yes, therapy helps!
Contradiction: therapeutic uses of this technique

Contradiction: therapeutic uses of this technique

July 23, 2024

Counterconditioning was one of the most significant techniques in the development of psychotherapy, especially for its pioneering use in the treatment of phobic anxiety. Even though Mary Cover Jones was the first to use counterconditioning With this objective, it was Joseph Wolpe who popularized it within the framework of systematic desensitization.

In this article we will describe the therapeutic uses of counterconditioning in phobias and addictions ; in relation to these we will speak respectively of systematic desensitization and aversive counterconditioning. To begin with, we will briefly dwell on the definition of this concept and its historical course.


  • Related article: "5 behavior modification techniques"

What is counterconditioning?

Counterconditioning is a psychological technique developed from behavioral guidance that consists of eliminate an unwanted response and replace it with another more appropriate by using pleasant stimuli. It is applied with some frequency to treat irrational fears both in humans and animals, as well as addictions.

In this procedure the person is exposed to the stimulus that is wanted to contradict, and that provokes an inappropriate response, while another stimulus of opposite sign is also present. Thus, to make a phobic object less scary, it could be associated with a relaxation response, such as Jacobson's progressive muscle relaxation.


Similarly, in many cases of alcoholism, drugs such as disulfiram are prescribed, which when combined with this beverage causes nausea, tachycardia and other unpleasant sensations. This makes alcohol less palatable, so that drinking behavior is counterconditioned when associated with these physiological alterations.

A similar concept is extinction, which is part of the paradigm of operant conditioning. The difference is that the procedure of the extinction is to eliminate a response by removing the reinforcement that previously it was contingent to its execution, and not in replacing said behavior by another one, as it happens in the counterconditioning.

Historical development of this technique

In the year 1924 Mary Cover Jones used counterconditioning for the first time in the treatment of phobia in the famous case of little Peter, a boy with fear of rabbits. This researcher was the first to demonstrate the efficacy of the technique under reliable experimental conditions.


Cover Jones used a nice meal for Peter as a substitute stimulus. In the first place the child ate in the same room where a rabbit was, although it was at a significant distance. Progressively, the animal approached little Peter; In the end the child was able to caress him without showing any anxiety response.

The case of little Peter was a key milestone in the emergence of behavioral therapy. Later Joseph Wolpe, who developed the technique of systematic desensitization in the 1950s using counterconditioning as a basis, she would refer to Mary Cover Jones as "the mother of behavior therapy."

  • Maybe you're interested: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

Role in systematic desensitization

Systematic desensitization is a technique that aims to reduce or eliminate anxiety and avoidance responses that occur in the presence of a phobic stimulus. It is based on the performance of behaviors incompatible with anxiety to replace it because, in the words of Wolpe himself, it is not possible to be relaxed and nervous at the same time.

In particular, Wolpe used the progressive muscle relaxation technique developed by Edmund Jacobson as an incompatible response. However, it is not a necessary component, but could be replaced by another method of relaxation, such as slow and deep breathing, or any response that is not compatible with anxiety.

Even though Wolpe attributed the utility of systematic desensitization to counterconditioning of opposite responses to anxiety, subsequent authors have questioned this hypothesis. Thus, it has been proposed that the basis of this technique may be habituation, extinction, expectation or operative reinforcement of approaching responses.

In any case, systematic desensitization has lost popularity in recent decades due to the improvement of live exposure techniques, which have greater empirical support and are more efficient to treat irrational fears, being based fundamentally on contributions of scientific research.

The aversive counterconditioning

The goal of aversive conditioning is that the subject happens to associate an undesired behavior with an unpleasant stimulus so that it loses its value as a reinforcer. In the case of aversive counterconditioning this is achieved by matching the behavior that is intended to be eliminated with stimuli that provoke opposite responses to those of pleasure.

The most usual application of this technique is framed in the context of Aversion therapy for substance addiction like alcohol, tobacco, cannabis or cocaine. The consumption of the drug in question is identified with unwanted behavior, while the stimuli are usually other substances that react negatively to the first.

In the case of alcohol, as we have previously said, aversive therapies are used that consist of the consumption of drugs that, when interacting with alcohol in the body, cause unpleasant physiological responses, mainly related to the digestive system. The two most commonly used drugs in this regard are naltrexone and disulfiram.

It has also been used successfully aversive therapy of electrical stimulation to treat the consumption of tobacco, marijuana and cocaine. On the other hand, compulsive habits such as onychophagia (biting the nails) or trichotillomania (tearing the hair) can also be eliminated with aversive counterconditioning, although there are more tolerable procedures.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cover Jones, M. (1924). A Laboratory Study of Fear: The Case of Peter. Pedagogical Seminary, 31: 308-315.
  • Rutherford, A. (2010). Profile of Mary Cover Jones. In A. Rutherford (Ed.), Psychology's Feminist Voices Multimedia Internet Archive. Recovered from //www.feministvoices.com/mary-cover-jones/
  • Wolpe, J. (1969), The Practice of Behavioral Therapy. New York: Pergamon Press.

10 Reasons To Avoid Raindrop Therapy With Essential Oils - Aromatherapy Advice (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Contradiction: usages thérapeutiques de cette technique

Contradiction: usages thérapeutiques de cette technique

Mai 21, 2019

Le contre-conditionnement était l'une des techniques les plus importantes dans le développement de la psychothérapie, en particulier pour son utilisation novatrice dans le traitement de l'anxiété phobique. Bien que Mary Cover Jones a été la première à utiliser le contre-conditionnement Avec cet objectif, c'est Joseph Wolpe qui l'a popularisé dans le cadre d'une désensibilisation systématique.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les utilisations thérapeutiques du contre-conditionnement dans les phobies et les dépendances ; Par rapport à ceux-ci, nous parlerons respectivement de désensibilisation systématique et de contre-conditionnement aversif. Pour commencer, nous aborderons brièvement la définition de ce concept et son cours historique.


  • Article connexe: "5 techniques de modification du comportement"

Qu'est-ce que le contre-conditionnement?

Le contre-conditionnement est une technique psychologique développée à partir de conseils comportementaux consistant à: éliminer une réponse indésirable et la remplacer par une autre plus approprié en utilisant des stimuli agréables. Il est appliqué avec une certaine fréquence pour traiter les peurs irrationnelles chez les humains et les animaux, ainsi que les dépendances.

Dans cette procédure, la personne est exposée au stimulus que l’on veut contredire, ce qui provoque une réponse inappropriée, tandis qu’un autre stimulus de signe opposé est également présent. Ainsi, pour rendre un objet phobique moins effrayant, il pourrait être associé à une réponse de relaxation, telle que la relaxation musculaire progressive de Jacobson.


De même, dans de nombreux cas d’alcoolisme, des médicaments tels que le disulfirame sont prescrits, ce qui, associé à cette boisson, provoque des nausées, une tachycardie et d’autres sensations désagréables. Cela rend l'alcool moins agréable au goût, de sorte que le comportement de consommation est contre-conditionné lorsqu'il est associé à ces modifications physiologiques.

Un concept similaire est l'extinction, qui fait partie du paradigme du conditionnement opérant. La différence est que la procédure de l'extinction consiste à éliminer une réponse en supprimant le renforcement qu'auparavant, il était subordonné à son exécution et non pas à remplacer ledit comportement par un autre, comme cela se produit dans le contre-conditionnement.

Développement historique de cette technique

En l'an 1924 Mary Cover Jones a utilisé le contreconditionnement pour la première fois dans le traitement de la phobie dans le cas célèbre du petit Peter, un garçon qui craint les lapins. Ce chercheur a été le premier à démontrer l'efficacité de la technique dans des conditions expérimentales fiables.


Cover Jones a utilisé un bon repas pour Peter comme stimulant de substitution. En premier lieu, l'enfant mangeait dans la même pièce où se trouvait un lapin, même s'il se trouvait à une distance significative. Progressivement, l'animal s'est approché du petit Peter; En fin de compte, l'enfant a pu le caresser sans montrer de réponse anxieuse.

Le cas du petit Peter a été une étape clé dans l’émergence de la thérapie comportementale. Plus tard Joseph Wolpe, qui a développé la technique de désensibilisation systématique dans les années 1950, en utilisant le contre-conditionnement comme base, elle qualifierait Mary Cover Jones de "mère de la thérapie comportementale".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

Rôle dans la désensibilisation systématique

La désensibilisation systématique est une technique qui vise à réduire ou à éliminer les réponses d'anxiété et d'évitement qui se produisent en présence d'un stimulus phobique. Il est basé sur la performance de comportements incompatibles avec l'anxiété de le remplacer car, comme le dit Wolpe lui-même, il n'est pas possible d'être détendu et nerveux en même temps.

Wolpe a notamment utilisé la technique de relaxation progressive développée par Edmund Jacobson comme une réponse incompatible. Cependant, ce n'est pas une composante nécessaire, mais pourrait être remplacé par une autre méthode de relaxation, telle que la respiration lente et profonde, ou toute réponse incompatible avec l'anxiété.

Bien que Wolpe a attribué l'utilité de la désensibilisation systématique au contre-conditionnement des réponses opposées à l’anxiété, les auteurs suivants ont remis en question cette hypothèse. Ainsi, il a été proposé que la base de cette technique puisse être l’habituation, l’extinction, les attentes ou le renforcement opérationnel des réponses à l’approche.

Quoi qu’il en soit, la désensibilisation systématique a perdu de sa popularité au cours des dernières décennies en raison de l’amélioration des techniques d’exposition en direct, qui bénéficient d’un plus grand soutien empirique et sont plus efficaces pour traiter les peurs irrationnelles, car elles reposent essentiellement sur des contributions. de la recherche scientifique.

Le contre-conditionnement aversif

Le but du conditionnement aversif est qu'il arrive que le sujet associe un comportement indésirable à un stimulus désagréable de sorte qu'il perd sa valeur en tant que renforçant. Dans le cas d'un contre-conditionnement aversif, ceci est réalisé en faisant correspondre le comportement qui doit être éliminé à des stimuli qui provoquent des réponses opposées à celles du plaisir.

L’application la plus courante de cette technique est encadrée dans le contexte de Thérapie d'aversion pour toxicomanie comme l'alcool, le tabac, le cannabis ou la cocaïne. La consommation de la drogue en question est assimilée à un comportement indésirable, tandis que les stimuli sont généralement d'autres substances qui réagissent négativement à la première.

Comme nous l'avons dit précédemment, dans le cas de l'alcool, on utilise des thérapies aversives consistant en la consommation de drogues qui, lorsqu'elles interagissent avec l'alcool dans le corps, entraînent des réactions physiologiques désagréables, principalement liées au système digestif. Les deux médicaments les plus couramment utilisés à cet égard sont la naltrexone et le disulfirame.

Il a également été utilisé avec succès thérapie aversive de stimulation électrique pour traiter la consommation de tabac, de marijuana et de cocaïne. D'un autre côté, les habitudes compulsives telles que l'onychophagie (se ronger les ongles) ou la trichotillomanie (se déchirer les cheveux) peuvent également être éliminées avec un contre-conditionnement aversif, bien qu'il existe des procédures plus tolérables.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Couvrir Jones, M. (1924). Une étude de laboratoire sur la peur: le cas de Peter. Séminaire pédagogique, 31: 308-315.
  • Rutherford, A. (2010). Profil de Mary Cover Jones. Dans A. Rutherford (Ed.), Archive Internet Internet de voix féministes de la psychologie. Récupéré de //www.feministvoices.com/mary-cover-jones/
  • Wolpe, J. (1969), The Practice of Behavioral Therapy. New York: Pergamon Press.

La GUERRE des ONDES SCALAIRES 1/2 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes