yes, therapy helps!
Antipsychiatry: history and concepts of this movement

Antipsychiatry: history and concepts of this movement

June 21, 2024

During the twentieth century many psychiatric treatments for mental disorders were popularized, including some very questionable in an ethical and practical sense. The extreme medicalization of problems such as schizophrenia have had and continue to have, in a large number of cases, coercive components that are frequently criticized.

In this article we will talk about the history and the main expositions of the antipsychiatry movement , which emerged in the 60s to defend the individual rights of people with mental problems and draw attention to the methods and unequal power relationship present in the interaction between doctor and patient.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

History of the antipsychiatry movement

One of the most significant antecedents of the anti-psychiatry movement is the moral treatment, promoted by Philippe Pinel and Jean Esquirol in the XVIII century. The ideas of these authors must be framed in a context in which large numbers of people with mental problems were crammed into insane asylums and treated inhumanely.

Although moral treatment had some influence on the development of therapies for severe mental disorders, it also proposed restrictive and punitive methods. However, this precursor and other later ones are illustrative to understand that, since the beginning of psychiatry, this has been criticized for similar methodological and ethical reasons.


On the other hand, already in the 19th century it had become evident that the number of patients per psychiatrist in mental health institutions was very excessive; This is why the role of physicians often became more administrative than therapeutic. Although the general conditions have improved, this description is not strange in the present either.

During the 20th century, the perception of psychiatry as a discipline that dehumanized people with mental problems . The emergence of the DSM and CIE diagnostic classifications contributed to the labeling of those who sought treatment, putting the disorder-after all, a social construct-in front of the person.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Shutter Island: a brief psychological vision of the movie"

Emergence of this phenomenon

Between the 1930s and 1950s very aggressive medical procedures became popular in the United States, such as electroshock (which at that time caused serious side effects) and lobotomy, which consisted of cutting the frontal lobe connections.


Also in the 50s appeared chlorpromazine, the first widely used antipsychotic. Despite the severe adverse reactions associated with its use, this and other moderately effective and not too safe drugs continued to be developed and used massively. We refer to the so-called "golden age of psychotropic drugs".

In 1967 the psychiatrist David Cooper coined the term "antipsychiatry" to give name to the movement of which it was a part, and that at this point had an international reach, whereas previously it had been quite specific of the Anglo-Saxon world. Many professionals now adhered to the movement, influenced in a key way by Marxism.

In the following decades the brief unity of the antipsychiatry was diluted, although similar demands arose with force around the rights of homosexual and transgender people , pathologized by the diagnostic classifications. The same can be said of other groups, such as people with functional diversity and severe mental disorders.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Main approaches

The classic approaches of the antipsychiatry movement were defined in the 60s by mental health professionals such as David Cooper, R. D. Laing, Theodore Lidz, Ernest Becker, Silvano Arieti, Thomas Scheff or Erving Goffman. The contributions of these authors are not always coincident; an especially controversial case is that of Thomas Szasz.

In general, the antipsychiatry movement advocates political action as a method to change the vision of the population, and especially of the institutional leaders, with regard to "mental disorders", which for those who adhere to this orientation constitute tools for the control of citizens, as they stigmatize and pathologize them.

As within any movement, there are notable theoretical differences between the promoters of antipsychiatry, which has significantly hindered their consolidation. In any case, a general coincidence is detected around the excessive medicalization of psychological problems and the potential dangers of diagnostic labels.

Among other arguments, the theorists of classical antipsychiatry argued that the behaviors and problems that were conceived as disorders were the result of certain social values, and not of the presence of pathological characteristics in themselves. A) Yes, the disorder can only be designated as such in relation to the sociocultural context .

Another of the traditional targets of the antipsychiatry movement was psychoanalysis, which was accused of frequently causing iatrogenic effects (that is, damaging the mental health of clients rather than improving it). The same can be said of many other therapies, particularly those whose efficacy has not been proven.

Antipsychiatry today

At present, the antipsychiatry movement is as current as it was 50 years ago, despite - or precisely because of - the clear predominance of medical interventions in the area of ​​mental health. The opposition is strong in many patients and relatives, as well as in clinical psychology, hindered by systematic professional intrusion by psychiatry.

One of the areas where criticism is most intense is that of the medicalization of certain child behaviors , among which is the behavior pattern called Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, characterized by overdiagnosis and the long-term use of insufficiently studied stimulant drugs.

On the other hand, it is very worrying the growing power of large pharmaceutical corporations and its close ties with the political class, with the media and even with many members of the scientific community. All this generates understandable biases around the reliability of the drugs and the studies that support it.

As to severe mental disorders, such as schizophrenia and bipolar disorder , pharmacological and psychological treatment has improved in recent years, but many psychiatric institutions continue to use less recommendable procedures. Likewise, the stigmatization of these and other disorders will continue to contribute to less than ideal management.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Bipolar disorder: 10 features and curiosities you did not know"

Laura Delano on Anger and ‘Anti-psychiatry’ (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Antipsychiatrie: histoire et concepts de ce mouvement

Antipsychiatrie: histoire et concepts de ce mouvement

Novembre 16, 2022

Au cours du XXe siècle, de nombreux traitements psychiatriques pour troubles mentaux ont été vulgarisés, dont certains très discutables au sens éthique et pratique. La médicalisation extrême de problèmes tels que la schizophrénie a eu et continue d’avoir, dans un grand nombre de cas, des composantes coercitives qui sont fréquemment critiquées.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de l'histoire et les principales expositions du mouvement antipsychiatrique , qui a vu le jour dans les années 60 pour défendre les droits individuels des personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux et attirer l’attention sur les méthodes et les relations de pouvoir inégales présentes dans l’interaction entre le médecin et le patient.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Histoire du mouvement antipsychiatrique

L’un des antécédents les plus significatifs du mouvement anti-psychiatrique est le traitement moral, promu par Philippe Pinel et Jean Esquirol au dix-huitième siècle. Les idées de ces auteurs doivent être encadrées dans un contexte dans lequel un grand nombre de personnes souffrant de problèmes mentaux ont été entassées dans des asiles d'aliénés et traitées de manière inhumaine.

Bien que le traitement moral ait eu une certaine influence sur le développement de thérapies pour les troubles mentaux graves, il proposait également des méthodes restrictives et punitives. Cependant, ce précurseur et d'autres plus tard illustrent bien le fait que, depuis le début de la psychiatrie, des critiques similaires ont été formulées pour des raisons méthodologiques et éthiques similaires.


D'un autre côté, dès le 19ème siècle, il était devenu évident que le nombre de patients par psychiatre dans les établissements de santé mentale était très excessif; C'est pourquoi le rôle du médecin est souvent devenu plus administratif que thérapeutique. Bien que les conditions générales se soient améliorées, cette description n’est pas étrange dans le présent non plus.

Au cours du 20ème siècle, la perception de la psychiatrie en tant que discipline qui déshumanise les personnes ayant des problèmes mentaux . L’émergence des classifications diagnostiques du DSM et de la CIE a contribué à l’étiquetage des demandeurs de traitement, plaçant le désordre après tout, une construction sociale en face de la personne.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Shutter Island: une brève vision psychologique du film"

Emergence de ce phénomène

Entre les années 1930 et 1950, des procédures médicales très agressives sont devenues populaires aux États-Unis, telles que l'électrochoc (qui causait alors de graves effets secondaires) et la lobotomie, consistant à couper les connexions du lobe frontal.


La chlorpromazine, le premier antipsychotique largement utilisé, est également apparue dans les années cinquante. Malgré les effets indésirables graves associés à son utilisation, ce médicament et d’autres médicaments moyennement efficaces et pas trop sûrs ont continué à être développés et utilisés massivement. Nous nous référons à ce qu'on appelle "l'âge d'or des médicaments psychotropes".

En 1967 le psychiatre David Cooper a inventé le terme "antipsychiatrie" pour donner un nom au mouvement dont il faisait partie et qui, à ce stade, avait une portée internationale, alors qu’il était auparavant tout à fait spécifique du monde anglo-saxon. De nombreux professionnels ont maintenant adhéré au mouvement, influencé de manière déterminante par le marxisme.

Au cours des décennies suivantes, la brève unité de l’antipsychiatrie s’est diluée, bien que des exigences similaires se soient imposées avec force. autour des droits des personnes homosexuelles et transgenres , pathologisé par les classifications diagnostiques. On peut en dire autant des autres groupes, tels que les personnes présentant une diversité fonctionnelle et des troubles mentaux graves.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Approches principales

Les approches classiques du mouvement antipsychiatrique ont été définies dans les années 60 par des professionnels de la santé mentale tels que David Cooper, R. D. Laing, Theodore Lidz, Ernest Becker, Silvano Arieti, Thomas Scheff ou Erving Goffman. Les contributions de ces auteurs ne coïncident pas toujours; Thomas Szasz est un cas particulièrement controversé.

En général le mouvement antipsychiatrique prône l'action politique comme une méthode pour changer la vision de la population, et en particulier des leaders institutionnels, en ce qui concerne les "troubles mentaux" qui, pour ceux qui adhèrent à cette orientation, constituent des outils pour le contrôle des citoyens, car ils les stigmatisent et les pathologisent.

Comme dans tout mouvement, il existe des différences théoriques notables entre les promoteurs de l'antipsychiatrie, ce qui a considérablement entravé leur consolidation. Dans tous les cas, une coïncidence générale est détectée autour de la médicalisation excessive de problèmes psychologiques et les dangers potentiels des étiquettes de diagnostic.

Parmi les autres arguments, les théoriciens de l'antipsychiatrie classique ont soutenu que les comportements et les problèmes conçus comme des troubles étaient le résultat de certaines valeurs sociales et non de la présence de caractéristiques pathologiques en eux-mêmes. Ainsi, le trouble ne peut être désigné comme tel que par rapport au contexte socioculturel .

Un autre des objectifs traditionnels du mouvement antipsychiatrique était la psychanalyse, accusée d’avoir fréquemment provoqué des effets iatrogènes (c’est-à-dire endommager la santé mentale des clients plutôt que l’améliorer). La même chose peut être dite de nombreuses autres thérapies, en particulier celles dont l'efficacité n'a pas été prouvée.

Antipsychiatrie aujourd'hui

Actuellement, le mouvement antipsychiatrique est aussi actuel qu’il ya 50 ans, malgré - ou précisément à cause de - la nette prédominance des interventions médicales dans le domaine de la santé mentale. L'opposition est forte chez de nombreux patients et leurs proches, ainsi qu'en psychologie clinique, entravée par une intrusion professionnelle systématique par la psychiatrie.

L’un des domaines où la critique est la plus intense est celui de la la médicalisation de certains comportements de l'enfant , parmi lesquels le comportement appelé Trouble d’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention, caractérisé par un surdiagnostic et l’utilisation à long terme de médicaments stimulants insuffisamment étudiés.

D'autre part, c'est très inquiétant le pouvoir croissant des grandes entreprises pharmaceutiques et ses liens étroits avec la classe politique, les médias et même avec de nombreux membres de la communauté scientifique. Tout cela génère des biais compréhensibles sur la fiabilité des médicaments et des études qui les étayent.

Comme pour troubles mentaux graves, tels que la schizophrénie et le trouble bipolaire , les traitements pharmacologiques et psychologiques se sont améliorés ces dernières années, mais de nombreux établissements psychiatriques continuent à utiliser des procédures moins recommandables. De même, la stigmatisation de ces troubles et d’autres troubles continuera de contribuer à une gestion moins qu'idéale.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Trouble bipolaire: 10 particularités et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

Valentin Schaepelynck - L'institution révolutionnaire chez Guattari (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes