personne à défendre sa position d'origine et à ne pas céder au message persuasif. Cela se produit dans les cas où le pouvoir de l'information n'est pas assez puissant pour surmonter ces défenses.

4. Niveau de distraction modéré

Le niveau de distraction chez le destinataire est considérable, ce qui rend difficile la consolidation des arguments utilisés par le message persuasif. Lorsque le degré de distraction est modéré, le pouvoir de persuasion tend à augmenter car la tendance à contre-argumenter l'idée transmise est diminuée .

5. L'intention de persuasion de l'émetteur a été avertie

À ces occasions, le destinataire augmente généralement sa résistance en tant que mécanisme de prévention pour préserver ses croyances antérieures. Ce facteur interagit considérablement avec le degré d'implication de l'individu dans le sujet : plus l'implication et l'avertissement sont importants, plus la résistance à la persuasion est forte.

6. La répétition du message persuasif est maintenue dans le temps

Cette condition est donnée tant qu'elle est basée sur la voie de transmission centrale.

7. Le degré d'exposition à un stimulus ou à des informations persuasives est élevé

Il semble qu’il ait été démontré que le sujet tend à accroître l’appréciation de la nouvelle attitude en question par contact spontané, puisque n'a pas la perception consciente d'avoir été directement persuadé pour cela.

8. La puissance de la dissonance cognitive est suffisamment importante pour le récepteur

La dissonance cognitive est l'effet de la gêne ressentie par un individu lorsqu'il n'y a pas correspondance entre ses croyances et ses actions. C'est pourquoi il tente de réajuster l'un des deux éléments afin de réduire cet écart et de minimiser les tensions psychologiques causées.

Le degré de dissonance à son tour est influencé par le type d'incitation qui accompagne le changement d'attitude , le degré de liberté de choix en matière de décision ou d’implication personnelle, entre autres.

  • Article connexe: "Dissonance cognitive: la théorie qui explique l'auto-illusion"

9. Le message est cohérent

Les arguments qui justifient le message sont solides (route centrale).

conclusion

Comme expliqué dans le texte, l'interaction relative entre les aspects cognitifs qui se manifestent chez le destinataire d'un type d'informations afin de provoquer un changement d'attitude (attention, compréhension, acceptation et rétention) et d'autres facteurs externes tels que les caractéristiques de la source originale du message ou la manière dont il est présenté peut faciliter ou entraver une telle modification d'attitude dans un pourcentage significatif .

Même dans ce cas, l’effet de l’idée défendue et les arguments invoqués pour la justifier deviennent un phénomène très particulier, car il est fonction de circonstances telles que les croyances antérieures de la personne, le type de sentiments engendrés par les nouvelles informations expériences de vie antérieures) ou le degré de discordance entre la pensée théorique et le comportement réel que l’individu émet, qui déterminent dans une plus grande mesure l’efficacité de l’intention de persuasion.

Par conséquent, l’existence de stratégies ou de méthodologies infaillibles ne peut être affirmée réaliser le changement d’attitude de manière universelle ou standard pour tous.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baron, R. A. et Byrne, D. (2005) Social Psychology, 10ème édition. Ed: Pearson.
  • Moya, M (1999). Persuasion et changement d'attitude. Psychologie sociale Madrid: McGraw-Hill.

La mentalité du leader Part 2 Devenir un leader (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes