yes, therapy helps!
How to detect eating disorders (in adolescents)

How to detect eating disorders (in adolescents)

May 7, 2021

With the arrival of summer, complexes also come and especially among young people and teenagers , they are related to your physique. These can lead to food problems, extreme diets and / or miraculous, destructive behaviors, ingestion of "medicines" ....

In this article we will see some warning signs, not alarms, in order to detect a possible eating disorder in time .

What are the most common eating disorders among young people?

But before we will define in broad strokes the two disorders that most concern parents of adolescents :

1. Anorexia nervosa

It is the refusal to maintain a normal weight according to age and height . An intense fear of getting fat even when under ideal weight, a distortion of one's own body image and a negation of the disease. It usually leads to amenorrhea (absence of the menstrual period).


2. Bulimia nervosa

Make reference to the p excessive reoccupation with food that leads to repeated episodes of excessive intake of food as well as practice of extreme measures to control weight (vomiting, laxative abuse, drug use, fasting, ...) -

We must bear in mind that these disorders not only come from a poor acquisition of eating habits, but also from a combination of emotional, family, social and cultural factors.

The importance of prevention

Both eating disorders (anorexia or bulimia) and obesity are problems where prevention is very important to be able to avoid them . These are really serious disorders and it is important that we know that their consequences are very negative and that they affect all areas: personal, physical, social, emotional, discrimination, malnutrition ....


Behaviors and signs that someone has an eating disorder

There are some behaviors and behaviors that can alert us that something is not right . Here are some warning signs, although if we detect some of them, it will be essential not to be alarmed and go to a professional to guide and advise.

Warning signs (not alarm)

  • Voluntary restriction of foods with high caloric content
  • Decrease or excess of water or liquid consumption
  • Odd behaviors related to the habit of eating: eat standing, cut food into small pieces, when you finish looking for pretexts to get moving ...
  • Increased physical activity or even compulsive exercise
  • Increase in study hours
  • Decreased sleep hours
  • Irritability and mood swings
  • Depressive symptoms
  • Excessive worry about weight
  • Disorder of your image
  • Denial of feelings of hunger, thirst, sleep and fatigue
  • Disinterest for leisure activities
  • Storage of food in different places
  • Intensive consumption of sugar-free gum
  • Excessive use of tobacco to reduce the anxiety of eating
  • Rejection of social meals
  • Self-induced vomiting
  • Decreased school performance
  • Denial of the disease
  • Difficulty of concentration and learning
  • Feeling guilty
  • Low self-esteem
  • Intense social life with isolation intervals

Guidelines for helping a teenager with worrying symptoms

It will be necessary, at all times, to support the adolescent , let's not forget that the person suffering from some of these disorders is suffering from a very difficult emotional situation and will need the support of their environment and especially of the parents and their family.


They usually have low self-esteem that makes them feel uninteresting, that creates a great insecurity and elevated states of anxiety. In addition they tend to have social problems, they may feel isolated, victims of teasing friends or with excessive pressure. Parents and families should avoid that boys and girls feel that their physique is the most important thing to develop successfully in society.

Individual, family and social support

Therefore what parents should do is to promote those factors that will protect the child and adolescent future of these, and other disorders:

  • Encourage family cohesion , offer good behavioral models, expose some cultural values ​​on the corporal beauty according to health, boost self-esteem, self-confidence and self-efficacy, offer social resources and allow them to solve problems, be aware and adjust parental expectations. ..
  • Promote good eating habits , as well as knowledge of the need to maintain a good diet and promote self-esteem and self-confidence. They will be the essential essentials.
  • Share meals with children , explain the consequences of poor diet, teach them good habits and meal times, build their self-esteem with them, feel capable of taking on problems and worries, foster parental-filial understanding and trust, not judge or blaming the children ... parents and children should share their interest in good nutrition and parents should be the appropriate role models.

We can not demand what we do not do, that is, if the parents eat poorly or in a disorganized way, they can not ask that their children have good eating habits, as the parents are responsible for teaching them the proper guidelines.

If we are able to carry out these guidelines and advice out, we will be able to help the young person with feeding problems. But It will also be essential to have professional support in order to tackle the causes of the disorder .


How Can I Tell if My Child Has an Eating Disorder? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment détecter les troubles de l'alimentation (chez les adolescents)

Comment détecter les troubles de l'alimentation (chez les adolescents)

Février 21, 2019

Avec l'arrivée de l'été, les complexes viennent aussi et surtout chez les jeunes et les adolescents , ils sont liés à votre physique. Ceux-ci peuvent entraîner des problèmes alimentaires, des régimes extrêmes et / ou des comportements miraculeux et destructeurs, l'ingestion de "médicaments" ....

Dans cet article nous verrons des signes avant-coureurs, et non des alarmes, afin de détecter un éventuel trouble de l'alimentation à temps .

Quels sont les troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants chez les jeunes?

Mais avant nous définirons à grands traits les deux troubles qui concernent le plus les parents d’adolescents :

1. Anorexie mentale

C'est le refus de maintenir un poids normal en fonction de l'âge et de la taille . Une peur intense de grossir même avec un poids idéal, une déformation de l'image corporelle et une négation de la maladie. Cela conduit généralement à une aménorrhée (absence de menstruations).


2. boulimie nerveuse

Cela fait référence à le p réoccupation excessive avec de la nourriture qui conduit à des épisodes répétés d'ingestion excessive de la nourriture ainsi que la pratique de mesures extrêmes pour contrôler le poids (vomissements, abus de laxatifs, consommation de drogues, jeûne, ...) -

Nous devons garder à l’esprit que ces troubles ne résultent pas seulement d’une mauvaise acquisition d’aliments, mais aussi d’une combinaison de facteurs affectifs, familiaux, sociaux et culturels.

L'importance de la prévention

Les troubles de l'alimentation (anorexie ou boulimie) et l'obésité sont des problèmes pour lesquels la prévention est très importante pour pouvoir les éviter . Ce sont des troubles très graves et il est important de savoir que leurs conséquences sont très négatives et qu'elles touchent tous les domaines: personnel, physique, social, émotionnel, discrimination, malnutrition….


Comportements et signes que quelqu'un a un trouble de l'alimentation

Certains comportements peuvent nous alerter que quelque chose ne va pas . Voici quelques signes avant-coureurs. Toutefois, si nous en détectons certains, il sera essentiel de ne pas s’alarmer et de consulter un professionnel.

Signes d'avertissement (pas d'alarme)

  • Restriction volontaire des aliments à haute teneur en calories
  • Diminution ou excès de consommation d'eau ou de liquide
  • Comportements étranges liés à l'habitude de manger: manger debout, couper les aliments en petits morceaux, quand on a fini de chercher des prétextes pour se mettre en mouvement ...
  • Augmentation de l'activité physique ou même de l'exercice compulsif
  • Augmentation des heures d'étude
  • Diminution des heures de sommeil
  • Irritabilité et sautes d'humeur
  • Symptômes dépressifs
  • Souci excessif de poids
  • Désordre de votre image
  • Déni des sentiments de faim, de soif, de sommeil et de fatigue
  • Désintérêt pour les loisirs
  • Stockage de la nourriture dans différents endroits
  • Consommation intensive de gomme sans sucre
  • Consommation excessive de tabac pour réduire l'anxiété liée à l'alimentation
  • Rejet des repas sociaux
  • Vomissements auto-induits
  • Baisse des performances scolaires
  • Déni de la maladie
  • Difficulté de concentration et d'apprentissage
  • Se sentir coupable
  • Faible estime de soi
  • Vie sociale intense avec intervalles d'isolement

Lignes directrices pour aider un adolescent présentant des symptômes inquiétants

Il faudra en tout temps soutenir l'adolescent , n'oublions pas que la personne souffrant de certains de ces troubles souffre d'une situation émotionnelle très difficile et aura besoin du soutien de son environnement et en particulier de ses parents et de sa famille.


Ils ont généralement une faible estime de soi, ce qui les rend inintéressants, crée une grande insécurité et des états d'anxiété élevés. En outre, ils ont tendance à avoir des problèmes sociaux, ils peuvent se sentir isolés, victimes d'amies taquineries ou de pressions excessives. Les parents et les familles doivent éviter que les garçons et les filles sentent que leur physique est la chose la plus importante à développer avec succès dans la société.

Soutien individuel, familial et social

Par conséquent, ce que les parents devraient faire, c'est promouvoir les facteurs qui protégeront l'avenir de l'enfant et de l'adolescent de ces troubles, ainsi que d'autres:

  • Encourager la cohésion familiale , proposent de bons modèles comportementaux, exposent certaines valeurs culturelles sur la beauté corporelle en fonction de la santé, renforcent l'estime de soi, la confiance en soi et l'efficacité personnelle, offrent des ressources sociales et leur permettent de résoudre des problèmes, d'être conscientes et d'ajuster les attentes des parents. ..
  • Promouvoir de bonnes habitudes alimentaires , ainsi que la connaissance de la nécessité de maintenir une bonne alimentation et de promouvoir l'estime de soi et la confiance en soi. Ils seront l'essentiel.
  • Partager les repas avec les enfants , expliquer les conséquences d’une mauvaise alimentation, leur apprendre les bonnes habitudes et les repas, renforcer leur estime de soi, se sentir capable de s'attaquer aux problèmes et aux soucis, de favoriser la compréhension et la confiance des parents et de ne pas les juger blâmer les enfants ... les parents et les enfants devraient partager leur intérêt pour une bonne nutrition et les parents devraient être les modèles appropriés.

Nous ne pouvons pas exiger ce que nous ne faisons pas, c’est-à-dire que si les parents mangent mal ou de manière désorganisée, ils ne peuvent pas demander à leurs enfants de bonnes habitudes alimentaires, car il incombe aux parents de leur enseigner les règles à suivre.

Si nous sommes en mesure de suivre ces directives et ces conseils, nous pourrons aider le jeune qui a des problèmes d’alimentation. Mais Il sera également essentiel d'avoir un soutien professionnel pour s'attaquer aux causes du désordre .


Les troubles du comportement alimentaire chez l’adolescent - Question Nutrition (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes