yes, therapy helps!
Anthropophobia (fear of humans): symptoms, causes and treatment

Anthropophobia (fear of humans): symptoms, causes and treatment

June 24, 2021

Phobias are, along with depression and anxiety, part of the most frequent mental disorders.

Although, as a general rule, they tend to be less disabling than other disorders because the stimuli that generate them are not usually found continuously, in some cases the stimulus or dreaded situation is much more widespread and can be a real nightmare, greatly restricting the performance of the person in various vital domains. This is what happens with phobias such as agoraphobia, social phobia or the phobia we are going to talk about in this article: anthropophobia .

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is a phobia?

While it may be something more or less known by most of the population, before entering into the subject of anthropophobia it could be useful to specify what it means to have a phobia.


When talking about phobias we are talking about irrational fears towards stimuli and situations that can be more specific or general, and that cause a deep level of anxiety and physiological activation that the subject recognizes as exaggerated for the level of threat posed by the stimulus in question. This panic and anxiety make the subject tend to avoid as far as possible approaching the stimulus or situation in question, which can generate repercussions in their normal functioning.

It is not a vulgar fear but of Authentic panic that can cause physiological or behavioral changes as the escape and continuous avoidance of places where the stimulus or the escape of situations could appear in which the stimulus in question appears. In some cases the subject can remain with the stimulus but at the cost of great suffering and anxiety.


There is a great multitude of phobias, some more limiting than others depending on the stimuli as well as the circumstances in which they appear or that the subject is living (it is not the same to be afraid of flying by plane being a bricklayer than being a pilot, being more relevant the fear for the second). One of the most limiting, especially considering that we live in society and that human contact is fundamental for us, is anthropophobia.

Anthropophobia or fear of people

Anthropophobia is known as fear of people . It is understood as that phobia or fear of contact with other people and their company, sometimes also appearing fear to be judged by them. Fear appears not only to strangers, but may also feel threatening to family and friends despite trusting them.

The subject usually recognizes this fear as strange and irrational, but is not able to control it. Panic can cause difficulties of concentration and the time to follow a coherent and continuous mental discourse. It can also cause problems at the level of speech, interspersed due to anxiety.


They usually avoid contact and company, not because they do not want it (in many cases if they do, which in view of their difficulty generates deep suffering and a sense of loneliness) but because of the anxiety that generates . It is not uncommon for some of these people to become completely isolated, without contact with other people unless they have to live with them. They avoid eye contact and even physical contact, and tend to blush rapidly when faced with any attempt at interaction.

At the physiological level, when exposed to contact with other people, those suffering from anthropophobia usually manifest tachycardia, hyperventilation, sweating, muscle tension, nausea , derealization, choking, headaches, dizziness, tremors and general malaise. These reactions can occur not only in the face of direct exposure but also in anticipation of the idea of ​​having to come into contact with someone.

It is a very limiting phobia, which hinders interaction with most people in almost any situation and that will have repercussions at the social, academic and labor levels . That is why its treatment is essential so that the individual can have a full life and no longer be limited.

Differentiation with social phobia

Anthropophobia can often be confused with other phobias, due to the similarity between the existing symptoms and the type of stimulation that causes them .

The differentiation that costs more to carry out is that between anthropophobia or fear of people and social phobia, often considering the same phobia due to the similarity of its characteristics. But although in both cases there is an avoidance of social contact and the reactions are similar, some subtle differences between both types of phobia can be detected.

The main and most notorious refers to what is feared per se.Social phobia involves the appearance of fear or intense anxiety in one or more social situations in which the individual is exposed to possible examination by other people, generally unknown (not being so usual the fear of people who trust). He is afraid to act in a way that can be judged negatively and be humiliated or rejected in the face of poor execution or in the face of fear or anxiety, which generates panic that leads to persistent avoidance or resistance to social situations.

By cons in anthropophobia the fear is specifically towards people and bonding with them regardless of his judgment and the situation. It is not that they avoid social situations, but that their fear can lead them to avoid any direct contact with another person, even the most significant ones for them.

This does not mean that they do not have any kind of relationship. In fact, it is common for them to appear together and anthropophobia has sometimes been considered as a subtype of social phobia, but it is important to bear in mind that we are not referring exactly to the same thing and that they are not synonymous.

Possible causes

As with other phobias, the causes of anthropophobia are usually not entirely clear. However, in many cases, intense contact panic usually derives from the experience of traumatic or stressful events such as bullying, or in more serious cases, abuse or even sexual abuse in childhood.

These experiences may have conditioned the response of the subject to contact with others, generating panic due to the association between social contact and pain or humiliation suffered throughout life. The lack of social skills can also facilitate the appearance of this phobia , not knowing how to act correctly in front of other people.

Finally, we must bear in mind that it can also appear as a symptom of some disorder instead of as a disorder itself, as it happens with some cases in people with psychotic problems.

Treatment

The treatment of this and other types of phobias it is carried out through psychotherapy , existing diverse treatments to employ with proven effectiveness.

The best known and most effective technique is exposure. Basically therapy implies that the subject is exposed to the feared stimuli progressively until the level of anxiety, panic and physiological activation decreases. It's important to put attention on this exhibition must be progressive , establishing a hierarchy together with the patient. Temporary escape can be allowed in situations in which anxiety is unbearable for the subject, as long as he returns to the situation.

The most effective exposure is exposure in vivo, in which the patient is actually exposed to the dreaded stimulation. However, it can be used, previously to her, to expose in imagination to feared situations or even to exposure through virtual reality.

It must be taken into account that for a person with anthropophobia the situation of going to therapy can also be aversive for the patient to be in a situation that requires contact with another person (in fact the subject being exposed to their feared stimulus). In this sense it may be necessary to establish a chain of steps in which the subject comes into contact gradually with the therapist through telephone, video call and finally face to face.

Apart from the exhibition, anthropophobia is very useful work from cognitive restructuring to fight the possible beliefs that could have generated or maintained the panic to the idea of ​​relating with another person. Training in social skills (although it would be necessary for the therapy to be already advanced) and in assertiveness to improve their abilities may also be useful. Finally, the use of expressive therapies can be useful for them to express their fears and doubts, as well as techniques to increase self-esteem.

Pharmacology?

Sometimes, when panic and anxiety are very intense, it can be useful the occasional use of some type of tranquilizer such as benzodiazepines , or some types of antidepressant. As with social phobia, the use of paroxetine seems especially useful.

However, it must be borne in mind that such use of pharmacology would not solve the problem per se, but would only reduce the anxious symptomatology temporarily. Thus, the treatment of anthropophobia and other phobias requires psychological therapy, although it may benefit from the use of pharmacology as something complementary.


Phobia Social Anxiety Fear - Psychology - Motivational Video - by Dr. Deepak Kelkar (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anthropophobie (peur de l'homme): symptômes, causes et traitement

Anthropophobie (peur de l'homme): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 21, 2022

Les phobies font partie, avec la dépression et l'anxiété, des troubles mentaux les plus fréquents.

En règle générale, ils ont tendance à être moins invalidants que d’autres troubles, car les stimuli qui les génèrent ne sont généralement pas retrouvés de façon continue. la performance de la personne dans divers domaines vitaux. C’est ce qui se passe avec les phobies telles que l’agoraphobie, la phobie sociale ou la phobie dont nous allons parler dans cet article: anthropophobie .

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce qu'une phobie?

Bien que cela puisse être quelque chose de plus ou de moins connu de la plupart de la population, avant d'entrer dans le sujet de l'anthropophobie, il pourrait être utile de préciser ce que signifie avoir une phobie.


Quand on parle de phobies on parle de peurs irrationnelles envers les stimuli et les situations cela peut être plus spécifique ou plus général et causer un niveau profond d'anxiété et d'activation physiologique que le sujet reconnaît comme exagéré pour le niveau de menace posé par le stimulus en question. Cette panique et cette anxiété font que le sujet a tendance à éviter autant que possible de s'approcher du stimulus ou de la situation en question, ce qui peut générer des répercussions sur son fonctionnement normal.

Ce n'est pas une peur vulgaire mais de Panique authentique pouvant provoquer des changements physiologiques ou comportementaux comme l’évasion et l’évitement continu des lieux où le stimulus ou l’évasion de situations pourraient apparaître dans lesquels apparaît le stimulus en question. Dans certains cas, le sujet peut rester avec le stimulus, mais au prix d'une grande souffrance et d'une grande anxiété.


Il existe une multitude de phobies, certaines plus restrictives que d’autres en fonction des stimuli ainsi que des circonstances dans lesquelles elles apparaissent ou du fait que le sujet est vivant pertinent la peur pour la seconde). L’anthropophobie est l’un des plus limitants, surtout si l’on considère que nous vivons en société et que le contact humain est fondamental pour nous.

Anthropophobie ou peur des gens

L'anthropophobie est connue comme la peur des gens . Il est entendu que la phobie ou la peur du contact avec d’autres personnes et leur compagnie, semblant aussi parfois craindre d’être jugées par elles. La peur n'apparaît pas seulement aux étrangers, mais peut aussi sembler menaçante pour la famille et les amis malgré la confiance qui leur est accordée.

Le sujet reconnaît généralement cette peur comme étant étrange et irrationnelle, mais n'est pas capable de la contrôler. La panique peut causer des difficultés de concentration et le temps de suivre un discours mental cohérent et continu. Cela peut également causer des problèmes au niveau de la parole, entrecoupés par l’anxiété.


Ils évitent généralement le contact et la compagnie, et non pas parce qu’ils ne le veulent pas (dans de nombreux cas, ce qui, vu leur difficulté, engendre une profonde souffrance et un sentiment de solitude). mais à cause de l'anxiété qui génère . Il n'est pas rare que certaines de ces personnes deviennent complètement isolées, sans contact avec d'autres personnes, sauf si elles doivent vivre avec elles. Ils évitent le contact visuel et même physique, et ont tendance à rougir rapidement lorsqu’ils tentent d’interagir.

Au niveau physiologique, lorsqu’ils sont exposés à un contact avec d’autres personnes, ceux qui souffrent d’anthropophobie manifestent généralement tachycardie, hyperventilation, transpiration, tension musculaire, nausée , déréalisation, étouffement, maux de tête, vertiges, tremblements et malaise général. Ces réactions peuvent se produire non seulement en cas d’exposition directe, mais aussi en anticipant l’idée de devoir entrer en contact avec quelqu'un.

C'est une phobie très limitante, qui entrave les interactions avec la plupart des gens dans presque toutes les situations et qui aura répercussions aux niveaux social, académique et du travail . C'est pourquoi son traitement est essentiel pour que la personne puisse avoir une vie bien remplie et ne plus être limitée.

Différenciation avec la phobie sociale

L’anthropophobie peut souvent être confondue avec d’autres phobies, en raison de la similitude entre les symptômes existants et le type de stimulation qui les provoque .

La différenciation qui coûte plus cher à réaliser est celle entre anthropophobie ou peur des personnes et phobie sociale, considérant souvent la même phobie en raison de la similitude de ses caractéristiques. Mais bien que dans les deux cas, on évite les contacts sociaux et que les réactions soient similaires, certaines différences subtiles entre les deux types de phobie peuvent être détectées.

Le principal et le plus notoire se réfère à ce qui est craint en soi.La phobie sociale implique l’apparition d’une peur ou d’une anxiété intense dans une ou plusieurs situations sociales dans lesquelles la personne est exposée à un examen possible par d’autres personnes, généralement inconnues (la peur des personnes qui ont confiance en soi n’est pas si habituelle). Il a peur d'agir d'une manière qui puisse être jugée négativement et être humilié ou rejeté face à une exécution médiocre ou face à la peur ou à l'anxiété, ce qui génère une panique qui conduit à un évitement persistant ou à une résistance aux situations sociales.

Par contre dans l'anthropophobie la peur est spécifiquement envers les gens et la liaison avec eux indépendamment de son jugement et de la situation. Ce n'est pas qu'ils évitent les situations sociales, mais que leur peur peut les amener à éviter tout contact direct avec une autre personne, même la plus importante pour eux.

Cela ne signifie pas qu'ils n'ont aucun type de relation. En fait, il est courant qu’ils apparaissent ensemble et l’anthropophobie a parfois été considérée comme un sous-type de phobie sociale, mais il est important de garder à l’esprit que nous ne faisons pas exactement référence à la même chose et qu’elles ne sont pas synonymes.

Causes possibles

Comme pour les autres phobies, les causes de l’anthropophobie ne sont généralement pas tout à fait claires. Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, une panique de contact intense provient généralement de l'expérience d'événements traumatiques ou stressants comme l'intimidation, ou dans des cas plus graves, l'abus ou même l'abus sexuel dans l'enfance.

Ces expériences peuvent avoir conditionné la réponse du sujet au contact avec les autres, générant une panique en raison de l'association entre le contact social et la douleur ou l'humiliation subie tout au long de la vie. Le manque de compétences sociales peut également faciliter l'apparition de cette phobie , ne sachant pas comment agir correctement devant les autres.

Enfin, nous devons garder à l’esprit que cela peut aussi apparaître comme un symptôme d’un trouble plutôt que comme un trouble lui-même, comme cela arrive dans certains cas chez des personnes ayant des problèmes psychotiques.

Traitement

Le traitement de cette phobie et d'autres types il est réalisé par psychothérapie , divers traitements existants à utiliser avec une efficacité prouvée.

La technique la plus connue et la plus efficace est l'exposition. Fondamentalement, la thérapie implique que le sujet soit exposé aux stimuli redoutés progressivement jusqu'à ce que le niveau d'anxiété, de panique et d'activation physiologique diminue. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que cette exposition doit être progressive , établissant une hiérarchie avec le patient. Une évasion temporaire peut être autorisée dans les situations dans lesquelles l'anxiété est insupportable pour le sujet, à condition qu'il y revienne.

L'exposition la plus efficace est l'exposition in vivo, dans laquelle le patient est réellement exposé à la stimulation redoutée. Cependant, il peut être utilisé, auparavant pour elle, pour exposer avec imagination des situations redoutées ou même une exposition à travers la réalité virtuelle.

Il faut tenir compte du fait que, pour une personne souffrant d'anthropophobie, le fait de suivre une thérapie peut également être désagréable pour le patient qui se trouve dans une situation nécessitant un contact avec une autre personne (en fait, le sujet est exposé au stimulus redouté). En ce sens, il peut être nécessaire d’établir une chaîne d’étapes dans laquelle le sujet entre progressivement en contact avec le thérapeute par téléphone, appel vidéo et enfin face à face.

En plus de l'exposition, l'anthropophobie est très utile travailler à partir de la restructuration cognitive combattre les croyances possibles qui auraient pu générer ou maintenir la panique à l'idée de communiquer avec une autre personne. Une formation aux habiletés sociales (bien qu'il soit nécessaire que la thérapie soit déjà avancée) et à l'affirmation de soi pour améliorer leurs capacités peut également être utile. Enfin, l'utilisation de thérapies expressives peut leur être utile pour exprimer leurs peurs et leurs doutes, ainsi que des techniques pour augmenter l'estime de soi.

Pharmacologie?

Parfois, lorsque la panique et l’anxiété sont très intenses, cela peut être utile. l'utilisation occasionnelle d'un type de tranquillisant tel que les benzodiazépines ou certains types d'antidépresseurs. Comme avec la phobie sociale, l’utilisation de la paroxétine semble particulièrement utile.

Cependant, il faut garder à l'esprit qu'un tel usage de la pharmacologie ne résoudrait pas le problème en soi, mais réduirait seulement temporairement la symptomatologie anxieuse. Ainsi, le traitement de l’anthropophobie et d’autres phobies nécessite une thérapie psychologique, bien que l’utilisation de la pharmacologie puisse en tirer parti.


Phobies - AGORA (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes