yes, therapy helps!
Anti-gay therapy: this way it was trying to

Anti-gay therapy: this way it was trying to "cure" homosexuality

November 27, 2021

The conception of homosexuality as a moral or biological problem has existed in many societies throughout history. Christianity in particular has exerted a great influence in this regard in European and American countries.

During the twentieth century the developments of psychological therapy were used to modify the behavior and relieve the discomfort of people with "disorders" very varied. These included what some experts still call "egodistonic homosexuality," which was supposed to be cured through the reorientation of sexual impulses.

Although the "anti-gay therapy" was born in disrepute and he has never abandoned it, to this day it is still practiced surrounded by controversy.


  • Related article: "5 myths about homosexuality disassembled by science"

What is "antigay therapy"?

Sexual conversion therapy is a pseudoscientific practice, that is, it falsely states that its approaches are based on research. Many studies have reported the lack of effectiveness of this form of behavior modification , to the point that in the scientific community there is no longer a real debate about it.

The poor results of the reorientation therapy are probably due to the fact that its objective is not only to modify behavioral or behavioral habits but also impulses with a biological origin, difficult to modify.


While today the most common forms of "anti-gay therapy" focus on conversation and visualization, they have also been used more controversial techniques such as aversive therapy, electroshock and even lobotomy .

The most common is that homosexual people who agree to submit to this type of "treatment" do so for moral reasons, because they see themselves as sick or abnormal and to avoid the social rejection they receive from their environment.

The most important advocates of sexual conversion therapy are Christian fundamentalist groups that seek for others to adhere to behaviors they consider ethical, especially members of their religious community.

  • Related article: "What is a lobotomy and with what purpose was it practiced?"

History of conversion therapy

In 1935 Sigmund Freud answered the letter of a woman who asked him to treat his homosexual son, denying that this orientation was an illness and that it could be "cured". According to Freud, all children are bisexual and develop their definitive sexual orientation during adolescence according to whether they identify with the mother or with the father.


However, the popularization of behavior modification since the 60s promoted the emergence of treatments that would come to be known as Reorientation therapy or sexual conversion . Psychiatrists and psychologists such as Edmund Bergler, Samuel Hadden, Irving Bieber, Joseph Nicolosi and Charles Socarides defended the efficacy of behavioral techniques to turn homosexuals into heterosexuals.

The scientific literature clearly discredited conversion therapy and recorded that increased the risk of isolation, anxiety, depression and suicide . Likewise, social activism achieved that homosexuality ceased to be considered a disorder in the second edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-II), which appeared in 1968.

However, in the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10) the diagnosis "Egodistonic sexual orientation" is still valid, which applies to people who feel discomfort due to their sexuality, and many are still practiced. forms of "anti-gay therapy" that deny the evidence provided by the research , especially in religious areas or with the objective of obtaining an economic benefit.

  • Related article: "Behavioral Therapies: first, second and third wave"

Homosexuality as a paraphilia

Reorientation therapy for homosexuality has close similarities with those carried out in paraphilias. This term now encompasses the targeting of sexual impulses in animals, objects or behaviors that involve people who do not consent.

A) Yes, paraphilic disorders include pedophilia, bestiality, exhibitionism , voyeurism or frotteurism, in addition to other sexual preferences that may cause discomfort in the person who feels them or in others, as can happen with sadism.

This malaise is one of the main criteria that continues to be used today to justify conversion therapy in cases of homosexuality.The problem is that the emotional problems do not derive directly from the fact of being attracted to people of the same sex, but from the negative social conception that may exist in this regard.

The way in which the ICD describes "egodistonic sexual orientation" is closer to the so-called "gender identity disorders", still in force in the DSM. In both cases the diagnostic category itself has a pathological effect and moralizing since it separates discomfort due to sexuality or the identity of other causes, promoting the adaptation of the person to specific social norms and taking responsibility away from the environment.

So to speak, diagnosing egodistonic homosexuality or a gender identity disorder would be similar to doing the same with victims of bullying or gender violence, emphasizing that the person is a boy or a woman.

How was homosexuality "cured"?

Conversion therapy does not follow official guidelines because it is not recognized by associations of psychologists and doctors. None of these treatments has proven effective and most are in disuse.

We recommend those who are interested in learning more about sexual reorientation therapy to watch the television series Masters of Sex, where some of these treatments are portrayed and the vision of homosexuality in general in the context of the birth of sexual therapy, in the United States of the 50s and 60s.

1. Aversive therapy

This type of therapy consisted in presenting a punishment along with the stimulus that was intended to stop being attractive; in the case of homosexuality, erotic images with people of the same sex were used.

It was assumed that the punishment, normally substances that produced nausea or electric currents, would that homosexual images stop provoking excitement . In fact, aversive therapy only increased the feelings of guilt and fear of the people who submitted to it.

2. Psychotherapy

In the past, some psychoanalytic theorists argued that homosexuality it was due to unconscious conflicts originated in childhood and could be "cured" resolving these conflicts through psychotherapy.

Currently "anti-gay therapy" is carried out mainly through dialogue, at least when practiced openly. Some professionals in psychology and religious bodies exercise a kind of counseling centered on convincing the person to repress their homosexual impulses.

  • Related article: "The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud (and the new theories)"

3. Masturbation reconditioning

This technique is used regularly in the treatment of paraphilias. It consists of masturbating using the exciting stimuli which are considered inadequate (in the case of conversion therapy, homosexual images) but when reaching orgasm visualize the stimuli that are intended to be more desirable (people of the opposite sex).

Following the principles of conditioning, heterosexual images should become desirable with repeated practice and the newly developed attraction to the opposite sex could replace homosexual impulses. Masturbation reconditioning has not proved effective as a conversion therapy.

4. Electroconvulsive therapy

Electroconvulsive therapy involves transmitting low intensity electrical currents to the brain of an anesthetized person to alter brain chemistry in cases where other forms of treatment are ineffective.

Although if practiced correctly it can be effective to treat some resistant cases of depression , mania and schizophrenia , not only does homosexuality not "cure", but at the time when conversion therapy was in vogue, electroshock most frequently produced side effects such as memory loss and bone fracture.

5. Medical treatments

In this category are included some of the most aggressive therapies that have been applied to "cure" homosexuality. For example, in the middle of the last century it was not uncommon for lobotomies to be practiced, that is, surgical incisions in the brain; concretely, homosexuality was related to the action of the hypothalamus.

They have also come to be applied treatments with estrogen and even chemical castration to reduce the libido of homosexual people.


Gay Aversion Therapy 1970 (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie anti-gay: de cette façon, il essayait de

Thérapie anti-gay: de cette façon, il essayait de "soigner" l'homosexualité

Janvier 17, 2022

La conception de l'homosexualité en tant que problème moral ou biologique a existé dans de nombreuses sociétés à travers l'histoire. Le christianisme en particulier a exercé une grande influence à cet égard dans les pays européens et américains.

Au cours du XXe siècle, les développements de la thérapie psychologique ont été utilisés pour modifier le comportement et soulager l’inconfort des personnes souffrant de "troubles" très variés. Celles-ci comprenaient ce que certains experts appellent encore "l'homosexualité égodistonique", censée être guérie par la réorientation des pulsions sexuelles.

Bien que la "thérapie anti-gay" soit née dans le discrédit et il ne l'a jamais abandonné, il est encore pratiqué à ce jour dans un contexte controversé.


  • Article connexe: "Cinq mythes sur l'homosexualité démontée par la science"

Qu'est-ce que la "thérapie antigay"?

La thérapie de conversion sexuelle est une pratique pseudoscientifique, c'est-à-dire qu'elle affirme à tort que ses approches sont basées sur la recherche. De nombreuses études ont rapporté le manque d'efficacité de cette forme de modification du comportement , au point que dans la communauté scientifique, il n’ya plus vraiment de débat à ce sujet.

Les résultats médiocres de la thérapie de réorientation sont probablement dues au fait que son objectif est non seulement de modifier les habitudes comportementales ou comportementales, mais également des impulsions d’origine biologique, difficiles à modifier.


Bien que les formes les plus courantes de "thérapie anti-gay" se concentrent sur la conversation et la visualisation, elles ont également été utilisées des techniques plus controversées telles que la thérapie aversive, l'électrochoc et même la lobotomie .

Le plus commun est que les homosexuels qui acceptent de se soumettre à ce type de "traitement" le font pour des raisons morales, parce qu'ils se considèrent comme malades ou anormaux et pour éviter le rejet social qu'ils reçoivent de leur environnement.

Les défenseurs les plus importants de la thérapie de conversion sexuelle sont les groupes fondamentalistes chrétiens qui cherchent à ce que les autres adhèrent à des comportements qu’ils considèrent éthiques, en particulier les membres de leur communauté religieuse.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'une lobotomie et dans quel but a-t-elle été pratiquée?"

Histoire de la thérapie de conversion

En 1935, Sigmund Freud répond à la lettre d'une femme qui lui demande de soigner son fils homosexuel en niant que cette orientation soit une maladie et qu'elle puisse être "guérie". Selon Freud, tous les enfants sont bisexuels et développent leur orientation sexuelle définitive à l'adolescence selon qu'ils s'identifient à la mère ou au père.


Cependant, la vulgarisation de la modification du comportement depuis les années 60 a favorisé l’émergence de traitements qui seraient connus sous le nom de Thérapie de réorientation ou conversion sexuelle . Des psychiatres et des psychologues tels que Edmund Bergler, Samuel Hadden, Irving Bieber, Joseph Nicolosi et Charles Socarides ont défendu l'efficacité des techniques comportementales pour transformer les homosexuels en hétérosexuels.

La littérature scientifique a clairement discrédité la thérapie de conversion et enregistré que augmentation du risque d'isolement, d'anxiété, de dépression et de suicide . De même, l'activisme social a permis à l'homosexualité de ne plus être considérée comme un trouble dans la deuxième édition du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-II), paru en 1968.

Toutefois, dans la Classification internationale des maladies (CIM-10), le diagnostic "Orientation sexuelle égodistonique" est toujours valable. Il s’applique aux personnes qui se sentent gênées par leur sexualité et dont beaucoup sont encore pratiquées. formes de "thérapie anti-gay" qui nient les preuves fournies par la recherche , en particulier dans les domaines religieux ou dans le but d’obtenir un avantage économique.

  • Article connexe: "Thérapies comportementales: première, deuxième et troisième vagues"

L'homosexualité en tant que paraphilie

La thérapie de réorientation pour l'homosexualité présente des similitudes étroites avec celles pratiquées dans les paraphilies. Ce terme englobe désormais le ciblage des impulsions sexuelles chez les animaux, les objets ou les comportements impliquant des personnes qui ne consentent pas.

Ainsi, les troubles paraphiliques comprennent la pédophilie, la bestialité, l'exhibitionnisme voyeurisme ou frotteurisme, en plus d’autres préférences sexuelles pouvant gêner la personne qui les ressent ou les autres, comme cela peut arriver avec le sadisme.

Ce malaise est l’un des principaux critères qui continuent d’être utilisés aujourd’hui pour justifier une thérapie de conversion en cas d’homosexualité.Le problème est que les problèmes émotionnels ne découlent pas directement du fait d’être attirés par des personnes du même sexe, mais de la conception sociale négative qui peut exister à cet égard.

La manière dont la CIM décrit "l'orientation sexuelle égodistonique" est plus proche des soi-disant "troubles de l'identité de genre", toujours en vigueur dans le DSM. Dans les deux cas la catégorie de diagnostic elle-même a un effet pathologique et moralisante puisqu'elle sépare l'inconfort dû à la sexualité ou à l'identité d'autres causes, en favorisant l'adaptation de la personne à des normes sociales spécifiques et en soustrayant les responsabilités à l'environnement.

Pour ainsi dire, diagnostiquer une homosexualité égodistonique ou un trouble de l'identité de genre reviendrait à faire de même avec les victimes de brimades ou de violences de genre, en soulignant qu'il s'agit d'un garçon ou d'une femme.

Comment l'homosexualité a-t-elle été "guérie"?

La thérapie de conversion ne suit pas les directives officielles car elle n’est pas reconnue par les associations de psychologues et de médecins. Aucun de ces traitements ne s'est avéré efficace et la plupart sont en désuétude.

Nous recommandons à ceux qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur la thérapie de réorientation sexuelle de regarder la série télévisée. Maîtres du sexe, où certains de ces traitements sont décrits et la vision de l’homosexualité en général dans le contexte de la naissance de la thérapie sexuelle, aux États-Unis des années 50 et 60.

1. Thérapie aversive

Ce type de thérapie consistait à présenter une punition accompagnée du stimulus destiné à ne plus être attractif; dans le cas de l'homosexualité, des images érotiques avec des personnes du même sexe ont été utilisées.

Il a été supposé que la punition, normalement des substances produisant des nausées ou des courants électriques, aurait que les images homosexuelles cessent de provoquer l'excitation . En fait, la thérapie aversive ne faisait qu'augmenter les sentiments de culpabilité et de peur des personnes qui s'y soumettaient.

2. psychothérapie

Dans le passé, certains théoriciens psychanalytiques ont soutenu que l'homosexualité c'était en raison de conflits inconscients trouve son origine dans l’enfance et pourrait être "guéri" en résolvant ces conflits par la psychothérapie.

Actuellement, la "thérapie anti-gay" est réalisée principalement par le dialogue, du moins lorsqu'elle est pratiquée ouvertement. Certains professionnels de la psychologie et des organismes religieux exercent une sorte de conseil visant à convaincre la personne de réprimer ses pulsions homosexuelles.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud (et les nouvelles théories)"

3. Reconditionnement de la masturbation

Cette technique est utilisée régulièrement dans le traitement des paraphilies. Il consiste à se masturber en utilisant les stimuli excitants qui sont considérés comme inadéquats (dans le cas d'une thérapie de conversion, d'images homosexuelles), mais lorsque vous atteignez l'orgasme, visualisez les stimuli qui sont censés être plus souhaitables (personnes du sexe opposé).

Suivant les principes du conditionnement, les images hétérosexuelles devraient devenir souhaitables avec des pratiques répétées et l'attrait nouvellement développé pour le sexe opposé pourrait remplacer les impulsions homosexuelles. Le reconditionnement de la masturbation ne s'est pas révélé efficace en tant que thérapie de conversion.

4. Thérapie électrochocs

La thérapie électroconvulsive implique la transmission de courants électriques de faible intensité au cerveau d'une personne anesthésiée afin de modifier la chimie du cerveau dans les cas où d'autres formes de traitement sont inefficaces.

Bien que pratiqué correctement, il peut être efficace de traiter certains cas de dépression résistants , manie et schizophrénie Non seulement l’homosexualité ne "guérit" pas, mais au moment où la thérapie de conversion était en vogue, les électrochocs produisaient le plus souvent des effets indésirables tels que perte de mémoire et fracture osseuse.

5. Traitements médicaux

Dans cette catégorie sont incluses certaines des thérapies les plus agressives qui ont été appliquées pour "guérir" l'homosexualité. Par exemple, au milieu du siècle dernier, il n’était pas rare de pratiquer des lobotomies, c’est-à-dire des incisions chirurgicales dans le cerveau; concrètement, l'homosexualité était liée à l'action de l'hypothalamus.

Ils sont également venus pour être appliqués traitements à l'œstrogène et même la castration chimique pour réduire la libido des homosexuels.


Le danger de l'idéologie transgenre (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes