yes, therapy helps!
Double depression: the superposition of depressive symptoms

Double depression: the superposition of depressive symptoms

September 30, 2022

The word depression is an old acquaintance not only for the field of psychology , but also for a large part of the general population. We all have a more or less approximate idea of ​​what it implies (although the majority of the population identifies with depression things that are not).

However, there are multiple disorders linked to this type of problem that may not be as well known, as well as complications of these pictures that can be a great suffering for those who suffer them. This is the case, for example, of double depression .

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

Some of the main depressive disorders: major depression and dysthymia

Within the state of mind disorders there are different problems that appear with depressive symptomatology. If we circumscribe only this type of symptoms (not taking into account those disorders in which manic or hypomanic episodes appear), the most known and prevalent disorders are two: depression and dysthymia.


Major depression

Major depression is the most well-known and frequent depressive disorder , being the most prevalent mental health problem next to anxiety disorders.

It is characterized by the existence during most of the time almost every day over at least two weeks of a sad mood (in children it may appear rather as irritable) and / or the loss of interest or ability to feel pleasure through previously motivating activities, along with other symptoms such as sleep or eating disorders, hopelessness, lack of concentration, physical and mental slowness and loss of energy and sexual appetite. It is not uncommon for there to be thoughts of death and suicide.


  • Related article: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Dysthymia

With regard to dysthymia we are facing a disorder very similar to depression although of less intensity, but that against it remains for a long time or even becomes chronic. A sad mood is maintained for most of the time for at least two years, with despair often appearing, feeding and sleeping problems, fatigue and low self-esteem.

Although the severity of symptoms is less than in depression itself, the fact that dysthymia lasts over time causes a higher level of life dissatisfaction. However, there is a lower level of interference in the usual activities, the subject does not present anhedonia or slowness and they do not usually have thoughts of death.

Although there are other depressive problems, these two are some of the most important and invalidating. Major depression is more serious but more temporary, while dysthymia is less severe but lasts much longer or may become chronic (in fact, it is currently called persistent depressive disorder). However, occasionally we may find that a person with dysthymia suddenly has a worsening of their symptoms, usually due to some external cause that exacerbates their symptoms, and can be diagnosed with double depression.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Dysthymia, when melancholy takes over your mind"

What is double depression?

It is called double depression to that situation in which in a subject suffering from dysthymia appear for some reason episodes of major depression, superimposing itself on its habitual symptomatology .

It is a serious complication of dysthymia, since it supposes that in a person with a low emotional state and with a series of complications already basic suffer a moment of greater weakness, lose hope and the desire to do things or stop feeling pleasure . In addition, the fact that dysthymia lasts over time makes it possible to lose social support in the long run, and there is a reduced level of activity before the major depressive episode.

Summing up from what was previously written, we have a person who has been suffering for at least two damages sadness, low self-esteem, feeding problems such as loss of appetite and / or sleep like insomnia and a feeling of hopelessness in the future in which, in addition to that, a greater depression appears, accentuating the previous symptoms and adding a deficit in the capacity to feel motivation or pleasure and generating a great interference in their day to day in areas such as the labor or the personnel.

These people usually recover before depressive episodes greater than those who did not suffer from a previous dysthymia, due to the existence of certain habituation, but nevertheless it is much more frequent to relapse again since they continue to suffer from dysthymia.

Causes

The causes of double depression can be multiple.It has been argued that the causes of depression can be found in biological factors such as presence of a deficit of serotonin and / or dopamine or environmental factors such as an insufficient reinforcement of the activity itself and / or the existence of unrealistic expectations and thinking schemes with perceptive biases that generate the tendency to negatively consider oneself, the world and one's future.

The existence of a dysthymia tends to be associated with the continued suffering of stressors, generally next to social isolation. It is very common that there is a chronic health problem (be it physical or mental). There is also a certain hereditary component when one observes the existence of several cases of affective disorders within the same families (although in part they may be due to learning).

The occurrence of episodes of major depression within a dysthymic disorder may be linked to the appearance of some stressor or situation that generates discomfort and sadness , the consumption of drugs or simply the persistence of the symptoms of dysthymia.

Treatment

The treatment of double depression is practically identical to that of depression and dysthymia. Major depression is treated more easily, since dysthymia is often experienced by the patient as its normal functioning or procedure. However, treatment of this and double depression is equally possible, often through a combination of psychological and pharmacological treatments .

Drug treatment

With regard to psychopharmacology, the use of antidepressants is common, and SSRIs are especially used nowadays to reduce the reuptake of serotonin and facilitate its action in the encephalon.

Psychotherapy

In psychological terms, there is a wide variety of effective methodologies coming from very different theoretical currents. Negotiation with the patient is recommended on the accomplishment of graduated tasks that can put to test to the subject but that have a high probability of success, so that the subject is seeing that it is successful and is increasing his self-concept.

The realization of pleasant activities and cognitive tests of situations that can cost you can be very useful. At the cognitive level it is recommended to first record the ideas of the subject and the type of thoughts he has to go closer to the core beliefs that generate and maintain suffering and sadness, then stop by means of cognitive restructuring to modify possible dysfunctional beliefs. Group therapy can be applied. It seeks to increase self-esteem and can also be useful to improve the social skills of those affected.

Finally, the use of expressive and emotional therapies can contribute to the patient's freedom from distressing sensations and can find relief in it while learning to manage them successfully. Examples that could work are the temporary projection or the empty chair.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.

Episode 223 Cynthia Sue Larson "The Quantum Optimist" Gives some GREAT life tools! (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Double dépression: la superposition de symptômes dépressifs

Double dépression: la superposition de symptômes dépressifs

Juillet 22, 2022

Le mot dépression est une connaissance ancienne non seulement pour le domaine de la psychologie , mais aussi pour une grande partie de la population. Nous avons tous une idée plus ou moins approximative de ce que cela implique (bien que la majorité de la population s'identifie à la dépression avec des choses qui ne le sont pas).

Cependant, il existe de nombreux troubles liés à ce type de problème qui peuvent ne pas être aussi bien connus, ainsi que des complications de ces images qui peuvent être une grande souffrance pour ceux qui les souffrent. C'est le cas, par exemple, de la double dépression .

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Certains des principaux troubles dépressifs: dépression majeure et dysthymie

Dans les troubles de l'état d'esprit, différents symptômes apparaissent avec la symptomatologie dépressive. Si nous ne circonscrivons que ce type de symptômes (sans tenir compte des troubles dans lesquels apparaissent des épisodes maniaques ou hypomaniaques), les troubles les plus connus et les plus répandus sont deux: la dépression et la dysthymie.


Dépression majeure

La dépression majeure est le trouble dépressif le plus connu et le plus fréquent , étant le problème de santé mentale le plus répandu après les troubles anxieux.

Elle se caractérise par la tristesse (la plupart du temps, presque tous les jours pendant au moins deux semaines) (chez les enfants, cela peut sembler plutôt irritable) et / ou une perte d’intérêt ou de capacité. ressentir du plaisir lors d'activités auparavant motivantes, ainsi que d'autres symptômes tels que troubles du sommeil ou de l'alimentation, désespoir, manque de concentration, lenteur physique et mentale, perte d'énergie et appétit sexuel. Il n'est pas rare qu'il y ait des pensées de mort et de suicide.


  • Article connexe: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Dysthymie

En ce qui concerne la dysthymie, nous sommes confrontés à un trouble très similaire à la dépression. bien que de moindre intensité, mais que contre cela reste longtemps ou même devient chronique. Une humeur triste se maintient la plupart du temps pendant au moins deux ans. Le désespoir apparaît souvent, des problèmes d’alimentation et de sommeil, de la fatigue et une faible estime de soi.

Bien que la gravité des symptômes soit inférieure à celle de la dépression elle-même, le fait que la dysthymie persiste dans le temps entraîne un niveau d'insatisfaction plus élevé. Cependant, il y a moins d'interférences dans les activités habituelles, le sujet ne présente pas d'anhédonie ni de lenteur et ils n'ont généralement pas de pensées de mort.

Bien qu'il existe d'autres problèmes dépressifs, ces deux problèmes comptent parmi les plus importants et les plus invalidants. La dépression majeure est plus grave mais plus temporaire, tandis que la dysthymie est moins grave mais dure beaucoup plus longtemps ou peut devenir chronique (en fait, on l'appelle actuellement trouble dépressif persistant). Cependant, nous pouvons parfois constater qu'une personne atteinte de dysthymie a soudainement une aggravation de ses symptômes, généralement due à une cause externe qui exacerbe ses symptômes, et peut être diagnostiquée avec une double dépression.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Dysthymie, quand la mélancolie envahit votre esprit"

Qu'est-ce que la double dépression?

C'est ce qu'on appelle la double dépression à cette situation dans laquelle chez un sujet souffrant de dysthymie apparaissent pour une raison quelconque des épisodes de dépression majeure, se superposer à sa symptomatologie habituelle .

C'est une complication grave de la dysthymie, car elle suppose que, chez une personne dont l'état émotionnel est faible et qui présente une série de complications déjà fondamentales, souffrez d'un moment de plus grande faiblesse, perdez espoir et le désir de faire des choses ou arrêtez de ressentir du plaisir. . De plus, le fait que la dysthymie dure dans le temps permet de perdre le soutien social à long terme et il existe un niveau d'activité réduit avant l'épisode dépressif majeur.

En résumé de ce qui a été écrit précédemment, nous avons une personne qui souffre depuis au moins deux dommages-intérêts: tristesse, faible estime de soi, problèmes d’alimentation tels que: perte d'appétit et / ou sommeil comme une insomnie et un sentiment de désespoir dans l’avenir dans lequel, en plus de cela, une plus grande dépression apparaît, accentuant les symptômes précédents et ajoutant un déficit de capacité à ressentir la motivation ou le plaisir et générant une grande interférence dans leur quotidien le travail ou le personnel.

Ces personnes guérissent généralement avant des épisodes dépressifs plus importants que ceux qui ne souffraient pas d'une dysthymie antérieure, en raison de l'existence d'une certaine habituation, mais néanmoins il est beaucoup plus fréquent de rechuter puisqu'ils continuent à souffrir de dysthymie.

Les causes

Les causes de la double dépression peuvent être multiples.Il a été avancé que les causes de la dépression peuvent être trouvées dans des facteurs biologiques tels que présence d'un déficit en sérotonine et / ou en dopamine ou de facteurs environnementaux comme un renforcement insuffisant de l'activité elle-même et / ou l'existence d'attentes irréalistes et de schémas de pensée avec des biais de perception qui génèrent la tendance à se considérer négativement, ainsi que le monde et son avenir.

L’existence d’une dysthymie tend à être associée à la souffrance persistante de facteurs de stress, généralement à côté de l'isolement social. Il est très courant qu'il existe un problème de santé chronique (physique ou mental). Il existe également une certaine composante héréditaire lorsque l’on constate l’existence de plusieurs cas de troubles affectifs au sein d’une même famille (bien qu’ils soient en partie dus à l’apprentissage).

La survenue d'épisodes de dépression majeure au sein d'un trouble dysthymique peut être liée à l'apparition d'un facteur de stress ou d'une situation génératrice d'inconfort et de tristesse , la consommation de drogues ou simplement la persistance des symptômes de la dysthymie.

Traitement

Le traitement de la double dépression est pratiquement identique à celui de la dépression et de la dysthymie. La dépression majeure est traitée plus facilement, car le patient ressent souvent la dysthymie comme un fonctionnement ou une procédure normale. Cependant, le traitement de cette maladie et de la double dépression est également possible, souvent par une combinaison de traitements psychologiques et pharmacologiques .

Traitement de la toxicomanie

En ce qui concerne la psychopharmacologie, l'utilisation des antidépresseurs est courante et les ISRS sont particulièrement utilisés de nos jours pour réduire la recapture de la sérotonine et faciliter son action dans l'encéphale.

Psychothérapie

Sur le plan psychologique, il existe une grande variété de méthodologies efficaces issues de courants théoriques très différents. La négociation avec le patient est recommandée sur l'accomplissement de tâches graduées qui peuvent mettre à l'épreuve du sujet mais qui ont une forte probabilité de succès, de sorte que le sujet voit qu'il réussit et augmente son concept de soi.

La réalisation d'activités agréables et de tests cognitifs de situations cela peut vous coûter peut être très utile. Au niveau cognitif, il est recommandé d’enregistrer d’abord les idées du sujet et le type de pensées qu’il doit approcher des croyances fondamentales qui génèrent et entretiennent la souffrance et la tristesse, puis de s’arrêter au moyen d’une restructuration cognitive pour modifier les croyances dysfonctionnelles possibles. La thérapie de groupe peut être appliquée. Il cherche à augmenter l'estime de soi et peut également être utile pour améliorer les compétences sociales des personnes touchées.

Enfin, l'utilisation de thérapies expressives et émotionnelles peut contribuer à libérer le patient de ses sensations de détresse et lui apporter un soulagement tout en apprenant à les gérer avec succès. Les exemples qui pourraient fonctionner sont la projection temporaire ou la chaise vide.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.

POUVOIR ILLIMITÉ | TONY ROBBINS | RÉSUMÉ AUDIO (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes