yes, therapy helps!
Mediation or family therapy? Which to choose?

Mediation or family therapy? Which to choose?

August 10, 2022

Throughout the evolutionary cycle of a couple or a family, one inevitably goes through multiple phases or situations in which, due to different factors (previous family peculiarities, supervening situations or, simply, by the management of daily life where there is make important decisions), its members have to face or adapt to these new realities that they have to live. The optimal management of these situations favors the growth of the family , but in other occasions the generated crises can cause difficulties and conflicts of diverse nature.

For these problems, the interventions that have proved most suitable and efficient are family therapy and family mediation , depending on what is required, shorter and more specific interventions or longer and longer ones.


  • Related article: "The 8 types of family conflicts and how to manage them"

Family therapy and mediation: differences and similarities to choose well

Although these two ways of working with families have their own objectives and ways of proceeding, in many cases the distinction between them is not clear. In order to clarify the fields of action of one or the other approach, we are going to talk, even if very generically (with the risk of the simplification that this implies) of its main characteristics and differences, which can help determine what the alternative would be. most suitable intervention according to each family and their needs.


Family therapy

The fundamental objectives of family therapy are the evaluation, accompaniment, guidance and psychological treatment of any problem or clinical symptomatology presented by the family understood as a whole. Although there is a specific symptom or demand that, of course, is addressed, the psychotherapeutic intervention is more broadly considered, encompassing the dynamics and relational patterns of its members, in relation to the problem and, usually, in connection with the history and biography of its members .

The temporal focus in psychotherapy is placed on the present, but in connection with the past: past histories and experiences are explored, understanding that the past is fundamental to understanding what is happening to them at the present time. In this sense, it is intended to understand and resolve underlying or not evident conflicts at first glance by the family dynamics itself.


Psychotherapy, therefore, has as a general objective to accompany and promote deeper and structural changes that allow the family to acquire greater coping resources both in times of crisis caused by the passage from one stage to another in the family cycle, as well as address and resolve underlying psychological or emotional conflicts . For these reasons, the duration is usually much longer than mediation, since it can be reduced to a few sessions.

Family mediation

Unlike psychotherapy, family mediation does not focus on psychological treatment, but on the management and resolution of specific and well-defined conflicts (for example, in a divorce, custody and custody of children). In the event that major background problems are detected, mediation would not be the appropriate approach, unless the intervention is very circumscribed to a specific objective and always as a complement to a therapy as a general framework.

The temporal focus on family mediation is placed in the present and, above all, in the future: attention is placed, preferably, on manifest conflicts and on concrete and practical aspects such as, for example, making decisions regarding custody or visitation of children .

Mediation consists, therefore, in a process of cooperative resolution of conflicts, in which the parties involved are encouraged to communicate in an appropriate manner and arrive at the agreements that they consider most appropriate according to their mutual needs.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to mediate a conflict, in 5 steps"

The neutral attitude as a professional requirement

The family therapist, as the mediator, adopts a neutral attitude towards family members although it is usually more directive in the sense that it evaluates, guides, advises, offers indications, proposes actions, etc., always with the purpose of favoring or causing the change of dysfunctional dynamics and deeper and more general relational patterns.

The family mediator, on the other hand, adopts a less directive role and facilitates communication (through the use of micro communication techniques), which helps the participants to reflect on their conflicts and disagreements, to encourage the creative search for alternatives possible, which allows them to make decisions and reach mutual agreements that they consider most appropriate according to their needs and interests.

The decisions that people can reach freely and voluntarily occur in a context of security and confidentiality , free of any kind of coercion or reciprocal pressure and without the meter directing them in any way: it is the interested parties themselves who have to arrive, if they consider it, to the agreements that they consider. The mediator neither values ​​nor offers solutions to their problems.

Although one of the fundamental objectives of family mediation is that people reach agreements to resolve their conflicts, in many cases, the most important thing is not so much the agreement itself, as generating the different and healthier relational space, as well as offer resources for the management of their conflicts, having a clear preventive component.

The legal aspects

When conflicts can have legal consequences (As, for example, in a divorce, with the consequent dissolution of the community of acquisitions or disagreements in relation to the custody of minor children), mediation becomes the most convenient method to resolve these issues.

Following the Law 5/2012, of July 6, mediation in civil and commercial matters, through mediation it is possible to reach agreements that, respecting the current regulations, can later be transformed into a legal document to give it legal character . For this, it is always convenient that the parties are at all times advised independently by their respective lawyers , before getting to formalize the agreement that will end up having legal effects.

A combination that works

As we can see, depending on the needs, one or the other approach will be the most appropriate, although, of course, they can also be complementary to offer comprehensive care to families and couples. For this, it is necessary that professionals are trained in both disciplines.

Diego Albarracín Garrido: Psychologist, family therapist, couple therapist and mediator at El Prado Psychologists.


Orientation to Family Court Mediation and Child Custody Recommending Counseling (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Médiation ou thérapie familiale? Lequel choisir?

Médiation ou thérapie familiale? Lequel choisir?

Avril 16, 2021

Tout au long du cycle évolutif d’un couple ou d’une famille, on traverse inévitablement de multiples phases ou situations au cours desquelles, en raison de différents facteurs (particularités familiales antérieures, situations de supervision ou, tout simplement, de la gestion de la vie quotidienne prendre des décisions importantes), ses membres doivent faire face ou s’adapter à ces nouvelles réalités qu’ils doivent vivre. La gestion optimale de ces situations favorise la croissance de la famille , mais en d’autres occasions, les crises générées peuvent causer des difficultés et des conflits de nature diverse.

Pour ces problèmes, les interventions qui se sont révélées les plus appropriées et efficaces sont thérapie familiale et médiation familiale , en fonction des besoins, des interventions plus courtes et plus spécifiques ou des interventions de plus en plus longues.


  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de conflits familiaux et leur gestion"

Thérapie familiale et médiation: différences et similitudes pour bien choisir

Bien que ces deux façons de travailler avec les familles aient leurs propres objectifs et leurs propres façons de procéder, la distinction entre elles n’est souvent pas claire. Afin de clarifier les champs d'action de l'une ou l'autre approche, nous allons parler, même de manière très générique (avec le risque de simplification que cela implique), de ses principales caractéristiques et différences, ce qui peut aider à déterminer quelle serait l'alternative. intervention la plus appropriée selon chaque famille et leurs besoins.


Thérapie familiale

Les objectifs fondamentaux de la thérapie familiale sont l'évaluation, l'accompagnement, l'orientation et le traitement psychologique de tout problème ou symptomatologie clinique présenté par la famille dans son ensemble. Bien qu’il existe un symptôme spécifique ou une demande qui, bien sûr, est abordée, l’intervention psychothérapeutique est plus largement envisagée, englobant la dynamique et les schémas relationnels de ses membres, en relation avec le problème et en relation avec l'histoire et la biographie de ses membres .

La focalisation temporelle dans la psychothérapie est placée sur le présent, mais en relation avec le passé: des histoires et des expériences passées sont explorées, comprenant que le passé est fondamental pour comprendre ce qui leur arrive aujourd'hui. En ce sens, il est prévu de comprendre et de résoudre au premier abord les conflits sous-jacents ou non évidents par la dynamique familiale elle-même.


La psychothérapie a donc pour objectif général d’accompagner et de promouvoir des changements plus profonds et structurels qui permettent à la famille d’acquérir de plus grandes ressources d’ajustement, en temps de crise causée par le passage d’une phase à l’autre du cycle familial, régler et résoudre les conflits psychologiques ou émotionnels sous-jacents . Pour ces raisons, la durée est généralement beaucoup plus longue que la médiation, car elle peut être réduite à quelques séances.

Médiation familiale

Contrairement à la psychothérapie, la médiation familiale ne se concentre pas sur le traitement psychologique, mais sur la gestion et la résolution de conflits spécifiques et bien définis (par exemple, en cas de divorce, de garde et de garde des enfants). En cas de détection de problèmes majeurs d’arrière-plan, la médiation ne serait pas la solution appropriée, à moins que l’intervention ne soit très circonscrite à un objectif spécifique et toujours en complément d’une thérapie en tant que cadre général.

La focalisation temporelle sur la médiation familiale est placée dans le présent et, surtout, dans le futur: une attention est accordée, de préférence, aux conflits manifestes et aux aspects concrets et pratiques tels que, par exemple, prendre des décisions concernant la garde ou la visite d'enfants .

La médiation consiste donc en un processus de résolution coopérative des conflits dans lequel les parties impliquées sont encouragées à communiquer de manière appropriée et à conclure les accords qu'elles jugent les plus appropriés en fonction de leurs besoins mutuels.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment résoudre un conflit en 5 étapes"

L'attitude neutre en tant qu'exigence professionnelle

Le thérapeute familial, en tant que médiateur, adopte une attitude neutre envers les membres de la famille bien qu’il soit généralement plus directif en ce sens qu’il évalue, guide, conseille, donne des indications, propose des actions, etc., toujours dans le but de favoriser ou de provoquer le changement de dynamiques dysfonctionnelles et de schémas relationnels plus profonds et plus généraux.

Le médiateur familial, quant à lui, adopte un rôle moins directif et facilite la communication (à l'aide de techniques de micro-communication), ce qui aide les participants à réfléchir à leurs conflits et désaccords, afin d'encourager la recherche créative d'alternatives. possible, ce qui leur permet de prendre des décisions et de conclure les accords mutuels qu’ils considèrent les plus appropriés en fonction de leurs besoins et de leurs intérêts.

Les décisions que les gens peuvent prendre librement et volontairement sont prises dans un contexte de sécurité et de confidentialité , libres de toute forme de contrainte ou de pression réciproque et sans que le compteur les oriente de quelque manière que ce soit: ce sont les parties intéressées elles-mêmes qui doivent arriver, si elles le jugent, aux accords qu’elles envisagent. Le médiateur n'apporte ni solutions ni solutions à leurs problèmes.

Bien que l’un des objectifs fondamentaux de la médiation familiale soit que les gens concluent des accords pour résoudre leurs conflits, dans de nombreux cas, le plus important n’est pas tant l’accord lui-même que de générer un espace relationnel différent et plus sain, offrir des ressources pour la gestion de leurs conflits, ayant une composante préventive claire.

Les aspects juridiques

Quand les conflits peuvent avoir des conséquences juridiques (Par exemple, lors d’un divorce entraînant la dissolution de la communauté d’acquisitions ou de différends relatifs à la garde d’enfants mineurs), la médiation devient le moyen le plus pratique de résoudre ces problèmes.

Suite à la loi 5/2012 du 6 juillet, la médiation en matière civile et commerciale permet de conclure des accords qui, dans le respect de la réglementation en vigueur, peuvent être ultérieurement transformés en un document juridique lui donnant un caractère juridique. . Pour cela, il est toujours pratique que les parties soient à tout moment, conseillé de manière indépendante par leurs avocats respectifs , avant de pouvoir formaliser l’accord qui finira par avoir des effets juridiques.

Une combinaison qui fonctionne

Comme nous pouvons le constater, l’une ou l’autre approche sera la plus appropriée, bien que, bien sûr, elles puissent aussi être complémentaires pour offrir des soins complets aux familles et aux couples. Pour cela, il est nécessaire que les professionnels soient formés dans les deux disciplines.

Diego Albarracín Garrido: Psychologue, thérapeute familial, thérapeute de couple et médiateur chez El Prado Psychologists.


Mais c'est quoi la médiation familiale? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes